8.3

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$4,175.00
Average Mileage:
119,360 miles
Total Complaints:
41 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. not sure (24 reports)
  2. replace engine (16 reports)
  3. piston replacement (1 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Scion tC:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #41

Oct 022017

tC 4 cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 150,000 miles

I am a owner of a 2007 scion Tc. I'm very adamant about keeping up with maintenance and upkeep. Making sure the oil levels are adequate and monitoring all other fluids. Around the end of 2015 and the beginning of 2016 my Scion's engine started to make a knocking noise as if it were a valve knock or rod knock. It was faint but I was also having to continuously check the oil every week for it was consuming large quantities of oil.

I received a letter at moments notice that there was a TSB out for the oil consumption involving my cars engine. I immediately went in for an oil consumption test on 10/ 2017, just making the deadline for the " enhanced warranty" pertaining to the TSB. I was told I needed to purchase an oil change and I did so. Toyota of Portsmouth in NH Changed my oil and the test began.

I drove my scion for the specified mileage and returned to Toyota within the given mileage window. They then informed me that my car passed the oil consumption test. I was very skeptical of the findings because of the engine knock and mass quantities of oil that was being consumed by my car. I asked about the engine knock and brought up my concerns of the amount of oil that my engine was consuming. The mechanics at Toyota of Portsmouth then told me that the knocking sound seems like it could be a pulley but was a very common sound for the year and model of my car and to keep an eye on my oil levels.

I had my belt tensioner pulley and water pump replaced and the knocking was still present along with the excessive oil consumption. Fast forward a year down the road in 10/ 2017 despite my consistent and continuous upkeep and maintenance on my vehicle my car engine seized on the road on my way to work. It was undriveable and had to have a friend come and tow it off of the side of the road and back to my residence.

I did some research online and discovered that because of a manufacturer defect with my year make and model that the piston and piston rings were faulty. This caused my engine to be deprived of oil and caused expensive damage in my engine which I cant afford. I had also discovered that I was supposed to have two tests done but I was never informed of this by Toyota of Portsmouth.

I conclude that because of Toyotas negligence, my 2007 Scion Tc is now undriveable and has put me in an unsafe situation by stalling and dying on a hill and forcing me to roll it back on the side of the road on 10/2/2017. I hold Toyota 100 Percent responsible and it has cost me to lose money for taxis to get to work. It has cost me to lose some time with my three year old son and other family along with causing a great deal of mental and financial anguish on a daily basis.

I demand that Toyota admits fault, and claims responsibility for the damages incurred. I have called the Toyota headquarters only to be told that they cannot do anything for my vehicle. I asked to speak to a supervisor and I was told that he/she will be calling me on Monday 11/20/2017. I talked to Toyota on the fore mentioned date of 11/20/2017 and the supervisor refused to take responsibility on behalf of the company. I asked for the results but said I would need to talk to the dealer because they would have the results. I talked to the local dealership on Friday 11/17/2017 and they said I would need to contact corporate for that information. After talking to corporate and my local dealership I found they did not want to claim fault or come up with a resolve. Nor could they show me proof from the start to present.

- , North Hampton, US

problem #40

Oct 022017

tC 4 cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 155,000 miles

I am an owner of a 2007 scion Tc. I'm very adamant about keeping up with maintenance and upkeep. Making sure the oil levels are adequate and monitoring all other fluids. Around the end of 2015 and the beginning of 2016 my Scion's engine started to make a knocking noise as if it were a valve knock or piston rod knock. It was faint but I was also having to continuously check the oil every week for it was consuming large quantities of oil. (After time this came more prolific) I received a letter at moments notice that there was a TSB out for the oil consumption involving my cars engine. I immediately went in for an oil consumption test on 10/ 2017, just making the deadline for the " enhanced warranty" pertaining to the TSB. I was told I needed to purchase an oil change and I did so. Toyota of Portsmouth in NH Changed my oil and the test began.

I drove my scion for the specified mileage and returned to Toyota within the given mileage window. They then informed me that my car passed the oil consumption test. I was very skeptical of the findings because of the engine knock and mass quantities of oil that was being consumed by my car. I asked about the engine knock and brought up my concerns of the amount of oil that my engine was consuming. The mechanics at Toyota of Portsmouth then told me that the knocking sound seems like it could be a pulley but was a very common sound for the year and model of my car and to keep an eye on my oil levels.

I had my belt tensioner pulley and water pump replaced and the knocking was still present along with the excessive oil consumption. Fast forward a year down the road in 10/ 2017 despite my consistent and continuous upkeep and maintenance on my vehicle my car engine seized on the road on my way to work. It was undriveable and had to have a friend come and tow it off of the side of the road and back to my residence.

I did some research online and discovered that because of a manufacturer defect with my year make and model that the piston and piston rings were faulty. This caused my engine to be deprived of oil and caused expensive damage in my engine which I cant afford. I had also discovered that I was supposed to have two tests done but I was never informed of this by Toyota of Portsmouth.

I conclude that because of Toyotas negligence, my 2007 Scion Tc is now undriveable and has put me in an unsafe situation by stalling and dying on a hill and forcing me to roll it back on the side of the road on 10/2/2017. I hold Toyota 100 Percent responsible and it has cost me to lose money for taxis to get to work. It has cost me to lose some time with my three year old son and other family along with causing a great deal of mental and financial anguish on a daily basis.

I demand that Toyota admits fault, and claims responsibility for the damages incurred. I have called the Toyota headquarters only to be told that they cannot do anything for my vehicle. I asked to speak to a supervisor and I was told that he will be calling me on Monday 11/20/2017. ( I will update after I speak to Toyota furthermore.)

- , North Hampton, US

problem #39

Sep 042017

tC Limited Edition 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 152,060 miles

First off I want to say I love my little car! Problem is that she may not run much longer. I had oil consumption problems in 2012 and after much complaining Toyota fixed the problem by replacing the short block after dissecting the engine to prove it was faulty. After that the car ran great, Now for the past year the car is mimicking all the same issues as before....sluggish, stalling at Red lights, idling very hard. I took it back and had oil consumption test but of course the car passed!!! I have had to add oil once again between oil changes but according to Toyota specifications the car can use up to almost 5 quarts of oil between oil changes!!!! Unheard of that a company is allowed to scam people this way. Now I cannot sell my car or get good trade value because of all the negative problems coming to light concerning the tC. I do not want another Car! I just want Toyota to fix my car. Of course when I spoke with 2 different managers it was repeated verbatim that they could not help me since car passed oil consumption test. Now have a car that is dying and another mechanic proved car failed compression test on 2 cylinders and just hitting number to pass other 2. All related to the oil consumption and faulty piston rings in the block, they replaced with faulty parts apparently. Sorry I forgot to mention Toyota is the only people ever to touch car besides mechanic once to diagnose the stall of engine and could not make it to dealership which is 31 miles away. Please Toyota admit the engines have problems and fix them. I bought Toyota brand because of name and endurance. I have 152,000 miles and 2nd engine dying. 152,000 miles on a Toyota is just beginning of its life....NOT THE END,!!!

- , Crestview, US

problem #38

Aug 142017

tC

  • Manual transmission
  • 118,285 miles

My only gripe for now is that Toyota should take full responsibility for their carelessness. I'm hoping that replacing the gasket cover will help since my car has an oil leak. When the tech went under he noticed oil in certain areas. When i got the oil change I barely had any oil on the dipstick, and this was barely a few miles over of it's 3000k. replace the oil gasket cover for now if not change pistons

- , San Diego, CA, US

problem #37

Oct 262016

tC 2.4s 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 151,728 miles

I had to top off the oil every 1500 miles with almost 2 quarts when I first noticed my car acting different. Now I have to top it off every 1000 miles with a quart of oil just to make sure my vehicles engine has enough lubrication. This oil consumption is getting out of hand, Toyota needs to do something about this.

- , Huntsville, TX, US

problem #36

Sep 162015

tC

  • Automatic transmission
  • 180,000 miles

HAVING TO PUT 2 QTS OF FULL SYNTHETIC OIL IN EVERY 3 WEEKS IS A PAIN AND EXPENSIVE. I'M A FULL TIME COLLEGE STUDENT SO BUYING ANOTHER CAR IS NOT AN OPTION FOR ME RIGHT NOW. PREVIOUS OWNERS DID NOT TELL ME ABOUT THIS PROBLEM AND WHEN I TRIED TO CONTACT THEM THEY BLOCKED MY NUMBER. LOL IS TOYOTA DOING ANYTHING ABOUT THIS?

- , Fresno, US

problem #35

Apr 262017

tC 4 cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 167,125 miles

I always have my oil changed regularly. I can never make it to the next oil change, having to add oil every other week at least.

- , Cincinnati, OH, US

problem #34

Apr 192017

tC 2.4L

  • Manual transmission
  • 86,000 miles

trying still to resolve issue with toyota...only 86000 miles and so far won't touch the issue

- , St Louis, US

problem #33

Oct 132015

tC

  • Automatic transmission
  • 160,000 miles

First I never know when the oil is low because the damn oil light NEVER comes on, it only flickers for a second. Second I have already had the gaskets fixed, $160.00. A week later and only 850 miles later it was bone dry..AGAIN! My mechanics are at a loss. They filled the oil, I reset the odometer and have to bring it back in a week so we can see how low it gets in a week and at how many miles. The fact that Toyota is fully aware of this problem and is doing NOTHING about it SUCKS! I really love my car and it makes me sad that I am now going shopping for another car. SHAME ON YOU TOYOTA!

- , Phoenix, US

problem #32

May 052017

tC

  • Manual transmission
  • 95,718 miles

I bought this car for my son so he can commute to college. After about one year, the car engine is seized because of excessive oil burns. I knew it that this car burns oil, but I had no idea that it was burning so much oil. I am very disappointed in Toyota quality.

- , Keller, TX, US

problem #31

Apr 182017

tC

  • Automatic transmission
  • 146,000 miles

Bought this one owner tC with 128000 miles. Between oil changes I have to add at least two qts of oil. I use full synthetic oil. I look on internet to see what could make it use so much oil and found that other tCs have the same problem.

- , Longton, US

problem #30

Apr 242017

tC

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,000 miles

6 months beyond extended "warranty enhancement" program, yet 50000 miles under limit.

- , Cuyahoga Falls, US

problem #29

Mar 232017

tC Hatchback 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 137,000 miles

Been having the oil pressure light came on at 1k miles!! I am mad the Toyota dealer won't fix it!

- , Katy, TX, US

problem #28

Apr 092017

tC

  • Automatic transmission
  • 107,100 miles

On March 19th, 2017 I got an oil change at about 106,000 miles. On april 8th, 2017 i was driving on the high way and when I excited out to put gas i noticed my oil light started blinking every time i stopped at a light. to my surprise my oil was very low and i was not due for an oil change until 111,000 mile mark. I took it to the shop and they told me my engine blew due to low oil. HOW IS THAT POSSIBLE. After doing some research, I found out that this has been happening to a lot of people and TOYOTA has not done anything to help their customers. Now I have to buy a used engine to get my car up and running again.

- , Costa Mesa, US

problem #27

Sep 012016

tC

  • Automatic transmission
  • 180,000 miles

This is my wife's primary mode of transportation and she typically averages 50-60 miles a day, 4-5 times a week. This has been a very reliable vehicle since she has purchased it and we typically get good gas mileage. Up until about a year ago we have noticed that the vehicle has been burning through oil at an incredible rate. I usually change the oil every 3,000 miles and we were good. Now the oil light will come on when she brakes when she is at the 1000-1500 mile mark, resulting in us having to add a quart or two to get us until the next oil change. At first I thought there might of been a leak, but we park in a garage and there has never been any residue on the ground. Upon further research I have found that this is a common problem with this make, model and year. If there is anything we can do to correct this problem please let me know. If this vehicle were to break down we would be doomed! Please help us out to get this problem fixed ASAP!!

- , Long Beach, US

problem #26

Mar 012017

tC 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

Extended warranty is BS. This should be a Toyota recall.

- , Westerly, RI, US

problem #25

Mar 052017

tC

  • Automatic transmission
  • 147,023 miles

I have a major problem with oil being burned in the engine in a car that has just turn 10 years old. im burning through a quart about every 1500 miles thats not how a well designed engine should function

- , New Braunfels, TX, US

problem #24

Sep 252016

tC 2dr Coupe 2.4L I-4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 148,743 miles

My wife predominantly drives this car and said that she noticed that a small red light comes on from time to time when she brakes. When I tried to recreate the issue, everything seemed to be running fine with no lights coming on. When I checked the engine oil, the level was about halfway between the empty and full. I topped off the engine oil just to make sure it was full and didn't think much of it.

About a 3500 miles later I was driving the scion tC and I finally saw that the oil light came on for less than a second and turned off while I was braking at the stop light. I immediate pulled over to check oil level and it was not even detectable on the dip stick! I immediate bought 2 qts of Mobile 1 that I normally use and that got the oil level about 75% full! I started Googling to see if others had the same issue and saw that I was not the only one and that Toyota claims this is "normal" oil consumption.

I'm sorry Toyota, but burning 2+ qts of oil in 3500 miles is not normal in a car. This is not a race car being driven on a track day. It's a daily commuter car that suffers from stop and go traffic of Los Angeles.

- , Monterey Park, CA, US

problem #23

Feb 212017

tC 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 176,000 miles

On Feb 21st 2017 i took my scion tc 07 for an oil change and asked about the exessive oil consumption recall and they said it had gone over the recall parameters my 26,000 miles.

I even called the toyota/scion headquarters mentioning that i never received any letter or called advising me of this recall and now i'm left with the problem by my own

- , Buford, US

problem #22

Feb 112017

tC 2az-Fe

  • Manual transmission
  • 81,000 miles

My 2007 Scion tC, is experiencing excessive oil consumption believed to be from defective piston rings designed by the manufacturer. This will inevitably lead to engine failure if not caught soon enough, and is already an extremely expensive fix as is. My car no longer falls under the standard Toyota Powertrain Warranty (60 months / 60k miles). But has less than 85,000 miles on it. Toyota will do nothing to fix this problem that has affected multiple model/years of their cars with the engine 2AZ-FE. This needs to be recalled and fixed by Toyota.

- , Cottonwood Heights, UT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »