7.6

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,887.00
Average Mileage:
115,543 miles
Total Complaints:
67 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. not sure (40 reports)
  2. replace engine (13 reports)
  3. replace the piston rings and head gasket (8 reports)
  4. new piston rings (2 reports)
  5. replace piston rings and head gasket (2 reports)
  6. no (1 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #67

Aug 152017

RAV4 Limited 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 119,000 miles

I've had the pain in the a*** problem way too long, not to mention the expense of the oil I have had to put in. I only have 119,00 miles on my RAV 4 and have really enjoyed it until this problem arose. I bought it new with only a few miles on it. I've been timely on all my oil changes, every 5000 miles, and have taken very good care of it. It's going thru the 2nd "oil consumption test" - the first one "only used 1 quart" in that a1200 miles so I'm hoping they'll fix the problem even though it's a little "out of the warranty". It's been a real pain!

- , Pilot Hill, US

problem #66

May 022015

RAV4 V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles

Around 2015 I took my SUV to the dealer that I bought it from and they suggested that I come back at 1200 miles and have the oil checked it was low but not has much as now. Every 1-25 months I have to put in about 3-4 qts of oil. Now they told me I have to have the rings gaskets and it may cost about $2,000.00 I am going to have someone else take a look at it and keep it for as long as I can and then buy a good used car next year.

- , Casselberry, US

problem #65

Apr 062015

RAV4 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,820 miles

BROUGHT THE RAV4 TO HAVE CHECKED FOR EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION. THEY SAID IT DID NOT QUALIFY FOR THE FACTORY FIX, THAT WAS ON 4/ 6/2015, IT HAD 82820 MILES ON IT. THE 2ND TIME I BROUGHT IT BACK WAS ON 10/21/2016. IT HAD 102840 MILES ON IT. THEY SAID IT DID QUALIFY BUT TOYOTA REFUSED TO FIX BECAUSE IT WAS PAST THE COMPLETION DATE WHICH WAS 10/31/2016. I ALWAYS FELT THAT THIS VEHICLE USED WAY TOO MUCH OIL. COULD NOT BELIEVE IT DID NOT QUALIFY THE 1ST TIME. TOYOTA SCREWED UP AND THEY ARE TRYING TO GET TO BY AS CHEAP AS POSSIBLE AND THEY KNOW IT.

- , Bethlehem, US

problem #64

Oct 032016

RAV4 LX V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

Have always had Toyota cars, very disappointed in the quality of my 2006 Rav4, can not go on long trips have no comfort level when driving. Concerned with my safety.

- , Long Beach, US

problem #63

Jun 012015

RAV4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 179,500 miles

Excessive Oil Consumption. I had mechanics looked at my car and they even told me it's the engine. It's not normal for the engine to consume that much oil. I took the car to Toyota Dealership and they tested it for oil consumption, they told me to call them right away once the oil light comes on.

This is about Oct 14, 2016 they filled my oil tank and sent me on my way. Nov 1st, 2016 I called them and told them that my oil light started to come on. The representative that was originally helping me on Oct 14th told me that I just missed the deadline for the recall to fix the oil consumption. I missed it by one day, which he never told me the deadline to begin with. He told me to just call him when the oil light comes on. He said he is going to ask the dealership for approval to see if they consider.

The mechanic from the dealership also told me that the engine was excessively consuming oil. When the rep asked for approval, I was denied. The dealership will not fix it all, which is not fair because I was not the one that put a default engine in their car. I was the only owner of this car, oil changes and car maintenance are all up to date.

TOYOTA YOU HAVE TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS OR YOUR GOOD NAME WILL BE DRAGGED INTO THE MUD!! YOUR CARS WERE SUPPOSED TO BE RELIABLE AND HAVE LONG LONGEVITY!! YOU ARE BREAKING YOUR PROMISE TO YOUR CONSUMERS! I HAVE DRIVEN TOYOTA CARS MOST OF MY ADULT LIFE,. THIS IS MY 3RD TOYOTA CAR AND I'M SO DISAPPOINTED!

- , Trabuco Canyon, CA, US

problem #62

Jun 012017

RAV4 6 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles

I purchased a Toyota because I know they are dependable and usually have little to no problems. They are known at the inspection station as a 'sticker sucker' since they easily pass inspections.

I was shocked when I took my car in for a recall only to find it was low on oil. They filled it for me. Two weeks later I took it to my mechanic to have him check the oil. It was down 2 quarts. I reset my trip odometer. Now, 2000 miles later I have put 4 more quarts in.

It's bad enough that I owe more on the car than it is worth. I have a hard time justifying spending a couple thousand to have the pistons worked on.

If there is no recall, I will trade for a different vehicle but not buy a Toyota again. It's too bad because I like the car.

- , Durham, ME, US

problem #61

Jun 282017

RAV4 Sport V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,848 miles

My RAV4 has been consuming excessive oil and when I took it to the Toyota Service station, I am told it needs engine overhaul to include piston and quoted $5258.

When engine oil sign on dashboard has been going on since June 2016, and every 5000 miles the service center tops the oil it got fixed. And intermittently, I had to top the oil. The matter has gone undiagnosed until 6/28/17.

When I look back it was a global issues with Toyota http://www.toyotaproblems.com/trends/excessive-oil-consumption/

I DID NOT receive any letters from Toyota about this issue.

Toyota saying the warranty extension program expired in October 2016 and they will NOT provide any assistance and NOW I am faced with a big bill.

- , Charlotte, NC, US

problem #60

Sep 052016

RAV4 Limited 2.4L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,186 miles

Been through a couple of iterations from local Toyota dealer mandatory oil consumption test. Although the car is burning oil close to a quart a month, dealer/manufacture will not repair/replace the rings. I was told by Corp. and local dealership that the extended warranty repair will be completed only if the excessive oil consumption reaches more than a quart a month. I'm stuck with a car that will not be repaired by Toyota and I can't sell the car with the oil consumption problem.

Will NEVER buy another Toyota product and have told relatives and friends to do the same. Frustrated customer with no options but to add oil monthly and keep driving the unreliable 2006 Toyota Rav4.

- , Elk Grove, US

problem #59

Aug 012016

RAV4 Limited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

When I got my Rav4, I could gp 6,000-7,000 between oil changes. I always took it in for all its maintenance checks at the dealership. When it hit around 100,000 miles, I took it in for an oil change and they said there was hardly any oil in it. I actually took it in at around the 4,000 mile mark because the oil light flickered a little bit. I thought it was strange, but had them do an oil change and just dismissed it. However, it kept getting worse to the point where I have to add oil every 1200 miles or so. I took it to the dealership and told them I thought the engine was burning oil. They said they'd do a consumption test. They did the test and said it passed and there's no problem. I told the service guy that it can't possibly be running right and I wanted something done before my warranty was up -- I was at 110,000 miles at that point, and two months from the end of the 10 year warranty. He told me I don't have to worry, that my warranty "isn't up until 150,000 miles so to just keep watch on it" and if I have a problem again, to bring it back in. Once again, I was hitting the 3,100 mile mark and my oil light flickered when I took a corner. I checked the oil and there wasn't even enough oil in the engine to show on the dipstick. I called the Toyota dealership and after being sent to many people, they all said the same thing, "Sorry, but you're past your 10 year warranty, so this isn't covered." My son-in-law then found this website and found out that this isn't just me, but the same thing is happening to a lot of people with this car.

- , Huntley, US

problem #58

Jun 012016

RAV4 LX 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles

I did oil changes every 3,000 miles. At 130,000 miles I started going through a qt of oil every 1,200 miles. Very disappointed in Toyota new standard of quality.

- , Lakewood, US

problem #57

Mar 012017

RAV4 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,566 miles

This is my 8th Toyota. Love the cars..but not this one...it is baad...never buy another Toyota..for sure. To go to the shore on vacation I have to load 8 qts of oil to make the round trip.

- , Carlisle, PA, US

problem #56

Feb 282017

RAV4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

In December, ran out of oil 3000 miles after oil change, Did the Excess oil consumption test , burned a half a quart oil in 1200 miles. Toyota said test wasn't done right so repeated the test with the same 1/2 quart low results. So it failed the test, in other words, Toyota denies there is a problem. The test was done by a local garage who is approved to work on Toyota's, and they were in touch with the dealer.

800 miles later, oil so low not registering on dip stick. I happened to be in the city, so Took it to dealer, ( I live 220 miles away from dealer) they confirmed dipstick showing no oil. Added a quart, came up to safe level. Said I would have to wait 5000 miles to recheck and do consumption test again. I only drive about 7000 miles a year. Concerned that there is a problem and feel unsafe driving very far. Don't trust Toyota dealer. They told me to keep checking the oil every 1000 miles, keep a few quarts with me and add it as needed. This seems to me there is a problem.

- , Homer, AK, US

problem #55

Mar 062017

RAV4 Limited 2.3L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 151,000 miles

My RAV4 has the oil burning problem. I only discovered what it was at 151,000 miles -- beyond Toyota's extended warranty limit. Of course, the problem grows worse by the way. I've had to add oil at about 1,000 miles after an oil change. Even with the added oil, the oil on the dipstick is dark -- burnt looking. I've talked with a couple of Toyota dealerships and they want nothing to do with this problem. I had planned to drive this car until it no longer moved. Looks like that might be a lot sooner than I expected.

- , Carrollton, US

problem #54

Feb 012017

RAV4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

When my Rav was in dealer for routine maintenance it was noted by the mechanic that the oil level was low. This was not brought to my attention. Then my oil light would come on and we added oil numerous times. On the next routine maintenance I told them we were adding a lot of oil and then they told me that some Toyotas are burning oil and they would do an oil consumption test and if we failed Toyota would replace the engine at no cost. Seemed like a good deal! So the car failed the oil consumption test. Then I was told we were outside of the date parameters set by Toyota to replace the engine for free. The cost to me would now be $3500. I called Toyota corporate and basically was told the same thing the dealer told me. I spoke to the dealer again because I have had several Toyota vehicles all serviced at this dealership Beck Toyota in Greenwood IN, they were willing to discount the engine rebuild $1000 off. So still $2500 out of pocket for me. I inquired why this was never a recall and was told because this involved too many vehicles and it would have been a large costly recall.

- , Indianapolis, US

problem #53

Jan 122017

RAV4 LS 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles

The car was tested for oil consumption issues in 2015 and supposedly passed the dealers test. But I find that after changing the oil, the car is more than 1 quart low after only 2000 miles. I read about the issue and it seems that Toyota denies that using a qt of oil every 1-2K miles is normal. How can they call themselves a forward thinking "green" car company when their products waste oil like this? I am told the repair program for this issue expired in October 2016. These bad cars are still out there, Toyota should consider the damage to their reputation for not fixing this or least offering assistance. I would not buy another Toyota ever, and I will tell friends not to buy Toyota ON FACEBOOK and other social media if they don't at least offer some extended repair program.

- , Fremont, US

problem #52

Feb 022015

RAV4 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 149,019 miles

Excessive oil consumption 2006 Toyota Rav4 have to add one quart of oil each month vehicle is well maintained.

- , Alpharetta, GA, US

problem #51

Mar 252015

RAV4 Limited V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

Just found out today -- about 6 month past warranty! -- that excessive oil consumption was acknowledged but Toyota will not not offer any solution. This is a $1000+ repair that they didn't notify me about and even though my vehicle is 30,000 miles UNDER the mileage warranty they won't offer any restitution. This is a major engine issue that should be covered/recalled.

- , Myrtle Beach, SC, US

problem #50

Mar 132017

RAV4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 111,766 miles

My car just failed an oil consumption test and I am outside the warranty. Have filed a claim with Toyota, but dealership and Toyota don't seem willing to help. My problem started with a slight flicker of an engine oil light. I had my husband check my oil and found it almost empty. We immediately put a quart in and drove it to the dealership where they started some paperwork and filled my oil and put tape across the oil cap. They had me return between 1000 and 1300 miles. At 1200 miles today I took it in and was told it was about 2 quarts low. When purchasing the car I purchased their lifetime Oil change and have had my car in every 3000 miles for regular oil changes. Never was my car low on oil and all seemed fine. They claim I was mailed a letter offering an oil consumption test which I never received but never once was an issue brought up or personally offered an oil consumption test while under warranty. This issue seems to be across many years of Toyotas. I am getting some quotes and doing some legal research. I know Toyota is aware of this issue and believe it should be a recall. My model car has been a part of at least five recalls and my trust in Toyota is gone. I am under their 150 thousand extended warranty program but don't meet it because I am over the 10 years since purchase date. Really upsetting and hope to see Toyota pay for a known issue and defective part they put in cars.

Update from Apr 18, 2017: After three weeks of calling every level of management within the dealership, Toyota corporate offices twice, and filing several claims, I finally got my dealership to contribute half of the repair costs. Pistons and rings, fluids, were replaced. I believe the coast for this repair was around $2900 which I paid half. While they worked on my car I had my spark plugs, along with several other items serviced at additional fees. I have it back for about 2 weeks and things seem to be running fine. I hope this becomes a recall as it's certainly a defective engine part that Toyota is aware of.

- , Phoenix, US

problem #49

Dec 172015

RAV4 LX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

THIS CAR IS A LEMON!!

at 75,000 miles so far the engine was rebuilt for excessive oil consumption

- , Piedmont, USA

problem #48

Oct 152010

RAV4 LX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

my Toyota Rav4 burns 4 quarts of oil every month, this is ridicules, something needs to be done about this problem.

- , Littleton, CO, US

Read the next 20 complaints »