10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,183 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Nissan Sentra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #14

Sep 102019

Sentra

  • 79,000 miles
Cannot move car out of park.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #13

Jul 122019

Sentra

  • 68,000 miles
The sunroof exploded while driving on a Suburban street on 7/12/2019. No stones were involved.

- Forest Park, IL, USA

problem #12

Apr 122019

Sentra

  • 101,606 miles
Pulled into gas station and when trying to leave the car wouldn't shift into gear. It was locked into park and had to call a tow truck. Seen on car complaints.com that Nissan owners had contacted Nissan and they said Nissan wasn't going to do anything about it.

- Abingdon, VA, USA

problem #11

Jun 012018

Sentra

  • 80,000 miles
My Nissan Sentra has 85,000 miles on it and my transmission is completely broken. The cvt transmission they put in my car has an extended warranty in it for known problems with it. I was driving with my two small children on a very busy highway when it stopped moving and I had to pull over and restart it. When I restarted the vehicle T again would not move. I finally got it to move to where I got to a mechanic and they told me my transmission was completely broken. I took it to Nissan and they are not going to help my fix it 100% fully knowing that the cvt transmission they put in the car has problems. I spoke with Nissan customer affairs and they told me that because my car is out of their warranty there is nothing they can do to help me when this is not my fault. They keep producing cars that have this transmission in it and keep having to replace it except for my car. I have two small children that I need a car for. I have a loan out for the car that now I have to pay for that does not work! I can not afford to fix the transmission that Nissan put in that is known to fault out!

- West Milford, NJ, USA

problem #10

Jun 172017

Sentra

  • 55,000 miles
2012 Nissan Sentra started malfunctioning with battery replacement on March 25, 2015 at hanlees Nissan in davis, ca, where I had purchased the vehicle in Sept 2013 and where I had most service performed while I owned the vehicle. I commuted 1.5 hours each way for a new job in rohnert park and I was becoming ill. Unable to locate housing in the area I was unable to keep the job for more than 2 weeks. I suspect foul play with the davis service department. Car started having a loud clicking sound at just less than 30mph. Davis serviced car for two more years. They cannot provide a duplicate sales contract saying it is lost. Davis referred me to kim at fairfield Nissan and she told me it is missing. This difficulty should not exist. I asked lienholder crb auto/mechanics bank to provide a copy and I have yet to receive. I made multiple attempts to have my car assessed at Nissan davis, vacaville, North bay Nissan in petaluma (replaced catalytic converter 7-31-17 60, 000 miles) problem not corrected. Vehicle now developed extremely poor gas mileage. I continued to get sicker. I had been illegally evicted from my rental home at 7172 yolano road, dixon, ca 95620 June 3, 2017 with harsh bullying against law in concert with the solano county sheriff's (ongoing investigation) I had had the vehicle towed to davis prior to leaving that address. I told them I got really ill when driving the car. They refused diagnostic work and recommended cleaning detail of car at my expense. Did poor job and had to repeat. Once homeless, I was in the car, relocated to marin county and continued to deteriorate in health. (er visits to document). Mileage had been 35-40 mpg decreased TO15-20 mpg. Had vehicle towed to sf Nissan on 10-3-17 and they reset all codes, could find nothing wrong. Car impounded in dt sf on 10-6-17; robbed of impound $500 cash and belongings on 10-10-17. Please help.

- San Rafael, CA, USA

problem #9

Apr 082018

Sentra

  • 90,415 miles
I have had my 2012 Sentra for 1 month 1/2 and twice on long distance trips the car had slowed down. Going 80 slowed to 50 and the gas pedal was to the floor. Both times I've had to safely pull off three freeway and sit on the side of the freeway for a 1/2 hour. This is very disappointing otherwise the car is good

- Ramona, CA, USA

problem #8

Nov 162017

Sentra

  • 110,000 miles
While driving on the highway to go to work, the transmission went out. When I tried to accelerate, the car would rev but wouldn't go faster. Luckily, I was able to slow down enough, put on my hazards and stop without being hit by oncoming traffic. Had a cop not been nearby when it happened, I could have been. I had to wait in the middle of the highway for an emergency assistance response man to come and push my car to the side of the highway. Then, to add insult to injury, I had to wait 5 and a half hours for a tow truck to come and take my car to a shop.

- Kent, WA, USA

problem #7

Oct 142016

Sentra

  • miles
Vehicle has trouble accelerating and while accelerating its began making noises with the transmission after going 70 mph or more. At times it shakes as I begin accelerating. I just bought this vehivle and it has only 46000 miles.

- San Bernardino, CA, USA

problem #6

Dec 312015

Sentra

  • miles
I've had the car for a while, about 4 months ago the oil light cam on I figured it just meant I was running low, I've never been in accident but some how my oil line is leaking

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #5

Feb 022016

Sentra

  • 33,000 miles
Car left running in parking lot after getting out. My problem is different from many but there are still many like me. The car runs so quietly, which is a plus, but in my case it has happened that I leave my car and it is still running and I don't know it. I have a severe hearing loss and depend on visual clues. I wish there were some way to put a light somewhere to alert me. I worry that the next time I will leave the car in my garage still running and then never wake up the next morning from co poisoning. I am an older person and prone to forgetting to check everything before leaving the car. What can be done? this is serious! this has happened two times in the past 6 months.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #4

Aug 262015

Sentra

  • 62,000 miles
I have had my car for just over 2 years. I bought it used for business trips mostly. I drove it for the first time on a long distance business trip and 3 hours into trip it stopped accelerating over 70 miles an hour. This continueed the entire way to my final destination. No lights came on, no sounds or smells either. Once I was in town driving on normal roads it was fine again. Then I drove it back home, same thing happened but more extreme. I took it to the Nissan dealership in boulder Colorado. In doing so I found out that all Nissan had a warrenty recall to put in a cvt cooler part. A feature that all Nissan need to insure the possibilty of long distance travel without the transmission over heating and not accelerating properly. The dealership then informed me that it would have been covered if I had brought it in before it was over 60,000 miles. Now that it is howevr, it is my responsibility to pay over $800 for a part my car should have come with. I called Nissan noth America to find resalution, they closed the case and will not help me. I find this extremely unexceptable and dangerous. As a single 31 yr old woman, I could have been stranded in corn fields in the middle of Kansas in the dark had my transmission failed unexpectedly. I purchased this car at 40,000 miles two yrs ago, it should have had that part put in before it left the lot. I will not accept this and am hoping to find some support in getting Nissan to cover parts and labor for this issue. Please let me know your thoughts and how I should proceed from here. Thank you.

- Boulder, CO, USA

problem #3

Jul 202015

Sentra

  • 49,546 miles
When coming to a complete stop and accelarating less than 1/4 mile after stopping the vehicle lost power and I had to quickly pull to the side of the road. I turned the vehicle off after stopping and tried to start again, and it just turned over but wouldn't stay started. After about 3 minutes I turned the ac off and tried to start the vehicle again and it started. Now I am afraid that this will happen again and I have lost confidence in it's safety. My used car warranty has expired and I am not able to have the car checked. It's been about a week now and I have not had it happen again. However, now the low tire pressure light has come on and I will have to have that checked. I heard that these problems has happened other 2012 Nissan Sentra, but there is no recalled as of yet.

- Dowell, MD, USA

problem #2

May 172015

Sentra

  • 39,000 miles
I was driving and my sunroof glass shattered. No cars in front of me and nothing fell on it. The glass shattered for no reason.

- Santa Clarita, CA, USA

problem #1

Nov 032014

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
My sunroof exploded on my 2012 Nissan Sentra. It was parked in my driveway and all the sudden it just exploded. There was no reason for this to happen. No one was around it, no rocks, limbs, hail, no bad weather, or anything.

- Moultrie , GA, USA