1.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
83,608 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #17

Jan 292020

Sonata

  • 101,780 miles
2005 Hyundai Sonata front sub-frame failure. The sub frame has rusted through and while driving it broke. This could have caused a terrible accident. Hyundai was sued in a class action lawsuit for model years 1999-2004 in United States district court of California. My model year was not included in this lawsuit. However, my Sonata has the same issue. I have made several attempts to contact Hyundai asking that they repair my vehicle. Listed below is a partial list of my correspondence with them. 1/29/2020 called Hyundai talked to danielle to file initial complaint, she instructed me to take the vehicle to my local dealer ( mike miller of peoria, il ) for and inspection. 2/3/2020 ¿ P.a. denied rob from Hyundai said they will do a one time extended warranty to fix the defect. But they did not fix the vehicle. 2/5/2020 ¿ request that Hyundai Consumer Affairs call me. 2/6/2020 ¿ dave (from the warranty team) says it will cost $2,019 to fix 2/10/2020 ¿ filed a complaint with the BBB 2/13/2020 ¿ response letter from BBB 2/25/2020 ¿ response to my complaint letter to Hyundai motor America. Acknowledging receipt of complaint. 4/7/2020 sent a letter to vp brian smith coo ¿ no response. This letter mentioned the class action lawsuit that was settled on model years 1999-2004 case #sacv08-00854ag. Filed in the state of California. 6/29/2020 received a call from pete (service manager at mike miller Hyundai) he threatened to have my vehicle towed as abandoned. I offered to pay $676.23 (half of the parts cost) to have them fix the vehicle. He stated he would speak with Consumer Affairs and get back to me. 7/6/2020 ¿ I called pete to get an update. Because of the serious nature, I would like Hyundai to complete the repair at no charge.

- Chillicothe, IL, USA

problem #16

Nov 012019

Sonata

  • miles
Rust holes through engine cradle or sub frame. This car has only 39,900 miles on it and was well maintained. While getting oil changed the mechanic showed me the problem and told me to contact the Hyundai dealer and tell them about it. I called and they told me there was nothing they would do, I had to pay for the repairs.

- Kearny, NJ, USA

problem #15

Sep 012019

Sonata

  • 122,034 miles
While changing my oil on the weekend, I noticed severe corrosion failures with the front subframe on the right side of my car. (see attached photos). One area was in front of the lower control arm and another area is behind the control arm. It looks like the subframe will fail at any moment and the control arm would be free to move anywhere. This would significantly affect control of the vehicle and be a serious safety concern. I see this part has already had a recall for 2001 to 2004 Hyundai Sonatas which is the same body and frame style as the 2005 vehicle. Recall #09V124000.

- New Berlin, WI, USA

problem #14

Aug 052019

Sonata

  • miles
My Hyundai Sonata 2005 is very unsafe! the whole frame of the car is rotted out. I was driving on the expressway with my children in the car and my tire blew! a nice man drive off from the other side of highway came around to put a spare on. I took the car got a new tire and alignment. Then a few months later my whole sterling wheel is turned to left and car is pulling horribly to right and my right tire is bent in. I took it in to get checked asap. They looked at it and to my utter belief my car is rotted out! unsafe ! I feel this is a real issue for Hyundai! there are many drivers out there with the same issue and Hyundai is doing nothing to help! you made these vehicles. Now please help us drive safely with our families! so we can go to our jobs and continue raising our families. Please do something soon. I start a new job August 27 2019. I will need a safe car I am a dependable, reliable, nanny. So you see I depend I my safe vehicle for all my little loves I¿M my car on a daily basis. Stand by your Hyundai name and do something good. Help us please. Thank you. Remember it was your manufacturing that caused this to happen! so please help. ( not sure exactly how long those holes and rotted out frame were lingering) until all this went wrong with tires...

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #13

Jul 122019

Sonata

  • 49,419 miles
Front subframe severe rust throughout the frame

- Sheffield Lake, OH, USA

problem #12

Apr 022018

Sonata

  • 100,100 miles
The engine cradle and both rear upper strut mounts are corroded to the point that the car is unsafe to drive and presents a safety hazard to its driver, occupants, and others on the road. It will not pass the annual Pennsylvania safety inspection. The mechanic showed me (the owner) at least one large hole in the cradle (silver-dollar sized) as well as long three-finger wide holes in the upper rear strut mounts. (this is similar to a problem that I encountered in 2010 in my Hyundai elantra (rear suspension only in that car), reported to the nthsb and subsequently rectified by Hyundai usa.) moreover, this is similar to problems cited in robert D¿elia V. Hyundai motor company and Hyundai motor America and rectified in a subsequent settlement and recall. This concerns a car with 100xxx miles on the odometer. Car was undercoated by dealership at pos. Driven exclusively in a salt-belt state. N.B. - the 2004 Hyundai Sonata sub-frame is identical to the 2002 - 2004 subframes.

- Mckees Rocks, PA, USA

problem #11

Jan 092018

Sonata

  • miles
I took my car to my mechanic to change oil on 1/9/2018 and he discovered a big hole (bigger than the fist-size) on the right front of the subframe underneath the car due to rusting and severe corrosion (please see the attached picture for more details). The mechanic told me that this is a serious safety issue, which is not supposed to happen. He strongly recommended me to go to the dealer and have this fixed as soon as possible. Right after that, I called Hyundai customer service and they told me that my car doesn't have a warranty and it is not under recall based on the VIN, so they will not do anything about it. I got the same answer from the dealer at Hyundai davis in NJ. I searched online and found 2 recalls issued by Hyundai for the same problem. One started in 2009 with the NHTSA recall id # 09V124000 (including 1999-2004 Hyundai Sonata) and another one in 2013 with NHTSA campaign # 13V354000 (including 2006-2010 Sonata). However, Hyundai customer services can¿T provide any explanations why 2005 Sonata is not included in the two recalls. According to the news online, ¿the recall, limited to America's so-called "salt belt" states, is centered around potentially excessive corrosion of the front sub-frame due to winter road salt applications. If unnoticed, the lower control arm may separate from its mount.¿ ¿road salt and water can enter portions of the rear crossmember, leading to corrosion of the crossmember steel. This may lead to detachment of one of the rear control arms. Control arm separation may suddenly change the rear wheel alignment, affecting the handling of the vehicle, increasing the risk of a crash.¿ it is not safe for me to drive the car, however, currently, I still have to drive the car on highway to work on a daily basis since this is the only car I have.

- Holland, PA, USA

problem #10

Jul 082017

Sonata

  • 57,000 miles
Takata recall subframe is rotted. Mechanic advised not to drive it as it is very unsafe. Car has less than 60,000 miles on

- Sayre, PA, USA

problem #9

May 312017

Sonata

  • 71,000 miles
Front cradle rust out unsafe will not pass inspection. The 2004S were recalled but not the 2005S.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #8

Feb 012017

Sonata

  • miles
Direct reply - letter from senator brown inquiry on behalf of constituent regarding Hyundai recall. 2005 Hyundai Sonata. The consumer stated during a maintenance check, the mechanic found the sub-frame under the front end of the vehicle known as the engine cradle was badly corroded to the extent that significant metal in the sub-frame was gone; perhaps more than 50% gone at on E location. Apparently, there was no recall for the consumers model year. However, a recall was issued for other years. The consumer referenced recall # 09V124000.

- Liberty Township, OH, USA

problem #7

Jan 022017

Sonata

  • miles
Letter from senator portman on behalf of constituent re 2005 Hyundai Sonata safety recall. The consumer stated for several weeks, his daughter noticed some unusual vibrations and noise while driving. An inspection revealed the sub-frame under the front end also called the cradle, was badly corroded to the extent that significant metal in the sub-frame was gone;perhaps more than 50% gone at one location. The consumer was informed a recall had been issued for the very problem. However, it didn't apply to the 2005 model. Hyundai refused to cover the repair, stating the model was not covered. The consumer referenced recall # 09V124000.

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #6

Nov 262016

Sonata

  • 225,000 miles
Brought to get oil changed, mechanic showed me the engine carrier was about to fail. It is almost rusted thru 2004 ha recall but not 2005 also when in park car rolls

- Glenville, NY, USA

problem #5

Sep 172016

Sonata

  • 150,000 miles
I own a 2005 Hyundai Sonata gls. While driving down the freeway at 70 mph the car suddenly became hard to control, as in it started pulling extremely hard to the right. I had to drive home with the steering wheel cocked to the left in order to go straight. I brought it into the shop thinking it needed an alignment - both front tires were tilted in at the top - what I found out was that the subframe was rusted in half. It seems very shady to me that there is a recall for this exact problem for pretty much every year except 2005. This is the same model as the 2004 and it was manufactured that year as well. *also, the trim on the car, which is what makes it more expensive, is constantly coming off while I'm driving. The silver trim around the passenger window flew off on the tollway. The driver's window trim came off due to ice - it was replaced by a body shop, but later flew off on the tollway as well. The trim on all four doors is now bolted on as that kept falling off too. *also, there is significant rust right above the top of the windshield to the point that it will soon be raining in my car.

- Oregon, WI, USA

problem #4

Jan 262016

Sonata

  • 115,000 miles
Failed inspection in part due to front subframe rust through. Called Hyundai and spoke to a claims rep. By the name of mike ext.631677. Mike told me there were recalls on Sonatas up to 2004 for this problem, but not 2005. The 2005 model is the same model as 2004. The model year didn't change till 2006 so why was 2005 excluded from the recall" my car has 115K miles on it and the underbody is always washed during winter seasons. Mike told me it wasn't under warranty, and that Hyundai would not be able to do anything for me, to contact my dealership, maybe they would do something. I have a 1969 camaro and the subframe is fine. How is it the a car 10 years old has a bad frame" hope you will be able to help us.

- Dover, PA, USA

problem #3

Oct 052015

Sonata

  • 145,000 miles
I notice that there is a recall on Hyundai Sonata's from 2006 -2010 in regards to rust concerns with rear suspension. This was just detected by my mechanic that the attaching point for the control arm has rusted and became separated from the crossmember. The result and my immediate concern was the sudden change in vehicle handling, a loud noise coming from the rear tire when I hit a small bump. I was wondering why the 2005 Sonata isn't covered in this recall?

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #2

Aug 212015

Sonata

  • 150,000 miles
According to mechanic the upper control arm rear passenger side is rusted and detached.

- Saint Paul, MN, USA

problem #1

Jul 102013

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving 10 mph, the front driver's side wheel partially separated from the suspension system. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis where it was advised that the sub frame was rusted and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 135,000.

- St Louis , MO, USA