10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
87,255 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #59

Mar 062020

Accord

  • 90,000 miles
My car stalls and lost power when I was driving on freeway at high speed and when I accelerate, car is almost lost power and I have to slow down.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #58

Feb 082017

Accord

  • 200,000 miles
Vehicle jerks changing into gears revs high when driving and jerks will all of a sudden cease to drive turning off vehicle and back on seems to clear condition but comes back

- San Marcos, TX, USA

problem #57

Jun 142019

Accord

  • 93,500 miles
Transmission failure!! I knew these early 2000S to 2005S had transmission issues in the Accord and civics, but I had a 2005 earlier and when someone hit me it had over 168.000 miles on it. (it was a California car with extra smog components) no transmissions issues!! I replaced it with another 2005 Accord 4cyl at 79.441 miles in Feb of 2018. The car had been very well maintained by a Honda dealership in ga. Nothing was missed. I also had transmission serviced and a lot of other things done by a certified Honda mechanic before I even put the plate on it back in nc. On 6/12/19( 93500 on car) I was in a rollover wreck in my 2002 Tundra.(great truck) and really needed my car. On 6/14/19 I go to see my Tundra in the junk yard and my car just starts revving up but stops moving. I pulled over and stopped then tried to put car back into gear and was able to get it into 2nd gear and limp to a friends house. I was heartbroken!! to lose both in 2 days was insane! I took it to friendlys transmission in high point nc and they put in a rebuilt transmission very quickly!!!! I hope this one holds because it is a beautiful little car with a great engine and I would like to drive it a long time. I thought about trying to deal with Honda but I was in pain and needed my car...it is shameful that a low mileage car that has been well taken care of should need a new transmission so soon!!! it would be wonderful if 11V395000, recall R89, 8/27 2011 would somehow apply to my car!!!

- High Point, NC, USA

problem #56

Jun 162019

Accord 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Repeatedly stopping. With no warnings. When driving, engine quit in January, would not move or even turn over. The manual transmission would not move. Door locks, electric as well as with the key could not be used at. Called aaa to be able to open the door. Jumped the battery to move the car. Still frozen in gear. Had it towed to two dealers. Said the clutch was destroyed. Prior to this issue, not one problem. I had to pay $250 for diagnostics to tell me clutch was burned out. I have driven over 34 years and always had a manual transmission. After clutch was replaced, it did it again and again. At this point, we bought a new battery. Once again, I called aaa and they jumped the battery. I am requesting an investigation into the constant electrical freeze. I would like a refund of the diagnostic. Charges and repairs. Clutch was installed for $1500. Battery was120.00. Please call [xxx]. as soon as possible. Alt number is [xxx]. power train problem information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). *

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #55

Jan 012019

Accord

  • 152,000 miles
I was driving down through someones yard and its like my vehicle made a grinding sound and a malfunction light illuminated an exclamation point in a triangle. I almost got stuck and I was horrified at the sound. Later on I started noticing it was harder to control thw vehicle at higher speeds on the road. Especially after it rained I would leave my yard and would almost be trapped in my yard. Very eerie grinding sound with 3 malfunction lights on: ABS, traction control, and brake lamp illuminated.

- Waynesboro, GA, USA

problem #54

Sep 032018

Accord

  • 5 miles
While driving, part of the bearing became lodged in the park prawl (the metal piece that engages park), causing the car to roll away after it's shifted into park.

- Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #53

Jul 012018

Accord

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Accord. While driving 70 mph, the check engine warning indicator illuminated and code P0973 was displayed. The contact stated that the vehicle would only drive in second gear when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer to be diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified and informed the contact to call NHTSA. The failure mileage was approximately 77,000.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #52

May 212018

Accord

  • 200,000 miles
Honda automatic transmission failed in 2015; contacted Honda Corp no recalls although there is a recall R89 for exact problem but was told my car is not a part of recall. Had transmission repaired and one year later after driving 10,000 local miles transmission having exact same problem. Contacted Honda and they state due to age year and warranty factors they could not assist. Car has been serviced and diagnosed by several Honda's dealers. Took car for oil change on 5/18; on 5/21 while driving the car after 2-3 minutes it would start to be sluggish and not respond to someone pushing the gas pedal. This was while driving in a 35 mile per hour area two lane street. At that point I pulled over to the side of a city street allowed the car to cool down and took back to dealer. Dealer suggested faulty transmission with broken internal shift parts.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #51

