10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
81,912 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #11

Oct 012020

Escape

  • 140,000 miles
The steering wheel spins very fast if you let go of the wheel. You are not able to control it on the road. This occurs forwards or backwards. If you try to back up, and turn the wheel one way, it will not steer the correct direction and the steering wheel spins on it's own. Very dangerous. The repair shop has replaced the rack and pinion and it did not fix the problem. They are unable to determine what the issue is.

- Cole Camp, MO, USA

problem #10

Nov 062019

Escape

  • 85,427 miles
Wheel mechanics failed safety inspection. Needed to replace both front wheel control bars and right front stabilizer bar. Mechanic said unsafe to drive even a 100 miles. Mechanic also said this resulted from a design flaw of certain Ford models that affected the Ford xlss of 2008 and perhaps other late 2008 or 2009 models.

- St Louis, MO, USA

problem #9

Dec 202018

Escape

  • 13,360 miles
The front wheel hub started giving me problems around 10 three 2018. Then on 12 20 2018 the hood came undone and smashed my windshield. Ever since I've had the vehicle since 2015 it had power assist problems in the steering.

- Nokomis, FL, USA

problem #8

Sep 012018

Escape

  • miles
Well known 2008 Ford Escape hybrid anti lock brake problem but when I brought car to hempstead Ford 301N. Franklin street, hempstead N.Y.11550. Supervisior name maria (888)457-8442 service dept claim to havent heard of the problem.aslo I was there for a coolant pump recall and all they did was check my antifreeze and never change coolant pump.waste of my time.I called the Ford company phone number, does not speak english. Ford is playing phone tag. Ford hybrid brakes are the worst I ever experience in a vehicle.regenerating braking manufacture defect ! they don"T want to recalled because anti lock brakes cost money.Ford Motor Company please do the right thing and fix recall anti lock brakes for 2008 Ford Escape hybrid. I was coming to a stop at red light and went right through it ending up into the intersection.lucky it was not a busy road or else I would not be here reporting this problem.to mention...not that many 2008 Ford Escape hybrid on the road you are not going to lose a lot of money instead gain new customers for correcting your problem.I would accept a settlement or a trade in for working vehicle.

- Freeport, NY, USA

problem #7

May 262017

Escape

  • 150,000 miles
I was driving my vehicle when all of sudden my power steering completely went out on me causing my driver side front ball joint to bust along with I dont know what else & almost wreck my vehicle. Good thing I was near a parking lot that I could get my vehicle into enough to get my vehicle off the main road so I was not hit & involved in an accident. I bought vehicle used in April of 2016 & do not know what was done N what was not. My power steering went out abt a month ago & it has been sitting undrivable since then. A friend that is a mechanic finally was able to take a look at my vehicle & after just taking a look at the vehicle to see what was going on, he came to the conclusion without even knowing of any recall & advised that is what the issue wrong with my vehicle. He advised I need check into this to have Ford take care of the issue free of charge. I ran the VIN # to check recalls on my vehicle but came up no recalls however my vehicle falls in the year of the recalls. Researched online & there are several recalls. How do I go about this & getting all the recalls taken care of for mine & my passengers safety, if my VIN # is showing as no recall but the recall issue has happened to my vehicle? I need to take care of this ssap, as this is/was my only & main source of transportaion.

- Weirton, WV, USA

problem #6

Jun 162017

Escape

  • 112,700 miles
While driving it seems like the front suspension or wheels sound like they are going to fall off. It sounds unstable especially when turning.

- Martin, TN, USA

problem #5

Feb 192016

Escape

  • 131,000 miles
August 2014 took my 2008 Ford Escape into local Ford dealer for recall notice recall 14S05 - power steering assist fault issue with torque sensor replacement - lindquist Ford dealership just upgraded a program into my Escape for abt 20-30mins, didn't check any parts for replacement, told me no parts were replaced there was no warning light so they didn't physically take the time to look. February 2016 - no engine light comes on but when I turn the key over for the last 6wks sometimes my Escape starts up sometimes, sometimes it does not with a notice "power steering assist fault" - as weeks went by, the steering wheel is shaking more randomly while driving and stopping. The only way to start my Ford Escape is by remote start to bypass the starter. Recently, I took my car into my local mechanic, after thorough investigation the torque sensor is cracked. I was told by Ford employees, 2 other local Ford dealerships & the mechanic to take the Escape back to the dealership who opened up the original recall back in August 2014. That original dealership did make a claim, Ford warranty denied the claim- the dealership didn't "choose" to tell Ford warranty they never looked at the recall parts in August 2014 they just did the upgrade, their liability "that's what the letter told them to do, no warning light no replacement parts". I paid $70+ for what the mechanic just did for free. That dealership did not check for any parts that needed replaced back on 2014. Not only did the dealership charge me $70, I took the Escape back to the local mechanic and paid $500 for a new torque sensor; same exact part falling under the recall "power steering assist fault". denied claim on 2/19/2016, reason- it's been over a year since my recall update was done the dealership should have been replaced the part back in 2014. I drive 2 cars, seriously?

- Rapids City, IL, USA

problem #4

Jun 142011

Escape

  • 42,000 miles
I purchased a 2008 Ford Escape limited edition for my son in college, first, there were problems with the tires which sounded like the tires were going to explode. The noise was so loud and took it to my local dealership and they did nothing. I had the vehicle for approximately six months. The second issue pertained to the steering/suspension and that cost me $900. The dealership constantly states, "just keep your receipts." Today, I contacted sheehy Ford in springfield va regarding the new problem which is the throttle. The vehicle lost power and he could not shift the vehicle at all. The customer service representative looked up the VIN number and informed me my vehicle was not covered. I explained to the gentleman that I was on line and found information that Ford has issued an extended warranty for defective throttle body assemblies and sensors for 10 years or 150,000 miles based on an investigation by the national highway safety administration (NHTSA) for a defect investigation of alleged throttle body failures in 2005-2012 Ford Escapes (complaints from nc). I was informed my vehicle was not covered because only specific VIN numbers were included. I am a single parent and I have put too much money in this vehicle. After reading the comments on line, this vehicle appears to have numerous defects. What does it take for our government to take action, lost of lives" is the dollar more important than people lives" we need to start holding these companies accountable. There is clearly issues with this vehicle and I want Ford to pay for my repairs.

- Kingstowne, VA, USA

problem #3

Mar 102013

Escape

  • 80,903 miles
I pulled into a parking space at around 5-10 mph, hit the brakes and the accelerator pedal stuck. The car took of at around 40-50mph jumped a fence and crashed into a ravine, hitting a big tree. I was pinned in the automobile hit my head and injured my leg. I was taken to the emergency room where I suffered a spinal cord injury and a huge hematoma on my left leg.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #2

Jan 042013

Escape

  • 101,500 miles
My Ford Escape is my family and work vehicle. One morning I started it after it was parked in cold overnight, engine started but the steering was stuck, thought battery was bad. Restarted several times until steering loosened up. Drove car and every stop light or while idling, the steering wheel vibrated so hard and have to hold it steady, thought, time to have my control arm replaced again. Took it to a friend's car shop, said, they've been having costumers bringing their Ford Escapes lately with the same problem. They couldn't fix it. Told me to go to my dealership. Dealership diagnosed it, electronic steering problem $90 for diagnosis, $1100 parts and labor, about 3-days to order for parts. Too expensive and dangerous, needs to have a recall.

- Grosse Pointe Woods, MI, USA

problem #1

Feb 232012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 44,144 miles
Tires problem.... 04/09/2011-purchased (used) Ford Escape 2008-XLT 4 wheel- mileage 37583. 07/08/2011-mileage- 40668- driven 3085 miles* the dealer replaced rotors, brakes in - (no cost to me), due to rusting & corrosion, dealer claimed probably sat on lot too long without being moved. Tires at this time were reported in "green" code- 08/11/2011-mileage- 41229- driven 561 miles* oil change, tires at this time were reported in "green" code. 02/23/2012- mileage- 44144- driven 2915 miles* inspection failed- due to tires dry rot! total miles driven in 10 months* 6561. Tires are Goodyear/Michelin X cross terrain 225/65R17 dotb93T.

- Easton, PA, USA