10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
39 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,238 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Chevrolet Silverado 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #228

Sep 012005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have had repeated problems with the anti-lock brakes on my Chevy Silverado pickup. I realize there is an active recall on this issue (05V379000) but Chevrolet has not acknowledged that my vehicle needs to be included in this recall. I have already spent in excess of $600 and now need additional work done on my vehicle related to this problem and would like to be reimbursed as well as having the new work done at no cost to me.

- Gaithersburg, MD, USA

problem #227

Aug 222002

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,836 miles
My brakes failed, I replaced my brakes and I was never informed by General Motors that there was a recall. 8/22/02: Replaced front disc pads, replaced front brake rotors, cleaned caliper slides and hardware, replaced rear disc pads, replaced rear brake rotors, cleaned caliper slides and hardware on back also. Also replaced left rear emergency brake band/cable and hardware. 8/21/03: Replaced tailgate handle. 7/5/05: Replaced tailgate cable because it had broke in half. 7/13/05: Replace U-joints. 11/1/05: Had transmission serviced-filter and flush and was told that the transfer case select module needs to be replaced. While at the dealer getting the air bag adjusted we asked the dealer if there was a recall on the tailgate cable, as ours was busted, we were informed that there was a dealer recall, but our truck was not one of those recalled so we had to pay for the cable ourselves at a cost of $16.22. Until we went in for the air bag recall we had never been informed about any recalls. We were just informed about the ABS recall and we informed GM that we had replaced the recalled parts and were offered $60 for what cost us $826.60. This goes along with my other complaint, #10142457.

- Harrisville, MI, USA

problem #226

Aug 152004

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,925 miles
The brakes continued to fail so I proceeded to have the brakes replaced. Then the anti-lock system began to fail on a regular basis. I had that system cleaned, that did not solve the problem, so I had the wheel bearings and sensors replaced. That solved my problems.

- Harrisville, MI, USA

problem #225

Nov 102005

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
While driving under normal driving conditions, meaning fair weather and dry road surface, the service brakes were applied rather firmly. A vehicle had stopped suddenly to avoid a collision and had done so rather abruptly. After the service brakes were applied, the anti-lock brake system disengaged the brakes repetitively and did not allow the vehicle to slow sufficiently. Driver had to swerve to avoid a collision. Luckily, there was no significant property damage (under $200 so a police officer who observed the incident refused to file a report), and there was no personal injury. I called a local GM service department and asked as to the time frame of the recall for this issue. I had seen a reference to it on the national news in September. The service advisor told me that there was no recall on the anti-lock brakes. I told the service advisor there was a notice on the national news in reference to that exact issue. He then changed his story and claimed that it was only a recall if I lived in the northern states where the dot uses salt on the highways. I live in Tennessee where the local dot uses excessive salt on the highway at the mere mention of a possible dusting of snow. And yet, the "recall" is not in effect in my state. I decided to look for myself at the recall notice and found this farce of a recall notice. I must ask, why is a manufacturing defect that could cause a major malfunction in the safety mechanisms of a vehicle only looked at in certain states? the answer I expect to get is that the dot does not use salt on the roads in the South, a blatant lie. So, as for the corrective action, I can do nothing. The service department says there is nothing wrong with my brakes, the anti-lock brake system, or my truck. The service advisor then told me that I should learn how to drive and to have a nice day.

- Lewisburg, TN, USA

problem #224

May 152005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles
The contact stated while trying to stop vehicle he pressed the brake pedal and it did not engage. There was no warning prior to the incident. There was NHTSA recall 05V379000 concerning ABS brake failure. Updated 2/7/2006 - the consumer stated that the brake pedal seemed to push back as it was applied and that the truck felt as if it were on ice. This incident occurred on an off ramp on a clear dry day. Updated 2/7/2006 -

- Mukwonago, WI, USA

problem #223

Feb 012005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,000 miles
The contact stated this vehicle was included in NHTSA recall 05V379000 concerning ABS brake failure. Recall repairs was done on the vehicle, but it did not correct the problem. There was pulsation in the brake pedal when the brakes were applied. The dealer removed the ABS fuse to keep the ABS from activating. The dealer said he will have to cover the cost of the diagnostic test to determine the cause of the problem.

- Salisbury, NC, USA

problem #222

Nov 042005

Silverado 2500 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,036 miles
The contact states received a recall notice concerning ABS brakes. He had recall repairs performed, but it did not correct the problem. The service dealer said they did what was required on the recall notice. The dealer claimed the problem was due to the brake pads and rotors being low. The manufacturer said the service dealer performed the recall service as indicated on the notice. Updated 12/7/2005. The vehicle would not stop between 4-10 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The dealer claimed they cleaned the ABS sensor. While the consumer was leaving the dealer the vehicle would not stop when the brakes were applied. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and the technician said there was nothing else they could do. The consumer called the manufacturer and was told to take the vehicle to another dealer. The vehicle was taken to another dealer who determined that the first dealer never cleaned the left sensor. Since the left sensor has been cleaned the brakes work perfectly.

- China Township, MI, USA

problem #221

Oct 042005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles
The consumer stated the ABS activated when the brakes were applied. He felt a pulsation in the brake pedal. There were two repairs done to try to correct the problem. One repair consisted of cleaning the ABS sensors. This did not correct the problem with the brakes. During the second repair the dealer replaced the ABS sensor. The replacement of the ABS sensor seemed to have corrected the problem. The consumers vehicle was not included in NHTSA recall 05V379000 for the ABS because he did not live in the states that were the recall was issued. Updated 12/07/05.

- Port Washington, WI, USA

problem #220

Oct 152005

Silverado 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,000 miles
The contact stated the ABS brakes activated at low speeds. The dealership said that the sensors were bad. There was a recall, but not for the state that the contact lived in. He contacted the manufacturer's complaint department, and they told him that this vehicle was built in Canada and was not included in the recall. Updated 11/29/2005 -

- Medford, WI, USA

problem #219

Oct 172005

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
On 17 Oct 05, I was required to replace all four rotors and associated brake pads on my 2000 chev Silverado truck. This vehicle has less than 50,000 miles, is not routinely exposed to corrosive road conditions, and all 4 rotors were completely eaten by rust. In fact, the rotors indicated that my vehicle was reduced to less than 40% of the original design braking capacity. The rotors are heavily corroded and pitted with rust. They are not able to be resurfaced. Chevrolet was contacted and, to date, has displayed little or no interest in dealing with this problem. The service manager at my dealership indicates that this is a known, on-going problem. Significant numbers of GM vehicles appear to be on the road with vastly reduced braking capacity due to this metal defect in the brake rotor system.

- Eastampton, NJ, USA

problem #218

Aug 052005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 41,000 miles
The contact stated T when applying brake pressure at low speeds the ABS activated followed by a squeaking noise. He took the vehicle to a dealer, who cleaned the wheel speed sensors. There was a recall on the anti lock brakes, but the contact did not live in a salt belt state. However, the vehicle experienced the same problem as indicated in the recall. No further repairs or corrections have been made. 11/29/2005 -

- Brookfield, WI, USA

problem #217

Oct 262005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contactreceived NHTSA recall 05V379000 concerning ABS. He took the vehicle to the dealership, and had the work performed. The ABS iwas still activating, therefore, the problem had not been corrected. He took the vehicle back to the dealership. The hub assembly was corroded and needed to be replaced. According to the manufacturer, the recall did not cover this, and it will have to be replaced at the contact's expense.

- Roslindale, MA, USA

problem #216

Oct 222005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,005 miles
During low speed stopping the brake pedal goes nearly to the floor and stopping distance is greatly increased. Symptoms sound identical to NHTSA campaign id number : 05V379000 that is supposedly to occur only in salt belt states.

- Chehalis, WA, USA

problem #215

Oct 012005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,850 miles
The contact complained about an ABS brake problem. The ABS kicked in at low speeds, causing the vehicle not to stop. The contact stated that when applying pressure to the brakes it felt like they were pushing back against the contact's foot, and at other times it felt like the pedal pulsated. Sometimes when the contact applied the brakes there wash growling noise. The problem did not happen every time when he came to a stop, but it started happening more often. Updated 01/04/06.

- West Allis, WI, USA

problem #214

Jul 152004

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,500 miles
The contact stated there was a recall on the ABS brakes. Has contacted the manufacturer, and they will replace the ABS speed sensors, but they will not replace the rotors. The contact was having a problem with the rotors. They were corroded. He had the rotors turned and put back on vehicle with new pads. The ABS speed sensors were still not working correctly. Updated 12/27/05.

- Painsville, OH, USA

problem #213

Sep 062005

Silverado 2500 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Silverado. The ABS brakes kicked in at low speeds of 5-7 mph. This started about one month ago. The contact was aware that recall did not start until 11-05, but wanted to file a complaint anyway. She has not yet received a recall letter in the mail. This was in regard to recall 05V379000. The ABS light did not illuminate prior to this happening.

- Mansfield, OH, USA

problem #212

Jul 012003

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles
There is a problem with the ABS. There is NHTSA recall O5V379000 concerning ABS brakes. However, the consumers VIN and state were not included in the recall. The consumer first started experiencing a problem with the vehicle in July 2003. When the consumer took it to the dealership they had to change the entire wheel assembly. There were no accidents.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #211

Jul 172002

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
The consumer states that 2000 Chevrolet Silverado was having a problem with the ABS system. When the consumer pressed down on the brakes they sounded like they were grinding. The ABS was engaged at low speeds. The vehicle has been checked by a repair shop, and was having the sensors cleaned. The consumer has been in contact with GM, and they said that they did not have a recall. The consumer has replaced the rotors and pads. The speed was 10 mph or below.

- Sloatesburg, NY, USA

problem #210

Jan 152005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles
The caller said brakes failed at low speeds. He stated that when slowing down the brakes locked. When going between 3-10 mph was when the problem started. It happened without warning. There was recall 05V379000 concerning antilock brakes on other vehicles, but the recall was not for the caller's state. Dealer has not been contacted yet. Manufacturer said the caller was not included in recall, and they will not fix the vehicle for free. He had one near miss accident. Updated 11/17/2005.

- St Francis, MN, USA

problem #209

Sep 022005

(reported on)

Silverado 2500

  • miles
2000 Chevrolet ABS system developed problems.** answer required***. on two separate occasions the consumer was unable to stop the vehicle at low speeds. The consumer had to use the emergency brae to stop the vehicle.

- Princeton, WV, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »