10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,372 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 Hyundai Santa Fe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #92

May 132017

Santa Fe

  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2017 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport. The contact stated while driving at an undisclosed speed, the accelerator pedal was depressed but the vehicle stalled with no warning lights illuminated. The contact also stated that the vehicle had been stalling from the time of purchase when making a right or left turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 18,000.

- Magnolia Springs, AL, USA

problem #91

Jun 052021

Santa Fe

  • miles
The engine is consuming oil. After 1500 miles since my last oil change the oil DOES NOT show up on the oil stick. I have bought 3 brand new Hyundai Santa Fe's and 1 used Sonata, and NEVER had problems, except for my 2017 Santa Fe Sport, which I purchased at Dondelinger Hyundai in Baxter, Minnesota. I have also had to replace the backup camera. I have been to this dealer 4 times with no resolve! Please help!!

- Andover, MN, USA

problem #90

Apr 152020

Santa Fe

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2017 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle suddenly failed to accelerate while depressing the accelerator pedal. After turning off and restarting the vehicle, the vehicle operated as intended. The failure occurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer parkway Hyundai located at 5920 market St a, wilmington, nc 28405 but the failure could not be duplicated and the cause of the failure was not yet determined. The manufacturer was not yet notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000.

- Hampstead, NC, USA

problem #89

Mar 032021

Santa Fe

  • 47,408 miles
Bought Hyundai sante fe sport 2017 36,871 miles on 09-23-2019 dealership oil change 03-06-20 miles 41104 dealership oil change, 03-03-21 miles 47409 oil very low and dark in color. Dealership requesting oil consumption test every 1000 miles, 04-01-21 1.5 quarts low. I have to do 2 more test, this is a skirt around the problem, and an engine flush for sludge, more skirting the problem. My warranty expires in 6 weeks!

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #88

Dec 132020

Santa Fe

  • 45,000 miles
I was driving on the expressway and my oil light indicator light came on in the car and went off after I got off the expressway pulled over at a gas station. So I started driving again and again the oil light comes on so I recorded it on my cell phone.I just had my oil changed a week prior to this. Took my vehicle back to the Hyundai dealership in matteson Illinois where I purchased the vehicle from. And get all my oil changes done on the vehicle. They checked out my vehicle and said that they didn't get the coming on when they took my car on a test drive. So I show the mechanic the video I recorded on my phone. He looks at the video and says to me well if the oil light comes back on bring the vehicle back. And tells me the vehicle is ok to drive as it is. Two days later I'm running an arron in traffic on a busy city street and as I'm driving my car starts jerking and stalling and a flashing engine light on the dash board I put my hazard lights on and pull over to the side of the road. Called Hyundai service department. Because I was close by the dealership the service personnel told me to drive the my car to the dealership so I did. They told me my engine had to be replaced. For the second time mind you. 1st time was a year prior. So they kept my car for a week and 2days. Get my car back a week later I'm driving on my way to work and the flashing check engine light comes on again. So I take it back to the dealership and they said it was the knock sensor that needed to be replaced this time. They repair it the same day. Mean while waiting I find an video on you tube about the very problem I was having with my vehicle. But it's from the Hyundai manufactures about the 2014-2018 Santa Fe, sonata and tuson vehicle about known malfunctions and problems these vehicles are having and would have. So I don't understand why these are not recalls. Now again yesterday 1/16/21

- Markham, IL, USA

problem #87

Apr 152020

Santa Fe

  • 70 miles
Car shifts rough, mostly into first gear. As the problem has persisted, it has worsened and also shifts rough in higher gears.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #86

Jan 042021

Santa Fe

  • 51,000 miles
I have taken my car in 4 or more times because there is a slip in the transmission and the car is not shifting properly. This was bought in 2017 with 150 miles, the first occupancy happened within months. I have been told my engine was sensitive and not to let others drive it, turn off the car, or the dealership has been unable to duplicate the error. I took my car in in November 2020 and after a few weeks in the shop, they were finally able to 'find' the issue. I got my car back with a remanufactured transmission, mid-December. The drive home was okay, but since then the issue occurs more frequently. Coming to a stop, the rpms jump, turning, the rpms jump. I am unable to drive 3/4 mile down the road without my car jerking and jolting. This car is not safe. Several customers have complained of the same issue in the past years and even a lawsuit was brought up, but then was dismissed. My car value has dropped almost 50% because of this issue. I am without a car, still paying for my lease, and insurance on a car that does not serve its proper function.

- Mishawaka, IN, USA

problem #85

Dec 262020

Santa Fe

  • 83,000 miles
I have had on at least a half dozen times where the vehicle will not accelerate after stopping, and then attempting to accelerate. For example: Leaving a parking lot going onto a roadway attempting to accelerate quickly to get up to the speed limit. Attempting to turn left at a flashing red left turn lane traffic light. The vehicle will roll about 10-20', but will not accelerate, like the transmission is not engaging. Sometimes the engine will rev to 4000-5000rpms. I will quickly let off of the throttle, then it will take off. The engine does not rev every time. The dealership replaced a module on the transmission approximately one year ago, but it did not help. They had it for one day in July 2020, attempting to replicate the problem, but to no avail. The most recent incident with the vehicle where this failure to accelerate occurred was 12/26/2020, where upon leaving a service station onto a four lane road, it once again rolled to 10-15 mph, but would not go while the engine rpms went to 4000. As traffic was rapidly approaching I kept my foot on the throttle, and it finally started picking up speed. This is getting to be a dangerous vehicle to drive.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #84

Sep 172020

Santa Fe

  • miles
During acceleration from a stop sign/red light or turning the engine hesitates for approximately 5 seconds after several tries before reaching desired speed. When using cruise control on freeways there is a 10 to 15 second delay when accelerating or passing another vehicle which in one instance caused a near accident on a high speed freeway. My vehicle slowed down causing other vehicles go around me passing from the right side lane. These hesitations have caused me several near accidents and makes me not feel confident when driving this car. I have taken the vehicle to the dealership on many occasions and they report no error codes show up and, the mechanic cannot duplicate the problem. However, the dealer replaced the transmission earlier this year. There has been no improvement. I have reviewed many other complaints of this hesitation problem. Will it take death reports to help us owners? my issue began in 2018 right after purchase and the problem is occurring more often now. No help is in sight when Hyundai and the dealership refuses to admit the problem and makes me and other owners feel like we don't know our vehicles or our own minds!! we need help before a death occurs not after!!

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #83

Sep 132020

Santa Fe

  • 3,325 miles
This vehicle has a intermittent acceleration problem which causes a delay in the vehicle movement. The dealer stated they cannot duplicate the problem however the issue does exist. Many owners are having the same problem as I read on line.

- Brownstown, MI, USA

problem #82

Apr 232020

Santa Fe

  • 49,000 miles
When accelerating, my vehicle hesitates presenting a safety issue when merging onto highways or making lane changes. Could absolutely lead to an accident, especially the risk of being rear ended. Also when turning, hesitates when speeding up after the turn. Same with stops.

- Ranson, WV, USA

problem #81

Mar 252019

Santa Fe

  • 29,792 miles
The contact owns a 2017 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated that while driving at an undisclosed speed, the vehicle decelerated independently and stalled without warning. The contact stated that the failure recurred several times and was towed to miller Hyundai located at (4455 vestal pkwy E, vestal, NY 13850) where unknown repairs were provided however, the failure persisted. The vehicle was repaired a total of 6 times by the dealer. The manufacturer was contacted and informed of the failure and offered minimal monetary assistance. The failure mileage was 29,792.

- Windsor, NY, USA

problem #80

Feb 152020

Santa Fe

  • 31,000 miles
Go through car wash must have under body sprayed type of car wash. I leave P1326 code vehicle goes into limp mode already had wire harness replaced by dealer. Didn't correlate car wash until I recalled getting same one first day it occurred when I brought in for repair. Knock sensor harness when I clear code goes away. Lots of people seeing it happen driving in rain very dangerous reduction in speed takes forever to accelerate when hits new gear dangerous.

- Blaine, MN, USA

problem #79

Feb 142020

Santa Fe

  • 87,000 miles
My 2018 Hyundai sante fe was purchase 'certified' used from puente hills Hyundai in southern California. About a year into owning my car it began to jerk and felt like I went over a hard bump when I would accelerate from a stop and then began doing it while I would drive up hills. Puente hills Hyundai informed me there was a recall and that the recall would 'solve' the issue. After I got my car back, a few weeks later it started again. But happened less often then before. I recently took my car in and was told that puente hills Hyundai was able to recreate the jerking and would call the extended warranty company to have them come confirm the issue. When the warranty company finally came out, they unsuccessfully recreating the jerking sound and told Hyundai my car is 'safe' to drive and nothing is wrong with it. Hyundai tried to tell me to take the car back since there is nothing they can do to fix the issue since the warranty company said it was 'safe'. I refused to take it back due my safety and the safety of my unborn child and was told they would keep it again to see if they can recreate the jerking and then contact Hyundai directly to see if they'll come check it out. But wasn't guaranteed that they would fix and or be able to solve the issue. I have checked online and seen that several people owning this same make and model have similar complaints and have complained to you guys and was hoping that my complaint will be honored more than it has been at this dealership. The jerking motion happened when backing out of my drive way, accelerating from a stop sign, driving on the freeway, going up hill, or backing out of a parking stop and moving back into drive.

- Diamond Bar, CA, USA

problem #78

Jan 192020

Santa Fe

  • 31,000 miles
On the interstate, pressed the gas pedal and the vehicle did not and would not accelerate. I tried multiple times. RPM went up to 5000 but shifting the transmission into sports mode and downshifting and upshifting made no difference in the speed of the vehicle. Speed remained the same, engine roared as if in neutral. I pulled off the interstate, cut off the vehicle for several minutes, restarted the vehicle, returned to the interstate and could accelerate. This happened multiple times in 2017 and 2018 both on the highway and city streets. In 2018, taken to pearson Hyundai and could not be fixed because no error codes. After a dangerous, identical incident on the interstate in May 2019, taken to pearson Hyundai. They performed a tcu and ECU software update May 21, 2019. This latest incident is a repeat of the May 2019 problem. The problem is random and unpredictable but occurs on both highway and street speeds. The inability to accelerate without warning will eventually cause an accident. We also own a 2016 Santa Fe sport turbo AWD that has not had any of these acceleration problems. Changes were made in the 2017 model year to the engine and transmission that are impacting acceleration.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #77

Dec 152019

Santa Fe

  • 71,000 miles
There has been some engine noise for 2 months or so.. I then had an oil leak and the dealer said that the engine noise was from crankshaft and maybe a bearing inside. I have 74, 000 miles on vehicle and have a 10 year 125000 mile extended warranty. I was at the dealer today and they gave me the news about maybe crankshaft bearing. The Hyundai motor company has a recall on your site about 2017 Hyundai Santa Fe having defect in a pin in the crankshaft that wears the bearing. This seems like exactly what dealer is telling me. My question is, the recall says that Hyundai motor company recalled 420 2017 Hyundai Santa Fe's that were produced between January 26 2017 and February 13 2017. My Santa Fe was actually produced on January 14 2017, which is only 12 days prior to the start of the official recall production date of January 26. How does Hyundai motor company know that my vehicle was not produced with this faulty pin in the crankshaft that causes bearing failure? thank you very much for this website and I hope someone can enlighten me as to what I may be able to do right now.

- Essex, MD, USA

problem #76

Jan 142020

Santa Fe

  • 30,700 miles
When I drive going straight at about 40 to 48 mph on eco mode or any drive mode the car jumps/ jerks like it shifts into a low gear and then goes back into a high gear with no heavy acceleration. If I have it on cruise control at 45mph it will kick back and forth occasionally as if I was slamming on the gas pedal then slightly on the break but quickly.

- Pingree Grove, IL, USA

problem #75

Dec 232019

Santa Fe

  • 20,997 miles
When the vehicle is stopped, and when starting to accelerate, there are times when I'll experience a 1-2 second delay or hesitation, before the engine/transmission engage. This seems to occur mostly when the wheels are in a turned position. It can be a frightening experience at an intersection, with no power. This has occurred approximately a dozen times.

- Beaver, PA, USA

problem #74

Nov 302019

Santa Fe

  • miles
I purchased a used 2017 Santa Fe AWD on 11/06/2019. The car failed to start on the first attempt at a gas station -- the first time it has happened after purchasing the car. It started on the second attempt, the car drove smoothly to the dmv for registration. About 1-2 hours of driving, the car stalled in town despite accelerating with rpms greater 3. the car became responsive only after stopping and restarting at the curb. I noticed a steady check engine light on the dashboard for the first time after the incident and have been having a jerky ride experience ever since. A call to bluelink confirmed that the car requires a thorough system check involving the power train at the dealership. An appointment has been for 12/4/2019 and the car has been parked.

- Bridgewater, NJ, USA

problem #73

Mar 202019

Santa Fe

  • 79,618 miles
On March, 19 2019 around 5:00am I was on my way to work like normal. As I was getting on the freeway at about 45 miles per hour my car shut off while driving. I had no power steering but I coasted to a stop in the right lane of freeway turned my car back on and drove about 500 feet and the same thing happen but this time it would not turn back on. I had aaa tow my car to their shop. 3/20/2019 aaa tow my car to cardinaleway Hyundai 2525 wardlow road corona, ca 92882 service: (951) 271-3333 5/13/2019 - [X] I accept Hyundai motor America's goodwill offer of covering the of parts and you covering the labor $1,100 jordan national Consumer Affairs ‪ (714) 965-3976‬ Hyundai motor America 9/16/2019 - new engine is installed | car is ready | I I pay the the $1,100 and pick up my car. 9/17/2019 - brought the car back to dealer. A leak was fixed 2 spark plugs changed 9/18/2019 - I went to pick up my car on 9/18/2019 when I turned my car on the check engine light was

- Chino, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »