1.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
113,019 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #14

Jan 302018

Tacoma

  • 171,000 miles
As a new pre owner of the 2002 Toyota Tacoma that I had purchased in August 2017. The previous owner have completed all recall per Toyota customer care services and my local Toyota dealership. What they told me was during the inspection, they spray rust proof on the frame to protect from corrosion. If was lucky that I have brought my truck for services for new tires on 1/30/18. While the mechanic try to left the truck for services, they notice that the frame where rusted and would of fall apart if the left the car up. They called me into the work area and pointed out how dangerous it was. It was barely holding the entire back of the truck together. It rusted more than half way of the frame that supported the entire back of the bed truck. The mechanic recommendation to contact Toyota. And I did but got no where. They are refusing to solve the problem. Q

- St Paul, MN, USA

problem #13

Oct 092013

Tacoma

  • 200,000 miles
I purchased the Tacoma 10/9/2013, I noticed some of the recall repairs had not been made by the previous owner, I took it to the dealer, 10/29/2013 for the necessary repairs. I was informed by the service guy, using a hammer, that my frame was crumbling and I would be needing a new frame as well. I called Toyota customer service numerous times and all I ever got was, I'm sorry, and how they were well aware of the corrosion problem with the frame on the 2002. The rust problem on my Tacoma is so severe, the truck is starting to buckle, no space between the cab and the bed at the top. It is in such bad shape no one will put it on a lift! it will be the complete and single cause for the demise of my truck, and quite possibly myself. I had just bought the truck. I will be driving the Tacoma when the frame breaks apart and I will probably die. 9/11/17 I wrote james letz, CEO of Toyota, and manager of Toyota motor engineering and manufacturing, I stated, "I followed the corrosion prevention in the owner's manual. The quality of the frame on the 2002 Toyota Tacoma is inferior due to inadequate rust protection at the factory." 9/28/17 I received a response by phone from grand prairie, tx. He told me there was a recall letter sent out to the owners of 2002 Tacoma, informing the owners to check for rusting and corrosion on the frame, and they could bring the truck in for a rust prevention spray; however, it expired 2011. They obviously know how severe the problem is. I told him I was scared, and he answered, "I understand I would be too." He led me to think nothing was going to be done, but it was up to the engineering and manufacturing department, oddly enough, that is Mr. Letz!

- Bellbrook, OH, USA

problem #12

Jun 192017

Tacoma

  • miles
Today I saw the truck for sale on craigslist and when I called the owner he said it has 132000 miles but when I got carfax the car have over 250000. The is currently listed on craigs list https://sfbay.craigslist.org/sby/cto/6184326088.html

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #11

Nov 202016

Tacoma

  • 106,000 miles
Frame rusted, unsafe to drive. Called Toyota and was told recall had expired, never received any recall information. Truck was purchased second hand from Toyota dealer.

- Rising Sun, MD, USA

problem #10

Aug 152016

Tacoma

  • 170,620 miles
Toyota dealership refuses to fix safety recalls because of frame rust damage. I never received their short term recall notice on the frame rust and dealership refuses to replace safety recall parts !

- Van Wert, OH, USA

problem #9

Jun 102016

Tacoma

  • 131,000 miles
Frame rot from inside out. Suspension mounting to frame rotted out. Totoya refuses to deal with this and claims the safety recall is expired. How can a recall be expired. Case #1606101548. Toyota representative very rude and demeaning.

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #8

Jun 092016

Tacoma

  • miles
Excessive unsafe frame rot from inside out. Toyota safety 'recall' offer to fix 'expired'.

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #7

Feb 112016

Tacoma

  • miles
Frame rusted out. Toyota will not repair. Safety issue. Brought vehicle to dealer for spare tire carrier recall and was advised frame was rusted also and they would repair neither rusted frame nor spare tire carrier. Complaint filed with Virginia attorney general's office on January 21, 2016 and Toyota responded to their office on 02/11/2016 saying Toyota would not repair vehicle.

- Haymarket, VA, USA

problem #6

Jun 122015

Tacoma

  • 387,383 miles
2002 Toyota Tacoma was taken into the shop for an oil change, tire rotation and brake inspection when the shop service technician called to report the frame of the vehicle contains pinholes and is noticeably rusting, presenting a safety issue. The shop technician recommended contacting Toyota directly as he thought any recall had since expired. Post researching recall information, we did verify that the "recall" period had expired. However, this vehicle was purchased new as a corporate asset and remains in our possession. We absolutely did not receive any recall notifications for the frame issues nor a request for inspection!

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #5

Jun 012015

Tacoma

  • 77,269 miles
The vehicle's frame completely rusty to the point that I fear it will break at any time. I recently took it to the mechanic to replace the timing belt and other belts and a lot of the bolts broke when trying to change the belts. I believe this is a manufacturing error. More than likely, the factory used low grade materials which caused the truck to rust a lot faster over time. This is a safety concern. If due to this rust issue, the breaks fail or the frame comes apart this can be dangerous. This is why I am reporting this problem. I called Toyota and received a claim number, this claim is under review. Please contact me regarding this issue.

- Burke, VA, USA

problem #4

Jun 012012

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
I called Toyota in 2012 to ask about frame. Was told I didn't qualify. Have had to replace everything attached to frame in a 2 year period. Last fall the gas tank fell off. Frame so rusted it wouldn't hold it. Called Toyota again, as recommended by mechanic, was told I didn't qualify. Went to dealer for recall repair on spare tire holder, they couldn't fix it. Too rusted. Told me it S not safe to drive. Told me to call Toyota. I did. Told me I didn't qualify because recall expired. Expired"! I have never received a recall notice!! I have lived at the same address for 32 years. They found me this time, they should have found me for that one. Now what" I am out well over $3500 dollars I've paid out the last 3 yrs and its not safe! need help here.

- Waterloo, NY, USA

problem #3

Apr 172014

Tacoma

  • 130,000 miles
My trucks frame is corroded and falling apart. Toyota had a recall out for the frame. Due to previous owner not having chemical compound sprayed on the frame, I am told there is nothing I can do. I have never received anything regarding my trucks unsafe driving condition. I have been to it is not safe to drive this vehicle but Toyota is not willing to do anything about it.

- Somerville, MA, USA

problem #2

Oct 182013

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • 134,000 miles
Dear [xxx], I sincerely appreciate your email but I am completely satisfied with my 2002 Toyota Tacoma pick up truck at the moment with 134,000 miles as of today. The problem lies with the "defective air bags and defective computer air bag.? over a year ago, this was accessed from haley located off rt 288 and the air bag light was coming on at that time. I paid for a diagnostic testing and it should have been resolved then, not to reoccur a year later. In any case, if a Toyota vehicle has defective parts such as the air bag and its computer that is the responsibility of the manufacturer to replace the part and absorb the labor and costs involved to do so not at the expense of the client. The client did not cause the problem, it is a defect in the manufacturing of the vehicle. The problem I am now facing is that haley Toyota wants me to absorb this cost of parts and labor to the tune of $711 for a defective air bag. I have not been in contact with an attorney specializing in auto injury, but with some research and taking with a friend of mine who is a lawyer; he highly suggests that unless Toyota replaces the parts and labor at their expense that I should proceed with hiring an attorney and explain what is going on with the air bag and what haley has said. For haley to dismiss this defective part and say that they cannot be responsible is in itself an ?egregious" remark for which they can be liable for if something were to happen while the passenger is driving the car/truck in questioned. Infact, they should never have allowed me to leave the premise this past Friday knowing all of this, because if a major accident were to happen they would be totally responsible as well as Toyota itself. Thank you. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #1

Sep 022003

(reported on)

Tacoma

  • miles
Consumer stated water leaked on the passenger side of the vehicle, which caused the floor to be wet. There was a mildew smell.

- Aberdeen, NC, USA