8.3

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,140
Average Mileage:
74,700 miles
Total Complaints:
14 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. not sure (8 reports)
  2. replace hydraulic control unit (hcu) (2 reports)
  3. new pads, rotors and caliper (1 reports)
  4. new pads, rotors, and master cylinder (1 reports)
  5. replace brake booster (1 reports)
  6. replaced master cylinder (1 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #14

Jul 012020

Edge Limited 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 160,000 miles

This car is such a piece of crap fixed the sunroof at 120,000 for a 3000 dollar repair, fixed the about 10 other things but the worst is a failing HCU .... replaced all other parts of the brakes but finally took it into ford to tell me my model is the year after they don't do the recall but yet the recall is for the exact same thing failing HCU which is unheard of in other manufactures. I see this diagnosed a lot in brake booster but trust me its the HCU Ford is the words.

- Joseph C., Frisco, TX, US

problem #13

Jun 262020

Edge Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles

The brakes on our Edge are getting worse and worse. When pulling the car out of the garage I applying the brakes to stop and close the garage door. The petal seems to be solid, but the Edge does not stop. I have to push hard and it slowly stops. This is at low speed. While on the road the brakes are weak for the first few stops. This last week, the Edge would not stop and we had a near miss where the cross traffic is 55 MPH. Seems that this an issue with the edge and our VIN is not within the recall range. SO looks like I'm going to be eating this repair

- Scott G., Hartford, WI, US

problem #12

Dec 102018

Edge SEL 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles

Ford and dealerships know of this problem and are refusing to address it. I have contacted the NHTSA and are preparing a lawsuit if Ford doesn't reimburse us for the repair.

- Craig M., Huntington Beach, US

problem #11

Nov 232018

Edge Limited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

I bought my 2011 Ford Edge Limited from Stevens Ford, Milford, CT in 2011.

I always brought my car to Stevens Ford every 3-5 k miles for oil change and check everything. NEVER missed a service.

April /May 2016, I had my regular service and a report card that showed everything passed inspection, including my breaks.

June 30th, 2016, my breaks started to give me problems. I went to Stevens Ford and they told me I needed to replace break shoes, pads, linings and hydraulics. It was very dangerous because my breaks were gone and had them replace everything.

August 2018- I couldn't stop, my breaks were hard to push. I was told it was the break booster and Ford would cover it. They replaced booster.

November 23, 2018- My breaks were doing the same thing! I couldn't push them to stop. Then they went all the way to the floor! Serious issue and VERY DANGEROUS. I had my car towed to Stevens Ford in Milford, CT. I was told the break booster went again and they would replace on Monday Nov. 26th. I got a call from service and they informed me my break pads, shoes, linings and rotors were shot. Of course I got upset because I just did all this two years ago! I was told it's because we live in the North East and it happens. I replied with I've lived in CT all my life and my Ford Edge had no breaks until 56 K miles, so how could they be shot with under 20K miles since then? It went from bad to worse; service calls me again and says my hydraulics went and they cant do the breaks without it. The bill is over a thousand dollars already and I filed a complaint with Ford Motor Company.

Very disappointed.

- Lisa M., Fairfield, US

problem #10

Jan 242018

Edge LTD V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,778 miles

Wife has mentioned that twice in the past month or so, when she has applied the brakes, the brake pedal has gone right to the floor, on re-applying the brake it came back up to normal. Fortunately this was not an emergency stop.

We had it into the local garage, not a a Ford dealer, who states he has had a couple of these issues in the past year or two but not on this year and model. Other Ford models though. Usually ends up being the ABS module that has failed, however he was unable to find the reason for our failure as he tried many times to have the pedal go to the floor. He did report that Ford has a recall on the booster, but that a booster failure would not cause the brake pedal to go to the floor, it would in fact make the brake pedal hard to press.

This vehicle has been hard on brakes ever since new, twice had Ford replace the pads and rotors and after the third brake job, I had our local mechanic replace the Ford pads with aftermarket pads and they lasted the longest yet..

It would appear Ford has an issue with the braking system and it is clearly a safety issue, wonder what it will take to have them take action on it rather than denying it exists????

- shittyford, Hillier, ON, Canada

problem #9

Dec 092016

Edge

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

In October 2015 I had my 2011 Ford Edge brake booster replaced according to the recall. In December 2016 while traveling down a very steep mountain, the booster went again and I am told that since the original repair was over a year old, it would cost $700.00. This is the SAME part that was "repaired" in October 2015. This is a very dangerous defect and should be under warranty for much longer than 1 year.

- Dawn R., Uniontown, PA, US

problem #8

Nov 042016

Edge SEL 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,000 miles

my EDGE sat for a few days, in a garage, when I went to use it, the brake pedal was soft, going nearly to the floor before slowing the vehicle. Took it to an independent repair shop, they put front pads and rotors on, to the tune of $600. (the rears have less than 17000 miles on, done at the same shop). Did not fix the problem. Took it to the local Ford dealer, they had it for over a week, over $1300 later, got it back, and in less than 40 miles, the problem returned. The brake booster has been replaced, master cylinder, and solenoid valve block (ABS, traction control) bleed the brakes numerous times, and?? The vehicle is back at the dealer now, awaiting what next.

Update from Dec 21, 2016: The dealer stated that they found air in the system, it is (supposed to be) good now.

The pedal is still a bit soft, my son says the brakes are not right, but it does stop. And the pedal is not at the floor. guess I will have to live with it.

bought this vehicle in 2014. So far, I think it has cost about $1000.00 per year, excluding gas, oil, insurance. Not sure I will ever have another Ford product.

- douglaswi, West Bend, WI, US

problem #7

Dec 172015

Edge SEL

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

Driving down 2-lane highway with my son aboard. Road was hilly with curves. Out of nowhere needing to slow down pressed brake pedal which went to the floor and provided zero braking power. After initial shock I barely able to keep the vehicle on the road. Pumping the brakes eventually slowed the vehicle down and stopped it. Thought I had a broken brake line.

Parked the vehicle in a parking lot and checked for visible signs. Nothing. We were two hours from home. Upon restarting the vehicle and test driving around a parking lot the brake appears to work to slow the vehicle but not to a sudden stop. We drove the vehicle 2 hour home very cautiously with this problem and went directly to our ford dealer. Dealer thought it was brake booster. Replaced under warranty. Claims that did not fix the problem. Then charged me to replaced the brake master cylinder. I was suspect but upon inspection both items had been replaced.

I have owned many vehicles with much higher mileage and age than this and have only ever had brake master cylinder problems with one of them a 1978 corvette. Seems hard to believe the master cylinder would be faulty on a 5yr old vehicle. Or did I just pay to replace good components with good components? Feel like I got swindled.

- David C., Lees Summit, MO, US

problem #6

Jan 152016

Edge

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles

fortunately, when the brakes quit working out of NOWHERE, I was not in traffic. I initially thought I was going crazy but then it happened again. I was finally able to take the car in today (its a "spare" vehicle) and they told me that this was a common problem and that the warranty covered it. If this is a typical problem, it should be handled BEFORE I find out about it the hard way. I could have easily harmed someone or myself. I used to love FORD but I am prepared to trade this in for a different type of car. This is way too dangerous for the company to be so nonchalant about. SHAME ON YOU FORD

- Alyson M., dallas, TX, US

problem #5

Jan 042016

Edge SEL

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,200 miles

2011 Ford Edge SEL. My wife drove off to food shop when I received a phone call from her with panic in her voice that her car didn't come to a stop when she pressed the brake pedal causing her to pass her stop sign and enter intersection. I drove in my car to meet her, we then exchanged cars. I carefully drove the Edge back home finding the brakes to be almost non existent. I called the local ford dealership the next morning [having to stay home from work with my unsafe car] and discovered a Ford "recall" 13N02 - Extended Warranty Coverage on Brake Booster may be the culprit of which I am waiting to hear from the dealership. I as the owner of a Ford Edge am livid that this extremely dangerous condition is not addressed by Ford for all owners.

- Dennis C., Hewitt, NJ, US

problem #4

Jul 242015

Edge Limited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles

Wife was returning from trip in mountains, brakes felt mushy. Then ok. Upon driving on the highway a truck tossed a recap, as she hit the brakes, they failed. She ran over with both front wheels. Car received damage to front end and tore off the underneath spoiler. Vehicle is now in Ford shop. I looked on internet discovered this was not a uncommon problem. SB had been issued by Ford and a notice 13N02 extending the warranty to 10 years 150,000 miles. It will be interesting to see where this goes. My opinion Ford should take responsibility for everything.

- firetrnone, Bakersfield, CA, US

problem #3

Jul 112015

Edge Limited 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles

If my wife would have been driving there would be know way she could have stop. Someone could have been killed.This has happen to other also from what I have read. Not a safe Automobile. May be my last Ford product.

- price1956, Washington, GA, US

problem #2

Jan 012015

Edge Limited AWD 6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles

After a 1400 mile drive, which include some gravel roads, I arrived back in Illinois. Next day heard some brake grinding possibly. Intermittently heard it over next week or two. Got continuous and worse a week ago. The last 3 days it is SEVERE but unable to get into shop. Was going to hit up a shop today but researched problem and saw this AND booster recall. We'll see what the dealer says/does! Have extended warranty but those don't cover brakes.

- seemikerun, Plainfield, IL, US

problem #1

Aug 012013

Edge Limited 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,600 miles

This should have been fixed by Ford, rear brakes don't wear out before front. Rear caliper was seized up and replacement part was not available.

- richardt, Sarnia, Ontario, Canada