10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
80,012 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chrysler Sebring:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #29

Jul 292020

Sebring

  • 98,500 miles
My husband and I are experiencing problems recently with the car stahling out and or getting stuck in low gear while driving on the hwy, it was terrifying! we are currently not at home and have a 10 hour drive back home while driving this extremely unstable car and am honestly scared to death we are going to get in an accident! this is the 3rd battery swap we've done in 3 months but only have last 2 receipts. We have done research and this car has had electrical recall for this problem however apparently our VIN dont match up to the recall. I dont understand it, this is extremely horrible business from Chrysler and as soon as we can get home hopefully safely.. we wont buy another. Please help fast!

- Brewton, AL, USA

problem #28

Jan 012015

Sebring

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Sebring. While the vehicle was stationary, the vehicle hesitated to accelerate. Also, while making a turn, the vehicle stalled and the engine and electronic throttle control indicators illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing or repairs. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the vehicle was diagnosed that the electronic throttle computer needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failures. The contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in a recall. The failure mileage was 42,000.

- Englewood, FL, USA

problem #27

Feb 012019

Sebring

  • 180,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Sebring. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled without warning and the TPMS warning indicator remained illuminated. An independent mechanic replaced the battery, starter, and alternator; however, the failure continued. In addition, while driving over 60 mph, the vehicle would decelerate when the accelerator pedal was depressed. Steve white motors (3470 us hwy 70 SE, newton, nc 28658, (888) 827-3721) was notified. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The dealer and manufacturer indicated that the vehicle was excluded from NHTSA campaign number: 08V152000 (electrical system); although, the vehicle exhibited the same failure. The manufacturer was notified and did not assist. The approximate failure mileage was 180,000.

- Hickory, NC, USA

problem #26

Dec 062017

Sebring

  • 137,998 miles
Backing out of my driveway the engines suddenly shut down but restarted without an issue. Later that day the red warning light came on and the engine started to have no power and then staled I was able to move to the side of the road and saw the throttle position sensor light was on (witch I looked up in owner manual. Was able to get it started again and drove it to my mechanic who tested it and said I needed a throttle body.T hat was replaced now 4 days later I was on a hov lane doing 65 light came on engine sputtered but didn't stall arrived at destination when I got back in car light was out and car started. Driving home I had to pull over several times when light was illuminated. My concern is driving at highway speeds especially where I live there are long tunnels I travel through hopefully it doesn't do this to anyone driving through them and anywhere that would definitely cause a serious accident, the initial repair to replace throttle body was $271 and an additional $88 for same issue now throttle pedal needs replaced cost at this time unknown

- Clairton, PA, USA

problem #25

Jul 172015

Sebring 6-cyl

  • 128,000 miles
Problem: 2008 Chrysler Sebring engine, transmission & electrical problems. I began financing in Nov 2013 from Toyota of riverside, 1yr and 3 months later on Feb 17, 2015 while I was exiting the freeway, my engine light came on, my car completely shutdown, I had no brakes, I was fearful and held onto the steering wheel coasted near an arco station. I was thankful I did not hit anyone or have an accident. I called aaa who towed me to Toyota of riverside. [xxx] the service manager told me I needed to replace the timing belt and the engine for $1500. It took about 3 weeks for the engine to be repaired, my car was returned on March 12, 2015. However, I noticed when I received my car back the cruise control lever near the steering wheel was hanging loosely and was not attached. Weeks, later the electronic speed control light and the engine light came on along with problems shifting. I sent pictures of my engine light being on from my phone to [xxx] and [xxx] and went to see [xxx] who told me the transmission need repair and it would cost $3000 to $4000." I went to moss brothers riverside, [xxx] on 09/17/15 did a diagnostic. He told me there is an auto transmission shift lever recall and a spring hook retainer he can replace for free. He also replaced a stop lamp switch binds and reprogrammed the PCM for $290. I picked up my car on 9/22/15 it continued to stall, returned it to moss brothers [xxx] said it may be a transmission problem before we can begin we will need $1690 up to $4480 to repair it. Ihad my car towed to manuel auto center, he replaced my left tie rods for $275 in the past. He completed a diagnostic, replaced solenoid package for $800. However, my driver side window would not roll down, electrical problems and negligence at his shop. He was willing to pay $275 to repair. My car is unsafe. Thank you [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- San Bernardino, CA, USA

problem #24

Oct 012015

Sebring

  • 65,847 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Sebring. While stopped at a red light, the vehicle accelerated independently and the engine stalled without warning. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 08V152000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,847.

- Lake Mary, FL, USA

problem #23

Oct 172015

Sebring

  • 120,000 miles
As I was driving 70 mph on the highway, the throttle control warning light came and the car begin to loss power and hesitate. I pulled off the road and it began to stall and jump. The car was losing power and I could not go past 45 mph. Another problem I am having is the instrument panel light went off and I cannot see the gas gauge, speedometer, etc. The vehicle is currently sitting in the parking lot until I can get it towed to be checked and/or fixed. It currently runs, but I am afraid to drive it.

- Budd Lake, NJ, USA

problem #22

Aug 142015

Sebring

  • 96,291 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Sebring. While driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle independently decelerated and the electronic throttle control warning light illuminated. When the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle failed to accelerate over 25 mph. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 96,291.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #21

Oct 102014

Sebring

  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Sebring. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle stalled as the electronic throttle control warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 112,000.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #20

Sep 252014

Sebring

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Sebring. The contact stated while at stopped, the vehicle accelerated independently causing the vehicle to crash into a ditch while attempting to avoid another vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for a diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 92,000.

- Hilton Head Island, SC, USA

problem #19

Apr 172014

Sebring

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Sebring. The contact stated that the vehicle suddenly accelerated when the brake pedal was depressed. The vehicle resumed normal operation once it was turned off and restarted. The failure occurred multiple times. In addition, the windshield wipers activated independently and the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Rutland , VT, USA

problem #18

Aug 012012

Sebring 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
While at a stop light, the car engine and RPM increased. Luckly I had my foot on brake. Had the car looked at no problem found. Including a major tune up. It has happened several more times, including when my daughter was driving my car. This time I had another person in the car when it happened last month. It occured again while at a red light the car was in drive and my foot was on the brake. It rpms went up and it cause the car to jump forward bearly missing the car infront of me.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #17

Mar 112014

Sebring 4-cyl

  • 132,876 miles
This has happened on several different occasions--becoming more frequent and lasting longer duration each time. While traveling various speeds (can and has happened anywhere from 5mph-60mph) if any pressure is applied to accelerator after breaking no matter the speed all power is lost to the car a red lighting bolt light appears on the dash and the RPM's will stay between 4,000-5,000. Each time having to pull off to the side of the road and attempt for it to restart (depends on if it will or not--usually takes it a while). Will get up to speed again and if I have to brake for any reason or even slow down just a little without apply the brakes it can completely loose power. Also do not have any dash lights when the head lights are turned on. They appear in the center console but went out in 2009 just after I bought the car, and after several estimates in the thousands of dollars it remains with no lights (so in no way can you see the speed or anything else on the dash after dark.)

- Vandalia, IL, USA

problem #16

Dec 302013

Sebring 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Sebring. The contact was driving 55 mph when the vehicle suddenly began to lose power and would not accelerate. The contact stated that the electronic throttle control malfunction warning light was also illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000...updated 02-28-14 updated 3/19/2014

- Turtle Lake, WI, USA

problem #15

Sep 012013

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Sebring. The contact stated that while driving 4 mph, the vehicle accelerated independently and crashed into a safety rail. The driver sustained injuries to her arm and neck while the passenger suffered injuries to her chest. A police report was filed. The vehicle was repaired. The failure and current mileage was 103,000.... updated 11/25/13 updated 12/05/2013

- Dillon, SC, USA

problem #14

Jun 152013

Sebring

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Sebring. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the vehicle stalled with the illumination of the throttle control light. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000.

- Cubington , LA, USA

problem #13

May 212013

Sebring

  • miles
The electronic throttle light is continuously coming on even after repairs. The car will ride find and then all of a sudden cut off with no warning other than the light appearing. Also it stalls and you can be in the middle of traffic which is definitely safety hazardous. I've notice that this problem has occurred to thousand and to my surprise no recall.

- Burnham, IL, USA

problem #12

Apr 162013

Sebring

  • 114,200 miles
I was driving in stop and go traffic and started speeding up due to less traffic. I was going 60 mph when my car stopped accelerating and started making this weird revving noise (the kind when you are parked or in neutral), my warning light came on for the electrical panel. I then pulled over because it was not going any faster than 35 mph. Just letting it sit it was making those same noises. I turned the car off and restarted it. The light when away and it was able to drive again. It had a little issue getting back up to speed but overall it went back to normal.

- Escondido, CA, USA

problem #11

Jul 162012

Sebring 4-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
I lost power to my speed, my brakes failed. I was able to stop the car with my emergency brake. Once stopped I turned off my vehicle. Once I restarted the vehicle, the light did not come on however I still did not have the speed. My transmission would not shift from 3rd to overdrive. It would stay at 3000 RPM at 55 mph. My car normally runs @ 2500rpm or less up to 60mph. I do not know what I need to deo to have this issue resolved. This is my second time experiencing this with this vehicle. I also have a 2009 Chrysler PT CRUISER and owned a 2006 Chrysler Sebring and never have experienced this.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #10

Jul 182012

Sebring

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Sebring. The contact stated that while attempting a left turn, the vehicle stalled and lost power. The electronic throttle control light was illuminated. The contact was able to restart the vehicle approximately 45 minutes later. The failure was resolved momentarily. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer or a repair shop for inspection or repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate current and failure mileage was 80,000.

- Littleton, CO, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »