1.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
92,090 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #29

Feb 192018

Sonata

  • 170,000 miles
Steering and stability unstable. Mechanic tells me that the rear sub frame is rusty and cracked. The entire frame was replaced around 2010 because of a recall. When you hit a bump lose traction and becomes unstable. Want to know if the replacement frame has a warranty. Want to keep the car still runs great. 170,000 miles

- Matteson, IL, USA

problem #28

Feb 202017

Sonata

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 5 mph, the front passenger side wheel detached from the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to an auto shop where the failure was diagnosed as a control arm failure and rusted subframe. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 140,000.

- Madison Heights, MI, USA

problem #27

Mar 312015

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 173,000 miles
While slowing down to make a turn on side road, the lower left control arm pulled completely out of the frame. Inspection after found large hole rusted completely through the frame rail. Inspected right side and frame has same type of rusted and missing frame segments. Thankfully this happened at low speed and not on the interstate where outcome could have been very bad. Doing some research I have found that this appears to have been a known problem with this model for several years beginning with 1999 model.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #26

Dec 012008

Sonata 6-cyl

  • miles
2000 Hyundai Sonata. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle rusted rear cross member. The consumer stated in December 2008, the front cross member became rusted. The dealer replaced the front cross member as it was under recall due to rust. The consumer stated the rear cross member frame rusted and about to break apart. When the consumer went to the dealer, he was informed the rear cross member was not under recall. And the cost to replace it, was $3,000.

- Mays Landing, NJ, USA

problem #25

May 232014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 16,200 miles
When driving to work the wheel start to pull. When I got to work I took a look at the frame there was a 2 inch crack in one side and a 1/4 inch by 20 inch crack in the other side. When I touch it the frame was rotten.

- Medford, NY, USA

problem #24

Oct 102013

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 197,700 miles
While driving my 2000 Hyundai Sonata on good road and approaching a traffic light in the left through-lane of a multilane street, I made a quick stop (not and emergency stop) when the light turned yellow. The road was in good condition and dry, and the outside temperature was about about 80 degrees F. upon making this stop the car pulled unusually sharply to the right - if there had been a car in the right lane, I would have hit it. After this stop, the front tire(s) made unusual squeeling noises upon turning, and the steering felt unusual and shakey. I drove the car directly (about a mile) to the place we were visiting in las vegas and the next morning took the car directly to a Hyundai dealer. Upon inspection the dealer found that the front suspension frame crossmember (front subframe) had a corrosion hole through the front subbframe and the front subframe had failed, causing the right front (passenger) tire to move out of position and sitting at an angle. The dealer's advice was that this was a safety problem, and it could further fail and result in loss of steering control. They advised that I do not drive the car until this this front subframe was replaced. This is a replaceable piece - which was ordered, and replacement planned. The car was left with the Hyundai dealer, and not driven further. This situation is essentially identical to NHTSA reference number 13V354000 for the real suspension for some Hyundai vehicles that led to Hyundai recall campaign 113 approved in Sept 2013. Hyundai records show this car was purchased in Illinois (one of the approved 113-recall states) and it was driven there for about 4 years or so. I am the second owner. Hyundai has issued technical service bulletin campaign number 12-01-029 dated October 2012 (supersedes bulletin 09-01-020-2) which addresses this front subframe problem, but, I am told, it is not an approved recall.

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #23

Aug 182013

Sonata

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving approximately 10 mph, the front end of the vehicle collapsed into the passenger's side wheel. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 09V124000 (suspension) and contacted the manufacturer, who advised that the VIN was not included in the recall campaign. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000. Returned by usps on 10-17-2013. Second attempt on 10-31-2013 failed.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #22

Jul 182013

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer for routine service when he was informed that the driver's side upper strut mount had penetrated through the mounts. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 25,000.

- Monroeville, PA, USA

problem #21

Oct 112012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 115,428 miles
My Hyundai dealer has refused to honor their 100,000miles, 10 years warranty" many times that I bring the car to be fixed under the warranty since the car was only 8years old and 76,000 miles since 2008. They refuse to fix the problems that I experienced by saying my car is not listed in any recall campaign. Unfortunately this year, on 10/11/12, I took my car for an annual state inspection for 2000 Hyundai Sonata and it fails the safety inspection. Here is what it says: ***vehicle memo*** vehicle is unsafe to drive...rear sub-frame has hole rotted through... due to the current financial situation, I don't know how I will get this car fixed because the car is now 115,000miles and 12 years old and I don't know if they will fix it. They have continuously refused to fix my car under warranty even when it was clearly within the warranty period and I was lucky then that I have been able to pay the fixes out of pocket but I don't have the luxury of paying out of pocket this time. I am in need of miracles now.

- Malone, NY, USA

problem #20

Aug 182012

Sonata

  • miles
While driving our 2000 Hyundai Sonata my husband's Sonata came to an screeching halt in which he almost lost complete control of the vehicle. Fortunately, he was able to pull the vehicle over to the side of the road. Once out of the vehicle, it was very apparent that the axle had broken and the drivers front wheel had detached from the vehicle. The vehicle was relocated to the nearest Hyundai dealer. It was determined that the damage was from Hyundai's front sub frame corrosion treatment (corrosion class action CC1) group-campaign, number 11-01-038 date-October, 2011. The dealer could not find any record that this recall notice was sent to our home of address.

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #19

Jul 102012

Sonata

  • 220,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while the vehicle was at a local mechanic for tire maintenance, the front subframe lower control arm was found to be corroded. The manufacturer denied assistance with the repair, because the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 09V124000 (suspension). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 220,000.

- Sioux City , IA, USA

problem #18

Jan 182011

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 103,780 miles
Car has bad rust out problems. On the metal frame and suspension parts. Total rust out on rear frame, also the upper control arms. The front cradle frame was repaired previously. Updated 10/20/11

- Water Ford, PA, USA

problem #17

Oct 032010

Sonata

  • 193,165 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Hyundai Sonata. The contact was driving approximately between 10-12 mph attempting to make a left turn, suddenly the vehicle stopped without warning. The contact inspected the vehicle and observed that the front driver side axle completely separated. Also, the sub-frame exhibited excessive corrosion. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer for diagnosis. There was a recall associated with the NHTSA campaign id number 09V124000 (suspension). The VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 193,165.

- Port St. Lucie , FL, USA

problem #16

Apr 072000

Sonata

  • 116,491 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the front sub frame on his vehicle was corroded, covered with rust and had a hole the size of a baseball in it. He contacted the Hyundai service manager and stated that he would check with Hyundai usa and follow up with him regarding the failure. NHTSA recall campaign id number 09V124000, suspension is related to his year, make, and model. The current and failure mileages were 116,491. The VIN was unknown.

- Chantilly , VA, USA

problem #15

Mar 052010

(reported on)

Sonata

  • miles
2000 Hyundai Sonata recall the consumer stated the subframe failed.

- Springfield, MA, USA

problem #14

Mar 122009

Sonata 4-cyl

  • miles
2000 Hyundai Sonata. NHTSA campaign no. 09V124000 Hyundai campaign no. 089. The consumer's daughter was driving when the front frame broke causing the body of the vehicle to fall to the pavement, which also caused the front wheel to become disconnected from the transaxle. The vehicle was towed to a collision center. The collision center contacted the dealership to get an estimate for the repair of the vehicle and it was determined that the estimate was roughly equal to the value of the vehicle and therefore, repairs were not recommended. The vehicle was subsequently scrapped. The consumer purchased another vehicle on March 14,2009. On January 12, 2010, the consumer received a recall notice for the vehicle that had previously been deemed as not cost effective to repair. The consumer is seeking reimbursement under the recall noting the vehicle was not repaired because the damage caused by the frame collapse while driving caused more damage to the vehicle than its value. Updated 04/02/10.

- Cheektowaga, NY, USA

problem #13

Jan 012010

Sonata 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Hyundai Sonata. While driving at speeds of less than 2 mph, the passenger's side front wheel separated from the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to a nearby service station in which they stated that they could not repair the vehicle. The vehicle was then taken to their independent mechanic where they stated that the wheel separated from the vehicle due to corrosion on the wheel well and sub-frame. The sub-frame axle was replaced under recall. (see NHTSA campaign id number: 09V124000-suspension, NHTSA action number: EA08016). The current and failure mileages were under 108,000. Updated 02/02/10. Updated 02/05/10

- Linden Hurst, NY, USA

problem #12

Nov 222009

Sonata

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Hyundai Sonata. The contact was driving approximately 7 mph on normal road conditions and heard a loud noise outside of the vehicle. Suddenly, the front end of the vehicle collapsed with the detachment of the front passenger tire. The subframe exhibited severe rust corrosion. The vehicle was towed to the residence. NHTSA recall campaign id number 09V124000, suspension was related to the failure and the VIN was included. The manufacturer will not take the responsibility of the towing and repair cost of damages associated to the consequence of the recall defect. The failure mileage was 140,000.

- Hamburg, NY, USA

problem #11

Jan 052010

Sonata 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2000 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that she received recall notice 09V124000 for the suspension on January 5, 2010. The contact found that the manufacturers report date was 4/14/09 and that the first recall letter mailing started in July. The contact stated that due to the severity of the potential failure it should not have taken Hyundai six months to send her the recall notice. No failure has occurred at this time. The consumer would like to be contacted. Updated 01/27/10

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #10

Dec 152009

Sonata 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2000 Hyundai Sonata. He received recall id number 09V124000 (suspension). The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The technician stated the front sub frame required replacement. The front end suspension was replaced. However, the technician stated they would not be responsible for accidental damages that may possibly occur on other components during the recall remedy repair performed on the vehicle. The failure mileage was unavailable. The current mileage was 83,000. Updated 01/29/10 updated 01/29/10.

- Shelburn, IN, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »