7.9

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$2,720
Average Mileage:
104,850 miles
Total Complaints:
117 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. not sure (75 reports)
  2. replace piston and rings (34 reports)
  3. replaced engine (5 reports)
  4. the car's engine still runs abnormally (2 reports)
  5. toyota replaced rings and bearings (1 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Toyota dealer.

problem #117

Jul 042017

Camry LE 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

losing oil, cannot afford to keep buying oil on ss

- Richard C., Springfield, MA, US

problem #116

Apr 092018

Camry LX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 158,300 miles

This car is actually my fathers car. His name is Phil Myhre he is 91 years old and depends on this car everyday. He is the second owner of this car and has had it approximately 3 years. If I remember correctly when he bought it had approximately 130,000 miles on the engine it now has 158,300 miles. He has always taken it to Jiffy Lube to have the oil & filter changed every 3,000 miles since he has owned it.

In early March of this year 2018 I was with him and I was driving when the oil light lit up. I pulled over immediately and checked the oil level which did not even register on the dip stick. I had to add 2 quarts of oil. The latest oil change from Jiffy Lube was only about 1,500 miles ago so I originally thought that they shorted him on oil. I then took over the oil changes myself and have discovered that this car is using oil and it is not leaking or any sign of "Blue Smoke" I have had to add about 2 quarts of oil every 1500 miles.

I recently found out about Toyota's excessive oil consumption warranty enhancement notification -ZE7 program and called Toyota on it. They told me because the car has 158,300 it will no longer be warranted. I think this is poor customer service on Toyota's part as my father never received any notification letter from them also this is their product and they knew they had issues with this particular engine. The engine category is the 2AZ-FE, 2.4 L, 2008 Toyota Camry.

- Brian M., Bremerton, US

problem #115

Mar 012017

Camry LE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,000 miles

I bought the 2008 Camry new when I retired thinking it would last for at least 20 years. I noticed it began using oil around 100000 miles but thought it was normal since I had the oil changed every 5000 miles as recommended by the dealer. It is using 2 quarts in less than a 1000 miles and after adding oil it will last 600 miles before needing more added. I will never buy another Toyota product is the company doesn't take care of this problem.

- Barbara B., Weaverville, US

problem #114

Feb 142018

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 116,000 miles

I took my car to the Toyota dealership on February 14,2018 because I was told by a mechanic that I probably had an oil leak because my car was burning excessive oil. Once I arrived at the dealership, I told them to check for an oil leak. I was told by the technician that they did not find an oil leak, but my power steering was leaking. The repair cost me $392.00. On March 12, 2018 I took my car back to the dealership because I had no oil in my car. I had to buy a quart of oil to put in my car in order for me to drive it to the dealership. Once I arrived and expressed that I had just gotten an oil change last month on February 14, 2018 and now my oil level was extremely low. After checking out my vehicle, the technician informed me that there had been problems with excessive oil consumption for 2008 Toyota Camry’s but the time had expired for Toyota to repair it for free ( it expired January 2018). I was never notified of the recall so how could I know about the excessive oil consumption problem. The technician said that the engine would have to be broken down in order to diagnose the exact problem and that would cost about $2000. I think it is very scheming and conniving of Toyota dealerships not to notify Toyota owners of potential problems. The technician told me that “Oh, we would never just tell the owner’s of potential problems.” I think it is bad business and very deceptive to purposely hide information from consumers. Now I’m left with an engine repair bill.

- Joycelyn O., Mobile, US

problem #113

Nov 012015

Camry 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 116,381 miles

This problem was told of this problem by mechanics when conducting oil change. At that time, the engine oil had only about one quart left. After that I began to use this car, not my wife. I check it every 500-600 miles. I have to add a half quart engine oil at least.

- sailorus, Chino Hills, US

problem #112

Dec 012013

Camry SE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

I never received any recall on this car. We noticed it used a bit of oil early on but Toyota said that was normal? Time went by and we had gotten an oil change and like 3 weeks later my wife pulls in drive and I hear a light ticking sound, so I checked the oil and there wasn’t any on the stick. I started watching close and the car was using almost a quart week. We stopped driving the car as much. Toyota will not fix it. It now uses a quart every 200 miles or so..... 2000 to 3000 dollar fix that’s not my fault but the manufacture.

- macmoney$, Hopkinsville, US

problem #111

Mar 012018

Camry V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 132,000 miles

TOYOTA DID NOT SEND A RECALL OUT FOR THE PROBLEM WITH THE PISTONS, WHICH CAUSED EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION. MY CAR RAN OUT OF OIL AND NEARLY BURNED MY ENGINE UP. MY LIGHT DID NOT COME ON TO LET ME KNOW MY OIL WAS LOW. I RANDOMLY CHECKED THE OIL AND FOUND IT EMPTY. FOUND OUT ABOUT THE PROBLEM. BROUGHT IT TO TOYOTA THEY TOLD ME I HAD AN OIL LEAK WHICH I GOT FIXED. BROUGHT IT BACK AND THEY TELL ME ITS OUT OF WARRANTY NOW. STILL EXCESSIVELY BURNING OIL.

- Susan G., Marrero, US

problem #110

Dec 012016

Camry CE 2.4L L4 Dohc 16v

  • Manual transmission
  • 130,031 miles

Burning 1 qt of oil every 600 miles. Toyota acknowledges there is a design defect but won't fix since it is past the warranty extension. How am I supposed to know there was a warranty extension? They said the dealer would tell me when I go into service. But, I say that I don't go to my dealer for service. They say that is why I should go to a dealer for service. Really shady way to say you have provided a warranty extension for a known design defect but then do not provide adequate notification to the consumer. This oil consumption defect can cause engine failure in a moving vehicle. Big fail for Toyota.

- Andy C., Franklin, MA, US

problem #109

Aug 012012

Camry LX Four cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

I have a Toyota Camry 2008. I bought it in Summer 2012 with bank loans. Since I bought this car, I had abnormal engine oil consumption. Actually, I believe all cars may have engine oil consumption to some extent. However, my car has had always too excessive engine oil consumption such that I have had to add quarts of oil after 2,000-4,000 driving mileage which has been always far behind oil-filter replacement services at 5,000 miles.

I have had experience with Toyota Corolla, and comparing Corolla and Camry, I realized that the Camry engine oil consumption is much significantly more than Corolla despite that the Corolla is even one year older.

I tested various oil types, from the finest to the conventional oils, and various filters, from the finest to the genuine Toyota filters. All of these demonstrated much significant engine oil consumption without any observable difference for engine oil consumption between them.

Ultimately, in 2016, I took my Camry to a Toyota Center and they suggested to run an engine oil consumption test (which Toyota had offered in a recall due to a manufacturing problem in the engine -- either in pistons or rings, or both). I accepted to run the test, and after the test, the technician confirmed that the test did not show significant engine oil consumption, and they did not fix my car.

I decided to run the test again in 2017; however, I could not finish the test due to going over the expected mileage for bringing the car back to complete the test. Right now, the car is out of the recall warranty period which is 10 years after the car purchase.

This engine oil consumption problem is a Toyota manufacturing fault and must be fixed as soon as possible by Toyota at any time without any test requirements. Toyota announced 2008 Camrys have this problem, and the problem is there in all 2008 Camry cars not only in diagnosed cars. Technicians may make mistakes in running the test; however, the manufactured pieces (piston and/or ring in my case) are all faulty in all 2008 Camrys. Requesting to run a test is not reasonable at all for a car type that is legitimately proven by the manufacturer or numerous customers to possess a faulty piece or pieces.

I called the Toyota Customer Services North America [at number (800) 331-4331] during the past several days (February 24 and 26, 2018) and talked to several ranking customer services agents up to a supervisor (named James Fewel – Operation Supervisor – located at P.O. Box 259001, Plano, TX 75025). All of them failed to resolve my issue as I requested them to fix my car manufacturing problem at Toyota expense. Their justification for not giving me any service was that they are fair to customers because they treat all customers the same with the same service that Toyota (the faulty manufacturer) has specified. They described the Toyota service as “taking car to a Toyota Center and running engine oil consumption test” (for a proven manufacturing problem originated from Toyota engineers or designers), which is not possible for my car anymore because I am out of the deadline to do so.

All in all, I strongly urge Toyota to fix this issue timelessly before people fall into bigger and far more serious troubles of losing the car engines (and consequent safety issues) and filing numerous lawsuits against Toyota.

Best regards, A Former Loyal Costumer of Toyota Car Products and Services

- Mahdi H., Austin, US

problem #108

Nov 062017

Camry ES 2.3L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

This problem was consistent. We had to check the oil on a frequent basis and at times replace the gaskets. The mechanic would check the oil leak every oil change and would have to tighten the bolts until it the time came to where we had to replace the gaskets. Then the process would start over again.

- Jason H., Moody, US

problem #107

Feb 062018

Camry LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,255 miles

My mechanic (not at the dealership) just told me that my 2008 Camry is burning oil excessively. Anyone else having this issue? Is Toyota doing anything about it?

- Brice D., Elkridge, MD, US

problem #106

Jan 212018

Camry XSL 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 160,000 miles

Toyota needs to protect their reputation. If not corrected I will switch to HONDA.

- Jerry F., Chino Valley, US

problem #105

Sep 012016

Camry CE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 101,000 miles

I have had 3 oil consumption tests done with the dealer indicating that the car past the 1100-1200 miles test. However, whenever I change the oil, only about 2 quarts are emptied out, and the car now shows the oil light with 2,000 plus miles remaining since the last oil change. There is no way this car is not burning oil given the small amount of oil emptied during each oil change. The dealer is either wrong or the consumption issue only shows up after the 1200 miles.

- Patrick E., Waxchaw, US

problem #104

Dec 012017

Camry V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 139,000 miles

I had received the extended warranty coverage letter for the excessive oil consumption more than a year ago. No issues until possibly October 2017 when oil maintenance light kept coming on, an event after oil change after just 1000 miles (usually every 5000 miles before). Then got car checked out and mechanic found almost no oil in car. Car was driving poorly with sometimes stalling. I got an oil change and car worked fine for two weeks and had same problem.again.

By this time, I remembered the warranty and went to Toyota Dealership where the told me the warranty was not valid due to car being over 10 years old. Anyway they filled car with oil and told me to return in 1100-1300 miles for the results of the test which I will later know. I don't have much hope of getting this fixed under warranty.

Update from Feb 24, 2018: I got the car checked out by the dealership and the test showed the excessive engine oil consumption is occurring but the car is no longer under warranty. It will cost $2800 to fix the piston issue.They told me to call the Toyota company (1-800 number) to see if they could help. I will see what happens.

- aducatcher, Spring, US

problem #103

Aug 012017

Camry LE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 142,000 miles

My car has been very well maintained, everything on-time. Back August, Jiffy Lube told us that my car is consuming about 2 QT every 3K miles. I read about it and it is a known issue with Toyotas, I need them to resolve my car issue because it is very expensive for me to carry with a manufacturer faults.

- ezsosa, Egg Harbor Township, US

problem #102

Aug 022017

Camry Camry SE 4 cyl 2.4L Gas

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles

I have to refill the oil at least every two weeks. And I'm tired of checking and refilling. My Toyota Sienna Van never has to do this! I've had this Camry for over a year and it's time for me to do something about this oil consumption.

- Al L., San Jose, CA, US

problem #101

Dec 012016

Camry LE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

Car is burning up oil and I wasn't sure why. but I read through many people having the exact same issue but the repair seems too expensive. there has to be a solution to this..

- kinglgc17, Houston, US

problem #100

Jun 012016

Camry CE 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,565 miles

took car in when i received the letter they did the test and said that 1 litre per 1600 km was not excesive but now i check every couple of days and it is always down I have had toyotas for since 2000 and this is my first time they don't seem to care about my problem

- mcisaac, Milton, ON, Canada

problem #99

Oct 172015

Camry LE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 190,000 miles

I received a recall notice for oil consumption I believe in the summer of 2015. I didn't have any issues with oil consumption at the time. However around October 2015, I began to notice the car was burning through oil, I requested a oil consumption test---but it came back that there was no issue. At the time of the oil consumption test my car was at 190,000 miles.

Now, the car is starting to burn more oil even after regular oil changes from Moss Bros Toyota in Moreno Valley. I just got my oil changed on August 4th 2017. Well two weeks (8/18/2017) after my change I noticed the oil sensor would flash every time I came to a stop. I check the oil in my car and there was barely any on the dipstick. As a result, I added more oil myself to avoid burning up the engine. I called the service advisor at Moss Bros who helped me two weeks prior. I explained the situation and told him I had an oil consumption test 2 years ago and was advised everything was normal. Unfortunately, he said there was nothing Toyota could do to help because of the high mileage on my Camry. He said it would cost $5,000 to replace the piston rings or $4000 to replace the engine.

As a result, I filed a claim with Toyota consumer affairs (Case#1708181590)--The girl Melissa on the phone didn't want to help and told me Toyota wouldn't be able to pay for the warranty work because of high miles. Toyota knew the piston rings were faulty from the beginning. They didn't want to spend the money or hours/years trying to repair/replace engines in these cars. So they make the consumer do this stupid worthless consumption test to avoid recall repairs. They are obviously trying to avoid taking care of a problem that many of us are facing.

I purchased this vehicle in October of 2007, brand new off the lot. Took it in for all of the regular maintenance appointments and know that I did everything right. My car should not be having all these issues especially for a brand that prides itself in reliability and durability.

I'm going to have to look into another car to purchase and it definitely will not be a Toyota.

- robersonallie, Perris, US

problem #98

Jun 012015

Camry LE 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles

When I go for oil changes there is hardly any oil on the stick. I was told that this model could go 8,000 miles without an oil change by Toyota of course when you go somewhere else they will say 4,000. But before I am at four thousand miles I barely have any oil if any on the oil stick. This was one of the reasons that I chose Toyota. My car is a 2008 that was bought in 2010 and it has been well taken care of but I am not pleased with the excessive oil use.

- bren1965, Meridian, US

Read the next 20 complaints »