10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,228 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #20

Aug 182021

Sonata

  • miles
Recall on my 2017 Hyundai Sonata was repaired 9/13/2019, purchased the vehicle with financing on 7/16/2021. On 8/18/2021, had vehicle towed back to the dealership and explained the issue. Engine knocking, tire pressure and engine lights on, frequent stalling, turning off, smell of gas and something burning, loss of power to the engine, car could not accelerate to 60 MPH. The dealership had my car till 9/20/2021, power train warranty was denied and voided, no loaner car was given, was not offered any reimbursement for car rental by dealership and Hyundai corporate. Although car is included in Theta class action lawsuit. I was correct about issue with engine, but the dealership replaced engine with used parts. No later than five days after having my car back, the engine and tire pressure lights came back on, car is tugging, and the engine noise is louder. I don-t believe that they replaced the engine with OEM parts.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #19

Mar 062021

Sonata

  • 97,881 miles
After transmission was replace in December 2020, noticed starting in Jan 2021, that vehicle did not stay in park and rolled back up to 5 feet from where parked. Pictures from parking lot, 3/6/2021 rolled back 5 feet from where it parked. Mileage on 3/6/21 was 96858. On 4/15/21 we have video with the noise that it is making when in park and rolls back (unable to attach here). Mileage on 4/15/2021 was 97881. Car was parked in a handicap spot at a restaurant. The amount of rollback could cause someone walking behind the vehicle to be crushed or killed.

- Mount Airy, MD, USA

problem #18

May 292020

Sonata

  • 72,000 miles
My car won't turn on when I turn the ignition key. It stays silent no click or anything indicating its trying to turn on. The vehicle is always stationary when this happens. It randomly does this and rarely it turns on when I turn the ignition.

- Bell, CA, USA

problem #17

Jun 262020

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
Car gives warning message to "immediately shut off the car to prevent damage ".... this has happened numerous times and Hyundai doesn't seem to have a fix, and doesn't think its a safety issue. This is a safety issue particularly when you are in heavy traffic with no place to move over to shut off the car.

- Salem, OR, USA

problem #16

May 232020

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 87,163 miles
When starting car, it starts shaking real hard then cuts off. It doesn't at times.

- Pomona, CA, USA

problem #15

Dec 282019

Sonata

  • 80,000 miles
On 7/17/19 my car lost power while driving on city street. Unable to steer or control vehicle. Took to dealer who said there were no error codes shown and that it was the electric oil pump. On 8/12/19, the same thing happened while driving on expressway. Complete power failure while vehicle was in motion. Unable to steer or control car. Took back to dealer. Again, no error codes found. They later claimed that a relay had melted and that was the problem. On 12/28/19, again driving 70mph on busy expressway, vehicle lost all power and I was unable to steer car. Took to dealer on 12/29 after it happened a second time in two days. There were unable to look at vehicle that day and told me to bring back next day. It stalled again while I was leaving parking lot, I asked the maintenance tech to come and look to see what was happening, he refused. Dropped car off on 12/30. On 1/2/20, dealer called to say no error codes found, after driving 100 plus miles, were unable to determine cause of problem and I should pick up my vehicle. I explained this is unacceptable. They called me back later claiming it is the electric steering column portion of motor control power steering rack and want $1800 to fix. This is a major safety issue, loosing complete power and ability to steer while driving. Dealer has done nothing to reassure me that this is the actual problem.

- Mukwonago, WI, USA

problem #14

Jul 172019

Sonata

  • 58,000 miles
I bought the car used from a scam dealership. I had no idea that there was an engine recall in January until it turned off and on just one week after leaving the lot. I brought it back to them, obviously, they said it wasn't their problem. I then took it to college park Hyundai to have them update the knock sensor and diagnose the issue. After an extended road test, it was decided that my problem was an isolated incident. Yet I took it to other dealerships, and pretty much everyone says the same. My dash cam has recorded the moments when the car stutters and fails to accelerate before turning back on a couple seconds later. It has happened on curves and I have nearly drove off the highway due to this. It only happens when the car is reaching about 60mph. I live in md but work in va. I'm paying high interest for a crappy lemon car. I even contacted corporate Hyundai, and they just laughed and called me stupid for buying a used car...

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #13

Sep 012019

Sonata

  • miles
The contact owns a 2017 Hyundai Sonata. The contact took the vehicle to sport durst Hyundai (4507 durham-chapel hill blvd, durham, nc 27707, 919-251-5996) to be repaired per manufacturer recall service campaign number: 953. After the recall repair was performed, while driving 35 mph, the vehicle began to stall and the check engine indicator flashed. The contact spoke with the same dealer and was informed to bring the vehicle back to the dealer the next day. The recall repair was performed again, but the same failures recurred while driving 40 mph. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Roxboro, NC, USA

problem #12

Sep 262019

Sonata

  • 32,000 miles
Car loses power in situations where you need to accelerate like passing and merging. We just bought this vehicle 8/3/2019. This is bery dangerous. After the car jerks and loses power, then it suddenly comes back full throttle. I was almost hit by another car as iost power while merging into 55mph traffic. The car is now in the shop and we are awaiting a diagnostic. This is very dangerous and if not corrected should cause these cars to be taken out off the road.

- Salinas, CA, USA

problem #11

Sep 102019

Sonata

  • 53,000 miles
If the vehicle is left in drive and turned off it will roll backwards. I got out of the driver seal and the wife was in the passenger seat and turned the vehicle before she got because she was on the phone. The vehicle rolled in the road way, thankfully nothing happened to anybody. According to the dealership the newer models do not do this.

- Swansboro, NC, USA

problem #10

Jul 252019

Sonata

  • 69,000 miles
My vehicle is under 70,000 miles. I was informed by the dealer service department it needs a new transmission. The transmission is not shifting properly and has caused the vehicle to stall on the road on a couple of occasions. The vehicle is making a grinding/clicking noise when it shifts. The dealer is not honoring the power train warranty from the manufacturer.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #9

Jul 012019

Sonata

  • miles
I received a recall notice in the mail on 06/27/19 stating that I needed to bring my car in to have the computer updated to protect the engine from excessive connecting rod bearing damage. I went in to have the service done on 7/1/19. When I came to pick it up the representative told me that the update may or may not have resolved the issue and that my car at any time in the future could go into what they called safe mode. He explained what that was and I truly did not want to take the car home. I no longer felt safe driving it. I contacted customer care by phone, corporate by email and have been told the same thing over and over again. They can only do something if the car malfunctions. I had scheduled a trip to montgomery the day after I had taken my car in to take my 80+ year old parents to see my sisters new home. I ended up having to rent a car because I did not want to take the chance on ending up stranded on the side of the road with my parents. There is apparently a harness that they can put on if the car malfunctions and I do not understand why they do not just do that if there is a possible problem that could occur. I no longer feel safe in my vehicle and feel that I will have to rent a car every time I have to travel. I feel totally helpless in this situation.

- Pace, FL, USA

problem #8

Jan 012018

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 15,494 miles
The contact owns a 2017 Hyundai Sonata. While driving various speeds, the accelerator pedal was depressed; however, the vehicle hesitated while making a left turn. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was taken to gerald Hyundai of North Aurora (209 hansen blvd, North Aurora, il 60542, (877) 781-4106) and napleton's valley Hyundai (4333 ogden ave, Aurora, il 60504, (630) 851-2500) to be diagnosed, but the failure could not be duplicated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and provided case number: 15823638. The contact was referred to the local dealer. The failure mileage was 15,494. Consumer stated this problem happens about every other month. Car feels like its going to stall at the red light when you pusjh on gas pedal. Noes not go for a few seconds. Car starts every time and runs otherwise.

- Oswego, IL, USA

problem #7

Mar 192019

Sonata

  • 0 miles
Campaign 953 I received a recall notice by mail for the knock sensor detection system software update and it was completed on 03/19/2019. The vehicle doesn't accelerate past 20 mph, jerks and hesitate. I contact the Hyundai dealer service department and told them about the problem and gave me an appointment for the next day. The vehicle was inspected and I was advised that the vehicle is not safe to drive, will not provide me a loaned vehicle and will not cover a rental. My wife just gave birth to our son on 03/21/2019 and we were depending on this vehicle to Transport the baby from the hospital to our home. I was basically forced to purchase another vehicle with another company, because the Hyundai representative could not give me a date or an approximation of when the vehicle will be fixed. I still owed $3500 and still paying insurance for it. I need help.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #6

Feb 122019

Sonata

  • 26,900 miles
The contact owns a 2017 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 65 mph, the contact noticed the gear would shift into second, third, fourth, and back into first gear without warning. The vehicle was taken to all star Hyundai (3950 century ct, pittsburg, ca 94565, (925) 778-7878) to be diagnosed, but the cause of the failure could not be determined. The dealer updated the software for the transmission, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 26,900.

- Oakley, CA, USA

problem #5

Oct 182018

Sonata

  • 19,631 miles
Minor vibration on front end axle during initial acceleration started early during ownership, but increased over time with mileage and usage. Took into dealership where purchased for diagnosis, but could not isolate cause. Problem worsened over next couple of weeks, so took it back in to same dealership. Finally diagnosed the problem to be a missing circlip ("C" clip) that holds the cv axle in the transmission case. Without it, the axle itself was working its way out of the transmission case, and vibrating because of its looseness. Researched the problem and found that full separation of the axle from the transmission could result in uncontrolled behavior of car, and inevitable accident or worse. This was a manufacturing/assembly error, and could be a systemic problem in the assembly process. The repair was performed by the dealership under warranty, but this could present a dangerous risk to other 2017 Sonata purchasers, so I write this complaint as both a civic right and a responsible citizen. When discussing this issue with a Hyundai representative, I was told in blunt and no uncertain terms that the problem was resolved and there was no further action or discussion that was necessary. Our prior 2011 Hyundai's engine had seized at highway speed, and my wife lost all power steering and braking. Despite safety issues with both 2011 and 2017 Sonatas, there was no acknowledgement nor admission of accountability. I would like to be reassured that this axle circlip problem is acknowledged and rectified, as the greater safety of Sonata owners may be at risk. We personally now feel unsafe in the Sonata model, and only purchased a second one under the assumption that lightning doesn't strike twice... this is not so...

- Mclean, VA, USA

problem #4

Oct 182018

Sonata

  • miles
My vehicle was in park on my street. My husband was in the passenger seat. I exited the driver side of the vehicle and opened the driver side rear door. I kneeled on the seat to reach behind the passenger side seat to grab my laundry basket. The car began to roll backwards. We hit a vehicle directly behind us and ended up in our neighbors yard. We contacted the police and a tow truck was sent. The tow truck arrived from joyce's towing on mt. Nebo road in pittsburgh pa. The tow truck driver noticed that while the car was in park the wheels were spinning. The body shop in which we took our vehicle to, is having an issue trying to duplicate the problem. In the meantime, I do not feel that our vehicle is safe, and do not want to risk this incident happening again, being that it was an issue in 2011-2014 Hyundai Sonatas.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #3

Nov 222017

Sonata

  • 9,000 miles
My car has been hesitating and cuts off while driving. Whether I go 25 miles per hour or 70 my car continues to hesitate. When it hesitates I can rev the car with the accelerator to the floor but my car wont engage. I have to take my foot off the accelerator and hope my car re-engages or my engine will cut off and I have to restart it. I have had my car in the shop 5 times. 0N 11/22 orlando Hyundai replaced low pressure fuel pump. On 12/18 per the tech line says high resistance injector harness and fuel rail high pressure sensor needed replacing. On 12/23 the PCM has intermittent internal open circuit. The PCM was replaced and fuel line. 1/12-1/23/18 replace control harness and crank sensor. I placed my car into lemon law. I received a letter from Hyundai to bring my car in today 2/22 I was asked if I had any other problems and told them my car hesitated at odometer reading 10022 miles they check my car and was told my car has no issues found. John mc my service advisor drove my car with me in it he says he knows there is a problem and it hesitated on him and say but we don't know how to fix it. He said today we didn't recreate the issue so we believe your car is fixed. This car is a safety issue. This is the same problem I had with a 2015 Sonata. I traded that in for a elantra that was way to small for me and I traded for this 2017 Sonata. This car is a major safety issue. Not sure what to do. Hyundai needs to find out what wrong with this car so when this problem arises to another Hyundai a solution can be found. Just give me a new Sonata and I would be happy, I bought my car with 6 miles on it do the right thing Hyundai. It's awful scary at 70 mph to have this hesitation begin. What does it take for Hyundai to do something (have an accident?)

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #2

Jan 052018

Sonata

  • 800 miles
The contact owns a 2017 Hyundai Sonata. While parking the vehicle and shifting into reverse, the rear camera failed to display an image on the monitor. Also, the lights around the monitor and the gear shifter failed to illuminate. The contact stated that he was able to shift the vehicle into park. Upon attempting to shift back into reverse, the gear shifter failed to move. The vehicle was then turned off and restarted and operated correctly after a few minutes. The contact also mentioned that a rattling noise was heard in the front of the vehicle for 15 minutes after starting the vehicle and driving. The vehicle was not taken to an independent mechanic or dealer for diagnostic testing or repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failures. The failure mileage was approximately 800.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #1

Sep 052017

Sonata

  • 700 miles
Driving to work vehicle lost power in parking garage, during busiest time and lot of traffic in garage. Car felt like it was coasting, pressing the gas pedal and nothing, then floored the pedal and it revved up enough to get me up the ramp into a parking spot. Engine warning light came on. Thankfully this didn't happen on the freeway. Towed to dealership, they don't know what is wrong, the car is still in the shop.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA