8.0

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$3,078.00
Average Mileage:
103,170 miles
Total Complaints:
100 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. not sure (66 reports)
  2. replace piston and rings (27 reports)
  3. replaced engine (5 reports)
  4. the car's engine still runs abnormally (1 reports)
  5. toyota replaced rings and bearings (1 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Toyota dealer.

problem #100

Jun 012016

Camry CE 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,565 miles

took car in when i received the letter they did the test and said that 1 litre per 1600 km was not excesive but now i check every couple of days and it is always down I have had toyotas for since 2000 and this is my first time they don't seem to care about my problem

- , Milton, ON, Canada

problem #99

Oct 172015

Camry LE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 190,000 miles

I received a recall notice for oil consumption I believe in the summer of 2015. I didn't have any issues with oil consumption at the time. However around October 2015, I began to notice the car was burning through oil, I requested a oil consumption test---but it came back that there was no issue. At the time of the oil consumption test my car was at 190,000 miles.

Now, the car is starting to burn more oil even after regular oil changes from Moss Bros Toyota in Moreno Valley. I just got my oil changed on August 4th 2017. Well two weeks (8/18/2017) after my change I noticed the oil sensor would flash every time I came to a stop. I check the oil in my car and there was barely any on the dipstick. As a result, I added more oil myself to avoid burning up the engine. I called the service advisor at Moss Bros who helped me two weeks prior. I explained the situation and told him I had an oil consumption test 2 years ago and was advised everything was normal. Unfortunately, he said there was nothing Toyota could do to help because of the high mileage on my Camry. He said it would cost $5,000 to replace the piston rings or $4000 to replace the engine.

As a result, I filed a claim with Toyota consumer affairs (Case#1708181590)--The girl Melissa on the phone didn't want to help and told me Toyota wouldn't be able to pay for the warranty work because of high miles. Toyota knew the piston rings were faulty from the beginning. They didn't want to spend the money or hours/years trying to repair/replace engines in these cars. So they make the consumer do this stupid worthless consumption test to avoid recall repairs. They are obviously trying to avoid taking care of a problem that many of us are facing.

I purchased this vehicle in October of 2007, brand new off the lot. Took it in for all of the regular maintenance appointments and know that I did everything right. My car should not be having all these issues especially for a brand that prides itself in reliability and durability.

I'm going to have to look into another car to purchase and it definitely will not be a Toyota.

- , Perris, US

problem #98

Jun 012015

Camry LE 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles

When I go for oil changes there is hardly any oil on the stick. I was told that this model could go 8,000 miles without an oil change by Toyota of course when you go somewhere else they will say 4,000. But before I am at four thousand miles I barely have any oil if any on the oil stick. This was one of the reasons that I chose Toyota. My car is a 2008 that was bought in 2010 and it has been well taken care of but I am not pleased with the excessive oil use.

- , Meridian, US

problem #97

Oct 032016

Camry SE 2.4L

  • Manual transmission
  • 149,600 miles

click to see larger images

excessive oil consumption excessive oil consumption

I received a recall notice for oil consumption I believe in the summer of 2015. I didn't have any issues with oil consumption at the time but took my 2008 Camry in just to check it off the list. It didn't qualify which was fine at the time. Around October or November 2016, we began to notice the car was burning through oil, we requested a second oil consumption test--didn't qualify under the recall notice. We noticed that it began to burn more oil and then began a second symptom of smoking when we turned it on after long periods of time (first turn of the key of the day). Returned for a third oil consumption test, was advised by the technicians that the car was fine. I feel like I'm taking crazy pills or something--the car is smoking and burning oil yet it doesn't qualify???

Now, the car smokes after sitting for a few hours and sometimes while I'm driving. Oil is being burned through even more. Took it back for a fourth oil consumption test in July 2017, and again was informed that the car did not qualify and that it was burning oil normally.

We filed a claim with toyota--they are obviously trying to avoid taking care of a problem that many of us are facing. Hopefully that takes us somewhere.

What's also crazy--I purchased this vehicle in December of 2007, brand new off the lot. Took it in for all of the regular maintenance appointments and know that I did everything right. My car should not be pooping out on me at this point!!

Going to have to look into another car to purchase and it definitely will not be a toyota.

- , Madera, CA, US

problem #96

Jun 142017

Camry LE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 169,323 miles

I drove 48 miles to work each way and I have to add oil every 3rd day. The amount of oil consumption is unacceptable and costly.

- , Aelxandria, US

problem #95

Mar 012017

Camry 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 163,000 miles

When I found out about the faulty rings I was 13,000 miles over the 150,000 mile limit. I've been getting my car maintenance at Toyota dealership for the past 8 years and it was never reported to me until March 2017 and it was too late. I called and emailed complaints but nothing was done to fix the problem. I check my oil levels weekly. I will never buy another Toyota!

- , Bolivar, TN, US

problem #94

Jan 022017

Camry LE 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,348 miles

I live in Warren County North Carolina. I’m sending this email because I’m very disappointed and concerned about my vehicle. Toyota Of Henderson NC, recently did the oil consumption test on my car, the result stated that the oil was low but not low enough, to fail. They informed me that my car did not pass the test. I am not satisfied with these results, and the only solution I was given is to just changed the oil more often. This will cost me more money. This suggestion does not fix my problem. It is not normal for a car to need over a quart of oil in it before it reaches 3000 miles. What is the purpose of the recall if your dealer isn’t going to honor it. What if I forget to check my oil, then my motor locks up, I’m at a loss. I just paid for this vehicle I can’t afford to buy a new car. Case & point On March 3, 2017 I got my oil changed, then on June 5th I had to add a quart of oil in my vehicle. This happens every month, It’s not normal to have to do this every month. Could someone please help me with this situation.

- , Norlina, NC, US

problem #93

Sep 252016

Camry CE 2.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 132,000 miles

I purchased a 2008 Toyota Camry from Rivergate Toyota in Madison TN. After the first oil change, I realized my camry was burning about a quart of oil every 1,000 miles. I contacted Rivergate Toyota and they informed me of an extended warranty for some Toyota vehicles with excessive oil consumption. I took my car to Rivergate in order for them to perform a oil consumption test. The test confirmed that my vehicle burned oil but not enough to warrant a repair. Justification for repair under warranty requires the vehicle to burn 1 1/2 quarts of oil every 1,100 miles. I have owned 7 automobiles in my lifetime and none have ever burned oil. I believe any vehicle that burns oil is unacceptable. I also believe that Rivergate Toyota sold me the car knowing the oil consumption issue existed. I will continue efforts to pursue repair under warranty.

- , Nashville, US

problem #92

Jan 012013

Camry LX 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

ok I noticed for years that my car oil was always low when I went to get an oil change. in 2014 I received a letter from Toyota about the oil consumption test. every time I take it to Toyota they claim there is no problem, that oil burns normally. I know that statement is so untrue. they do not want to take responsibility to fix my car. they keep telling me to get oil consumption test which the dealers keep telling me nothing is wrong. that it is normal to burn oil. my car is getting worse and I do not know what to do.

- , Norfolk, US

problem #91

Dec 012014

Camry LE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 190,000 miles

I have owned the 2008 Camry since late 2014. I noticed that the car uses oil bu no one told me about a problem (including the dealer where I purchased the car from. I checked regularly but did not see any oil on the ground. I get the oil changed at Valvoline and have needed to return before every oil change to have them top off the oil. NOT GOOD They thought that the car was high mileage and that's why it used oil. On Monday, June 5, I did a Google search and must have hit the right keyword search because, there it was, oil consumption problems with Camry. I went to Toyota's site to find out that they know of the problems for years. I was NEVER contacted by Toyota!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Now they say that they will not do any repair or even conduct an oil consumption test because the car has passed their "secondary phase. I told them that I do not accept the response because I never receivd any correspondance from them. When they tried the "we use the states database to find current owners", I replied that we did receive a recall notice for our 2014.... Hey US government,, WHY NO RECALL??? An obvious safety issue with Camry's Toyota's motto; "Deny till you die" By the way, We were Loyal Toyota buyers until this. If they don't make it right, we are done.

- , Sharpsville, PA, US

problem #90

Mar 162016

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 158,960 miles

We are very faithful about getting out car's oil changed regularly. Good thing! When we received a Warranty Enhancement Notification that our car was covered for Excessive Engine Oil Consumption, we started watching our oil consumption closely. We were definitely going through a quart of oil every 1,000 miles. We took the car in to a local dealership for the oil consumption test in March 2016 and were told our car didn't consume enough oil to qualify for the repair. We kept an eye on the oil consumption and took it back for another test in October 2016--convinced it would qualify. The dealership claimed that the car again did not qualify. We were frustrated but had little recourse on 10/24/16 with the warranty expiring on 10/31.

Our car is now going through a quart of oil every 400-500 miles. No kidding. We reset the trip odometer each time we add oil and are faithful about checking it once it gets in that 400-500 mile range.

At our mechanic's suggestion (he only works on Toyota's but isn't at a dealership), we called Toyota Headquarters earlier this year. He has his own reasons not to be impressed with the dealership we had taken our car to for the oil consumption testing. My husband was put on hold for over an hour and then was disconnected. We haven't tried phoning Toyota again. We have been faithful Toyota fans and owners for decades but, as a result of Toyota's poor handling of this problem, we will likely not buy another Toyota.

We're open to suggestions of a next step. I just learned of the class action lawsuit today.

- , Brookville, US

problem #89

Nov 012012

Camry LE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

I started noticing that my 2008 Toyota Camry LE was consuming more oil than normal. I checked constantly for oil leaks or stains when the car was parked and saw no signs. The oil changes and addition of oil became more frequently. I had it checked frequently and was told that there was not any signs of leaks. I was just informed by another Camry owner that their was a repair/ recall offered to Camry owners for this issue. I am not the original owner and figured that any notification was lost in delivery. Can I get relief for this excessive oil consumption issue?

Thanks!

Kimberly Toney

- , Aiken, US

problem #88

May 112017

Camry LE 2.4L 158hp 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,385 miles

Had oil consumption test performed at dealer twice. First test on 3/12/15 at 80,728 miles passed after driving 1285 miles with .4 qt. oil used. I requested second test on 3/31/17 at 99,096 miles due to oil light occasionally blinking when braking. Test results of second test after driving 1289 miles FAILED, with 1-1/2 qts. of oil used. Dealer advised on 5/10/17 that Toyota will replace pistons & piston rings with no charge for those parts or labor under the enhanced warranty HOWEVER, they also handed me a sheet of paper titled "Oil Consumption Recommendations" Operation Code: RBEAR listing following parts: timing chain, timing chain tensioner, 8 countershaft bearings, 2 camshaft bearings & oil pump, which they are recommending be replaced at my expense of $680 plus 7% tax. They stated that while they have the engine torn apart, it makes sense to replace these parts now as they are likely to fail due to wear of over 100,000 miles and driving with low oil; however, they are not covered by the enhanced warranty. I have had all maintenance done at dealer, with routine oil changes every six months. I don't feel it is the right thing for Toyota to expect me to pay for the additional parts potentially caused by their faulty engine assembly.

My husband & I bought this car at ages in our 60's with the intention of it being our last car purchase with no more car payments and the potential (based on Toyota reputation) of driving it to 200,000 miles. This was our first Toyota bought and the last.

- , Coraopolis, US

problem #87

Feb 042017

Camry LE 2.4L/4 cyls

  • Automatic transmission
  • 191,400 miles

The last oil change I had with my Camry 2008 was in February 2017. After driving about 2000 in 1.5 months after that oil change, I began to notice my car performance had degraded so much that I decided to check the oil level. When I checked my oil level I was shocked to find there was no oil on my dip stick! I went to a local auto shop to pick up 2 quarts and added to my engine. The next day I went to drop it off at a Toyota dealer to perform the oil consumption after I found out about this defect in the engine online. It failed the test. At this point my mileage was 191,400 and my car was 7 months short of turning 10 years old. The excessive oil consumption problem had occurred well after the extended warranty of 150,000! I am out of luck and Toyota refused to service my car due to the expired warranty!! I feel cheated out of the warranty! THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN A RECALL. Help!

- , Rowland Heights, ca, US

problem #86

Mar 282017

(reported on)

Camry XLE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,610 miles

I had Toyota's for 40 years and this is the worst car ever. I'm used to a car running and getting 300,000 miles and this car with its oil consumption problem isn't going to come anywhere close. It has been four recalls or extended warrantys. As Toyota likes to call them. I'm not happy that the dealer said there wasn't anything wrong when I took it in for the oil consumption test. Why is my husband always adding oil to my car engine if Toyota said it was fine. My car should not be using a quart if oil every two weeks. Since Toyota said less than 3000 miles ago it wasn't using oil, they lied. It was using it before, they did the consumption test. they filled it back up before I got it back and told me they did and said it wasn't using oil. I am livid that I have a car that is not worth much, That I can not with good conscience sell to someone else and won't get anything for a trade in. This will be my last Toyota unless they fix the problem. Since I am going to end up buying a car much sooner than I planned this will cost me $30 to $40 k I had not plann d on spending.

- , Havertown, PA, US

problem #85

Dec 132016

Camry LE V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles

My car nearly died on the beltline when I was coming home from work. I was on my way to pick up my daughter and take her to her school's Christmas concert. If I had missed that, it would have been awful because she had no one else to take her and be there for her (she's only 9).

A mom at my daughter's dance class told me that it might be part of a recall. She has a scion (same year) and she said her problem was taken care of for free because it was a recall issue. I called the local Toyota dealership, and they said that there was no recall issue. SO UPSETTING! I have always been good at getting my oil changed, and now I am going to have to pay for this out of my own pocket.

- , Oregon, US

problem #84

Apr 292016

Camry LE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,850 miles

After several more visits to dealership to check oil etc, My friends Husband asked me to let him look at car. He ran his hand doen neath the sides of engine, when he pulled it out it was black with oil. He told me that the car was now slinging oil out . He suggested aI take it back to the dealer and leave it refusing to drive it any longer until they fixed it. I returned the car within a day or so. Discussed it with the Manager . He said there were cars there that had been there for3 and 4 months waiting for parts. I explained that I understood toyota was paying for a loaner car and that I was leaving it no matter how long it took. They did not have a loaner the day before on the 28yh so I returned the car and went back on the 29. The car was there until August 12th they had done a 9000 mile inspection at my request after the 29th, calling me telling me at first that a Bearing that went from the motor into the tire was bad and it would be $800.00+ labor to replace with Toyota genuine parts . I said I wanted to ck with a friend who is a certified mechanic first. They said if I waited til it was put back together it would cost more, I could gety it replaced for $500.00 using After Market Parts. I said I thought Toyota was suppose to do all repairs to the engine , he said it wasn't part of the repairs. I said I gusee I have no choice.

I called my friend who is the Mechanic. He said They should pay for it if it is a bearing that goes into the motor. Don"t let them put this off on you. I called back they were closed, I called Toyota. They said they were only paying for Pistons. Next day I called talked to Eddie the person who had talked with me the night before. When I said that Bearing in the engine should be paid by Toyota, he said I did not say Bearings , It is an C.v. Axle that goes from the tire into the motor had nothing rto do with oil consumption. I replied you said Bearing, I wrote it down when you told me. That sounds nothing like C.V. Axel! I told him to go ahead and fic it using after market parts since they had the same warranty time as Toyota parts.

Whan I picked up my car and did a test drive I noticed the milage did not seem right. We went about 6 to 12 miles at the most and I had to return the rental. When I got home which is 23.7 miles I wrote down the milage it was 89976 miles which is 126 miles from the time it was taken in....although the out milage when picked up was 89856 only 6 miles different from when I tool it in.

I went down on 8/28/16 to pick up the car and was asked to come back the next day as the company wanted to drive it 50 miles or so to make sure it was running ok. I agreed and left returning on 8-29-16 to pick it up. I don't mind that they might have driven it a time or two to check it out, BUT i THINK THE OUT MILAGE SHOULD HAVE BEEN WHAT WAS TRUE. AS THE OUT MILAGE HAS TO DO WITH ANY WARRANTY WORK AND HOW LONG IT IS IN WARRANTY!!

- , Katy, TX, USA

problem #83

Feb 242017

Camry SE V4

  • Manual transmission
  • 190,000 miles

I have a 2008 Toyota Camry SE (stick shift) and it has recently (in 2017) started having issues with excessive oil consumption. I have to add 1-2 quarts of oil roughly every 1,000 miles. I did some research and learned there have been some reports of this. I have never been notified by Toyota about this. Nor did the Toyota dealer mention it when I've taken it in for a clutch replacement last year. My vehicle has 190,000 miles on it now so per the Toyota warranty enhancement info I found online, it appears both the first and secondary coverage options have expired for my vehicle. Is that true? Is there anything Toyota is willing to do? I called a local Toyota dealer and was told there is nothing they can do and the piston replacement would cost about $2800.

- , Fort Lauderdale, US

problem #82

Mar 142017

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 167,000 miles

I get my oil changed and vehicle serviced RELIGIOUSLY...at Toyota, no less. Driving down the road the oil pressure light blinks several times and goes off. Engine runs okay as best I can tell. Checked the oil dipstick and there is nothing on there. I am 2000 miles away from my next oil change. No change in driving pattern. I'll be investigating and following up...

- , Newnan, GA, US

problem #81

Nov 062013

Camry LE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

THE Problem is the test that toyota performs is a joke, they know there is a problem with oil comsumption,I have a 94 camry and it runs and performs great that is the reason for buying another one,Me being a mechanic has never seen a Lie told this Bold. there are cars out there thats older and more expensive but never one that burn oil like this and it smokes now on start up the test they perform is a joke,if you forget to check your oil between oil changes you gambling. The Hell with Toyota Never Again

- , Cedar Hill, TX, US

Read the next 20 complaints »