10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,384 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Nissan Sentra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #19

Jul 012018

Sentra

  • 71,523 miles
I have been to the Nissan dealership multiple times trying to figure out why my vehicle loses power randomly and why the car randomly shifts gears and reduces speed even with my foot on the gas. Yet while it does this the RPM needle surges between 3000 to 4500. Vehicle has no codes and dealership claims they can't reproduce the problem. My car has lost power on a major highway and yet im just suppose to believe the car is safe.I even put in a complaint with Nissan corporate and they told me there was nothing they could do because the vehicle does not have any codes.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #18

Feb 012019

Sentra

  • miles
Engine is slipping door handles coming off

- Lake Station, IN, USA

problem #17

Mar 102019

Sentra

  • 71,000 miles
When driving my vehicle on the interstate and keeping a steady 65-70 mph it will all the sudden stop accelerating and mpg's decline. I was in the fast lane and was almost rear ended. I had to pull the car over. It did restart and I continued to drive. This has occurred now four times. I have called the dealership and requested an appointment. I informed them what was happening and asked if they have heard of this issue. The man I spoke to stated he had never heard about it before. I found some information online and know this is affecting a ton of people. I bought this vehicle brand new from a Nissan dealership and they service it for everything. I am hoping I do not end up having to replace the transmission like so many others on my dime when this is a known issue.

- Mechanicsville, VA, USA

problem #16

Feb 172019

Sentra

  • 120,000 miles
I am Michigan resident who recently took a job out of state in wi. On 02/17/19 I was traveling to Wisconsin. During the trip my car began to develop issues with suddenly accelerating and decelerating as well as losing power. At many points I nearly lost control of the car on the ice roads due to the power loss and shudden shifts. I came to find that my car, a 2015 Nissan Sentra (which I bought used from carite in 2017), utilized a cvt transmission, which unbeknownst to me was a known to have problems affecting cvt transmissions that are in many Nissan cars. Nissan has failed on their part to inform the consumer about this problem, as did the dealership I bought it from. Nissan also owns a 75% stake in the company that makes these transmissions for their cars. Jatco is the company. On 02/18/19, I also filed a consumer complaint against Nissan. Nissan requested I bring the car to a Nissan dealership to have it examined. I brought my car to a local Nissan dealership in green bay, wi where it essentially died. I was told that the answer was to replace the transmission for approximately $4100. Nissan decided that, despite the known issues with the cvt transmissions, they will not help at all. I am disabled (I have one leg, and also suffered an injury to my spine and right hand which caused me to be out of work for a prolonged period ż which is why I was forced to take a job out of state to provide for my family) and need a car for both my job and to get around. I cannot afford the repair cost of $4100 quoted by the dealership. Now I am forced to now rent a car (as I need a car for my new job) at a cost of approximately $33 a day I feel betrayed and was put at risk of harm by Nissan. These cars should be recalled.

- Ada, MI, USA

problem #15

Jan 242019

Sentra

  • 95,634 miles
Cvt transmission failure - the vehicle had been "tugging" and "stuttering" when it had less than 60,000 miles I took in for service before extended warranty expired they said nothing wrong, a few months later while driving on the freeway to work, the rpms began going crazy and the car felt like it was really starting to have trouble changing gears, pulled over and the vehicle didn't want to drive forward or reverse. Left it parked at a gas station next to my work.

- Litchfield Park, AZ, USA

problem #14

Jul 012018

Sentra

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Nissan Sentra. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle stalled and completely shut off. The vehicle was towed to chapman Nissan (6723 essington ave, philadelphia, pa 19153, (215) 492-1200), but the cause of the failure could not be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Philidelphia, PA, USA

problem #13

Aug 152018

Sentra

  • 19,000 miles
The engine light is on, every time I step on my gas it jerks back speed is slow also especially driving up hill makes it slower. I get leakage of oil when I just gotten oil changed not to long ago. IżM afraid my Nissan Sentra will lose engine power anytime soon.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #12

Jul 122018

Sentra

  • 60,000 miles
There is a technicians bulletin for my car and is a known issue but Nissan wants to charge to fix the issue. The issue is the piece is malfunctioning and has to be reprogrammed. When you are trying this problem makes the car stall a bit and could be dangerous if pulling out and the car is not able to obtain a higher speed.

- Ocoee, FL, USA

problem #11

Sep 202017

Sentra

  • 100,000 miles
My linkage went out on freeway and I had to keep stopping and putting it in cuz it wud pop out of gear w no warning and then the transmission went

- Willits Ca, CA, USA

problem #10

Jan 302018

Sentra

  • miles
Car has been making tapping/knocking/squealing noise since about 20,000 miles. Dealership was notified, as well as Nissan Consumer Affairs. (audio was taken of noise). Car was taken to shop. Mechanics could not "replicate sound" that my car was making, even though I had shown mechanics proof, and they heard car making noise at idle and when car was revved up. Mechanic was instructed to take car home for a period of 7 days. He could not "replicate sound" that my car was making. My car had been in and out of the shop (for the same issue) at least 6 times between 2016-2017. And the issue still remained. Now (40,000+ miles since noise first started), I have noticed a significant reduction in horsepower, coupled with the squealing/tapping/knocking noise, that is progressively getting louder. I once again have contacted Nissan Consumer Affairs, who instructed me to take it to a different Nissan repair facility and front the $99 diagnostic fee to have my vehicle diagnosed. I am now without a vehicle, and I still am in the dark as to what is going on with my car. The sound that my car makes occurs when my car is moving, idling, in gear, or in park. I have notified the dealership and Consumer Affairs of this ongoing issue, and feel that they just do not want to look into this, even though there is an issue with my car.

- Laurel, DE, USA

problem #9

Aug 022017

Sentra

  • 6,770 miles
This happened a few months back 1 single time. I put car in reverse to back out of a space. Car reversed fine. Then I tried to put it into drive but it would not go into drive, only up to neutral. I tried turning it off and the waiting a min or 2 and turned it back on to see if it would go to drive. It would not. It would only move in reverse. I kept trying until on one of those tries it finally went into drive and I was able to get going again. Then recently, I think, 8/2/17, wed, I was at bank parked. I put car on reverse to leave bec I had a few more errands to do, car went back fine. Then I tried to put into drive; it would not go to drive. Same thing happened. It would not go into drive. It stopped in neutral and there were many cars trying to get past me, as I was blocking those coming South and those going North of me. I didn't know what to do! so I put it back into reverse and went back as much as I safely could in order to clear a wider space to see if cars could squeeze past me. The waiting cars squeezed through very unsafely for them and for me. Then I just kept trying by turning the car off and on a few mins later. I kept trying to put into drive. It would go to neutral but not into drive. Until one time, when it did and I was able to go to my next stop which was walgreens.exact thing reoccurred; I repeated tries; finally went into drive. I proceeded to go to publix. Same senario happened. It took many tries.finally went into drive and I was able to get home. I got home. Happened again when I reversed from being parked at my bldg blocking everyone. A ups truck driver also blocked. I asked for his help.he made attempts to put into dr. Finally got it. Moved my car out of harm's way. Nissan paper work is dated 8/4/17. It may repeat in a dangerous place. Was city in motion from parked. Maybe gear box is faulty, engine/transmission problem or electrical.

- Aventura, FL, USA

problem #8

Jul 092016

Sentra

  • 20 miles
In July of 2016 the weather was over 100 degrees and the car suddenly slowed down and I had to pull into parking lot the car would not move. Had to shut the car off and restart.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #7

Feb 232016

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
After driving the car one evening the engine spontaneously caught a fire. The fire deptartment said it started from some problem in the engine. In addition we notice the heat of the fire did not deploy the driver and passenger side air-bags. Normally in many cases of car fires the fire will deploy the emergency air-bags and cause the car alarm to sound this did not happen with my incident.

- West Hempstead, NY, USA

problem #6

Jul 182016

Sentra

  • 14,000 miles
The first issue occurred July 18. During my trip to Virginia, I began to lose braking. The car would then shut off. I was entering into arlington, in a high traffic area. This issue was dangerous to me and other drivers. Eventually, the car shut off every time I braked. It was towed to passport Nissan in va, where it was diagnosed as transmission/torque converter issues. The next event occurred on pulaski highway in Maryland during rush hour. I pulled out of a convenience store, went to accelerate, and the car would not move. The engine was fully engaged. Again, it was towed. I am told this is also a transmission issue. My vehicle was pushed off the road by a state highway administration vehicle and sustained body damage as a result. I am requesting a buyback from Nissan.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #5

Oct 192015

Sentra

  • 5 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Nissan Sentra. While driving approximately 5 mph, the vehicle hesitated and jerked without warning. In addition, the tachometer reading fluctuated. The vehicle was taken to two different dealers where the computerized system was reprogrammed; however, the failure persisted at any speed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 5.

- Cotuit, MA, USA

problem #4

May 252016

Sentra

  • 6,500 miles
Our Sentra has a cvt. It currently has less than 7,500 miles on the odometer. On three (3) occasions, the transmission has failed to upshift as we moved away from a stop at a traffic light. At 30 mph or less, the tach is at 4,000 RPM. We have to find a safe place to pull the vehicle to the side of the road, put the trans selection lever in park and then restart our journey. We have taken the vehicle to the Nissan dealer who told us that there was no problem......no computer error or malfunction. We contacted Nissan usa and were told the same thing. The transmission of the computer controlling it has a problem. Dates of problems: 3/20/2016; 5/20/2016; 5/25/2016

- York, PA, USA

problem #3

Mar 272016

Sentra

  • 141,000 miles
I am driving in my car (2005 Nissan Sentra 1.8S) on canal pointe blvd, New Jersey on 03/27/2015 and car suddenly stopped. Luckily I am on low speed and able to pull the car to the right lane. Then tried to restart the car but not started immediately but after few minutes restarted and drove for few miles then experienced slowing down. Hence towed to Nissan dealership East windsor, NJ. After diagnosis service advisors informed about failed crank sensor and need to replace. Then I remembered the similar issue happened in 2011. I was on New Jersey turnpike driving around 65 mph car suddenly stopped and luckily at that time as well, I was driving in right most lane on turnpike and able to pull the car on right shoulder. After few minutes car started and then took the car to Firestone, lawrenceville, NJ and they fixed the crank sensor issue. Today when I contacted Nissan told recall was only for 2005 Nissan Sentra that has 2.5 L engine and my car not in the recall list. Again this complaint is about cost for replacement and about safety. Luckily both the times I was lucky no other car/truck behind my car. Without any pre-notice, car suddenly stalls on the road. I believe we should not allow these cars on roads unless Nissan recalls crank sensors of their cars and ensures crank sensor failures not happens again. Cars suddenly stalls on the roads without any pre-notice is unacceptable. First time when crank sensor failed, car has 95000 miles and this time car has 141000 miles.please help on this and make sure Nissan recalls the cars that has crank sensor failures. Nissan will have data about models they get crank sensor failures. All these cars should be recalled. Do not know what to do when engine suddenly stops on the road. Please assist customers like me not meeting with accidents because of using Nissan cars those has crank sensor failures.

- Monroe Township, NJ, USA

problem #2

Feb 052016

Sentra

  • 600 miles
I was driving on the highway at about 70 to 80 miles for hours while suddenly I was getting close to my destination and the car won't move you can here the RPM going up to like 2500 but the car don't move at all the gas pedal was press other way in but still won't move, in order to fix the problem I have to shut off the car and restarted right away them never have the same problem again.

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #1

Jan 312015

Sentra

  • 236 miles
I bought a Nissan Sentra 2015 on January 23rd, 2015, when I took the car for the blessing I opened the hood and saw that the motor didn't have the arm that gives support for the engine and it's assembled to the body of the car. I checked the manual of my car according to my type of motor mra8de and in the document the visual aid shows this arm assembled. I took the car to the dealer Agency and explained the situation, the person in charge saw my car and doubtful took me to see the exhibit car. We opened the hook of the exhibit car as well and confirmed that the support arm was present in the car, he went to explained the situation to the office and returned with an alleged document from the Nissan corporative where it was said that Sentra 2015 models didn't include this arm and it was an engineering change from the 2014 models. I asked him what about the car manual then that was given with the car and the person said that the manual are not updated even due to the engineering change of the 2015 models. I asked for a copy of this document but it was not given because supposedly it needed and update what makes me doubt of it. I'm reporting this complaint because for me this is a security part in the car to support the engine and I'm asking for investigation assistance if this engineering change is rightful and because maybe the drivers might be in danger while driving or even in a car crash incident if this information given was false just to avoid a customer complaint in the Agency.

- Mexico, TX, USA