7.6

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
34,650 miles
Total Complaints:
11 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. not sure (10 reports)
  2. replace battery (1 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Honda Pilot:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Honda dealer.

problem #11

Nov 112020

Pilot Elite

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

The Auto Stop at light causes the Pilot to stall numerous times. Honda replaced the start/stop button and it did not fix the problem. The second time I brought it in, they said my battery did not pass the test; I had to purchased a new battery 2 months prior. I am not sure if there is a fix for the issue.

- Mike B., Arlington Neights, US

problem #10

Jun 082022

Pilot Touring 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 133,800 miles

The idle engine start/stop fails all the time. I have to remember to turn it off every time I drive. At a red light the shuts off and when you take your foot off the brake the car does not crank properly and all the lights go on on dash. The car tells you to put in park and re-start. Drivers behind are impatient and beep making it more stressful. The car starts totally fine when in park, so it is strange.

- Michael C., Reading, MA, US

problem #9

Mar 062019

Pilot Elite V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles

Engine cut out 2 times in one 10 minute drive when my young daughter ran an errand. I remember to turn the manual override off when I drive it but she had forgotten. My girlfriend with the same vehicle and year had to have her car towed to dealer. Her kids were with her when her car stopped in rush hour traffic. Dealership charged $500 to change the battery and for the tow. The Honda Care did not even cover the Tow. Said it was a "maintenance" issue. Infuriating.

- Rebecca W., Galt, CA, US

problem #8

Oct 122018

Pilot Touring

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,000 miles

In 2017 about 2 years after I first purchased the vehicle. I first started noticing an electrical popping sound when the car would restart after auto-idling. Then, I started noticing a brief flicking of the radio/lights, etc, when the car would restart after auto-idling. Now, on numerous occasions, the car has completely refused to restart after auto-idling. It usually takes 15-20 seconds before finally the engine will restart when pushing the start button. This is scary and dangerous, as its happened a couple of times after stopping at a stoplight on a busy road.

I brought it once to the dealership already for this problem, and they gave me some kind of non-answer about it being a "voltage problem" and that even though they checked my battery and it was fine and they couldn't replace it, when they charged my battery the provlem was solved. It was true, when i left the dealership, the problem didn't happen for about 24 hours. But then it gradually returned to the same problem, now worse than ever.

I got in the habit of turning off the auto-idle every time I get int he car. But in the few times I have forgotten, the car almost always refuses to restart the first time it auto-idles. It has gotten worse with time. I'm about to bring it to dealership again, but was wondering if any other users have found a resolution to this problem that I could suggest to them since they did not seem to have any idea about how to fix it.

- Stephanie G., Dayton, TX, US

problem #7

Jan 012018

Pilot Elite

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles

About 1 year after I started driving the vehicle, I first started noticing an electrical popping sound when the car would restart after auto-idling. Then, I started noticing a brief flicking of the radio/lights, etc, when the car would restart after auto-idling. Now, on numerous occasions, the car has completely refused to restart after auto-idling. It usually takes 15-20 seconds before finally the engine will restart when pushing the start button. This is scary and dangerous, as its happened a couple of times after stopping at a stoplight on a busy road.

I brought it once to the dealership already for this problem, and they gave me some kind of non-answer about it being a "voltage problem" and that even though they checked my battery and it was fine and they couldn't replace it, when they charged my battery the provlem was solved. It was true, when i left the dealership, the problem didn't happen for about 24 hours. But then it gradually returned to the same problem, now worse than ever.

I got in the habit of turning off the auto-idle every time i get int he car. But in the few times I have forgotten, the car almost always refuses to restart the first time it auto-idles. It has gotten worse with time. I'm about to bring it to dealership again, but was wondering if any other users have found a resolution to this problem that I could suggest to them since they did not seem to have any idea about how to fix it.

- Josh M., Metairie, LA, US

problem #6

Jan 152018

Pilot Elite 3.5L 280 Hp V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles

Approximately 4 months ago, when the vehicle was in idle-stop mode and would attempt to start again, the radio would cut out. Recently, on a couple of occasions, the vehicle would not start automatically and would require a complete manual start (put in park, press the brake and push the start button). I took it to the dealership a week ago to have it checked out.

I was told it was a "software" adjustment that was needed to correct the problem. Everything was fine for a couple of days and then the same problems started to reoccur (radio cutting out and occasional lack of restarting from the idle-stop mode). I will be taking the vehicle back a second time for the same problem.

Update from May 14, 2018: Problem with Idle stop function is getting worse. More frequent stalling at stops.

Update from May 14, 2019: After several trips to the dealer, it was determined that the battery was causing the idle-stop to fail to start the vehicle when the engine had been turned off. A new battery has fixed the problem back in 2017. It is now 2 years later and the problem is starting to re-occur. I assume it is again a battery problem.

Update from Jun 30, 2019: My update is at 33,000 miles. I am not experiencing the original problem of the vehicle shutting off at auto idle stop, but I am starting to get "pauses" when the vehicle tries to start back up. It is if it is close to stalling out, but does not. Once again, I assume the problem will get worse and I will need to replace the battery for a 2nd time. This seems to be a very unreliable system based on the complaints I have read. The dealerships have a tendency to ignore this problem or blame it on a variety of problems. In fact, it would appear to me that when the battery starts to degrade, the auto idle stop function starts to experience problems. The only solution I see is to replace the battery as soon as there is any sign of the problem.

- Kenneth S., Fort Lauderdale, FL, US

problem #5

Jul 242017

Pilot Touring V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,328 miles

I bought a 2016 Honda Pilot Touring in July 2016. I drove it for 4,000 miles unaware of the auto/idle stop system because all of a sudden it started working and I thought something was wrong with the car. It worked for a little while and then stopped working. I took it in for service and they explained what it was. Sometimes I get a message the the auto start stop idle is unavailable but sometimes I don't. Between that service is and my recent 15,000 mile service it has worked very little.

I just had it in for service and was told that it does not work when in sport mode or when the AC fan is on low. Laughing because I live in Florida and it is rarely on low. Anyhow, obviously they did not even test drive the car because they would see it wasn't working. They did not get an error code so I guess they have become so dependent on that that they cannot think for themselves. I will deal with that issue with service.

I was considering upgrading to a 2017 Elite and had checked what was new for the 2018 Pilot before I even considered upgrading. Well, I learned that the AUTO IDLE START STOP will be a different system in the 2018s. That tells me Honda knows their current system is crap. Too bad that the changes to the 2018 are such that I will not buy one, specifically shortening the wheel base and removing the 3rd row. And the fact that the 2017 has the same crap system will keep me from upgrading to a 2107 Elite. Also, how the dealership has deal with my issue means I will not be buying anything from them either.

So, I am just like the rest of the others here that has paid a lot of money for a car with a system that does not work. I hate it anyway and I'm not sure why automakers are pushing these systems. Maybe the federal government is the problem meddling in automakers businesses to get better mileage. Not sure it really helps anyway. Maybe I'll buy a Ford, my husbands auto idle system works like it should even though he finds it as annoying as I do.

- asedillo261 , Tallahassee, US

problem #4

Jan 102017

Pilot Touring 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,200 miles

Engine Start/Stop has a mind of it's own. sometimes work, sometimes unavailable for no apparent reason. Dealer has no clue how to fix

Update from Feb 28, 2017: Have 17,000 miles and the Engine Start/Stop still only works intermittently. I'll stop at a stop sign, it works. I'll stop at next stop sign or light under same conditions, it won't work, message comes up..."Engine Start/Stop not available" Dealer still cannot explain

- wamm002, Winnebago, IL, US

problem #3

Nov 182015

Pilot Elite

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,500 miles

I have 2016 Pilot Elite and took for repair same place where i purchase. Third time they they fixed the original problem but it crest other problem. Original problem is while i driving it start misfiring the engine and all light in dash board start blinking. You fill like you are driving without exhaust system. First time i took for repair dealers say PCM has to reset it. Second time i took for repair they said catalytic convertor need to replace. Third time i took it they said injected need to replace. Now other problem came up is my Auto Engine Idle on/of dose not working. I think this car is LEMON CAR.

- Kirit P., Stafford, VA, US

problem #2

Oct 162015

Pilot Elite

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,500 miles

My 2016 Honda Pilot Elite has been back to the dealer four times for a fix to the auto idle stop problem. Each time they report a different fix and it works for a period of days or weeks, then stops again. Last visit they said it was because of a defective vehicle battery. Again it worked for less than two weeks. I really like this vehicle and do not want to avail myself of the State Lemon Law protections. I just want this issue fixed once and for all.

- Allan O., Lilburn, GA, US

problem #1

Nov 032015

Pilot Touring 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 333 miles

click to see larger images

auto idle stop does not work auto idle stop does not work auto idle stop does not work

Well, I decided to purchase a new 2016 Honda Touring Pilot from a local dealer. I have been reading an awful lot of complaints on this new vehicle from Piloteers.org. I have to say that I am not experiencing all the same complaints, however, at this point, only one. My Auto Idle Stop feature does not work or it works intermittently. Jury is still out on that issue. I received the SUV with 12 miles on her. I started to realize soon after that my Auto Stop Idle was not working. It did work a few times, etc... This was probably around 250 miles. I took Suv to dealer at 333 miles on her, where they sat me down and explained that a lot of certain conditions need to be met for it to work. I replied,that I read the manual and CD. I met all those requirements. "It still does not work." Actually, I just looked at what the service tech wrote in her comments and don't agree at all. She wrote "C/S Stop Idle is Inop. Please advise. Customer spoke with Scott-will leave his last name omitted and went over stop Idle operation. No corrective action to be made. Working as described." How can she say, it is working as described? Scott indicated that he didn't know why it isn't working. He went on to tell me that unless the icon flashes and throws a code, they can't do anything. I understand that logic, however, it isn't working and it isn't throwing any codes to the computer. What do I have to do to get this to work? It should work every time I have the system on and ready. Seat belt on, defroster off, all engine temps normal because of driving the SUV, system on and ready, no flashing icon. What do they want, screaming kids in the back seat bouncing all around to get this system to work? Bottom line is that it does not work and I somewhat felt blown off at my dealer. I realize that the SUV is brand new. I don't know what to do. I paid over 46k and feel all advertised systems should work 100% of the time. Thank you.

Update from Nov 7, 2015: This is an update to my original issue with the Auto Idle Stop. After I wrote the complaint the other morning, you will never guess what happen to work the next day? Yup the Auto Idle Stop. I had exactly 415 miles on vehicle. The only thing I did that was different was a few days prior I went in to the settings on my 8" screen. Vehicle-meter, turn on and off the Auto Idle Stop. I turned it on and off a few times, so you could see it on the MID. Has nothing to do with the manual button you press on the center shifter. I leave that on all the time. Besides it defaults to on every time the car is started. It was raining out and for a second I thought that maybe, I am experiencing a condensation issue with the system. I don't know... I plan on monitoring this. I realize that certain conditions need to be met for it to operate. I meet all the conditions everyday I drive the vehicle. You turn it on, it should operate, you shut off, it doesn't. I think it is possibly a software related problem. I recently was made aware from these great web sites that a recall is under way for a "software update odometer issue" on the Pilot. I wonder if this is somehow related as well? Jury is out on that one too. Will keep the site posted.. All I know now is that it works..................... If anyone else is experiencing these issues please report it here and on Piloteers.org. Honda sure as hell isn't going to call us and say. Hey we screwed up on the Pilot. They will only do this if they have too. Thank you...

Update from Nov 11, 2015: Stopped working again at 525 miles, etc...

- gmarkxs63, Erie, PA, US