6.7

fairly significant
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,800
Average Mileage:
22,450 miles
Total Complaints:
15 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. not sure (14 reports)
  2. replace airbag (1 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Nissan dealer.

problem #15

Sep 012018

Altima 2.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 61,000 miles

For years now, the airbag "off" indicator lights up sporadically even when an adult is sitting in the passenger seat. It has been to the dealer for reprogramming twice, with no change in how it acts. We have in possession yet another recall notice that the entire airbag system needs replacement. Baloney. They're not tearing apart the entire dashboard and steering column, which would be necessary for such surgery, and then we live with the resulting squeaking noises that will absolutely happen. And no guarantee that such drastic measures will even cure the problem. If the airbag is not functional without this being done, so what? The lack of an airbag does not cause injuries. It's the CRASH that causes the injury. I drove vehicles with no airbags for decades. And lived. I am now enjoying NOT spending all that time at my dealer.

- rqfreedom, Welcome, MN, USA

problem #14

Jun 042018

Altima S 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles

Nissan doesn't cover it under any recall because they say it's not widespread. I bought the Nissan Altima because of the reputation. Wow! Company doesn't cover a safety item on a 4 year old car.

- gmcgrael, Niceville, US

problem #13

Feb 012014

Altima LV 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,500 miles

Problems started as soon as one month after purchase. Nissan recall update did not fixed the problem. Imagine every time my wife is sitting next me and it shows air bag light off. It's unsettling. Complained to dealer several times and every time they told me that my wife is too light and system does not register her weight. My wife is a small person and her weight is about 110 LBS. Nissan should do better than this. And now I am having issues with AC blowing hot air. A lot of complaints from drivers but Nissan does not want to do anything to fix the problem. I am not buying Nissan again and would not suggest to anybody. Really bad experience from the start.

- Nedim A., Parkville, US

problem #12

Nov 012016

Altima SV 2.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

For the fourth time since new, the airbag light is on indicating the airbags are not functional.

The drivers side airbag was "repaired" July 14th 2016 when the dealer claimed the connector under the seat was "loose" AGAIN. No objects under the seat, no passengers feet under the seat...cause, unknown

Same day, they "fixed" the recall for the passenger side airbag by resetting the seat sensor. for the third time. The passenger side airbag light is now always on, which states the airbag is off. It doesn't matter if someone is in the seat of not. it is always on.

Nissan uses inferior parts where they shouldn't. What is the point in having inferior connectors under the seat and have a sensor in the seat that never works and prevents the airbag from deploying? The default mode for a defective sensor should be the airbag is ON, not OFF! May as well not have airbags! How many people have died or been seriously injured as a result of the airbags NOT deploying because of defective parts when they should have?

I now get to take it back to Nissan and have them tell me it will cost $1100 to fix and not get it fixed because I don't have $1100 to drop on a two year old car.

Update from Dec 22, 2016: it was repaired Sept 09, 2016, not july 14.

- buttercupairplane, Rising Fawn, GA, USA

problem #11

Dec 252014

Altima S

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5 miles

I am so sick of the airbag light coming on,it's been two years and this is bullshit,the dealership says they fix it but it's a lie,please email me to fix this issue,or give me a new car,that's the only thing wrong,it's annoying

- Nikki B., Gr, TX, USA

problem #10

Oct 032016

Altima 2S 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles

I just had the airbag sensory recall fixed, now it is back to it's old tricks of not recognizing a passenger occupant in my vehicle. YAY!!!

- Kelly G., Wichita Falls, TX, US

problem #9

Jun 122014

Altima SL 2.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,951 miles

On May 19, 2014 brought my Nissan into Coon Rapids Nissan for a recall on the Airbag system. Previous to this I had no issues with the airbag system. Nissan supposedly performed the "fix". On June 12, 2014 less than a month later I brought the car into the same Nissan dealership because the airbag light was coming on while I had a passenger in the passenger seat. The sensors needed to be replaced and program the system. This however, did not solve the problem. Later same issue arose. I will detail in another posting.

- Art P., Coon Rapids, MN, USA

problem #8

Jan 302015

Altima SL 2.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,183 miles

This is 3rd time the 2014 Altima was brought in for Airbag problems. Prior to recall I had no problems. on 05/09/14 I had the recall performed. On June 12, 2014 I brought it in for the second time because airbag light was coming on when a adultn passenger was in the occupant seat. Computer at Nissan verified there was a problem with the "Airbag Pressure Detection Sensor" They replaced the sensor and they said "no more issues at this time."

A few times after this the airbag light would come on again while driving and with an adult passenger. I brought it in again on Jan 30,2015. AGAIN they found codes for the passenger occupant sensors and according to their report "replaced pass occupant sensors." cleared codes and according to them "no more issues at this time"

However Six days later just starting a long vacation trip on Feb 5 2015 the airbag light came on again. Thankfully after 1 1/2 hours the light went off. The lingering problem and anxiety we have is --do we know that the system is even functioning properly when the light is off.

- Art P., Coon Rapids, MN, USA

problem #7

Mar 182015

Altima S V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles

I had purchased a new Altima S in July 2014 and started getting lots of problems, I paid around $8,000 for this car and within 6 months had to face lots of problems starting with the electrical system then followed by the air bags and then recently even got a recall letter from Nissan. I had to trade in the car and the dealer straightaway depreciated $3000 instead of understanding my situation . I had to buy a new model of Nissan Altima SV and thus ended up paying $5000 extra. Why can't Nissan understand the plea of client and at least provide me back the reimbursement of the loss that I had to sustain owing to faulty machinery in that car. I had been to the dealer so many times and all the time they said that there was no issue, they could not detect nor fix the issue, which is really quite embarrassing.

- arvindnj, Bridgewater, NJ, USA

problem #6

Apr 222014

Altima S 2.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 250 miles

I AM WRITING REGARDING PROBLEMS WITH THE NISSAN AIR BAG SAFETY SYSTEM IN MY 2014 ALTIMA. I PURCHASED A 2014 ALTIMA IN AUGUST AND HAVE HAD A RECURRING INTERMITTENT PROBLEM OF THE PASSENGER AIR BAG LIGHT COMING ON AND REMAINING ON WHEN I HAVE AN ADULT PASSENGER IN THE VEHICLE. MY WIFE WEIGHS 120 POUNDS YET IT IS NOT INFREQUENT FOR THE LIGHT TO GO ON WHEN WE START THE CAR AND THEN REMAIN ON FOR AN EXTENDED PERIOD OF TIME, USUALLY BETWEEN FIFTEEN AND THIRTY MINUTES. IT MAY ALSO COME ON AND STAY ON IF SHE GETS IN THE CAR AFTER I HAVE STARTED IT.

SINCE LOCAL TRIPS ARE OFTEN LESS THAN THIRTY MINUTES, THERE ARE TIMES WE COMPLETE A SHORT TRIP WITHOUT THE LIGHT GOING OUT. THE LIGHT WILL ALSO COME ON FOR NO APPARENT REASON WHILE WE ARE DRIVING. DURING ONE OF THESE EPISODES THE LIGHT CAME ON WHILE WE WERE DRIVING ON AN INTERSTATE, REMAINED ON FOR JUST OVER AN HOUR, AND THEN WENT OFF. WE HAVE HAD THE CAR EVALUATED BY NISSAN TWICE AND ARE REPEATEDLY TOLD NOTHING IS WRONG. I ALSO WROTE AND SPOKE WITH NISSAN CORPORATE AND WAS TOLD THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO. THERE IS NOTHING UNDER THE SEAT. THERE ARE NO CHILDREN IN THE CAR AND MY WIFE IS NOT TURNING AROUND IN THE SEAT. I HAVE PICTURES (I CAN FORWARD IF DESIRED) THAT SHOW THE PROBLEM WHILE WE ARE ON THE ROAD.

FAST FORWARD TO APRIL 20, 2015, AT THE REQUEST OF NISSAN, I MET AN ENGINEER NAMED PETER AT THE DEALER. AFTER A SHORT DRIVE AND AN INSPECTION IN THE SHOP HE SAID THE SYSTEM WAS OPERATING NORMALLY AND THEN PROCEEDED TO DOWNPLAY THE IMPORTANCE OF THE FRONT AIR BAG SAYING, "THE SEAT BELT RESTRAINTS AND THE SIDE AIR BAGS WILL PROVIDE THE PROTECTION NEEDED IN THE EVEN OF AN ACCIDENT. REALLY? IN OTHER WORDS, NOTHING HAS CHANGED.

- George G., ROANOKE, USA

problem #5

Jan 022015

Altima SV 2.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 8,000 miles

This was happening for a while. I never even knew it was a problem until I saw the complaint and said hey, that has been happening with my car for a while now. I didn't even realize it was as dangerous as it was and they still said there was no recall on my car. I wish I could give this car back right now.

- 2014altimaandstuck, Norwalk, CT, USA

problem #4

Mar 092015

Altima

  • CVT transmission
  • 6,200 miles

Passenger air bag light came on 3 times - even after they said the recall work was done. Ridiculous

- sdmarathe, Columbus, OH, USA

problem #3

May 302014

Altima S 2.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 16,000 miles

Passenger airbag light is on indicating passenger airbag is off, even when my wife is sitting on the passenger seat, which means it won't deploy if there is a crash. Nissan dealer in Alhambra says they already applied the fix to the car and my wife should just "eat more". My wife is about 110 pounds. It appears Nissan's airbag fix didn't fix it..

- Michael C., MONTEREY PARK, CA, USA

problem #2

Sep 012014

Altima

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles

The light showed the passenger airbag to be off when my wife was sitting in the passenger seat... the dealership updated software and it appeared to correct the problem. We have not noticed the light since.

- gwd0856, Jefferson, GA, USA

problem #1

Nov 302014

Altima SV 2.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,000 miles

I have brought my Altima back to dealership numerous times. The Passenger Air Bag Off light comes on and stays on when passenger seating in car. Also, the light comes on for approximately 10 minutes then shuts off when no passenger is in front passenger seat! I have video and have given same video to my service manager several times. They still have not fixed the problem. First started in November 2014 now March 2015. Car has been back to dealer 3 times, they either cannot recreate or are still scratching their heads.

I will upload video and photos as soon as I copy from my phone.

- Constance S., Hazlet, NJ, USA