3.0

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,013 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Buick Encore:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #19

Sep 252019

Encore

  • miles
Turbo went out twice within 3 months. Also I waited for 6 weeks on a back ordered part. So much service work... problem after problem this car is a lemon. The paint literally fell off the mirrors within the first year.

- Benton, KY, USA

problem #18

Jul 102019

Encore

  • miles
Check engine light came on was determined Cadillac converter needs to be replaced only has 89105 miles on

- Auburn, NY, USA

problem #17

May 022019

Encore

  • 66,790 miles
Check engine light came on and then started flashing while in motion. The traction light came on and off repeatedly. The engine had reduced power and at times would only go 30-35mph even with pedal mashed all the way. I took the vehicle to O'reilly's and they checked the codes which show camshaft sensor, crankshaft sensor, cylinder 2 misfire, turbo underboost code and ABS code. Seems like a lot of issues for a vehicle with only 67,000 miles.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #16

Mar 072019

Encore

  • 70,000 miles
The engine oil cooler is leaking. The front driver axle shaft seal is leaking. The car is running too lean the check engine light is on. I replaced the air filter and clean fuel injectors and the car is sputtering and the check engine light is still on. The car sputters when stationary as well as moving.

- Dover, AR, USA

problem #15

Aug 282018

Encore

  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Buick Encore. The contact stated that the vehicle was experiencing electrical failures. One side of the vehicle was able to be heated through the vents while the other side was not able. The vehicle also jerked when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the electrical failure was confirmed. The dealer and manufacturer were not contacted regarding the jerking and heating failure. The failure mileage was 108,000.

- Lithia Springs, GA, USA

problem #14

Nov 052018

Encore

  • 101,917 miles
Early this year we start having problems with the check engine light coming on then the reduce power to engine coming on, so we took it back to the dealership we bought if from. So first we had to have three sensors changed, we did that and after that was done it still kept jumping on 4 time before it stopped. Then June of this year it started back we took it back to the dealership then they tell us we need a new catalytic converter, have that replaced again it keeps doing 3 more times then it stops. Well we figure we have the problem solved, but no on 10/26/2016 as my sister is getting on highway 57 in Chicago the check engine light comes on and the reduce power to engine comes on, so now she is pulled over on the entrance ramp trying to get this car to act right, finally after she had to keep starting it up and shutting it off she gets it act right, but the check engine light is still on, after she left the event she was at the check engine light was off. Now on 11/04/2018 I'm on the dan ryan expressway in Chicago one of our most busiest and dangerous highways it does it again, the check engine light comes on and the reduce power to the engine activates, so now I'm pulled over praying I don't get hit by a truck, I get it to act right finally and I get off just encase it do it again, I make it to my destination and when I get ready to leave the check engine light is off. On 11/05/2018 I'm only 5 blocks from home and it does it again, I get it to act right after I have to keep starting it up and shutting it off and low and behold I get 10 blocks and it does it again get it to act right make it back home check engine light still on when I get to the dealership then turn it off and then back on and the check engine light is off. This is beginning to be a big problem cause it's going to cause a accident when it does that, and the dealership can't find the problem.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #13

Apr 142018

Encore 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,700 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Buick Encore. While driving at an unknown speed, the contact heard an abnormal clicking noise coming from the engine and the check engine warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to bokman of wellsville Chevrolet, Buick, GMC, Cadillac (81 S main St, wellsville, NY 14895) where it was diagnosed that the pistons need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and advised the contact to call NHTSA to file a complaint. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was 98,700.

- Wellsville, NY, USA

problem #12

Feb 032018

Encore

  • 72,804 miles
Still having problems with the throttle body took it to the dealership on 2/9/2018 paid out $545 to have purge solenoid and evap flow changed and to have the throttle body cleaned and adjusted. Well 4 1/2 hours later the check engine light comes back on and it starts with this reduce power to the engine again. The reduce power to the engine did this 3 times and each time I had to shut the car off wait 30 seconds and restart the car and each time it did this I had to restart the car 4 time before it would go off and the car was able to be driven. The check engine light stayed on for 4 hours before it went off, well that didn't last long before I start having the same problem again on 2/11/2018 letting the car warm up the reduce power to the engine came on and I was still in the garage, that was 7:30 am then again at 8:05 then again at 8:37 so now again the check engine light is on. I want get on the expressway cause of this for I might get killed or injured, GM really needs to do something about this and someone needs to make them repair this problem

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #11

Dec 072017

Encore

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Buick Encore. While driving 35 mph, the contact noticed that the check engine and traction warning indicators illuminated. The contact also noticed that the accelerator pedal was not working properly. The contact pulled the vehicle over to the side of the road, turned off the vehicle for approximately two minutes, restarted the vehicle, and it operated normally. The dealer (glocker Buick of ironton, 911 S 3rd St, ironton, oh 45638) informed the contact of an extended warranty for when the engine may go into reduce engine power mode. There were no recalls associated with the vehicle. The vehicle was repaired under the extended warranty. The dealer also informed the contact of a throttle body failure, which did not fall under the extended warranty. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that the throttle body failure was not a part of the extended warranty; therefore, Buick did not have to repair the failure. The failure mileage was 74,000.

- Ironton, OH, USA

problem #10

Jan 082018

Encore

  • 70,000 miles
Lately I'm having a issue with this car, first my check engine light came on and is still on and now all of a sudden I can be at a light or driving down the street and the engine power reduce warning comes across my display screen, I can't accelerate so I have to coast it to the side of the road, shut it off, wait 30 seconds and restart the car. Sometimes I have to do this 2 or 3 times before it drives right again, so I went on the Buick forum and see a lot of people are having the same issue, that they have had the throttle body changed and it makes no different, that it could happen again. So now I want get on the expressway just in case it wants to do it again, and I'm getting scared to drive it on the streets cause it keeps happening. Some say cause it's cold where the live but I feel it shouldn't be happening all, like on 1/8/2018 it happened this morning and the temperature outside is 35 F and that's above freezing. What can be done about this cause GM is not reporting it to the NHTSA, so if you don't go on there forum you don't know.....help scared to drive my car

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #9

Jun 222017

Encore

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Buick Encore. While the vehicle was idling in the park position, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle failed to restart. The manufacturer and dealer were not notified. The failure mileage was 47,000.

- Conroe, TX, USA

problem #8

Jan 022016

Encore

  • 75,450 miles
I have problem with the turbocharger

- Downey, CA, USA

problem #7

Apr 072015

Encore

  • 27,230 miles
My car drove fine and then I stopped at a red light at a busy intersection when my traction control and check engine light came on and the engine power reduced came across the dashboard. The lights, wipers, radio and engine was still running but when pressing on the gas pedal the car would not accelerate. I had to wave people to go around me put it in park and shut it down for 30 seconds. When I turned it on again I had to put it in reverse and keep pushing the gas pedal to get out of the intersection then I put it in drive and just kept pressing the gas pedal and inched my way into a parking space. After shutting it off and parking it for 2-3 minutes I turned it on the check engine light stayed on but the car drove like normal to get me to the dealership. I got this car in may of 2013 and the first time it happened was Feb 2014 pretty cold temps and now April 2015 about 56 degrees F outside. Both times the dealer replaced the throttle body and performed idle relearn procedure. I don't have time or money to replace this part every year. I loved the size, gas mileage, design and comfort of this vehicle, however I won't be buying another General Motors vehicle again. I always owned GM vehicles but not anymore I simply don't feel safe.

- Chesterfield, MI, USA

problem #6

Jan 022015

Encore 4-cyl

  • 16,948 miles
Was making a turn from a side street and the power steering stopped working and then the engine shut off. Was able to pull into a parking spot near the corner. The vehicle would not re-start and had to be towed to the dealership. The dealership updated steering wheel codes.

- Raymond, NH, USA

problem #5

Aug 162014

Encore

  • 7,561 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Buick Encore. While driving approximately 80 mph, the vehicle decelerated and stalled. The "reduced engine power" warning indicator illuminated. The failure occurred multiple times. The dealer stated that the throttle collar, which controlled all the fuel that feeds to the engine, was defective. The throttle collar was replaced and the manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 7,561.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #4

Apr 182014

Encore 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,776 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Buick Encore. The contact stated that after driving in reverse, she shifted into drive and the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was unable to be diagnosed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 7,776....updated 06/25/14 updated 06/30/2014

- Hubert , NC, USA

problem #3

Jan 092014

Encore 4-cyl

  • 16,500 miles
I live in Minnesota. On a -30 degree day in January I drove to work (30 miles one way). When I left for lunch I drove about a quarter mile and started smelling a burning smell similar to when following a vehicle that is burning oil. My car was new so I didn't think it was me. I went about 2 miles and stopped for a stop light at which point my engine started to sputter. I put the car in neutral and when the light turned green shifted back into drive. I managed to pull out of traffic and with black smoke coming out of the tailpipe, the car died. It was towed to the dealership and strangely it was the second Encore that day with the same problem. After sitting in the warm garage over night, the technicians could not recreate the problem. The diagnostics showed nothing. I picked the car up after a few days and it was fine for two weeks. Then on another bitterly cold day, it happened again. The car started to smell, blew black smoke and died. Again it was towed. At that point a GM engineer out of minneapolis came up to assess my car as well as some others having the same problem. This time parts were replaced including the throttle body sensor and some air intake parts. It appears as though it is not uncommon in colder climates. I have been on the Buick forums and have found other incidences documented. The problem is that the replacement parts are the same parts that failed before so this is a patch not a fix. Next winter this will happen again. It is awful to have a new car that I can't trust. I'm nervous every time I drive it when it's really cold. Next time it could die while I'm in traffic on an interstate or I could be stranded somewhere in dangerously cold temperatures.

- Pine River, MN, USA

problem #2

Feb 282014

Encore 4-cyl

  • 11,540 miles
Car ran great then I stopped at a stop light. When it turned green the traction control and check engine light came on. Engine power reduced came across dash and the car failed to accelerate, the car, radio and lights were still on. Almost caused 3 different accidents trying to get out of traffic.scan check system, P2101, per document id:[xxx] diagnosis was to replace throttle body and perform jdle relearn procedure. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Chesterfield, MI, USA

problem #1

Jan 282013

Encore

  • 2,030 miles
Leaving a stop sign onto three lane road going down a hill, when the car had no acceleration, I put on flashers and coasted to curb, had to call wrecker and be towed to dealer, said it was a throttle body sensor, that is sensitive to cold weather,2 dealers said the same thing. New part was ordered, but I don't feel safe in our cold weather if this happens on highway and it stops I am so afraid I will be run over by traffic moving at the speed limit and my Encore just stops. Feel my new part is not the fix for this safety issue, they say they can't say it won't happen again. Also read someone in N.D. was having same issue. Hope you can look into this.

- Zanesville, OH, USA