10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,367 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #194

Sep 152019

Camry

  • 92,000 miles
Sun visor (passenger side) has rotated slowly downward blocking my view of the road. Apparently the spring tension mechanism failed causing the visor to hang downward obstructing my view of the road. Note: The sun visor and sun visor bracket was previously involved in a Toyota warranty enhancement notice involving this same vehicle.

- Levittown, PA, USA

problem #193

Sep 022019

Camry

  • 89,200 miles
The sun visor dropped, blinding my sight while driving. This is dangerous and a clear safety issue. Toyota had previously issued a warranty enhancement, but had said at the time that if the issue has not yet appeared, we should not do anything. Now that the warranty enhancement period has expired, they are not prepared to do anything. This is a clear safety concern. A recall is warranted. Not only is visibility severely impaired while driving, but also removing the visor exposes the driver to strong sun glares that make it difficult to drive safely.

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #192

Mar 012014

Camry

  • miles
TL- the contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that her dashboard was melting affecting her visibility; the vehicle was taken to a dealer(Toyota of hollywood 1841 N state road 7, hollywood, fl 33021 855-472-9747) where the dashboard was replaced. The contact was charged a service fee for $250 for the labor required for the repair. After the dashboard was replaced, the contact received a recall notice NHTSA campaign number: 15V689000 (visibility) which was related to her initial dashboard failure. The contact drove the vehicle back to the dealer where she had the dashboard replaced. When she arrived, she was informed that the recall did not apply to her because the dashboard had already been replaced and informed her she did not qualify for the recall. As of recent, the dashboard had began to melt again which had affected her visibility while driving. The manufacturer was notified about the recall and offered no assistance to having the dashboard replaced. The manufacturer did notify her that she would be entitled to a reimbursement for the initial fee for her first repair, the contact had submitted the necessary paper work to receive a reimbursement and had not heard back from the manufacturer. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #191

Oct 112006

Camry

  • miles
...form # 3 request #215013 chat transcript (E-mail)the Toyota sticky dashboard lawsuit was filed in the U.S. district court for the district of South Carolina - wendy george V. Toyota motor Corp., et al. The plaintiff was represented by richardson, patrick, westbrook & brickman, llc. Says it will take about 16 years to repair the vehicles on the dealer waiting list. By that time the vehicles would likely "be out of use"!!!!!!!!!!!! there was also lawsuit filed by melissa graham, the owner of a 2009 Toyota Camry. That lawsuit, melissa graham V. Toyota motor Corp., et al., was dismissed after Toyota announced the warranty program. Because this was not a recall Toyota motor corporation is refusing to replace the sticky dashboard resulting from heat of summer and winter heating which causes eye, throat and lung irritation, clouding, glare of windshield and eyeglasses. The clock mounted on the dashboard has a cloud over the plastic cover making it almost impossible to read as well as plastic cover over dome lights. I brought all of this to the attention of service advisor prior to the Toyota warranty enhancement which ended May 2017, however the service advisor told me it was not a known issue, did not record the issue and suggested whatever I used to clean the dash, clock and dome light created the problem. My question, what is it going to take to make Toyota motor corporation take responsibility of this health and safety hazard? perhaps another class action suit now that it is well documented dealers are reselling these vehicles with the dashboard defect and denying replacement due to May 2017 expiration date to those of us still driving these vehicles.no manufacturer should be allowed to deny liability for a defect that is clearly a health and safety hazard. I also explained repeatedly to service director and customer service numerous invalid warranties were received

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #190

Oct 112006

Camry

  • miles
#1 08/19/19 request #215013 chat transcript (E-mail)N, DC 2059highway #traffic S I requested an email for this communication and was denied but directed to complete the online form. Aug 9 2019, I communicated via email with fred anderson Toyota jeff demeyer | service director 803.796.6650 jdemeyer@anderson-auto.net regarding sticky melting dashboard of my approx. 57,000 mi 2007 Camry. His reply " Toyota motors North America will not allow a dealer to perform any warranty extensions after they have expired. My advise would be to call Toyota motors at (800)331-4331 and start a case seeking replacement of the dash. If approved, they will notify us with an authorization # and we can proceed with the replacement"Aug 10 2019, spoke with customer service representative (susan) @ Toyota motors at (800)331-4331 regarding dash replacement approval. Service request denied!! of course they have no record of my ever discussing this matter with an advisor prior to the warranty notification. To paraphrase the customer service representative "to provide an exception for one customer would mean the exception to be provided to all customers", we have parameters in place which does not allow repair beyond the warranty enhancement expiration date".I have reviewed the complaints @ Toyota motor corporation customer care service. A consumer posted a complaint July 2O 2019 regarding his 2007 Camry, "I just purchased this car two weeks ago and noticed within a couple of days a glare on the windshield that not only caused a problem with being able to see through the windshield at on coming traffic but it also caused a headache from straining to see. Upon further investigation, I noticed the dash was extremely sticky, finally realizing the dash was literally melting! this is a terrible liability! this car only had 138, 000 miles when I purchased it and should still be eligible....form #2

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #189

Aug 012017

Camry

  • miles
The dashboard apears to be melting.because the dash is melting it gives off a glare on the windshield that affect visibility while driving. It has turned into a sticky mess that no store bought cleaner can clear/clean off. I fell this is a safety issue that needs to be addressed as if affect the visibility of the driver.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #188

Jun 012017

Camry

  • miles
I bought my car new and I have never had a problem with the dashboard until June 2017. I took it to the Toyota dealership becuse I read on the internet that this was a defect with the car. I also never reveived a letter from Toyota regarding the dashboard. When I took the car to Toyota they said it was sticky and they ordered a new dashboard. I took the car in then got a phonecall from the service department that Toyota would not cover the cost because it was after May 2017. Now it is becoming a saftey issue becase of the melting it is reflecting on my windshield which is a saftey hazard when I drive the car when the sun is out. Toyata corporate told me they make no exceptions. What can I do?

- Clementon, NJ, USA

problem #187

Jul 102019

Camry

  • 118,000 miles
Passenger visor not working

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #186

Jan 012016

Camry

  • 80,000 miles
The dash melts in the heat causing it to become very shiny causing huge areas when the sun shines to reflect onto the windshield. This glare is so bad it's almost impossible to see anything in front of the car other than the reflection of the dash

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #185

Feb 122019

Camry

  • 127,000 miles
I bought my 2007 Camry in 2006 and it has been great till the last 6 months when the dash board started to get sticky and is now fully sticky and glossy to the point where the sun reflects off it and is blinding. Toyota said they had a recall which I was never notified. The address when I bought my car is the same in my driver's license and I never changed it. I live in buena park since 1991 and my drivers license has that address since I was 18 (18 years ago). I called Toyota and they said the recall needed and its. Ot their concern. I find it irresponsible that Toyota takes no action for faulty manufacturing of their products and shifts the fault to the consumer when I had no idea there was any issues. Secondly when they had the gas pedal recall I took my car in for maintenance and when I got it back they cut the pedal without my knowledge and said a replacement was on back order. I have since 2010 requested the replacement till 2011 and they always said it in back order. I gave up asking because I got excuses. When I'm driving my foot slips off the gas pedal because its shorter. Its hazardous when your making a turn and the car loses acceleration and you have to quickly hit the gas again. This is dangerous when the road is slippery in a front wheel drive. I have contacted Toyota with these concerns and all they say is that there isnt anything they can do.

- Buena Park, CA, USA

problem #184

Jan 012019

Camry

  • miles
The dashboard has become extremely sticky, causing a severe reflection on my driver's side windshield. I contacted Toyota, they said the warranty for this has expired. Case #[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Joplin, MO, USA

problem #183

Feb 062019

Camry

  • 64,450 miles
I purchased this car brand new from the dealer who registered it and gave me paperwork listing my address on all of the forms. I just recently found out that there was an extended warranty program for the driver side visor defect. I had been having issues with it for a few years but since I rarely drive during the daytime it wasn┐T an issue until my shift changed. So now it's broken and today, years later, Toyota tells me that the warranty information was sent to an address other than the one I have lived since I purchased this car. Since I didn┐T register the car and all of my paperwork had my then and still address on it, I feel that they should honor the warranty because they sent it to an address that wasn┐T mine. They will not give me the address but referred me to my state┐ dmv, who also will not give me this phantom address where my info was sent. Colonial Toyota registered the car for me so I have no idea what mistakes were made in the registration process and no way of getting the information. Toyota is doing what all big companies do, pass the mistakes they made to the consumer. I will never purchase anything from atoyota dealer ever again.

- Hamden, CT, USA

problem #182

Jan 012015

Camry

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the driver and passenger side sun visors failed. The passenger side sun visor assembly detached and the sun visor could not be used. The driver's side sun visor assembly did not allow the sun visor to remain in one position to protect against the sun. Both sun visors were replaced by a manufacturer warranted repair approximately four years ago, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was not repaired. The dealer and manufacturer were not contacted. The failure mileage was not available.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #181

Nov 012018

Camry 4-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the dashboard was melting. The vehicle was taken to the dealer brown's Toyota of glen burnie (7167 ritchie hwy, glen burnie, md 21061 (855)-424-4897) where a diagnostic test was performed and determine that the dashboard needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 51,000. Consumer stated dealer extended the warranty to 2017 but consumer didn't get this effect until 2018.

- Brooklyn Park, MD, USA

problem #180

Sep 062018

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the driver's side sun visor was faulty, fell down, and blocked the contact's vision while driving. The contact mentioned that there was an extended warranty, but the VIN was not included and the warranty was expired. The dealer (jones junction Toyota, 1508 bel air road #2000, bel air, md, 410-879-6400) and the manufacturer confirmed that the warranty was expired. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 78,000. * consumer stated since our orginal telephone call with your office, we had the broke visor replaced. We had no choice since we couldn't see properly with the visor in the way-this was a safety issue. Attached is the receipt. The dealer gave us a small discount from the regular price, but we feel this should have been covered by Toyota at no cost to us. Updated 10/30/18

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #179

Jul 092017

Camry

  • 110,000 miles
The dashboard of my Camry is melting and giving off fumes that we can smell and could be hazardous to our health. We have developed a coughs since this happened. The fumes are coating the inside of our windshield and makes it difficult to see. I have contacted Toyota usa and Toyota Japan and they refuse to do anything about it.the vehicle was in motion when we had difficulty seeing through the windshield.

- Saint Johns, FL, USA

problem #178

Jul 012017

Camry

  • 125,000 miles
Takata recall..my 2007 Toyota Camry has developed a shiny sticky coat over several months which covers the entire dash. The shininess obstructs driving visibility and I have found nothing on the market to clean this area. The car originally came from Florida and was garage kept when I purchased. Seems like some sort of manufacturer defect.

- Enon Valley, PA, USA

problem #177

Jun 172013

Camry

  • 80,000 miles
Almost a collision. I have a dash that is sticky and the glare from the sun reflecting off the sticky dash is a very bad safety hazard. On 3 different occasions I could have had an accident. It even happens accident night when the street lights reflect off the dash. I have had the cat in motion and stable and have had near accidents. Please let me know if there is anything I can do about this. It is out of warranty. Bit this needs to be recalled and fixed by the maker. I hope and pray it does not take a death or several deaths before action is taken to get this major safety problem fixed. Thank you. (xxxxx). Parts of this document have been redacted to protect personally identifiable information pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Seminole, OK, USA

problem #176

Aug 152018

Camry

  • 142,000 miles
II have a 2007 Camry that has a defective sun visor as it now hangs and obstructs my visibility. This is a safety hazard and I would expect Toyota to honor it and fix it without charge to the consumer.

- Aliso Viejo, CA, USA

problem #175

Aug 082018

Camry

  • 94,000 miles
Takata recall sticky dashboard, can't see with a bad glare

- Pitman, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »