10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,769 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #32

Nov 232020

Equinox

  • 180,105 miles
When in-motion at my power steering fails, the wheel seems to grab and my control of the vehicle is momentarily not in my control. It happens on straight aways and most often in slow speed turns. My concerns are the incidents that might happens in busy traffic and on wet & iced roadways. This has been happening in the last 1000plus miles and my service power steering notice has flashed at least 2 times. I am scheduled for service today.

- Peoria, IL, USA

problem #31

Oct 012020

Equinox

  • 145,700 miles
I was out and about drive the vehicle to destination, turned off as I do before going in to any place. I can out and the vehicle would not start. After adjusting the steering wheel and messing with the gear shifter it started. Acted as if the battery was dead. It standed me for about 45 mins. Now the car acts as if it doesn't want to start and while driving if I turn to the right the radio goes out and power steering cuts out then once out of the turn it works. This is very dangerous while turning, now in either direction this vehicle has been nothing but problems.

- Fairborn, OH, USA

problem #30

Sep 172020

Equinox

  • 150,000 miles
Went to drive the car this morning and notice the car said to 'service power steering'. after researching there is an open investigation into the 2010 - 2015 Chevrolet Equinox power steering as there have been other issues reported of people having the same problem.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #29

Feb 022020

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 109,000 miles
Driving normally about 35 mph on Suburban road when dashboard suddenly indicated "service power steering." The steering wheel seemed to lose all power assistance and was strenuous, even dangerously resistant, especially when needing to turn in front of oncoming traffic. Arrived home and check the power steering fuse, which was okay. Next day steering was back to normal power-assist and dashboard indicator message was gone.

- White Bear Lake, MN, USA

problem #28

Jun 052019

Equinox

  • 112,000 miles
Vehicle will stop while driving, sitting at light, and driveway.. I have to continue putting oil in every other day. Power steering light came on, unable to start my vehicle or roll windows up. Doesn't want to start now.

- White Hall, AR, USA

problem #27

Mar 292019

Equinox

  • 153,340 miles
I purchased this car on 3/29/2019 and on 4/1/2019 found that the engine is suuseptable to excessive oil consumption causing engine to wear out and could stop running on the road making it a safety hazard. Also that the steering causes resistance to steering when changing lanes causing a highway safety hazard. Am I included in the class action lawsuit filed against General Motors?

- Bristol, IN, USA

problem #26

Nov 102018

Equinox

  • 102,000 miles
The vehicle burns oil and the gas pedal occasionally stops working while driving and the steering wheel locks. I was driving on a street downtown in a city and the gas pedal stopped working in the middle of the street and the steering wheel would not turn. I had to restart the car to get it to work again.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #25

Aug 202018

Equinox

  • 94,000 miles
Power steering warning light comes on and says service soon.when I go to turn on ignition car wont start or even turn over.

- Luling, LA, USA

problem #24

Jun 012018

Equinox

  • miles
The key will not come out of the transmission. I've had a mechanic look it over and he stated that the car isn't all the way in park either because the button on the gear shift can be pushed in while the car is turn off and in park.

- Aberdeen, MS, USA

problem #23

Mar 012016

Equinox

  • 45,000 miles
Rubbing sound in front end when making turns at low speed. Dealer diagnose it as low speed shudder and said there is nothing that can be done that will last. Very annoying sound and I am very unconfortable driving with this.

- Oak Park, MI, USA

problem #22

Feb 072018

Equinox

  • 82,000 miles
I purchased a 2012 GM Equinox on Sept. 6, 2017 Sept 9 my check engine light came on and vehicle was low on oil ' we added oil Sept 13 I had a tire claim due to tires being 'dry rotted' per dealership. Oct 19 car started driving funny, stalling ' stopped in middle of road with my 18 month old son and my 8 year old disabled daughter. Had to call someone to come. When checked vehicle had almost no oil in it again. Oct 29 ' bringing disabled daughter to school when car stalled in middle of road. Checked and there was almost no oil in it. We have had to add oil to vehicle at least once a week since just to make sure I didn't break down taking my daughter to school. We did this every Monday just as preventative maintenance because obviously there was a problem with the motor. Feb 6 ' even after keeping oil in vehicle weekly my car wouldn't start this morning. Checked oil etc. It finally started up later that day and I went to get my step daughters. When we got ready to leave and tried to crank car it made a loud whiny kind of sound and it smelled like wires or something burning. Steering locked up and it wouldn't turn over again and I couldn't remove key from ignition. The vehicle wouldn't crank back. Called someone to come. They checked battery, fuses, etc. I ended up having to leave my car where it was overnight believing it was an ignition problem. Feb 7 ' mechanic was called to check car. Rear main sealed was busted, timing chain had broken and severely damaged entire motor. Entire engine was completely shot and had numerous broken pieces! I was told there was no warranty on this and dealership couldn't do anything about it. I decided to do some research. There are literally hundreds of complaints with details very similar to my own and end results the same as my own.

- St Francisville, LA, USA

problem #21

Feb 172018

Equinox

  • 72,000 miles
While driving on the interstate my power steering gave out almost causing me to crash into a brick wall with my children this is a known issue and something has to be done about this.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #20

Aug 112017

Equinox

  • 21,000 miles
First one week ago, the car was slow to turn on when turning the ignition and all the lights on the instrument panel lite up with the message check power steering. Tonight 8/11/17 the car will not turn over, but it still has a working horn, lights. And radio. Check engine light comes on followed by service power steering, service stabiltrack message, electric windows would not roll up, speedometer and RPM gauges move all the way over and back, and all the lights on the electric panel are on. Engine will not turn on.

- Gillette, WY, USA

problem #19

Mar 232017

Equinox

  • 49,000 miles
While towing 4 wheels down behind motor home...traveling North bound on I-75 in Tennessee within 100 miles of the Tennessee Georgia border I hit a very rough patch of the interstate going 64 mph. My 2012 4 cylinder Chevrolet Equinox started to violently shake my motorhome, when I glanced at my rearview monitor the steering wheel on the car was whipping back and forth. Forcing me to make an emergency stop on the outside berm, this was around 3:00 am there was little traffic at the time, so I was lucky. When my speed dropped to 5 to 10 mph it stopped and it never happened again. After some thought this was the 2nd time this happened and around the part of I-75 North bound about 2 years ago.

- Brook Park, OH, USA

problem #18

Feb 182016

Equinox

  • 114,555 miles
Purchased this vehicle used in April 2016, I got a error reading last night saying service your power steering system and my steering wheel locked up momentarily. I was stopped at a red light and put the car in gear when this happened

- Lithonia, GA, USA

problem #17

Dec 192016

Equinox

  • 33,000 miles
Tire pressure( every week need air pressure),power steering( light on say check), cod#P0010 (ing light on) ing off alone...

- Perth Amboy, NJ, USA

problem #16

Oct 172016

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 66,770 miles
On 3/31/15, Chevy dealer that sold us the car replaced the steering gear subject to bulletin 14232, because we got a letter from GM advising us to get it done. On 10/17/16, power steering failed during a turn on city street, causing emergency braking and near miss. The power steering froze up, and the wheel would not turn. This happened near the end of a 10-mile commute. On 10/18/16, this scenario was repeated near the end of a 10-mile commute. The car was towed at this time to the same dealer. On 10/25/16, dealer returned car to us un-repaired, saying they could not duplicate the problem, the car is out of warranty, and that the problem is a new one. They offered to repair the car for $400. We told the dealer this is a known problem, that they replaced the steering gear that is currently failing, and that there is a ten year non-warranty window on this type of safety repair. On 10/26/16 we called Chevrolet customer service to complain. They got back to us on 10/27/16 and offered to fix the car for $400. This is a dangerous if intermittent problem that is known to GM, and they are obliged to fix it. There is at least one other case (NHTSA id #10689932) of steering failing after steering gear replacement pursuant to bulletin 14232.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #15

Aug 142016

Equinox

  • 31,000 miles
The front windshield side pillars are so wide near the side mirrors that it causes a foot wide blind spot which has caused me to be in an accident and almost several other accidents. I have heard that I am not the only one who has had a problem with this. This blind spot caused me to hit a pole while turning and pulling out of a parking area.

- Mount Pleasant, SC, USA

problem #14

Apr 012016

Equinox

  • 39,000 miles
Front wheels locked while towing vehicle 4 wheels down behind motorhome. Lock up occurred twice, once while turning on corner entering I40 and once while driving over bridge under repair on uneven lane surface on I40.

- Prudenville, MI, USA

problem #13

Mar 022015

Equinox

  • 25,000 miles
When opening the storage in the front seat the light burns so hot that it burns the right hip/leg of the driver badly. Steering makes a super loud rubbing sound when turning wheel left or right that dealership cannot seem to fix.

- Westerville, OH, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »