10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,910 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2019 Chevrolet Silverado 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #19

Feb 062020

Silverado 1500

  • 11,000 miles
TL- the contact own sa 2019 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact stated that the transmission failed and was replaced. The contact stated that while driving the vehicle jerk, the check engine warning light illuminated. The failure recurred a third time. The vehicle was taken to jake sweeney Chevrolet service dealer, (33 w kemper rd, cincinnati, oh 45246) where a road test was completed and determined that the transmission needed to be replaced for the third time. The vehicle was not repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and provided a case. The failure mileage was 11,000.

- Cincinati, OH, USA

problem #18

Feb 012020

Silverado 1500

  • miles
Very hard shift in the morning SE jalonea muy fuerte en la MAÑana Y siempre hace los cambios muy fuerte. Cuando paro en un stop SE siente que bronca hacia delante

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #17

Jan 222020

Silverado 1500

  • 2,399 miles
On January 22, 2020 I started the vehicle with using the mychevrolet phone app. I got into the truck and pushed the ignition button. The following three warnings appeared on the instrument panel: 1) brake system failure 62 mph top speed, 2)service trailer brake system, 3) service ESC ABS, brake, traction control, and check engine lights illuminated. I turned the vehicle off and turned it back on again using the ignition button and all warnings and lights cleared except the check engine remained illuminated. The vehicle was parked when all of this happened. I received an email from onstar reporting that an issue with the antilock braking system was detected. This vehicle had just been into the dealer the prior week to fix one recall associated with the battery cable, and two other recalls associated with the brakes.

- Eagle River, AK, USA

problem #16

Jan 112020

Silverado 1500

  • 49,880 miles
When I was driving this vehicle first problem I start getting was the 4WD service light and won't be able to switch to 4WD, and was. Close to get in the wreck couple time during the winter storm. Second problem was when I was driving around 70mph on hwy truck got reduced engine power and slowed down my speed a lot, luckily I didn't have vehicle to close to me. Another problem I had was transmission issues, I was driving 25mph and my vehicle got blocked instant and won't move forward. Imagine if this happened on hwy driving 70mph and vehicle to stop/block the wheels and someone to be behind could be a big wreck. And after that issues truck won't go forward anymore, just on reverse

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #15

Dec 152019

Silverado 1500

  • 15 miles
I was driving down I10 in baytown, tx the truck began to shake and I was unable to accelerate. I was in the middle of the highway hen the truck just decelerate and I was going 25 mi/hr in a 65 mi/hr zone.

- Nederland, TX, USA

problem #14

Dec 202019

Silverado 1500

  • 8,000 miles
The contact owned a 2019 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact stated that after parking the vehicle, an engine compartment fire had occurred. The fire department was called to the scene and extinguished the flames. The vehicle was destroyed and towed away. A fire and police report was taken at the scene. The local dealer new rochelle Chevrolet (291 main St. New rochelle NY) and the manufacturer were notified of the incident. The cause of the failure was not determined. The failure mileage was 8,000.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #13

Jan 082020

Silverado 1500

  • 27,000 miles
Oil line come off oil cooler front of engine while driving down the road cramping on hose not good enough.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #12

Dec 262019

Silverado 1500

  • 4,850 miles
Seemed as if the car would almost slip in and out gear when diving approx. 30-40 mph. I then noticed the check engine light came on and flashed engine reduction and seemed to lose some power. I took it in to the dealer, 2 days later they replaced R&R camshaft position actuator magnet intake.the next day after the truck back. I started the truck it put it in reverse and the engine stopped running but it seemed as if it the engine was still running as when you use the remote to start the truck, after the 4th try the truck stayed running but the engine reduction warning had lit up again. The truck has been back at the dealers for 6 days trying to figure out the problem

- Middle River, MD, USA

problem #11

Jan 042020

Silverado 1500

  • 19,883 miles
Driving when a note came on the dash. ¿low oil pressure warning turn off engine immediately¿. I did, and checked the oil. It is empty. There is only 30,000 km on this truck. Not impressed. Had to replace the rear brake pads that were worn out at only 25,000 km. Had a bad vibration when driving. It was a transmission mount issue.

- Peace River, Alberta, Canada, WA, USA

problem #10

Dec 192019

Silverado 1500

  • 124 miles
Merging into 70 to 80 mph traffic on interstate I95 my truck stalled abruptly to 45 mph and at 3000 RPM would not shift out of the lower gear it went it. I had to merge quickly to the emergency lane with on coming traffic doing all they could to get around around me. Had to have the vehicle towed.

- Portwentworth, GA, USA

problem #9

Dec 262019

Silverado 1500

  • 3,000 miles
On 12/26/2019 at 05:40 am, I got in my truck (2019 Silverado lt Allstar) and started the engine. I immediately received multiple warning messages on my dash panel. They were "service ESC", "brake system failure" "steering assist reduced" and to drive no faster than 62 mph.  prior to parking the night before on 12/25/2019 I had never had any problems whatsoever. On 12/26/2019 I was heading to work but found quickly that the brake pedel went all the way to the floor with very limited or basically no braking. The steering became very difficult with no apparent power assist.

- Freeland, MI, USA

problem #8

Dec 192019

Silverado 1500

  • 124 miles
2019 Silverado high country.124 miles the engine light came on. Transmission would not shift out of a lower gear. I was driving 45 mph and had to pull over and have the vehicle towed. The vehicle is currently sitting at dan vaden pooler Georgia.

- Portwentworth, GA, USA

problem #7

Dec 142019

Silverado 1500

  • 220 miles
Upon starting the truck and putting it in drive, the parking brake maintenance light, check engine light and ABS light came on. It provided multiple warnings that it needed service and put the engine in ¿low power mode¿.

- Rock Hill, SC, USA

problem #6

Dec 122019

Silverado 1500

  • 13,000 miles
At about 45 mph on a city street, I tried to apply the brakes but the pedal fell completely to the floor and about 98% of the braking ability was gone. I was able to ride the truck up onto the shoulder to slow down and stop. After restarting the vehicle, it seemed that the brakes were working again so I tried to make it to the dealership (about 1.5 miles away). Accelerating back up to speed was very jumpy - almost as if the engine was being starved. After getting up to about 35 mph, the brakes engaged intermittently without me touching the brake pedal. I pulled back over and had the vehicle towed to the rest of the way to the dealership. While stopped and engine idling, I observed a very noticeable knock coming from the engine. The dealership diagnosed the problem and is replacing the master brake cylinder and lifters in the engine. This failure was extremely dangerous and I was lucky that it did not cause an accident.

- Novi, MI, USA

problem #5

Aug 222019

Silverado 1500

  • 1,800 miles
The contact owns a 2019 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. While driving 70 mph, the vehicle downshifted to 20 mph. Occasionally, the vehicle would stop moving and shut off. Additionally, the vehicle failed to shut off at times. Furthermore, the check engine, engine reduced power, low fuel, service trailer brake system, service 4WD, shift to park, service ABS, reduced steering assist, back up camera, service ESC, and reduce transmission function warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was taken to dellenbach motors (3111 S college ave, fort collins, co 80525, (970) 226-2438) where it was diagnosed that the transmission connection failed. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was contacted and provided case number: 9-5621232945, but did not assist. The failure mileage was 1,800. The VIN was invalid.

- Ft Collins, CO, USA

problem #4

Oct 172019

Silverado 1500

  • 423 miles
The contact owns a 2019 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. While driving 60 mph, the check engine, stability control, traction control, and ABS warning indicators illuminated. Also, the "limited to 62 mph" message was displayed and the vehicle did not respond when the brakes were applied. The contact had to downshift for the vehicle to stop. The contact called onstar and was informed that codes: 925A2, P0606, and C0021 regarding the ECM, charging system, air bags, and transmission were detected. The vehicle was taken to gilbert Chevrolet (3550 us-441, okeechobee, fl 34974, (863) 261-8947), but was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 423.

- Moorehaven, FL, USA

problem #3

Aug 012019

Silverado 1500

  • 1,300 miles
The contact owns a 2019 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle vibrated and was difficult to shift when accelerating to 60 mph. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was taken to kuni Chevrolet (2449 fulton ave, sacramento, ca 95825, (916) 426-4089) four times where it was diagnosed that the exhaust was loose, the engine needed to be updated, the fluid needed to be changed, and the vehicle needed to be driven for 1,000 miles. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was contacted and provided case number: 9-5548811966. The failure mileage was 1,300. The VIN was unknown.

- Granite Bay, CA, USA

problem #2

Aug 222019

Silverado 1500

  • 273 miles
The contact owns a 2019 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. While the contact was attempting to pull out of the driveway, the ABS, ESC, and check engine warning indicators illuminated and the vehicle lost braking ability. The contact called roadside assistance and had the vehicle towed to mid state Chevrolet Buick (179 exit 67, sutton, wv 26001) on September 4, 2019. The dealer stated that the parts were not available. Repair the vehicle. Previously, on August 22, 2019, the vehicle was taken to ramey automotive richlands (2750 clinch St, richlands, va) where it was kept for sixteen days. The second dealer also stated that parts were not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 273.

- Pounding Mill, VA, USA

problem #1

Jun 262019

Silverado 1500

  • 7,003 miles
On 6/26/2019 while driving to work on hwy 287 while in motion my truck engine turned off on my 2019 Chevrolet Silverado Texas edition 2.7 L color silver and I was almost rear ended and I immediately called smicklas Chevrolet in Oklahoma city where I purchased the truck and brought the truck to vandergriff Chevrolet in arlington, tx to be looked at and serviced. This is the second truck that I purchased that has done this to me the first one was a white truck 2019 Chevrolet Silverado Texas edition 2.7 L that I didn't have for 24 hours. The dealership diagnosed it as a cam shaft sensor problem that was a manufacturer defect and I'm really dissatisfied with Chevrolet as a company to keep selling a defective product. Knowing it can cause death or a accident

- Arlington, TX, USA