10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
39 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,238 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Chevrolet Silverado 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #268

Sep 012011

Silverado 2500

  • miles
2000 Chevrolet Silverado. Consumer states problems with ABS.

- Morehead, KY, USA

problem #267

Mar 192011

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving at a very low speed the contact applied the brakes and the anti lock brake system engaged. During the failure the vehicle also experienced an increased in stopping distance. The manufacturer was notified and the contact was told that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA recall campaign number 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock). Updated 05/04/11 updated 05/13/11

- Lebanon, OH, USA

problem #266

Jul 162005

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that when applying the brakes from 10 mph or less, the brakes would abnormally lock. The dealer recommended replacing the sensors at the contact's expense. The contact stated that the vehicle was previously repaired under an unknown recall where the dealer cleaned the brake sensors. The contact was under the impression that the brake sensors should have been replaced under the recall. The failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage was 64,000. Updated 12/01/10 updated 12/07/10

- Matemora, IL, USA

problem #265

Feb 102010

Silverado 2500

  • 99,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Silverado. He stated that while driving at low speeds of 10 mph, the ABS engaged without warrant. When the failure would occur, it would cause increased stopping distance when braking at low speeds. The contact previously received notification of NHTSA recall campaign id number 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic: Antilock) and the dealer removed and thoroughly cleaned the wheel speed sensor, mounting surface on the bearing, applied rust inhibitor to the cleaned surface, greased the mounting surface, reinstalled the wheel speed sensor, and checked the peak-to-peak output voltage to ensure the wheel speed signal was within specifications. The failure recurred and the dealer advised they would not be liable for repairs due to previous recall repairs. The failure and current mileages were 99,000.

- Flat Rock, MI, USA

problem #264

Dec 032009

Silverado 2500

  • 115,000 miles
Antilock brakes in front activating when not supposed to. Campaign id: 00V055000. This was fixed once and is now recurring. Dealer will not fix again. Very dangerous!

- Marine On St Croix, MN, USA

problem #263

Aug 132008

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Silverado. The vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign id number 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock); however, the contact is currently experiencing the failures noted in the recall. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer. The current and failure mileages were 98,000. Updated 11/17/08 updated 11/18/08.

- Lake Orion, MI, USA

problem #262

Jan 052008

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
My 2000 Chevrolet K2500 Silverado has 60,000 miles. The rear brakes do not function as designed. The interior brake pad, on the disc breaks, only come in contact with the rotor for 1/2 of an inch or less. I couldn't figure out why my anti-lock brakes engaged all the time and I think it is because an undue amount of braking pressure is placed on the front disc brakes as the rear brakes are clearly not engaging properly. I had midas review the brakes and they claim this is common. The rotors have to be replaced because all they do is rust since the brake pad hardly touches the rotor. I called my dealership who also said this is common. Have there been any investigations into Chevy truck accidents and how the brakes function" do Chevy truck owners even realize their 5,000-6,000 pound trucks, often used for towing, are not stopping as they were designed to stop? why hasn't there been a recall? who can I have inspect my brakes to confirm this common brake defect before I have them replaced"

- Council Bluffs, IA, USA

problem #261

Mar 012007

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 123,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact received a recall notice in February of 2006 regarding the ABS. He took the vehicle in for repair on February 20,2006 at 105,284 miles. There were no failures at the time, but the repair was still made. The contact is now beginning to experience ABS failure one year later. Whenever he pulls to a stop sign and there is a rough spot or a bump in the road, the ABS fails. The brakes do not work as well. The vehicle has not yet been taken to the dealer. The recall number was unavailable. The failure mileage was 123,000 and current mileage was 126,000. Received 12/12/07. Eq-10208924-4200 recall# 00V055000 updated 12/12/07.

- Fort Scott, KS, USA

problem #260

Aug 252007

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,800 miles
I recently bought a 2000 Chevrolet Silverado Z71 extended cab. A few days after I purchased the truck I was in traffic at speeds ranging between 2-10 mph. Almost everytime I pressed the brakes to come to a stop the ABS system would kick in and my truck would not stop for a few extra feet almost causing me to rear end the vehicle in front of me. Now I contacted Chevy/GM and they said there is a recall for the problem but unfortunately my truck under the VIN # I gave them did not qualify for the recall. They said I'm sorry but you'll have to get it fixed on your own. I was shocked at the response they gave me. I cant afford the close to $1000 repair and I still have to use the truck for work, but I know I won't buy another GM and I guess by the time the recall gets extended to my truck someone will either get hurt or killed do to GM not stepping up and taking no responsibility. Ever since then it happens often enough where im scared.

- E. Stroudsburg, PA, USA

problem #259

Oct 012005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,580 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The vehicle was being serviced for the anti-lock brakes recall. One of the brakes, due to the others not being defective was damaged. Two years later, the same defect occurred on the remaining brakes. During the previous recall repair, all of the brakes were not serviced due to the dealers specifications. The dealer stated that since he has already used his recall, he is required to pay for the repair, although the other brakes were not a part of the originial recall. The manufacturer stated that they would do an investigation to determine if this is a concern of theirs. The contact did not agree to any charges as it relates to any recall. GM's recall notice id: Is 05068. The failure mileage was 75,580. The current mileage is 95,000.

- Hamilton, NJ, USA

problem #258

Aug 102007

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 128,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving 30 mph he depressed the brakes and crashed into the vehicle in front of him. The air bags did not deploy. The front seat passenger sustained a lacerated spleen and contusion of the heart. A complaint was submitted to the manufacturer (complaint # 71-546827970). The current and failure mileages were 128,000. Updated 02-01-08 updated 02/01/08

- Pocasset, MA, USA

problem #257

Aug 102007

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Silverado. He stated that the ABS activated without warning which increased the stopping distance. There is a recall for the antilock brakes (NHTSA campaign #05V379000). The dealer repaired recall; however, the failure continued to occur. The failure and current mileages were 59,000. The consumer stated this is the 2nd repair, both times the speed sensors were replaced. The consumer provided a copy of repair invoice. Updated 08/29/07

- Pittsburg, PA, USA

problem #256

May 102007

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,791 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving approximately 55 mph under normal driving conditions, the ABS warning light illuminated and the antilock system stopped operating. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the pump motor circuit shorted. The vehicle has not been repaired and the light still illuminates. The antilock brakes fail to operate and the brakes function like normal brakes without ABS. The engine size was unavailable. The current and failure mileages were 88,791. Updated 06/14/07.

- Saginaw, MI, USA

problem #255

Feb 262007

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,222 miles
The ABS failed in my truck, causing me to hit a trailer parked in my driveway. While GM has already "repaired" this under a previous recall, their "repair" obviously doesn't work. They were unresponsive about my complaint, since my truck had already been "repaired". if someone would have been walking in front of my truck when the brakes failed, I would have killed them. It is one thing to have the radio quit working, it is an entirely different thing to have the brakes totally fail. GM needs to do something about this besides cleaning a couple sensors. There were no warning lights, no indication whatsoever of the impending failure. I backed up and the brakes worked fine. Still no warning lights. I spoke with the dealership and their answer was "there isn't anything we can test for this intermittent problem. We can try to get it to fail and go from there". I now have a 6000 lb projectile that I have no idea if it is going to stop or not. I removed the ABS fuse until I can figure out what to do with this unreliable product.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #254

Sep 082006

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,144 miles
: the contact stated when the brake pedal was depressed, the pedal pulsated between 3-10 mph and the vehicle would not stop. A NHTSA recall, # 05V379000 was performed on the vehicle concerning, the service brakes, hydraulic: Antilock however, the recall did not remedy the problem. The dealership would not offer a second repair under the recall.

- New Haven, CT, USA

problem #253

Jul 302006

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 189,000 miles
I own a 2000 Chevy Silverado 4X4. I have had a problem with the brakes for about two years. The anti-lock brake computer does not function properly all the time. I can loose the brakes at any time. I have talked to a few other owners of the same style truck and they have had similar problems. I have had the master cylinder replaced, new brakes installed, and the most recent recall to clean the brake cylinder(?) cleaned by a Chevy dealer completed. The problem still existed. It may have been 2-3 weeks in-between failures. What happens is the brake pedal goes to the floor with minimum stopping power. That's exactly what happened this last time but unfortunately this time I didn't have enough road to stop on and ran into a tree. Damages, according to the body shop, are going to be between $3000-$4000 dollars. The truck is in the repair shop at this time and I will have the anti-lock brake computer replaced. I know for a fact this is the cause of my accident. I was hoping for a recall from Chevrolet to avoid the expensive repair. I will save the old unit along with all the repair bills and future increases in my insurance premiums and hope that somewhere in the future the truck does get a recall. I will then in turn hold Chevrolet responsible for all bills incurred.

- Rock Hall, MD, USA

problem #252

May 122006

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles
: the contact stated at speeds below 20 mph, the ABS activates, causing an excessive stopping distance. A NHTSA recall, #05V379000 was performed on the vehicle in September 2005 concerning, the ABS however, the recall did not remedy the problem. The dealership would not offer a second repair without charge under the recall.

- Mchenry, IL, USA

problem #251

Apr 242006

(reported on)

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving on wet road conditions at various speeds the ABS activates causing an increase in stopping distance. There is a NHTSA recall, # 05V379000, regarding the service brakes: Hydraulic: Antilock. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN. Updated 05/16/06.

- Suring, WI, USA

problem #250

Dec 292005

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
: the contact stated the brakes where applied at 8-10pmh and the ABS engaged, resulting in the contact having a crash. To avoid a rear end collision, the contact left the road and hit an embankment on the passenger side of the vehicle. The police did not take a report at the scene and no injuries were sustained. After the accident the contact received a recall 05V379000, concerning the antilock brakes. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection, the speed sensors were cleaned and it was determined the hydraulic pump needed to be replaced. However, the dealer was not able to determine whether the brake failure and accident were caused by the ABS sensor or the hydraulic pump. The contact felt the pump should have been included in the recall campaign. Additionally, the brake rotors were replaced, due to corrosion, after only 4,000 miles.

- Iron River, WI, USA

problem #249

Mar 142006

(reported on)

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Consumer complaint concerning the safety of 2000 Chevrolet Silverado ABS system.

- Saint Paul, MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »