2.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,570 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Chevrolet Traverse:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #16

Jun 022022

Traverse

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chevrolet Traverse. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle would hesitate. The contact stated that no warning lights were illuminated. The contact stated that before going to the dealer her spouse replaced the battery and all the spark plugs however, the failure continued. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and a case was opened. The approximate failure mileage was 115,000.

- Circleville, OH, USA

problem #15

Jan 062022

Traverse

  • miles
https://youtu.be/hBvaOIIxnXY almost Killed my freaking family!!!!!

- Lancaster, NY, USA

problem #14

Apr 232021

Traverse

  • 94,000 miles
Vehicle began stuttering when upshift or downshift 2nd-3rd gears low speeds. Took to dealer. At first could not replicate but then found GM service bulletin # 18-na-358 (see attached). First released in November 2018 and most recently updated October 2020. It lists this exact problem and a fix for the problem. It includes many GM vehicles including my 2015 Chevrolet Traverse. The dealer said there was not a recall that this was just a normal bulletin to help technicians handle previously reported problems. I would request someone to review for a possible recall. My Traverse only has 94,000 miles.

- Gallating, TN, USA

problem #13

Mar 012021

Traverse

  • 113,000 miles
Waveplate failure causing transmission replacement per dealership. They state no warranty or recalls. Vehicle vibrates and gears slip at 15-25 mph, especially on low incline. 113K miles.

- Suwanee, GA, USA

problem #12

Jul 152015

Traverse

  • 8,000 miles
I took my vehicle back to the dealership I brought it from at least 3 times because of the engine surges while driving mostly on streets but once while merging onto the highway each time I was given excuses " thats the new electric accelerator " thats the 6th gear" I have owned a 2012, 2014 now the 2015 I haven't experienced the surges or lurching in any of my previous vehicles now lurching more often I am tired of leaving my car in the dealership, renting cars on my own dime and getting excuses that don't make sense

- Hephzibah, GA, USA

problem #11

Jun 082020

Traverse

  • 118,000 miles
Initially I had an issue with sudden heavy vibration, primarily while turning, was not recording with a fault. Per my service records attached there were several trips try a diagnose and repair the issue. The mysterious issue requiring GM engineer support outside of the local dealership technicians. Shortly after my final service for the vibration issue I reported abnormal shifting during acceleration and was advised that the shifting trained to the driver. The abnormal shifting never resolved itself. Periodically the warning for service stabilitrack and traction control presents and the Traverse performs roughly. This occurs randomly while driving..the related fault is not recorded either. Recently I have had this occur and the vehicle failed to move even with the accelerator pressed to the floor. I was in my neighborhood but fear that this could have resulted in an accident had it occured on a busier street or highway. I reached out to General Motors and cma colonial Chevy and they want to perform a diagnostic. I just had a diagnostic performed at an independent mechanic and he advised that the fault codes were not recorded and that my transmissionis failing. History of service with this vehicle leads me to know that paying for a 2nd diagnostic at the dealership will present the same results.

- North Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #10

Jun 062020

Traverse

  • 85,700 miles
Transmission started shaking vigorously while slowing down thru residential area at low speed going up a slight incline at about 15 to 25 mph. Engine started to heat. Not a single warning light turned on and never did prior to taking it to the dealership. Vehicle only has less than 86000 miles, & apparently GM has not recalled this vehicle(s) for transmission problem as it appears to be a common problem with these vehicles. I took it to the dealership & they said they reprogrammed the transmission solenoid and took it for a 16 mile test drive. Supposedly, it was fixed. But it wasn't. multiple reports on the internet say the torque converter is the problem & will fail because of lack of adequate cooling for transmission. Transmission started slipping at 42000 miles from either 1st to 2nd gear or 2nd to 3rd gear.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #9

Feb 022019

Traverse

  • miles
Transmission shudders at 30-50 mph. Slipping and shaking violently

- Visalia, CA, USA

problem #8

Apr 122018

Traverse

  • 123,000 miles
Car engine says check engine turn off oil pressure is low. It also reads sensor P011. While driving on the freeway. Look like Chevy engines are not built to last poor engine. 2011 Chevy Tahoe have the exact same thing... lots of mechanic don't want to mess with these engines because it's designs are bad and needs to be recalled. Bad make with Chevy company period...

- Lafayette, LA, USA

problem #7

Jul 202018

Traverse

  • 48,000 miles
Turning car to right and felt car steering seize at 48,000 miles took to dealership they told me rack and pinion $2900 part that should not occur on car this age.

- De Soto, MO, USA

problem #6

Jan 142016

Traverse

  • 34,368 miles
The car jerks and surges and the service stabillitrac warning light and traction control warning comes on...current mileage 34368 we were on a city street cruising about 45 mph with no strain on the car. The initial issue started 1 14 16 with 3743 miles. We have been to the dealer, roger dean Chevrolet, cape coral fl, five times.. each time roger dean says it is fixed, but it happens again..?? happened again last night. Very severe shaking and surging and we've had couples in the car with us when it happens... concern is that it will completely stop in traffic or on the many bridges we cross... this makes the car totally unreliable and scary to drive, as well as dangerous..

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #5

Jul 252018

Traverse

  • 44,000 miles
While driving, the interior lights shut off and my vehicle suddenly loses power. No matter how hard I press on the gas, the vehicle does not respond. Certain service signs also appear and they are 'service stabilitrak, ' service traction control, ' 'traction control off, ' and 'park assist off.' This is dangerous as I was driving through a fairly busy street when this happened and had to physically notify the driver coming towards me to stop. Otherwise, I would have gotten T-boned! this happened twice. The first time it happened, the diagnostic code appeared, they cleared it and test drove it and it was fine. However, a month later, it did it again. Huge liability here! during both incidents, I was driving the vehicle, going straight ahead.

- San Jacinto, CA, USA

problem #4

Jul 262016

Traverse

  • 22,646 miles
7-26-16 @ 22646mi the front end shimmied after hitting a bump. Dealer could not duplicate. 8-15-16 @ 23346 front end shimmy after hitting bump. Dealer could duplicate it. Rotated and balanced tires. 9-16-16 24040mi could make the front end shimmy all the time. Dealer & GM engineers replaced left axel shaft & right intermediate axel. 9-26-16 24643mi again front end shimmy at will. Dealer & GM engineers replaced all motor & transmission mounts. 10-30-16 25810mi going 45 on straight road, hit bump and front end shimmied for about 2 blocks. 10-31-16 I told dealer about it & was told that I can't bring it in till it happens more often.11-2-16 hit bump on curve doing 45 and front end shimmied for about a minute. 3-24-17 30288mi going 40 on straight road, hit small bump and front end shimmied for about a half mile. 3-27-17 went to dealer and asked what could be done to resolve front end problem. 3-31-17 went to dealer again to see what they can do, they said they won't do anything to fix it. Spoke with service manager and was told the same thing. 3-31-17 I called GM customer support and they said they will talk with dealer service manager. 4-10-17 30995mi front end shimmied @ 45 mpg after slowing from 55mph. 4-12-17 GM stated they can't (won't) do anything till it can be duplicated. 7-11-17 37355mi while turning left, then straightening while accelerating on smooth road, the front end started shimming. Went away at 45mph. 7-17-17 37561mi turned right and accelerated hard, at 40mph front end started to shimmy for about 20 seconds. Stopped when let off the gas going down hill. Again at 37569mi on straight smooth road @ 50mph front end shimmied for 15 seconds. Stopped when decelerated. 7-24-17 I traded the vehicle because GM would not do anything and I felt it was unsafe. You had no idea when it would happen. I wanted to inform you incase you have other complaints.

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #3

Jul 142016

Traverse

  • 24,770 miles
Driving my 2015 Chevrolet Traverse on an expressway at 65 to 70 mph when suddenly the vehicle started to slow down even when pressing on the accelerator. The speed continued decreasing when we noticed that the radio had also shut down. Fortunately we were able to make our way to the breakdown lane without any mishap. That's when we notice the engine was also completely shut down. We were fortunate that we were able to pull over without causing an accident. We called the dealership and explained the problem and was puzzled that they were not too concerned about the problem. My wife is not concerned about the safety of this vehicle. I have noticed that complaints have been reporting a similar problem. My vehicle is currently at the dealership and they provided me with a loaner in the meantime. I was told that most likely they will not be able to find any problem with the vehicle. This is not much consolation, to us when we will be returning to Florida in the near future and wonder whether this problem will occur again when we are on expressways with five to six lanes, all going 70 mph or more and with little room to get out of the way to safety. Looking at other similar issues, what is mentioned as the problem could be the switch, the battery or the alternator, or wiring to all these components. I cannot believe that this issue cannot be diagnosed and remedied immediately before someone gets hurt.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #2

Sep 282015

Traverse

  • 10,500 miles
My wife was driving our 2015 Chevrolet Traverse 2lt in a construction zone at the speed limit. The vehicle abruptly shook side to side several times, then shut off engine power abruptly and lurched forward and back 5 times hard enough to throw her into the seat belt. About the lurching, she said it was like the car was trying to brake to a stop. She had a whole dashboard full of lights, and she saw a status message in place of the odometer that said something about the traction control turning off. She was in a construction zone without any shoulders, and couldn't immediately get off the road, but the engine power returned, so she took the first freeway exit and was able to stop the car. After she restarted the car, it seemed to be normal, so she drove it to the dealership for repair. The dealership said that it is working properly now, so they can't do anything.

- Scottsdale , AZ, USA

problem #1

Mar 312015

Traverse

  • 131 miles
When making a sharp left turn in a parking lot the car started to roll backwards down a slope. It was discovered that the engine was no longer running. Placed foot on brake to stop vehicle from rolling back wards and put transmission into park. Put transmission back into drive and found that car was dead. Put into park turned key to off waited a second and turned key to start engine and it restarted.

- Hot Springs Village, AR, USA