10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,928 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Audi A4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #41

Aug 182018

A4

  • 56,000 miles
After 10 years of use, turning left the rubber wheel bearing on the driver side makes a pop noise. Not from driving erradic but from typical wear and tear. Also, there is an mph check engine light that comes on but when plugged up to a code reader, no problems are found. Cars wont pass smog with check engine lights on, so this is a major concern. If there are no mechanical issues why would the check engine light come on? I think computers in luxury cars back then were a bit too advanced for their time and weren't very well thought out. Air bag had a random deployment when I popped the hood and unscrewed the pressure on the radiator fluid. Going to need this VIN added to the recall for airbags to get a new one.

- Concord, CA, USA

problem #40

Apr 102018

A4

  • miles
Tamara recall. I have tried for several months to get this replaced as the year and make of my vehicle are in the target area for possible defect. I was originally told by the local Audi dealership that my vehicle was not eligible for the recall even though I presented them with paperwork. I spoke with them again today and I was informed that they have no timeframe for repair and out me on a call list. This is our family vehicle. I am a parent and I work in emergency medicine. This greatly concerns me as I have see traumatic injuries on a regular basis.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #39

Apr 042018

A4

  • 59,000 miles
Car rear ended another car at about 30 mph and the airbags did. Or deploy.

- Huntingtown, MD, USA

problem #38

Jan 042018

A4

  • 158,978 miles
┐takata recall┐ I made appointments and registered to get my airbag replaced on numerous occasions. In June I made an appointment at the elmwood park location and when I got their the guy lied and said the computers are down he didn┐T want to help me. They have the parts available and don┐T want to fix it it is now 2018 and no one from Audi called me and my vehicle is registered with them. So my air bag can rupture at any time I was in a car accident on 1/4/17 I was intentionally rear ended by a white BMW and I was in the car with my 8 year old nephew and mom who was in the front passenger seat I could have been killed and seriously injured. Not only that my gas tank fuel injector the air pressure is off causing it to stop constantly while getting gas. Third I had this P2005 and P2006 error code which is the intake air exchange manifold flap check engine light on which is a manufacturing error when I went to get it replaced costing me 1,800 the light is still on and the same error code is back 2 months later nothing was fixed on my car period and on 10/31/17 I went to Audi in upper saddle river and they did not fix it either of find a dealer with the airbag near by that has the parts to replace it tho could have cost me and my passengers their life and this isn┐T unacceptable for Audi to treat customers like that regardless of my vehicle being old new or brought from a third party dealership all Audi owners should be treated equally and remedies be address according to law and recall. Being that a safety recall is issued customer preference is null and void because safety and wealth has no bearing in who gets first dibs on airbags no Audi owner should get preference over the other whether it be they brought their car directly from the Audi dealership or not and that the impression I┐M getting and based on my experience not all customers and owner are treated equally

- Haledon, NJ, USA

problem #37

Jan 112017

A4

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Audi A4. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V032000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer (Audi manhattan, 800 11th ave, New York, NY 10019) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not contacted. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Astoria, NY, USA

problem #36

May 272016

A4

  • miles
Takata recall for defective front passenger airbag was issued on May 27, 2016. One year and a half later, Audi has failed to replace the defective airbag or to provide a safe loaner vehicle.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #35

Jun 012017

A4

  • miles
Takata recall. Airbags are on backorder. Dealership has not received enough to replace recalled ones. This is a safety issue for drivers

- Franklin, TN, USA

problem #34

May 092017

A4

  • miles
Takata recall- went to Audi dallas and they said they could not fix thee problem. I asked when they would have the fix avaialable, they said they did not have a date.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #33

Mar 012017

A4

  • miles
Takata recall. A recall notice was issued in January 2017 for a takata airbag in this vehicle. I have called two dealers repeatedly during 2017, in ithaca and cicero, however replacement airbags remain unavailable. Since I received the recall notice, I have stopped carrying passengers in the front passenger seat of my vehicle. This has impeded use of the vehicle. It is unacceptable to put another person at risk of injury.

- Mcgraw, NY, USA

problem #32

Jan 302017

A4

  • 110,000 miles
Takata recall was issued in January of 2017 and I have been driving an unsafe vehicle for 10 months with no resolution in sight. I have contacted Audi and there is no expected availability date or remedy. I just received a message company has filed for bankruptcy and unsure what recourse exists.

- Fort Collins, CO, USA

problem #31

Mar 222005

A4

  • 0 miles
Takata recall remedy is not available. We need to get this fixed asap.

- Monument, CO, USA

problem #30

Oct 252017

A4

  • miles
Takata recall - received post card from tk holdings Inc. Informing me about the chapter 11 case, and the recall which was instituted on January 11, 2017, of which I was never informed. I am now informed and according to the latest information - recall incomplete remedy not yet available. So, in the meantime, apparently I'm driving a dangerous vehicle. Nothing, as of yet, has happened and I certainly will strive to keep it that way.

- Bennington, VT, USA

problem #29

Mar 012017

A4 6-cyl

  • miles
2005 Audi A5. Consumer writes in regards to frontal passenger airbag safety recall. The consumer stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time completing the recall repair. Updated 10/23/2017

- West Hartford, CT, USA

problem #28

Oct 192017

A4

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Audi A4. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V032000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Audi danbury (25 sugar hollow rd, danbury, ct 06810 (203) 744-5202) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue, but was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact stated that a case was opened with the manufacturer. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Cross River, NY, USA

problem #27

Mar 012017

A4

  • miles
Takata recall. We were first notified in March, 2017 of the frontal airbag recall. The letter from Audi at that time advised not to drive with passengers in the front seat and for that reason the car has remained in the garage since that time. Audi initially advised parts would be available in October. I have just been advised there is no remedy for this recall and timing of part replacement is unknown. I have a $35,000 car with 40,000 miles on it that is un-usable. I have spoken with a "customer advocate" at Audi usa and filed a complaint with them as well. Please help.

- Cross River, NY, USA

problem #26

Jul 112017

A4

  • miles
Takata recall-as of today, I haven't received any recall or remedy information from the manufacturer

- Windsor, CT, USA

problem #25

May 272016

A4

  • miles
Takata recall it has been over one year since I was first notified of this recall. I have called the Audi recall line several times and have received no information. When I have asked when I can expect the repair to be ready, I am told that parts aren't available and they'll send me a letter at some point. They have not been helpful in the least. I have not allowed anyone to ride in my front passenger seat because of the recall, and this time delay is verging on ridiculous!

- Broomfield, CO, USA

problem #24

May 292017

A4

  • miles
Takata recall water pump is bad an it is on the recall list

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #23

Jul 012016

A4

  • 48,000 miles
I received a recall notice in July 2016, and am still waiting for notice of parts availability

- Henrico, VA, USA

problem #22

May 272016

A4

  • 75,000 miles
Takata recall I have received a letter informing me about the recall about a year ago. Despite my car being in zone a (ca) and 12 years old (additional risk factor) there is still no resolution from Audi. Calls to a few Audi dealers service department reveal that the part is available. I contacted Audi a number of times and they insist that repair is not available and I should contact NHTSA because you manage the schedule. Since we have child seat in the back and the passenger seat is unsafe the car is unusable for us as a family; when we travel I have to rent a car. At the same time I cannot sell it with a pending recall.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »