8.4

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,690
Average Mileage:
40,800 miles
Total Complaints:
45 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. replace air compressor (13 reports)
  2. not sure (12 reports)
  3. replace A/C condenser (12 reports)
  4. replace A/C evaporator (2 reports)
  5. compressor replaced (1 reports)
  6. replace AC lines (1 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Honda dealer.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #25

Dec 162019

Civic

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles

Stopped working in the middle of December just after my 36000 miles. We took it in the beginning of Feb 2020 to be told it will be around 500 to test and put new Freon in if nothing was wrong (yikes but okay). They keep for a little under a week and we were told no leaks, just needed more Freon.

It’s my wife’s car and she is pregnant and COVID hits so we never leave the house. I drive it to work a few times and put a total of 2000 miles in 6 months. Then on 4th of July I’m driving and ac stops working six months to the day I got it back from the dealership. Now I take it back and am told ac condenser is bad and now have 4 holes in my ac line (wtf) and I am told it will be $1100 to fix (wtf). I ask the service writer how go from everything is cool and now having ac condenser and holes and I’m told “I’m not a engineer, I don’t know” (wtf).

I did my research and found out about the condenser and it was probably bad back in February but they didn’t want to fix it so they temporarily fixed it and let it be someone else's problem later. I should get a credit for the Freon I just put in but no. Told him I’m picking up my car, went and picked it and took it to another Honda and now they told me ac condenser and compressor are bad and there are no holes in the line and it’s $1300.00. Either I’m the most unlucky person on earth that had 3 different issues at the same exact time fail or Honda made a sh*tty ac system. I’m going to get it fixed because I need ac (f*** you Honda) and I’m guessing this is not going to be my last issue with it.

- Rob A., La Habra, US

problem #24

Jun 232021

Civic LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,500 miles

My AC in my 2017 Honda Civic started spouting hot air. I researched and saw that there was a 10 Year Extension on the Condenser because of this. When I took it to the Boston Honda, they told me the problem was the Compressor which is not covered under the 10 year Extension. I had to pay $647.00 to have a new Compressor installed. At 8,500 miles and in a moderate climate like Massachusetts this shouldn't happen.

The Dealer told me many Compressors have gone in this year model and that I should watch for a recall etc in order to request a refund.

I have decided to trade my Honda for a Toyota and use a different Dealer.

- Boston W., Boston, MA, US

problem #23

Oct 012020

Civic LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles

Low mileage Honda Civic and A/C is not working! Car has not been in any accidents. This is unacceptable.

- V W., Toronto, ON, Canada

problem #22

Mar 042021

Civic

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

The dealership said bad seal on compressor, wants $2500. I can't take it to another shop because they want 300 to fill it with the special Freon just to test. I opened an American Honda Support case 70+ days ago. They haven't called back.

As a single parent, I can't afford almost 9 months of car payments to fix something that might just break again 1 month later. I more than likely will be trading it in for something non-Honda.

- George V., Saint Peters, MO, US

problem #21

May 282021

Civic SI 1.5L Turbo

  • Manual transmission
  • 43,000 miles

The entire AC system is faulty due to cheap Chinese manufacturing and automotive design based on utilizing a more expensive and cheaper quality refrigerant. The aluminum is cheap where the expansion of the refrigerant can crack and release refrigerant pressure - which would cause it to leak and AC system to fail. The entire AC system is faulty. Honda attempts to limit its losses to isolate the warranty to the condenser - which is the least faulty part of the entire system with a "limited" warranty.

- Asad A., Crystal Lake, IL, US

problem #20

Mar 012021

Civic LX 2L Dohc 4-cyl

  • CVT transmission
  • 46,000 miles

My 2017 Honda Civic is not yet 4 years old and the air conditioner stopped cooling. Per the technician at the Honda dealership, there is a known problem with 2016, 2017, and 2018 Civics.

A little Googling revealed that there is a class action suit but I'm not sure of the status of that lawsuit or how to join the class.

- Steven C H., Powell, OH, US

problem #19

May 072021

Civic EX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles

2017 HONDA CIVIC 2017 AC is not working and will cost about $700 to get fixed, because the lines need to be replaced.

- mkenya, Irvington, US

problem #18

Jan 102021

Civic EX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,100 miles

Very disappointing that this car has such serious issues with the AC already! Now I am finding out that a very large number of Honda Civics are experiencing this problem and that Honda is providing really lousy service for a chronic problem which should be a recall. I have been reading now that many owners have has this fixed repeatedly, but the poorly engineered parts just fail again and that there is no recourse. This is not acceptable. I had thought I was spending all this money for a good, reliable car. Now I learn that Honda knew about this defect when they sold me this car new in December 2017.

- Joan O., Keaau, US

problem #17

May 192021

Civic LX-P 2.0L

  • CVT transmission
  • 38,000 miles

I was fortunate enough to receive a beautiful 2017 Honda Civic Coupe LX-P from my father in the summer of 2020. Unfortunately, the car's AC is now blowing hot, warm air instead of cold air when the AC is turned on. This problem started around the middle of May 2021 at around 38,000 miles when the temperatures around my area started climbing here in Wisconsin. The summer before, I never had this problem. The AC was working just fine, but I suppose over the winter too much refrigerant leaked?

I am now stuck with a car that has no AC, even though it only has 39,500 miles (today). My dad has always known Honda as a reliable company who makes reliable cars. It's the reason why he bought me a Honda Civic. It's too bad Honda is making victims of this problem pay for repairs out of pocket.

I heard that Honda was/is willing to replace AC components for free under certain circumstances, but some sources out there say that Honda is only replacing the broken parts with their OEM parts that have not been reengineered to last longer. That means that even if you do get your AC fixed by a Honda dealer, you'll likely have AC problems again 30,000 miles down the road.

Currently, I have not had this issue fixed yet. I am, however, planning to recharge the system hoping that it will last me until summer ends. I have a stark suspicion that perhaps the previous owner of my car actually had AC problems too, so they sold it. Then, the dealer didn't want to fix the AC problem, so they just recharged it temporarily instead. I've had multiple problems with this Honda dealer in the past, so it's certainly not out of the realm that this could be the case.

- Nathanial L., Twin Lakes, US

problem #16

Jul 072020

Civic LX

  • CVT transmission
  • 35,300 miles

After only 2 months of purchasing this vehicle (2017 Honda Civic LX Sedan) the A/C refrigerant had to be recharged; the refrigerant totally leaked out. The dealer I purchased it from (McCluskey Chevrolet in Cincinnati, OH) did however pay for that problem, but now 2 weeks later the refrigerant has leaked out again. When I brought it into the repair shop the first time, their technicians stated that they couldn’t see any leaks at that time. This time after only 2 weeks (McCluskey Chevrolet in Cincinnati, OH) does not want to pay for the repair of the A/C unit. The car is only a couple hundred miles over the original manufacturer's warranty, and by all intents and purposes, the A/C is completely USELESS! To reiterate; this is a 3 year old car with LESS than 38,000 original miles!

So I brought it back to the repair shop and this time they were able to verify that the compressor and the condenser both have a hole in them and they will need to be replaced. They quoted me a price of $2235.00 to fix this totally shot A/C unit!

I have opened a case with the BBB in Ohio, along with some other measure that will hopefully get a positive reply from (McCluskey Chevrolet in Cincinnati, OH). In the meantime, I contacted Honda Motor Company and they verified that there is an open extended warranty on the condenser and all I have to do is take it to a local Honda dealership to verify the repairs need to be done and the warranty will fix the condenser part of the repair.

I then reached back out to original repair shop and explained to them what I found. They said that would knock off $485.00 from their original repair quote, bringing my part of the repair to $1750.00.

As stated, I've got a couple more irons in the fire hoping for a positive (less expensive) resolve to my problem. This has really left a SOUR taste in my mouth relative to Honda vehicles, and I should have done a better job of my due diligence prior to buying this lemon.

- Scott C., Vandiver, AL, US

problem #15

Mar 132020

Civic

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,220 miles

Notice A/C was not blowing out cool air, and remembered I had received a recall letter in the mail, stating that if you are having a problem with your A/C not blowing out cool air, that it could be the condenser, and to take it in to a Honda Dealer to have it repaired for free, because of the manufacturer recall. When I took my car in on March 24, 2020 in to Crown Honda of Greensboro here in Greensboro North Carolina, they check the car, the print out stated there is some damage to the condenser, however it did not appear to be leaking. Although, Crown Honda Service department said I needed a A/C Compressor, and they replaced it on my car on March 24, 2020. And a few day later I turn on my A/C on to see if it was working properly, and it was not blowing out cool air. I called Crown Honda on April 6, 2020 to let them know it was not blowing out cool air, and they told me to bring my car in the next day, and I did on April 7, 2020. After Crown Honda check my car, they stated, I needed to replace the condenser do to foreign object damage, although they did not indicated that on March 24, 2020. They only said that there was some damage to the condenser but did not appear to be leaking at that time. And they did not mentioned any foreign object damage at that time in the paper work. And Crown Honda told me that I would have to pay to have the condenser replaced and my Warranty extension does not apply, And I feel I have been treated unfairly.

- Eric D., Greensboro, US

problem #14

Aug 012020

Civic Touring 1.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,333 miles

2017 Civic Touring w/62k miles.....AC compressor leaking all over the place. Seems like it's a known issue to Honda. Gonna need to get it replaced soon....to the tune of $2,100 quote to fix. Also dealing with a small oil leak and an intermittent starting issue. This is my 3rd Civic. First two had NO issues even close to this. What a nightmare!

Update from Aug 4, 2020: Let these folks know you're having the same issue......https://bergermontague.com/cases/honda-civic-ac-lawsuit/

- Joel P., Atlanta, GA, US

problem #13

Jun 012020

Civic EX HS CVT

  • CVT transmission
  • 22,369 miles

Part 80100-TBA-A01 Condenser assembly is under https://www.civicx.com/forum/attachments/a19-091-pdf.167960/ extended warranty after customer complaints. This part is actually discontinued by Honda, no replacement offered + the part is only special order = weeks or months to wait. I'll mark the delay to get a part vital for Summer use of this car. Request to Honda got no return. Sealer already tried to sell 130C$ diagnose inspection ignoring report for other shop. I'll report any further tentative to charge extra cost supposed not included in warranty extension.

- emiliobon, Toronto, ON, Canada

problem #12

Jun 252020

Civic EX 2.0L

  • CVT transmission
  • 37,000 miles

After my A/C started blowing hot air frequently (some trips it would still blow cold air) I took it to Honda and they said it could be the Condenser that Honda put a recall out for extending its warranty to 10 years.

Of course after the required $160 diagnostic fee, they determined it wasn't the Condenser, but rather a Compressor leak issue. That would cost $1600+ out the door to fix.

They said it wasn't covered under warranty since it was past the 36,000/3 year limit. I plan to get a second opinion/quote.

They tried to force me to do it at Honda because there are no "aftermarket" solutions. Thanks, I didn't even suggest that. I'm just shocked that my 2010 Civic that I had for 7 years never had this problem. And of course, they can't tell me why this happens, just how much money it would cost.

- Josue M., Brandon, FL, US

problem #11

Aug 012019

Civic LX 2,0

  • CVT transmission
  • 21,748 miles

noticed hot air coming from driver side vent, made appointment with local dealership and advised it was the compressor, under warranty but parts on back order for 5 - 10 days. Called dealership after two hot weeks and was advised still not received parts. Waited another 3 weeks before calling and emailing Service manager who advised:

"Unfortunately, we do not have any control over parts manufacturing and supply chain issues here at the dealer level. If the part is on back order it is more than likely being replaced with a different unit or with an upgraded/redesigned part. As I’m sure you can appreciate, this is not small feat. From review to redesign to production to shipment, this is an involving process."

Like any of this is the customers concern but at lest they got back to us. Has now been 6 weeks since our last appointment and still no word. Honda cant get parts out to replace their defective vehicles but rest assured new vehicles are rolling into your local dealership every day.,,,

The Honda warranty states their No Nonsense Warranty is an industry benchmark in customer protection and owner satisfaction. It also states that repairs should be completed immediately. Does our experience constitute a breach in contract?

- Steve C., Burlington, ON, Canada

problem #10

Aug 012019

Civic LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles

Do not buy 2017,18, or 19 Honda Civics! Major AC issues that dealerships will give you run around on and not willing fix even though this is a WELL KNOWN issue with the Civics! Do yourself a favor and save a lot of time and money and avoid Honda!

My AC started intermittently blowing cold air on and off and they cannot give me a logical explanation. The whole AC systems in these are cars are crap and they know it! Also, at 40k miles I have a compressor seal that is leaking which is HIGHLY unusual for a car with with low miles.

They tried to get me to pay for my condenser because it was "damaged" but it's a perfect curve with no mark of being damaged by a rock or anything. Never wrecked my car and have only ever taken it to Honda to be serviced. They will do everything they can to get the consumer to pay for an issue that originated in their vehicles. Very frustrated and disappointed. Needless to say, its been a hot summer!

- Hannah C., Murfreesboro, US

problem #9

Aug 142019

Civic LX 2.0L

  • Manual transmission
  • 10,284 miles

Idk why Honda won't issue a recall to fix this issue, they are well aware of the issue and refused to do anything about it. Unbelievable, won't be getting another Honda since they decided to push out a faulty design. I'm hearing this happens to SI models too. If you look it up, others are having the same issue where they buy a brand new Civic 10th Gen and after a few thousand miles, the AC stops working and blows warm or hot air. The freon is all gone and it's due to a bad compressor or a leak somewhere. So far no Honda dealership wants to help me as this car is a lease and is covered under warranty. This is the first and last Honda I'll ever be buying. They want to charge a 500 dollar diagnostic fee.

- Samuel P., Brooklyn, NY, US

problem #8

Jun 042019

Civic LX 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,748 miles

Just irritating. Looked up on Honda website and part on backorder due to issues. That being said dealer wouldn't cover under warranty.

- Sharon K., Beaumont, AB, Canada

problem #7

Jul 012019

Civic LX 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles

F*CK HONDA! It is supposed to be a competitor to Toyota, let me say its not. It not even 2 years more like 1.5 years and the ac isn't working. Also I i have problem with tire rod which other mechanics said outside the service center but they just saying $130 would fix it. Its been already 2 weeks t,hey still don't have my part the ac condenser. How come a brand new f*cking car has so many problems.

- Ilmas A., Jamaica, NY, US

problem #6

Jul 222019

Civic EX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,177 miles

American Honda Motors, Inc. needs to recall 2016, 2017, and beyond Civics A/C Condensers. There is an issue. These newly insulted parts are failing and customers (new vehicles) are being responsible under warranty to replace them. The car is blowing hot air and the cost to fix is $700 plus.

- Tiffany S., New Orleans, US

Read the next 5 complaints »