10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,972 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Mazda CX-5:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #29

Jul 082019

CX-5

  • 33,000 miles
Electric parking break (epb) warning light start blinking after the release of the brake. I lived in a warm tropical weather. In my understanding this function works on cold weather.problem persists intermittently. If vehicle turned off, problem "disappears" but appears again when the break button was released. Weeks later the car started to activate the smart city break alarm when moving in my neighborhood and in a city street with no reason, suddenly, and bringing a safety issue. Also started to make strange noises related to the brake, similar when the brakes or pads get wet and making the car forced to be moved when pushing the accelerator pedal, making the vehicle difficult to move, no matter break is released and turning it slow and vague. An electronic diagnostic report was made and shows the following codes : code C2005 (electric park brake motor gear unit (rh) circuit malfunction code C112A (incorrect electric parking brake motor gear unit position) code C2006 (electric parking brake motor gear unit (LH) circuit malfunction.

- Bayamon, PR, USA

problem #28

Jul 082019

CX-5

  • 45,000 miles
Vehicle's infotainment/navigation system froze up. When in operation the screen just blinks on and off. Upon bringing vehicle into dealership we were told that the item is backordered as there are so many problems with the systems they have no time frame to get this problem fixed. Upon research on line it also appears many others are sharing their same challenges with systems that do not work.

- Buckeye, AZ, USA

problem #27

Jun 302019

CX-5

  • 36,500 miles
I had the car started and turned the headlights on and the car stopped. Did several times shutting off and turning off. All of the lights on the panel flickers. After several times every thing back to normal. After about 2 months it happened again. I tried it several times again and I even decided to try and drive and turn the lights on while driving and the car stopped. Went home stopped at my mailbox to get the mail. Turned car off, back on, lights a flashing, engine light came on and stayed on, drove into my driveway. Turned car off and back on a few more times. Finally was working ok. And it has been a couple of weeks since. Afraid to be driving the car at night though.

- Muscatine, IA, USA

problem #26

May 242019

CX-5

  • 21,000 miles
Daytime running light on driver's side was replaced in Dec 2017 when the vehicle had 14,000 miles. Now the daytime running light on the passenger's is burnt out. The dealer wants $1,200 to replace it. I thought led is supposed to last "forever". also, the auto bright doesn't work. Dealer wants to $100 to troubleshoot.

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #25

Sep 292017

CX-5

  • 34,900 miles
First occurred on 9/29/2017 and more often after 2/3/18 battery drains, no start have had the vehicle battery jumped 5-6 times, replaced battery same occurrences, have taken battery to be charged twice. Further inspection a week later on battery and a draw test 1, came back good. Couple of weeks battery had drained again. No start noticeable signs of drain. Airbag light on and off, have had it serviced previously. Heat and A/C not projecting like normal. Stains on windshield. Design error there is no key entry on trunk when car malfunctions. Dashboard and/or display screen will occasionally stay on when car turns off. Driver window rattles. Command switches for display screen replaced still sticking. Seat belt has scared stomach.

- El Cerrito, CA, USA

problem #24

Feb 102019

CX-5

  • 28,350 miles
Started car in driveway 2/10/19, 4 pm ┐engine sounded like timing was obviously abnormal. Random automatic braking noted when car in motion, within one block of leaving driveway. Immediate inability to accelerate beyond 10-12 mph experienced. Error messages then observed on car dashboard warning sectors: Check engine; traction control: Tire pressure monitoring; smart city brake support malfunction-forward scbs disabled. Car unsafe to drive to dealer 12 miles away. Car towed to dealer site 2/11/19 Monday am. Car has 28,330 miles per odometer; service maintenance up to date, as manufacturer recommended. Dealer assessment of cause on 2/11/19 reported as ┐rats nesting in engine and eating through soy insultation on wiring on engine harness.┐ repair costs of > $1,500 estimated. It seems that insulating engine component with nutrients attractive to nesting, ubiquitous vermin is a serious safety concern for car owners and users. Any NHTSA guidance on this critical issue?

- Novato, CA, USA

problem #23

Nov 032018

CX-5

  • 35,000 miles
Ebrake would not disengage on the Mazda Cx-5 2016 GT with city brake and electronic E-brake at 36,100 miles during various parking locations scenarios. Vehicle would start normally at push of start button but the E-brake light would stay on in the flashing mode. Turn engine off/restarting would resolve the problem temporarily just to return to the same issue at random parking locations. Dealership suggested a replacement battery main 12 volt battery for $185+tax+installation. Battery replacement suggested based on a claim of low voltage measured at the E-brake switch located on the center console. There was no other solutions provided by the dealership for further testing/isolation of issue priir making a payment, to include confirmation that in fact the battery is the culprit. Utilizing an alternate/test battery could be a temporary testing solution. Payments were made as requested and the issue of the flashing E-brake light flashing/E-brake not disengaging is less apparent with 2 incidents 1 month after battery replacement. Incidents observed while in covered/uncovered parking scenarios, outside temperature oscillate from 75 to 92 F. vehicle rear brakes were replaced under 5000 miles by dealership due to noises and premature wear. Vehicle also has a Mazda remote start system installed by dealership with a history of electrical failure of the A/C compressor. Documentation available for review.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #22

Nov 082018

CX-5

  • miles
Radio start and few seconds later it shuts down completely

- Kissiimmee, FL, USA

problem #21

Sep 072018

CX-5

  • miles
Drl is not working properly. Driver side completely run out, passenger side - dimmed and flickering permanently. Smart city brake support system is disabled and not working as well as adaptive high beam headlights.

- Camas, WA, USA

problem #20

Aug 152018

CX-5

  • 32,000 miles
Passenger's side led daytime running light failure. I had the headlamp assembly replaced under warranty for the same issue previously. Vehicle has 32xxx miles now and the same led drl light failed again., I have yet to take it to the dealer (noticed it today)

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #19

Jul 132018

CX-5

  • 59,000 miles
Led daytime running light on passenger-side headlight flickers and is very dim. On a few occasions, the driver of vehicle in front stated that it looked as if my headlight was out as well. Vehicle is only 3-years old. Mileage should not affect electiral led components. Drl's or headlights are required during adverse weather conditions or when operating the windshield wipers.

- Eaton, OH, USA

problem #18

May 182018

CX-5

  • 35,792 miles
While on a recent highway road trip, my 2016 Mazda Cx-5's driver side daytime running led lights, which come equipped with the technology package, stopped illuminating properly. The daytime running lamp led lights in question will flicker or not illuminate at all. I found this to be a safety issue as daytime running lights are equipped on vehicles to enhance visibility and safety. A flickering daytime running lamp can cause serious safety concerns resulting in distracted driving related collisions. Mazda advertised these specific headlamps as being a long lasting and providing enhanced safety as they adapt to changing roadway conditions. Upon conducting independent research into the drl (daytime running lamp), it was learned that many other owners of the 2016 Mazda Cx-5, with the technology package / led headlamps, have been experiencing this issue almost as soon as the basic factory warranty expires. It was then learned the average cost to get this situation remedied would result in having to pay almost $1500 - $2000 to get the whole headlamp unit replaced. Research on the NHTSA website revealed a faulty gasket at the base of the headlamp unit which caused moisture/gas to develop on the interior of the headlamp lens, this is also present on this vehicle. I feel this could potentially be causing the headlamp drl to malfunction due to a moisture build up, or the unit is all together defective for a certain grouping of Cx-5's with this headlamp assembly I feel a recall investigation should be conducted to determine the source of the malfunction. I feel this is a significant issue as it was learned there was a recent national back order for these headlamps, I find that suspicious if they were to be in proper working order.

- Petaluma, CA, USA

problem #17

Apr 192018

CX-5

  • 45,000 miles
Passanger side day time running headlights began flickering for about a month and then simply went out. This car is brand new within the past year and a half and is absolutely ridiculous. The dealership had to replace the full headlamp unit as it is led and Mazda knowingly installed these faulty headlamps. I have seen hundreds of other documented cases of this issue on the internet.

- Allison Park, PA, USA

problem #16

Jan 072018

CX-5

  • 15,613 miles
The automatic locking does not always work. I agree with complaints 1090985 and 10885776 in that it seems to be fine 90% of the time, which lulls you into a false sense of security. Now, I make sure that he lights flash as I walk away. I had turned off the chirp because it disturbs the peace, but may turn it back on, since walking away and looking back also has its risks. I could be walking away too quickly sometimes or something else in my pocket may be shielding the key fob, but if others are also experiencing this problem, maybe it is not a user issue. Perhaps the owner's manual should mention these possibilities, if they indeed are the cause of the problem. An unlocked car is a serious security risk.

- Burlington, MA, USA

problem #15

Oct 162017

CX-5

  • 19,000 miles
On 07/28/2017, air bag light on instrument cluster began to flash while driving also the passenger side was occupied. Lasted until vehicle was turned off. Mazda dealer found code B00A0 for passenger occupant detection system. They reset the code and tested air bag system, they stated that all systems pass test. On 10/16/2017, air bag light on instrument cluster began to flash and the warning beeping start up while driving also the passenger side was not occupied. I considered this is a serious safety issue and need to be reported. I recorded videos.

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #14

Aug 102017

CX-5

  • 9,890 miles
Infotainment system reboots numerous times after engine is started and continues while the vehicle is in gear. During reboot cycle, radio, navigation, and other functions of the infotainment system are unavailable. System may reboot anywhere between 1 and 10 times before the system stabilizes. This has been an on-going, daily occurrence, can occur multiple times in a day, and began 2 months after vehicle delivery.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #13

Jun 042017

CX-5

  • 10,000 miles
Liftgate wouldn't unlock sometimes and the car was stationary.

- North Reading, MA, USA

problem #12

Aug 012016

CX-5

  • 8,000 miles
Body: About one month after I purchased the vehicle, the paint became brittle. There is a large rock chip, scratches on the hood, and chips on the door. Electrical: The seat heater on the driver's side turns on intermittently without the power being turned on. Transmission: The rmss continue to increase when I take my foot off of the gas at high speeds (interstate). I do not have the cruise control on. They rev about 10,000 and then come back down.

- Ankeny, IA, USA

problem #11

Dec 112016

CX-5

  • 4,000 miles
I was involved in an accident in December 2016. I hit the side of another vechile and my passenger front by the tire was damaged.the passenger side airbag came out which it should not have due to the minimal damage to of the car. I will attach the estimate to this complaint. Since this was around the holidays I knew my car would be delayed. This was by far the worst expierence I have dealt with for a month and half and today I realized Mazda's negligence played a huge role with expense and stress of my car. I have never received notice about a recall on the side passenger air bag. I think madza should be responible for paying the damages of my airbag coming out and also the labor, time and rental expenses for the delay of my car. I can not believe I'm finding out 4 months later that their was a recall. If I knew this I would of had Mazda fix my car to begin with instead of going through so much stress. The delay of my car being fixed was due to the fact the auto shop could not fix my passenger airbag light and had to have the adjuster come back out to look at it. They also needed to get the technician to come out to help the program and they just couldn't figure it out. Once they figured it out my air/heat wasn't coming on, none of the interior lights would work. This caused me to go back to the auto body shop for another day without my car with a rental. I blamed geico and the auto body shop but Mazda is responible. I spent so much money on this process. I'm very dissappointed.

- Carteret, NJ, USA

problem #10

Feb 092017

CX-5 4-cyl

  • 3,200 miles
Parked my car. Open up drivers door, radio and dash lights came on. Standing on driveway now push button to turn off radio and dash. Everything came back on. Did it three times and on the third time vehicle started to roll backwards. Had to curly on the floor bard and door wide open. Vehicle gaining speed, engine off, look at gear shift saying it's in park still. I had to jump out of vehicle because I thought I was going to die. Neighbor came to help me out and called 911 who sent an ambulance and police. Paramedics attended to my needs and rushed me to the hospital. Police ask the neighbors if someone was inside the vehicle and they said no. Police report shows vehicle still in park. Vehicle hit a tree and high center on a pge electrical box. Now vehicle is at a dealership who told my father under the table they were able to duplicate concerns but will not note it on the repair order. They looked at sensors and know codes appeared. Once my father mention he worked at a dealership they mention that I must have had the vehicle in reverse. If I stand outside of the vehicle and for a good minute to two minutes and it showed in park the whole time, there is something electrical going wrong with the vehicle. If you google radio is staying on when vehicle is shut off regarding these make and model there are several cases of this happening. People say they have to slam the vehicle into park to get the radio to work. Some people had a brake sensor replace which finally fixed the concern....updated 03/29/17

- Tigard, OR, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »