10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,730 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Chevrolet Silverado 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #38

Jul 312022

Silverado 2500

  • miles
I purchased this truck from a private seller due to its capacity to tow. After driving it for one day, an alert came up on the dashboard display saying "Service: Trailer Brake System". So I hit "Dismiss", but the alert keeps coming on and it is very intermittent and very distracting. Sometimes the alarm chime will continue for several seconds causing the driver to take their eyes off the road which is dangerous, but also, who knows what will happen when towing a trailer. I've looked it up online and this is an issue with many owners of the truck so Chevrolet should do a recall and provide a fix for this.

- Herriman, UT, USA

problem #37

Oct 212021

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Trailer brake system quit working while towing a Trailer. No warning until service Trailer brake system appeared and all Trailer braking was gone. When a failure like this occurs it makes stopping a vehicle very dangerous.

- Mayer, MN, USA

problem #36

Oct 212021

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Trailer brake system quit working while towing a Trailer. No warning until service Trailer brake system appeared and all Trailer braking was gone. When a failure like this occurs it makes stopping a vehicle very dangerous.

- Mayer, MN, USA

problem #35

Jul 082020

Silverado 2500

  • miles
The trailer brake it been miss up and ever body I talk that has the same year model and everything like my truck has had this problem it keep my log down it think it has a trailer on it at all time

- Wisner, LA, USA

problem #34

Nov 012019

Silverado 2500

  • 14,400 miles
2015 Chevy Silverado 2500 hd VIN # (xxxx) purchase my truck new in 2015. The truck now has 14,400 miles on it. I notice a few weeks ago that the brakes didn't feel right. I pulled the wheels and noticed that the rotors were grooved and excessive rust build up. Two of the brake pads were worn down to the metal (one in the front and one in the rear). I pulled the rotors and took them over to be turned down. The mechanic at the garage told me that they could not be turned. Reason being that some outer metal was worn down to a softer metal and could not be turned down. I replaced 4 rotors and pads and the two front calipers, the rear calipers seem to be ok. Then I went over to the local cevy dealer to see if there was a recall on the brakes for this problem. They said no the reason given is that they don't guarantee against rust. While researching this on the internet, I discovered that its just not my year vehicle 2015 having this problem but goes back to 2000. How can you say that this is not a safety issue and not have a recall for it. And by the way my truck is kept in my garage all the time. So exposure to the element is not an issue. Parts of this document have been redacted to protect personally identifiable information pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Adams, NY, USA

problem #33

May 012015

Silverado 2500

  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. While reversing the vehicle, the brakes malfunctioned. The contact had to stand on the brake pedal to stop the vehicle. The manufacturer mailed a letter stating that there was a brake vacuum pump failure with the vehicle's exact year, make, and model. The contact spoke with henderson Chevrolet (240 N gibson rd, henderson, nv 89014, (702) 208-9999) and the manufacturer and was informed that the vehicle exceeded the 72,000 mile limit to receive assistance. The contact stated that the failure occurred ever since the vehicle was purchased brand new. The failure mileage was 100.

- Boulder City, NV, USA

problem #32

Feb 152017

Silverado 2500

  • miles
(1) I purchased my Chevy Silverado 2500 duramax Z71 Sep 2015 at the dealer rydell automotive group in northridge California cat first the steering was heavy at times when I would make a 3 point turn or if I was backing out of a parking space and then moving forward. (2)alarm chimes are extremely loud in vehicle upon entering vehicle and during alarms despite adjusting volume to lowest setting in the settings menu. Happens whenever the alarm chimes. Since Feb (3)Jan 10 2018 took in for squeaky brakes at the dealer they told me my caliper was bad notice that my inner brake pad didnt have life but outer brake pad still have life when ahead with the repair.same this yr March 25 2019 took in again for same issue told me rotors where done need to replace them and brakes contact GM and told me and repair service it depends how he turns

- Saugus, CA, USA

problem #31

Jan 022019

Silverado 2500

  • 70,000 miles
The brake pedal got extremely hard while backing up and hooking up to a trailer. The truck wouldn't stop and I ran into the trailer and almost ran over my wife. The vacuum pump ticks like it is about to destroy itself. The truck has 70K miles.

- Mineola, TX, USA

problem #30

Dec 242018

Silverado 2500

  • miles
1.)the exhaust fluid system warning appears on the dash even after being filled. Warns of reduced speed. Occurs erratically sitting or in motion. Dec 24, 2018 2.) trailer/tow assist alarm rings even though not towing anything and system not engaged. Happens erratically while sitting or in motion. Since June 2018 3.) alarm chimes are extremely loud in vehicle upon entering vehicle and during alarms despite adjusting volume to lowest setting in the settings menu. Happens whenever the alarm chimes. Since June 2018

- Bulverde, TX, USA

problem #29

Sep 202018

Silverado 2500

  • 60,000 miles
Windshield wipers intermingling to the point I have to put the fuse out of the fuse box to get them to shut off even when the vehicle is shut off while interminting no high beams will work unless you hold the wiper/turn signal lever forward. So to use windshield wiper I have to put the fuse in tduse box then put it out when I'm at my destination. While the wipers are interminting the trailer break service indacter ding and keep popping up on the service screen saying either service or it just pop up trailer break indacter as if I put the trailer bottom to add more break no trailer is attached when this is happening driving down the road it just keep ding or poping up on the screen

- New Paris, IN, USA

problem #28

Oct 252017

Silverado 2500

  • 44,000 miles
When towing a 15,000 pound 5th wheel camper at highway speeds, the truck's trailer brake system and stabilitrac system will (without any warning) shut off, leaving the driver without any way to activate the trailer brakes. Neither system will re-activate without first stopping truck, shutting it off, unplugging the camper 7 pin, and then driving about a 1/2 mile. This issue first occurred at approximately 24,000 miles and continues to this day. The truck now has 44,000 miles. Chevrolet has looked at the truck twice, but was unable to determine what the issue is. I have isolated the problem to occurring when I pass under certain low hanging high voltage power lines. There are two locations where the problem consistently occurs when I pass under the power lines in either direction. Replicating the problem shouldn't be an issue.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #27

Jul 042017

Silverado 2500

  • 40,200 miles
Takata problems, clutch in air condiioning units..freezing up, eats belts their is a flaw it will cause you to have asma attack from rush of hot air in vehicle..dangerous.,..breaks are squeeking when pulling out N driving..notice tread looks uneven in front. Peeling paint on doors

- Havana, IL, USA

problem #26

Feb 052016

Silverado 2500

  • 60,000 miles
ABS activates at slow speeds creating an inability to stop properly.

- Carmel, IN, USA

problem #25

Mar 252016

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Takata recall I got a recall notice and tried to make an appointment at the dealership I bought the vehicle. No appointments were allowed. You arrive at eight am and it will take a least 4 hours to do. The letter stated 40 minutes or less. I cannot take a whole day off of work to do this so I guess my life is in jeopardy.

- Bridge City, TX, USA

problem #24

Aug 122015

Silverado 2500

  • 7,000 miles
Lost trailer brakes and trailer lighting when on rough roads due to upside down trailer wiring plug receiver on truck. Door opens down instead of up as in the past and 7 wire rv plug is too heavy to stay plugged in all the way. Very dangerous when going down a hill with a loaded trailer. Dealer said yes they have had complaints but they can't seem to duplicate the problem and nothing from GM for service bulletins. We have 3 HD2500 Silverado 2015 & 2016 and all have the same problem. Get tired seeing message service trailer wiring. Can be set off by turns or bumps.

- Intervale, NH, USA

problem #23

Feb 152016

Silverado 2500

  • 14,000 miles
I was involved in an accident on 1/15/16 in which I was sideswiped by another vehicle. Upon impact, I had no brakes and no steering control. This caused me to rear end another vehicle and hit a tree head on. The airbags never deployed. I was unable to stop the vehicle or control it. I could have been killed or killed someone else. I am very concerned. I have had the truck in the shop on several occasions with electrical issues, yet the dealership could not find anything or it was minor corrections. I have been very concerned with the electronics of this vehicle since I bought the truck in August 2015. The insurance company totaled the truck.

- Henderson, TX, USA

problem #22

Nov 072015

Silverado 2500

  • 23,000 miles
While towing, break warning light came on. Had no trailer breaks and had to stop pull off road. Shut down as per manuel and restart. That corrected the problem. This could have been a serious issue if we had been on a steep downhill grade!

- Universal City, TX, USA

problem #21

Oct 242015

Silverado 2500

  • 12,366 miles
On October 24, 2015 while following my wife home on hwy 182 between West pasco and richland my truck experience what felt like a tire blowout on the right rear wheel. I was traveling the speed limit at 70 mph. The road was level and flat with no debris on the road. I proceeded to change out my tire with the spare, thinking that the tire had a large bolt or nail in it. To my surprise, the tire was intact with no sign of damage. The factory rim had failed. Here are the facts of the situation: '2015 Chevrolet Silverado lt Z71 with 12,366 miles 'smooth highway surface on a clear day traveling straight at 70 mph with no debris on the road 'not hauling or towing 'single occupant in vehicle 'the tire is intact (not damaged at all) 'no damage to the right front wheel or tire or any other part of the vehicle 'severe damage to the right rear rim 'rim impacted the brake system hard enough to bend parts and cause leaking of brake fluid

- West Richland, WA, USA

problem #20

Aug 232015

Silverado 2500

  • 4,000 miles
I was driving downhill for aproximately 30 minutes towing a boat. My family was in the truck total of five passangers. Suddenly I noticed a smell of something burning. I drove fro approximately five more minutes the I noticed the break pedal was going all the way in, therefore I pulled over on the side of the road. That is when I saw smoke coming out of the left front tire brakes.

- Norwalk , CA, USA

problem #19

Apr 272015

Silverado 2500

  • 150 miles
A warning message comes on the dash telling the driver there is a issue with the trailer brakes, or wiring system. The trailer brakes become inoperable when this comes on. We have contacted GM with the issue, both at the dealer level and at the corporate level; and they insist it is a problem with our trailers. The same trailers are used with older Chevrolet trucks without incident. We have also been informed by GM that the 2015 Silverado 2500's are equipped with a more sensitive trailering system. When the connection becomes wet during inclement weather, or the truck hits a bump; and the connector loses contact momentarily the message will illuminate. Resulting in the loss of trailer brakes. This is a serious safety issue.

- Irwin, PA, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »