10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 6
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,203 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Kia Sorento:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #46

Sep 122019

Sorento

  • 130,000 miles
TL-the contact owns a 2016 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that when the vehicle was started, noticed that the oil light was on. The vehicle was taken to an unknown independent mechanic, they changed the oil gaskets and advised the contact that the engine had a very high oil consumption. The contact also mentioned that the horn and the door locks had failed H, when the vehicle was first purchase. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for a diagnostic. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000. VIN unavailable.

- Marquette, MI, USA

problem #45

Sep 102019

Sorento

  • 89,000 miles
During a routine oil change, my 2016 Kia Sorento had no oil on the dipstick. I've used synthetic oil with every change since buying the Sorento new. With the engine light showing up, the error code suggests replacing the intake camshaft position sensor. Symptoms that began with the check engine light included the following: Revving of rpms in park, slow acceleration when trying to cross a busy highway (it stalls), and climbing into 6K rpms when going up highway inclines (hills) at 55-60 mph. And there is still the question of "where did the oil go in the first place?" there is no external leak of engine oil.

- Cullman, AL, USA

problem #44

Aug 122019

Sorento

  • 33,000 miles
When trying to speed up to merge onto the highway my check engine light came on blinking and my car was chugging and would not go past 2 rpms. Second tine this has happened since bought my car at the beginning of August.

- Kaukauna, WI, USA

problem #43

Jul 262019

Sorento

  • 70,000 miles
My temperature gauge began reading hot while driving. After replacing the thermostat and the etc sensor, my car was diagnosed as having a faulty cooling fan. This should not happen on a quality car that is just a few years old. I have been without a car for over a week while they track down the part and it is going to cost me over $500 to have fixed.

- Franklin, OH, USA

problem #42

Mar 012019

Sorento

  • 89,000 miles
"takata recall" Kia Sorento 2016 model sx-AWD it started making weird noises from the engine and felt little thumps when I press on the accelerator and binding noise from the rear of the vehicle from the beginning of 2019. The car does not exceed over 90mph.

- Monmouth Junction, NJ, USA

problem #41

Jul 152019

Sorento

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Kia Sorento. While driving various speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to lokey Kia (27960 us-19, clearwater, fl 33761, (888) 458-9360) where it was diagnosed that the transmission and computer module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was approximately 92,000. The VIN was not avaialble.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #40

Jul 112019

Sorento

  • 110,000 miles
Takata recall while driving my car, it completely shut off in the middle of the road. It was almost like it was out of gas but had a full tank gas. We tested the battery also. It still failed to start back. It would not start back after multiple attempts and I had to get it towed yesterday. The mechanics I had it towed to says they think it may have something to do with the engine but are unsure.

- Spruce Pine, NC, USA

problem #39

Jul 052019

Sorento

  • 94,000 miles
Driving on the highway and the car just shut down, no warning lights or odd sounds Kia dealer said they engine locked

- Chalfont, PA, USA

problem #38

Jun 092019

Sorento

  • 100,000 miles
Vehicle started to make knocking sound when driving. They knocking got louder with acceleration. Took vehicle home and checked the engine and oil. Everything seemed ok but the knocking sound continued. Had vehicle towed to Kia dealership and found out a rod in the engine went out causing the entire engine to go out and fail on the vehicle. This was addressed in a previous recall regarding the ECU, but it did not prevent the engine from going out.

- Kingston, TN, USA

problem #37

Jan 112019

Sorento

  • 30,000 miles
2nd engine failure in less than 1 year. Dealership replaced 1st engine in February 2018 which then failed in January 2019. Dealership (Kia of cherry hill NJ 1803 marlton pike w, cherry hill, NJ 08002) unable to determine cause. Dealership unsure when new engine would be available. Driving loaner vehicle since January 2019.

- Moorestown, NJ, USA

problem #36

Sep 012018

Sorento

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that the engine was consuming too much oil (two quarts every 500 miles). The contact stated that the dealer (H&H Kia, 4040 S 84th St, omaha, ne 68127, (402) 331-9100) has had the vehicle since January of 2019, attempting to determine the cause of the failure. The dealer and manufacturer stated that they were unsure when new engines would be produced. The contact has had a loaner vehicle for the past three months. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 36,000.

- Bellevue, NE, USA

problem #35

Mar 222019

Sorento

  • 83,000 miles
Takata recall 1 month ago I picked my son up from school...as I was pulling out of the parking lot I was unable to accelerate by pushing the gas pedal. I coasted home going 8 miles per hour. I turned the vehicle off and let it sit for 2 days. When I got back in it everything was working fine. 2 weeks later I went to have my oil changed and was told there were metal shavings in my oil filter, there were 2 inches of sludge and the oil was black. I keep my vehicle serviced regularly because I commute to work. They changed my oil and I left. 10 minutes later I was on the side of the road. I was driving to the store and again I couldn┐T push the gas pedal to accelerate and a knocking sound appeared. As I tried to pull to the side of the road I look in my rear view mirror to see a white cloud of smoke coming from my car. So thick I couldn┐T see behind me. I coasted into a parking lot and at this point I had no control of the steering, gas pedal, or breaks. I finally rolled to a stop outnit in park and got out of my car. Every drop of oil they had put in my car was on the pavement. I called a tow truck and we found a huge hole in the oil pan where my engine had apparently thrown a rod. There are 6 recalls on the year make and model of my car but not specifically on my VIN. Everything that has gone wrong involves those recalls and Kia isn┐T owning up to it. My brother works for true car and ran a report finding that there are recalls on my vehicle but Kia is saying it is inaccurate. I have the report in my possession and they wouldn┐T allow me to send it to them for proof.

- Brodhead, KY, USA

problem #34

Apr 012019

Sorento

  • 72,000 miles
The car was stationary with the engine running, waiting for about 2 minutes when I smelled a strong exhaust smell. I began to drive, and within 30 seconds smoke started coming from under the hood. I pulled over and stopped the engine just as flames came out from the right side of the hood. In less than 5 minutes the engine was engulfed in flames. The fire fighters arrived a minute later and took quite some time to extinguish the fire. The entire engine and front of the car was burned completely. The car is totaled. We have filed a claim with our insurance and reported it to Kia.

- Houma, LA, USA

problem #33

Jun 182018

Sorento

  • 29,621 miles
I am writing to you in regards to my 2016 Sorento engine failure back in June of 2018. The engine failed without warning on the highway and had to be towed to the nearby dealership. I was denied engine replacement under the warranty because I was unable to provide oil service records. I was billed in the amount of $3800 and in light of the onslaught of Kia engine failures, I ask that Kia refund me in full. I have requested this via letter.

- Newport, RI, USA

problem #32

May 012018

Sorento

  • 16,000 miles
Staring in January 2017 (purchased May 2016) at around 16K the car stalled several times in traffic and would not accelerate. No warning light or anything. Within a minute the car began to work as normal. Took it in to Kia in avon, in and they were not able to replicate but did a service recall. Happened again in May 2017 at 16K. This time more frequently to duplicate. Kia could duplicate and said relearned computer. Nothing again until 19K in Jan 2019 on highway. Car barely missed me as I coated to the side of the road. Kia could not duplicate and although said they would escalate for buyback, never contacted me again. Dangerous issue and worse they dont seem to care.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #31

Jan 012017

Sorento

  • 14,000 miles
Staring in January 2017 (purchased May 2016) at around 16K the car stalled several times in traffic and would not accelerate. No warning light or anything. Within a minute the car began to work as normal. Took it in to Kia in avon, in and they were not able to replicate but did a service recall. Happened again in May 2017 at 16K. This time more frequently to duplicate. Kia could duplicate and said relearned computer. Nothing again until 19K in Jan 2019 on highway. Car barely missed me as I coated to the side of the road. Kia could not duplicate and although said they would escalate for buyback, never contacted me again. Dangerous issue and worse they dont seem to care.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #30

Sep 032018

Sorento

  • 96,000 miles
On September 3, 2018, while driving our Sorento, there was a loud knocking noise that started under the hood. We pulled up the uvo information on the dash and it did not display any errors. Drove the car home and had to have the car towed the next morning to the nearest Kia dealership. After having to provide 12 months of receipts for oil changes, Kia agreed to cover the engine under their warranty. Waited months to get a new engine after being told 6 different dates that the engine would be in, we finally got our car back on January 16, 2019. After we picked up the car, we drove it home and the car hesitated and turned itself off and coasted. It turned itself back on and we drove it back to the dealer and here we are waiting for an update the next day. We have also had 5 different rental cars due to this. Our car is not part of a recall by the way.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #29

Oct 102018

Sorento

  • 33,500 miles
October 10, 2018 drove car into driveway, shut car off, parked, went into house for about 2 mins, came back to car, it was smoking from under hood. I turned on faucet in garage, and sprayed water on car. Called 911. Within 2 mins, I saw first spark, left area, ran over to my sisters house, next door, on phone with 911 and within 4 mins of car smoke, burst into flames, 2 explosions. Fire dept arrived with in 10 mins of smoke detection. Flames higher than the house. Car totaled, and house siding melted away from house.

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #28

Aug 182017

Sorento

  • miles
The contact owns a 2016 Kia Sorento. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle shook and failed to accelerate. In addition, the check engine indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to Carolina Kia of high point (866-824-7081, located at 2445 N main St, high point, nc 27262), but the failure could not be duplicated. The failure recurred and the vehicle was towed to battleground Kia (336-295-1542, located at 2927 battleground ave, greensboro, nc 27408) where it was diagnosed that the throttle body needed to be repaired. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was not provided.

- Mcleansville, NC, USA

problem #27

Sep 072018

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owned a 2016 Kia Sorento. While driving 75 mph, the contact heard an abnormal noise and noticed black smoke coming from the rear of the vehicle. The contact pulled over and turned off the vehicle. Approximately five minutes later, the front of the engine caught on fire. The fire was extinguished by the fire department. A police report was filed. There were no injuries. The insurance company declared the vehicle to be a total loss. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer to be diagnosed. The vehicle was towed to a location determined by the insurance company. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and referred the contact to NHTSA. The failure mileage was approximately 59,000.

- Blue Earth, MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »