9.4

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
1,300 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2018 Volkswagen Tiguan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #9

Aug 142019

Tiguan

  • 5,776 miles
Fasten seatbelt chimes /indicator on display, no passenger on seat. What makes it go off is when I place my iphone on the seat. Both indicators will stay on until I take my phone off the seat. This has happened several times, today is the latest. This malfunction makes me real nervous, I never seen a vehicle with this problem. Please let me know what the next step is.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #8

Aug 012018

Tiguan 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60 miles
The contact owns a 2018 Volkswagen Tiguan. The contact stated that the seat belt indicator flashed and a chime was heard even when the driver's seat belt was secured. Flow Volkswagen of charlottesville (1313 richmond rd, charlottesville, va 22911, (434) 296-4147) was notified several times, but was unable to replicate the failure. The vehicle was currently at the dealer being diagnosed. In addition, there was a delay in providing the part concerning an unknown recall for the ambient lighting. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA action numbers: EA18005 (seat belts) and PE18001 (seat belts); however, the failure was related. The manufacturer was notified of the seat belt failures. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 60...

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #7

Dec 212018

Tiguan

  • 5,671 miles
Since November 2018 of this year the seat belt on the driver's side does not feel right it seems loose and the light illuminates red and comes on randomly and chimes. The seat belts looks and feels cheaply made. It has only gotten worse since the airbag module was replaced by dealership. Dealership says the looseness of the belt is normal.they claim when they drive it the red symbol never comes on or chimes. It is never picked up as a code on the VW car net or on their machine. What am I supposed to do? I want these seat belts to be replaced. It only comes on when the car is in motion and driving the car.the dealership says nothing is wrong. I am stuck between a rock and a hard place

- Barre, VT, USA

problem #6

Jun 142018

Tiguan

  • 163 miles
There is a rattle coming from lower B pillar rattle coming from driver seat belt retractor, overhead console, wood trim on both front doors, both tweeter speaker grills, both rear cup holders, also found rear deck lid clips not clipped in all the way driver rear access panel ratting along with both rear stop light access panels

- Brownwood, TX, USA

problem #5

Apr 012018

Tiguan

  • miles
It's a slight ticking. The rattle happens over the smallest bump.

- Hoover, AL, USA

problem #4

Jan 202018

Tiguan

  • 30 miles
We bought a VW Tiguan 4 motion sel 2018 with panoramic sunroof, on Jan 20,2018. From the same night we took the car out of the dealership we heard a rattling noise in the B pillar constantly. Starting from Jan 26, 2018 the car has been to the VW service station twice already (still there), in total of over 3 weeks. I heard from the service team there were three other VW cars with the same problem so the qa team came down to service station to look at all cases. Qa team checked it multiple times. Remedies I heard from them involved "trimming" and ordering new parts. Nothing is fixed and the words I am hearing from service is that there is no hope to ever get fixed. Contacted VW customer service directly today, they had no record of these issues for my car. So disappointing that over 6 weeks of our time is wasted with an issue that seems to exist in 2018 models since last year, and no transparency. I believe the issue is structural problem when car is in normal condition moving and additional concern is the noise coming from location of side airbags, I have a big concern over the VW safety and operation of the airbags in this situation, when VW can not even address the problem with the noise.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #3

Feb 122018

Tiguan

  • miles
I purchased a 2018 Volkswagen Tiguan sel on Saturday, 02/10/2018. Two days later on 02/12/18 on my commute to work I began hearing a "popping" noise from the B-pilars on both the driver's and passenger's side pilars. As if though something was loose inside there. I made an appointment to take the vehicle back to the dealer the following Saturday, 02/17/2018 and when I went in for the appointment the service representative informed me they would not be able to look at my vehicle until the following Monday. I asked him if they could provide me with a loaner so that I could leave my car there and he informed me that he could not make that decision. I looked for my sales agent and he was able to provide me a loaner (2018 Tiguan SE). I received a call from the service rep on Wednesday, 02/21/18 telling me that my vehicle was ready for pick up. I went to pick it up and they informed me they had changed out a defective seat belt height adjuster on driver side. I took the car for a ride and it still made the noise. So I did not accept it. They loaned me a different car (2018 passat R) and was told they would work on my vehicle. They called me again on Saturday, 02/24/18 to tell me my car was ready. When I went to the dealer on Monday, 02/26/18 (I was out of town on Saturday), they told me they had changed the seat belt seat adjuster for the passenger side too. I took it for a ride and the noise was still there on both sides. Again, I did not take possession of my car. They told me they would have to dismantle the headliner to get a better grasp of the problem. I was called again on Friday, 03/02/18 to inform me that they were going to have to bring a specialist from VW (in approximately 2 weeks from 03/02/18) to diagnose the problem before taking more invasive actions. They loaned me a third car (2018 VW Tiguan sel) and no concrete answer on my vehicle.

- Mcallen, TX, USA

problem #2

Feb 092018

Tiguan

  • miles
Rattle noise coming from left B-pillar above seatbelt constantly. Near left ear of driver.. told dealer about the noise while on a test drive before purchase, he advised us to bring the car in for service. We took the car in on our second day of ownership and dealer dismissed the issue saying they couldnżT hear the noise. I did a quick internet search and turned up numerous complaints and NHTSA cases for this same issue. IżD like to either have the vehicle repaired or return the vehicle to the dealer for a refund.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #1

Jan 012018

Tiguan

  • miles
The driver sider seatbelt does not retract. For example, if I look over my shoulder to check divers in other lanes my seat belt will loosen and when I turn back around to face forward the belt does not automatically tighten. I worry this belt is defective and have never experienced this in another car. I routinely need to tighten my seatbelt while driving. I am concerned that if I were to get into an accident in this vehicle the seatbelt will not keep me safe. This has been an ongoing issue since I purchased the car in mid-December 2017.

- Lewis Center, OH, USA