Jan 182017

Accord

  • miles
Takata recall -I am the owner of a beautiful 2005 Honda Accord ex. I am the original and only owner of my car. My car has this issue where it is burning excessive oil and engine siezes. (I mean really bad). I would get an oil change today and car would be out of oil within 2weeks...I've spent over 3000K dollars on trying to figure what the problem was and no mechanic could figure it out. I finally went to a special mechanic who finally did some research and figured out that this was a known issue by Honda and have not yet done a recall for the issue. Apparently based on articles from the Honda/braman and takata sites (www.carcomplaints.com/Honda/Accord that after 80K miles the engine burns excessive oil in the engine. My car takes "full synthetic" so its gotten to be really expensive to own this car. To mention, the car has no leaks, all parts are in working order. I called and filed a complaint with the website since January 2017 and have not heard anything back. I would like to get this issue fixed and put my car back to normal. This issue is affecting other areas of the car like the radio, the back lights. I have to check and put oil in the car every couple days so that my engine doesnt seize.

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

problem #50

Oct 012016

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,200 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 40 mph and shifting into second gear/accelerating, the vehicle would aggressively shake before beginning to accelerate. The failure recurred as well as the vehicle's engine revved and eventually stalled. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact notified the manufacturer who referenced NHTSA campaign number: 11V395000 (power train) however, the VIN was not included in the recall. The approximate failure mileage was 80,200. Updated 01/11/2017

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #49

Dec 122015

Accord

  • 89,588 miles
I have a Honda Accord V6 2005 model car and maintenance done as per manuals. I am now getting jerks while accelerating or after starting and putting car in reverse gear.the check engine light turned on now. I did a code scan and getting code P0741. This is an issue with transmission power. I did some google and found that Honda had this manufacturing defect in this model and lot of car were recalled for this reason. I found NHTSA campaign id number : 11V395000 addressing similar problem and as of 23rd September 2014, 1.5 million (1512107) vehicles has been recalled for similar issue.the Honda recall number is R89 and the recall was placed on August 27th 2011, for Honda Accord 2005-2010 for the transmission. This issue is transmission power is not working as expected and it jerks while changing gear or speed. This is dangerous from driving safety point of view. I need help by the NHTSA as I strongly feel that my case is genuine and with reference to NHTSA campaign id number : 11V395000, my vehicle should be considered for this recall by american Honda. On that note, I do hope to receive a resolution response, in a timely manner, from your executive team or someone else that is in a position to do the right thing.

- Edgewood, WA, USA

problem #48

Nov 092015

Accord

  • 120,000 miles
Owner:I hit a dip with this Accord 3.0 with vtec engine was driving down street when car made funny noise and the steering got hard to turn. Pulled over and found power steering was leaking. Drove it to shop ordered hose then dropped hose with fluid at repair shop. Technician: Power steering hose broke hard and old leaking fluid everywhere causing cerpintine belt come off. The hardened power steering hose broke due to fact that breaking of 2 passenger side motor mount to bracket bolts in bracket causing engine to raise during acceleration and pulling on hoses. Car drove in ok. After replacing bracket and hose noticed water leaking from behind timing belt and removed top cover. Found water pump leaking weep hole and found idler pulley and bolt came loose and fell off.(idler pulley has a special bolt with washer end that if dont wiggle the pully while tightening can tighten pulley tweaked and not complete also use loctite) also found the harmonic balancer bolt to be over torqued making it near impossible to remove without special octagon holding tool. Of course customer doesn't understand how so many things are wrong when all he saw was broken power steering hose.(which when fluid leaks can also catch car on fire) now we suggested replacement of water pump and timing kit but customer wants vehicle immediately and feels we created these other problems on purpose which left me no choice but to do labor for free just to prove im not! the lift of engine and fluid leak caused several bushings to come apart. He must have hit dip hard.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #47

Oct 082015

Accord

  • 151,000 miles
I have recently began to experience issues with my Honda where it suddenly stalls while moving. I have also noticed some clicking noises and surges as if the transmission is having issues. I see that there was a recall in 2011 for Honda to replace the tcm (transmission control module); however, my vehicle was not part of this recall and I believe I am now experience the very problems that the recall fix was to resolve. I am seeing the very complaint on your site from others who also have Honda Accord for the same year others. My vehicle has been regularly serviced and there have never been any indication of transmission issues.

- Laveen, AZ, USA

problem #46

Oct 022015

Accord

  • 70,000 miles
The transmission failed at approximately 70,000 miles while driving up a hill. The engine began revving, and the vehicle lost all acceleration. Shortly thereafter, I applied the brakes, put on the hazard lights, put the car in park, and turned the car off. I then restarted the car, shifted into drive, and attempted to accelerate, but the vehicle began rolling backwards toward traffic lined up behind me. I then reapplied the brake, put the car in park, and again shut the car off. Due to construction in the area, there was no where to pull the car over to, so I was stranded blocking traffic.

- Westlake Village, CA, USA

problem #45

Sep 212015

Accord

  • 117,000 miles
I have a Honda Accord V6 2005 model car and maintenance done as per manuals. I am now getting jerks while accelerating or after starting and putting car in reverse gear.the check engine light turned on now. I did a code scan and getting code P0741. This is an issue with transmission power. I did some google and found that Honda had this manufacturing defect in this model and lot of car were recalled for this reason. I found NHTSA campaign id number : 11V395000 addressing similar problem and as of 23rd September 2014, 1.5 million (1512107) vehicles has been recalled for similar issue.the Honda recall number is R89 and the recall was placed on August 27th 2011, for Honda Accord 2005-2010 for the transmission. This issue is transmission power is not working as expected and it jerks while changing gear or speed. This is dangerous from driving safety point of view. I need help by the NHTSA as I strongly feel that my case is genuine and with reference to NHTSA campaign id number : 11V395000, my vehicle should be considered for this recall by american Honda. On that note, I do hope to receive a resolution response, in a timely manner, from your executive team or someone else that is in a position to do the right thing.

- Foster City, CA, USA

problem #44

Jul 012015

Accord

  • 95,000 miles
Was driving on highway in traffic and car would not shift gears, car was jumping forward and would not accelerate as traffic sped up. Was able to get car off the highway, but got stuck at a red light, when attempting to accelerate forward, car went backwards.

- Towson, MD, USA

problem #43

Apr 012015

Accord

  • 161,000 miles
Driving on the freeway and entered caldecott tunnel in berkeley, ca. All of a sudden the car would not go and the rpms shot up to 6500. I had nowhere to go as I was in a 2 lane tunnel. I put my flashers on and slowed to a stop. This freeway has a very high volume of traffic and I was lucky not to get creamed by someone. There was no warning light that came on. There was a burning smell. I was "pulled" out of the tunnel by a very nice man who stopped to help me. Had the car towed to my mechanic who tells me that the transmission is done. This is a 2005 Honda Accord V6 and after researching, I see that there are numerous complaints about the transmission. I plan on calling Honda to see what they plan to do. I could have been seriously injured.

- Pittsburg, CA, USA

problem #42

Dec 172014

Accord 6-cyl

  • miles
Drove the car to work slowed down behind another car to let them turn and the car stalled like as if the car was in neutral, I pulled over because it never happened before turned the car off and then restarted the engine and drove about 10 more minutes to work. Later on that day after my shift was over took it to a mechanic who scanned for a code which read P0741 in his words meant transmission issues.

- West Haven , CT, USA

problem #41

Sep 212014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
This incident is concerning my 2005 Honda Accord ex V6, VIN (given above). I am the first owner and car has 85000 miles on it. On 21st September 2014 automatic transmission failed without any warning while I was driving on freeway today. Check engine light never turned on.the car just stopped on a crowded interstate, which was very frightening. This vehicle has been properly maintained and I've never missed an oil change, timing belt, etc. I've never had any major problems with this car, no leaks, no engine issues and this leads me to believe there is some sort of defect with this automobile which needs to be recalled. My situation with the transmission is obviously not an isolated incident and Honda needs to step-up to the plate. The mechanic said that he has seen this same problem time and time again with Honda's especially with 2005 Accord V6 transmission failures. On further research on NHTSA website, I found NHTSA campaign id number : 11V395000 addressing similar problem and as of 23rd September 2014, 1.5 million (1512107) vehicles has been recalled for similar issue.the Honda recall number is R89 and the recall was placed on August 27th 2011, for Honda Accord 2005-2010 for the transmission. I took my car to, grossinger Honda, my local Honda dealer. The diagnosis was that the transmission had completely failed although fluid levels were normal. Dtc codes were P0741, P0746, and P0777. Honda opened a case and gave me a case no:N012014-09-22-02450. More than 1.5 million vehicles are affected from this recall and they tell me my car isn't one? I strongly feel that my case is genuine and with reference to NHTSA campaign id number : 11V395000, my vehicle should be considered for this recall by american Honda.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #40

Jul 172014

Accord

  • 203,563 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while the driver started the vehicle, it was unable to shift out of gear. In addition, the engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 203,563.

- Robinhood , AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »