10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,588 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #77

Dec 222019

Accord

  • 153,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Accord. While driving 40 mph, several warning indicators illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. O'daniel Honda (located at 123 beverly dr, omaha, ne 68114, (402) 393-7801) was contacted via phone. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 153,000.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #76

Aug 122019

Accord

  • 260,000 miles
Takata recall: My son was driving on the interstate at over 60 mph when the side airbag (driver side) spontaneously deployed. It slammed into his left arm with extreme force, knocking him toward the passenger door making him swerve in front of an 18 wheeler. The passenger side airbag then deployed and as he was trying to pull off the interstate the passenger front air bag deployed. He was able to stop in the area between the on ramp and the interstate, as he exited the vehicle the driver front airbag deployed. May 2016 the airbags and ignition recall repairs were done. After incident dealership ran diagnostics and said all he could see was that there was a problem with the SRS unit. He asked us if we had made any electrical modifications (which we haven't) I asked him if that part had been checked or replaced during the recall and he said that wasn't part of the recall. He said we should call Honda customer service. Upon further investigation I learned there have been recalls on the replacements because of moisture being introduced during manufacturing.also there have been problems with corrosion and malfunction of the SRS units due to extreme temperatures and high humidity. At the time of the incident the heat index was 110 and the humidity was extremely high. Arkansas is located in the second of three priority regions for the SRS recall.also while researching spontaneous airbag deployment causes, I learned that the SRS unit moisture problem and the degradation of accelerant from moisture can not only cause the airbags to not deploy on impact, but also cause them to deploy with no impact. This information should be included in the recall information and Honda should expand the SRS recall. We are lucky lives were not lost in this incident, but that may not be the case the next time this happens.

- Sheridan, AR, USA

problem #75

Jul 062016

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Accord. While attempting to drive the vehicle, the key failed to release from the ignition switch. The contact had to leave the key in the ignition with the engine running. One hour later, the key was released. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, but the part was not available for the repair. A few hours later, the contact was informed that the vehicle could not be serviced due to its age. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer agreed with the dealer. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #74

Oct 012016

Accord 4-cyl

  • 97,746 miles
My 2003 Honda Accord LX crashed on 10/01/2016 about 18 months after I had my airbag serviced at a local Honda dealer 4/7/2015. When I got my car back from the dealer, the driver door had no power and could not be opened remotely or with the power lock control on the driver door. More importantly, no safety signals came on when the car started. I called the dealer and they told me I had to pay $80 to have it checked; I then called american Honda customer service, who only documented the complaint and took no action to remedy mechanical mistake by Honda dealer. I was driving on a downhill curve on a wet road after a rain. When I saw a slower car ahead of me, I gently applied the brake to maintain a constant following distance. The car drifted to the left toward oncoming traffic. But when I tried steer to get back to the right lane and tried to press on the brake, it locked up, then the car went into neutral and I had no brake and steering resistance was completely lax. My car went off road and crashed into the woods. The airbag did not deploy. I was confined in bed with pain one whole day. My transmission had locked up, then went into neutral, twice before on 1/14/2015 in the middle of traffic, and on 9/15/2016 in my driveway. We never received a letter from Honda for the transmission recall; however, we did receive letters regarding the airbag recall, the ignition switch recall, and the wiper motor recall. A year ago, the recalls came up using my VIN#. the database now shows no recall for my vehicle at all. After my car crash, I had it towed to Honda dealership on 10/4/2016 for repair estimate. I left my car and title with dealership; less than 48 hours later I called to get car back for crash investigation and lawsuit, the car had been destroyed by Honda dealer closing all further inquiries. American Honda took no responsibility when I contacted them.

- Derwood, MD, USA

problem #73

Apr 142016

Accord

  • miles
My car turn on when he want too I try to turn it on and do S claclacla them like 10 minutes later it turns on people tell me its the ignition it do this almost everyday

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #72

Apr 012016

Accord

  • 190,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Accord. On several occasions, when the key was placed in the ignition, the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The contact stated that the failure was intermittent. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 190,000.

- Lakewood, OH, USA

problem #71

Apr 152016

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Accord. Upon exiting the vehicle, before the passenger exited the front passenger side, smoke appeared within the inner part of the front passenger side door and a fire erupted. The driver and the front passenger were able to extinguish the flames. A fire report was not filed. The dealer was notified. The passenger was burned and had to exit the vehicle through the front passenger side window, which required medical treatment. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 06/29/16

- Stephenville, TX, USA

problem #70

Aug 172015

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
2003 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle factory installed radio, components and back light defect issues. Consumer sent additional correspondence. The consumer stated recently, the cd player would not function properly and most importantly, the radio began to malfunction and drain the battery. The radio would flash on and off while both the radio, all components and vehicle were turned off and the key out of the ignition. After sitting overnight, the vehicle would not start the next morning. On two occasions after driving, the consumer shut the vehicle off for five minutes and it would not re-start. The consumer stated the vehicle would stall and it was all because of the defective radio. A mechanic informed the consumer, they had recently come across numerous 2003-2007 vehicle with the exact same problem. They found the problem was due to the way Honda installed and mounted the radio, coupled with the fact that the brains of the radio was defective, therefore draining the battery and causing the radio and back light to fail. The back light worked occasionally and then stopped illuminating. Updated 05/04/16

- Rahway, NJ, USA

problem #69

Jan 092016

Accord

  • 2,000 miles
My 2003 Honda Accord will not start with key shift leverage is locked in park, move out of park, have to put on emergence to kee breaks to T from rolling. My car rolled on its own crashing into my other parked car breaking the back bumper and damaging the truck lock also, the interlock system is not working anymore on this car.have to disconnect battery to relesse key from ignition. Thank god I was in my own driveway when the car begin to roll and crash into my other car.

- Kenner, LA, USA

problem #68

Jun 102008

Accord

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Accord. The contact experienced failures with the window motors, the front driver and passenger doors, and the rear passenger door. The dealer was notified and the front driver side door was repaired. The other two doors and window motors were not repaired. The failure continued to occur intermittently. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #67

Nov 112015

Accord

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the vehicle hesitated to start and made an abnormal noise. The failure happened without warning. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the symptoms were the same as listed in NHTSA campaign number: 10V364000 (electrical system). The vehicle was not repaired. Prior to this failure, a similar failure occurred. The ignition was replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #66

Oct 082015

Accord

  • 89,000 miles
June 2015: Torque converter: Car when accelerating slammed out of gear and felt like we had been rear-ended. Car wouldn't shift from 2nd to 3rd gear. Radio: Radio system back light broke at 60,000 miles current issue: Gear shift knob fell off while driving. Daughter was driving car and bumped gear shift and was able to shifted from drive to neutral while the car was moving. Called Honda complaint line to complain and there was no action or concern regarding the current issue of the gear shift knob.

- Yorktown, VA, USA

problem #65

Aug 122014

Accord

  • 99,000 miles
Problem 03 Accord LX - 4 door/ auto transmission. I first noticed this when walking past the locked car, no keys in the ignition, the display would light up ever few minuets. The radio turns on spontaneously without the key in the ignition, draining battery, leaving me stranded. Could hear a crackling loud sound coming from speakers off and on while taking left or right turns for about a year, radio working off and on, eventual the sound went out, radio appears to work but no longer has sound, display still lighting up and draining battery. No wrecks.

- Bunker Hill, IL, USA

problem #64

Apr 012015

Accord 4-cyl

  • 128,030 miles
I was driving southbound in peabody, Massachusetts on 128 almost on to 95 when at centennial drive exit when my vehicle, without warning, slowed from 60 mph to 30 mph, I put on hazards as car went from 30 mph to 10 mph to dead all in a matter of 45 seconds tops. It was around 12pm and traffic was moderate to heavy. Cars behind me were forced to slow at a significant rate, luckily a pile up did not occur as the likelihood of such a accident was extremely possible with one driver not fully present I don't want to imagine the possibilities. I was able to semi slide car into breakdown lane safely enough and aaa came 1 hour latter as they listed my call a priority call.. I had car towed to home town and mechanic went through car in its entirety to discover that transmission needed to be replaced. Honda is well aware of this issue as there are thousands of testimonies from Honda owners regarding their transmission problems occurring around 126,213 miles. The models with faulty transmissions are 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2009.

- Gloucester, MA, USA

problem #63

Jan 012014

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Accord. While driving 55 mph, the contact stated that the radio, cruise control, and horn failed to function. The air bag fault warning light illuminated. In addition, the contact stated that while trying to shift into park, the shifter knob fractured. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician stated that the shifter knob plate needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V700000 (air bags). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 03/30/15 updated 6/24/2015

- Irvington, AL, USA

problem #62

Jan 152015

Accord 6-cyl

  • 189,750 miles
I recently purchased the 2003 Honda Accord for travel. After purchasing the vehicle I noticed that the check engine light was on. The mechanic told me that there was a torque converter that needed to be replaced. After doing additional research I found that other Honda owners had this same issue. My car rumbles when driving through residential areas. When I try to enter my VIN number in to see if my car is eligible it won't come up, but I'm definitely experiencing the transmission slipping in specific gears.

- Missouri City , TX, USA

problem #61

Dec 162013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 23,686 miles
Driver's car (left front) keyhole won't accept my key, electronically. I went to different auto services and have the same comments that most of the complaints were the same. I checked the internet, youtube.com, many owners of the same make, model & year have the same issues and problems, even the Honda chat room help site. I thought this is an isolated problem, but it's not, if there is some ways that your company could do something about this matter/issue concerning the manufacturer's (Honda) defect issue, please let us know, we don't want to shoulder to expenses on their behalf. Thank you very much for your concern and looking forward to hearing from you the soonest and for the immediate response to repair the problem for the inconvenience that we are experiencing for a long time. I have tried cleaning the inside of the keyhole by air pressured and wd 40, nothing happened. I can insert the key halfway only and then it will stopped. All other keyholes are functioning well, except the driver's keyhole.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #60

Jul 232008

Accord 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
This issue has occurred since 2008, but thought it was something the dealership service department did. The issue periodically occurs, but does cause me to startle while driving. It happened again on yesterday while driving and pressing the on and button on the control panel did not work as usual. I had to turn the engine off to stop the issue. I surfed the internet to find out was there anyone else having this issue and behold it happened exactly as the person mentioned. So, read below: Radio static noise on 2003 Accord forumstoday's postslog inregister home/audio/visual electronics radio static noise on 2003 Accord #1 12-19-2011 12:46 pm by[xxx] C hello, I got headache problem with radio on my 2003 Accord. Actually since 2008, sometimes radio display is blank in the beginning when car starts up. It usually resumes normal in 1 - 2 mins. Sometimes radio station info show up but no sound. If trying to turn off/on a couple of time, it can get it working. Recently I am getting static noise occasional coming out from speakers in the beginning when car starts up. It lasts 10 - 20 seconds then completely gone. Yesterday it scared me as the noise sounds like a big lightning strikes after I starts up car. It lasts 20 - 30 seconds, then radio gets normal in minutes as usual. The sudden noise takes you by surprise when driving and causes physiological and physical responses. So, it appears there was some sort of electrical issue with the radio with this make, model and year. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- New Roads, LA, USA

problem #59

Aug 222012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
I went to put the key in to start my vehicle and the key totally fell apart in my hand. It was dark and I had no way to start my car. I tried putting the key portion without the enclosure into the ignition but it would not work to start the car. I then tried to reassemble the key in the enclosure and try to turn the car on so I could at least get home...it did catch long enough to start the car and I had to hold it to get home. Since then both of my keys have fallen completely apart and I had to use gorilla glue to hold it together but because of the glue the auto lock does not work....and the key is very wobbly in the enclosure. This is a major safety factor which I have seen written about on the complaint websites. I have also called and reported it only to find out that this is not a safety factor.

- Stuart, FL, USA

problem #58

Apr 252013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Every time I try to start the car there will be a buzzing sound coming from the ignition switch. I have to turnover the key several times before I can get the car to start. I noticed a deterioration with my ability to start the car after the dealer performed the 'repair' due to an ignition recall. Currently, the occurrences of failure to start the car at every attempt has increased to the point of this being a safety hazard.

- Ozone Park, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »