10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,014 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #21

Jun 102021

Sonata

  • miles
The trunk will not open by any means, the button inside, the key fob, the mechanical key, the smart trunk open feature. Mine is the Hybrid and does not have fold down back seats. So there is no way to open it from inside or outside only via the inside of the trunk. It just has 28,045 miles. I called the dealer Bob King Hyundai and they did not know if it is under warranty and it will cost $130 just to look at it?

- Winston-Salem, NC, USA

problem #20

Apr 182018

Sonata

  • 3,000 miles
Back brake light bulb has been changed 10 times they go out repeatedly from side to side

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #19

Sep 042020

Sonata

  • 55,080 miles
While going down the highway, the vehicle's check engine, ABS, TPMS, traction control, air bag, electronic steering & emergency brake lights all came on simultaneously. & at that same time the speedometer & tachometer both dropped to 0, the digital display of the engine temp guage, gear setting & other onboard displays went down while the car was in motion on the highway. I was able to safely pull over to the shoulder but once the car was placed in park the shifter locked & I was no longer able to change gear settings.

- Newark, NJ, USA

problem #18

Aug 202020

Sonata

  • 49,560 miles
I own a 2017 Hyundai Sonata and this week the trunk release would not operate. In checking the release mechanism I discovered a plastic part in the trunk release mechanism had broken. The reason for this complaint is that broken part does not allow the trunk to open manually from the inside of the trunk. If a child of adult person was accidentally or purposely put in the trunk they would not be able to escape. Attached are a couple photos showing the trunk release mechanism with the yellow manual safety release and a photo showing the broken plastic part. This is a safety issue and consumers should not be force to pay to have this part replaced by teh manufacturer.

- Bonita Springs, FL, USA

problem #17

Jun 262020

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
Car gives warning message to "immediately shut off the car to prevent damage ".... this has happened numerous times and Hyundai doesn't seem to have a fix, and doesn't think its a safety issue. This is a safety issue particularly when you are in heavy traffic with no place to move over to shut off the car.

- Salem, OR, USA

problem #16

Mar 102020

Sonata

  • 84,000 miles
After a tire change the hazard light and tire light came on. I was advised to take it to the shop and see if the sensor needs to be reset. I took it in a shop and the tire light went away but the hazard light remained. After about a week with the hazard light on, I was driving in the morning around 7:30am the car started to brake itself while driving about 30mph on an austin town street. I pulled over due to risk of getting rear ended. I was able to drive about 10 feet before it did it again and I parked. The "check hybrid engine" light then came on. I sat for about 20 min and tried to turn it on and the "check hybrid battery light came on again and this time the car wouldnt turn on. I called a tow truck and had them tow it to happy hybrid in austin tx and was advised it may be my hybrid battery generator as my hybrid battery was at 5%. they could not fix it but it should be covered under warranty and I had to have it towed to the Hyundai dealership in South austin tx on South ih-35. It has been there now for 2 weeks and I am without a vehicle. The dealership stated this may be related to 2 recalls I have on my vehicle but they are not sure. I purchased this car February 2018 and it is now March 2020. Only 2 years.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #15

Jul 172019

Sonata

  • 58,000 miles
I bought the car used from a scam dealership. I had no idea that there was an engine recall in January until it turned off and on just one week after leaving the lot. I brought it back to them, obviously, they said it wasn't their problem. I then took it to college park Hyundai to have them update the knock sensor and diagnose the issue. After an extended road test, it was decided that my problem was an isolated incident. Yet I took it to other dealerships, and pretty much everyone says the same. My dash cam has recorded the moments when the car stutters and fails to accelerate before turning back on a couple seconds later. It has happened on curves and I have nearly drove off the highway due to this. It only happens when the car is reaching about 60mph. I live in md but work in va. I'm paying high interest for a crappy lemon car. I even contacted corporate Hyundai, and they just laughed and called me stupid for buying a used car...

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #14

Aug 182019

Sonata

  • miles
The trunk latch would not open. It would not respond with key fob, interior button, button under the handle or with the key. Forced it open once and then had to force it closed. Stayed closed until repair could be made. Hyundai would not cover cost or repair. There was no damage, short or anything else that would explain why this part failed except for cheaply made plastic part that wore out.

- Irmo, SC, USA

problem #13

Sep 012019

Sonata

  • 25,000 miles
Over the past month my car has been in the shop four times due to it malfunctioning while I am driving it - and that is not including when I took it in at the end of August because the trunk merchanism broke and it wouldn't close. The first time happened over labor day weekend when I was on a roadtrip, out of nowhere the car would not accelerate and, like others on the nhsa website have stated, it was very jumpy and wouldn't go past 45 mph. I took it to the dealer where they replaced a safety recall in the wiring system and it worked fine for a few days before it had the same problem again. When I took it to the dealer the second time they told me the engine needed to be replaced because the engine was essentially broken and there were little metal pieces inside. It took a week to replace and then everything was fine for a few days until yesterday. Yesterday the battery light turned on and the repair shop let me know the battery was in good health but low on charge so they charged it and it seemed to be working fine. Then this morning while on the highway all of the emergency service lights (check engine, check brakes, etc.) came on at the same time and the steering wheel locked up and it was undrivable. I by some miracle managed to pull the car over where I had to get the car towed to the dealer where I am awaiting to hear what is wrong. Do not purchase this car. After reading up on it apparently there seems to be issues with the engine and electrical system, that is extremely dangerous. I was lucky enough to not hit anyone but I could have been seriously injured all four times the car malfunctioned. All of these issues have been confirmed by the dealer to have been due to manufactural defects - something that is out of my control and shouldn't happen for a car that is under 26K miles.

- Downey, CA, USA

problem #12

Jun 272019

Sonata

  • 14,000 miles
I bought my car November 28, 2017. On June 27, 2019, the interior lights and the license plate light were inoperative. I've brought the car into the dealership I bought the car from three times, but they were unable to fix the problem. Now, my car has been in a different dealership for the past approximately two weeks, and it still hasn't been fixed. If I drive a vehicle without a functioning license plate light, I'm subject to a $30 fine. I've begun to assemble documentation for a lemon law complaint. I'm including the repair invoice for the first time I brought my car into the original dealership and the last time I brought the car into the original dealership. So please disregard the attachment information at the bottom of the forms.

- Brandon, FL, USA

problem #11

Jul 252019

Sonata

  • 24,598 miles
Trunk will not open, with dash button, trunk button, or key. Stationay with $173 perishible groceries inside, will be oderious by the time it gets to a shop. Parked in garage.

- Peck, KS, USA

problem #10

Apr 182019

Sonata

  • miles
After receiving recall mail, yesterday I left my vehicle at service. They gave me back my car and told me they have fixed it. After driving less than a mile the engine stoped and a yellow light turned on. Again left my vehicle at the same service, today I called them and told me that they will probably fixing it after receiving the part next week. If it won't get fixed they are planning to change the engine. Is this a normal process! and what happens to the value of the car if the engine changes?

- Santa Monica, CA, USA

problem #9

Mar 202019

Sonata

  • 20,000 miles
Wirring handss, engine red lights on and can't go over 55 miles, start to shake

- Reston, VA, USA

problem #8

Dec 202018

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
My car is a death trap, I have already been in one accident and too scared to drive it, it just sits in my driveway. When you make a left turn at say a red light the car go's about 5 feet and then stops for 3 seconds, people behind honk at you and then the car rockets forward, I have already been hit once and the other driver took off, so I was left with the bill. The dealership says they can't fix it, even though it has a powertrain warranty. Please tell me what I can do. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).'

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #7

Dec 102018

Sonata

  • 46,998 miles
I noticed immediately that the car seemed to drag during takeoff. On Monday upon crossing the bridge down lurlene B wallace blvd the car engine shut down in the middle of traffic.

- Tuscaloosa, AL, USA

problem #6

Jun 032018

Sonata

  • 5,000 miles
This is the plugin hybrid model. The lithium ion battery cannot be charged sometimes due to overheating condition. If this is not fixed, it might cause a fire or explosion. Sometimes, it will not let you charge. It will not even let you turn off the charge schedule to charge. Sometimes, it stops charging due to thermal problem. Hyundai is not taking responsibility to fix this. Attached photo documented that it did not allow me to switch off the charge scheduler to start charging. I hope Hyundai will address this problem before the car burns up or explodes.

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #5

May 272017

Sonata

  • 60 miles
Autonomous emergency braking system (aeb) does not work on streets or highway. I have 10 dash cam video's that show no alarms when coming up on stopped obstructions. Car has been in shop 3 times and dealer reports that there is nothing wrong with the cruise control and refuses to demonstrate that it is working normally. I will be happy to upload the video's however the file type is not one of your types below.

- Venice, FL, USA

problem #4

Jan 052018

Sonata

  • 800 miles
The contact owns a 2017 Hyundai Sonata. While parking the vehicle and shifting into reverse, the rear camera failed to display an image on the monitor. Also, the lights around the monitor and the gear shifter failed to illuminate. The contact stated that he was able to shift the vehicle into park. Upon attempting to shift back into reverse, the gear shifter failed to move. The vehicle was then turned off and restarted and operated correctly after a few minutes. The contact also mentioned that a rattling noise was heard in the front of the vehicle for 15 minutes after starting the vehicle and driving. The vehicle was not taken to an independent mechanic or dealer for diagnostic testing or repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failures. The failure mileage was approximately 800.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #3

Nov 212017

Sonata

  • miles
The contact owns a 2017 Hyundai Sonata. While the vehicle was turned off and parked inside the garage, the blue link system turned the vehicle on without warning. The vehicle was turned off. The dealer (murdock Hyundai murray, (801) 262-6401) was called, but made no mention of sending a technician from the manufacturer or if a provider of the blue link system would investigate the cause of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and did not provide diagnostic testing. The VIN and failure mileage were not available.

- Lehi, UT, USA

problem #2

Sep 162017

Sonata

  • 3,400 miles
On Saturday 9/16/17 I was at a stop light sitting still when my car stalled and went dead. I looked at the dashboard and saw the engine light was on. The brake was frozen and before I could restart the car it rolled into the vehicle in front of me. There no damage to her Jeep. However my car hit the spare tire and rack on the back of her trunk, causing damage to the hood of my car, the grill and lower bumper. We did not exchange information, as she did not have damage to her car, so she left the scene. I drove the car home (2 miles from my house) and called the dealership. They told me to bring the car in. I brought it in the same day. Raymond, the service agent came outside to survey the damage and I told him what happened. He went to talk to the service manager and later came out and said they will take the car and put it on the machine to get a diagnostic reading to see why the car stalled. They gave me a loaner car and I left. On Monday, 9/19/17, I returned to the dealership after I got off work and was told by raymond that they could not find anything wrong thus far. He said he wanted to keep the car another day or two to take it for a drive and try to see if it would stall again. I agreed and asked raymond to also check the fuel injectors, fuel pump, fuel regulator, as my friend who is a car mechanic suggested to me that this can cause a car to stall also. He said okay. On today, Wednesday 9/21/17, raymond called me and said they took the car out for a drive and it did not stall, nor could they get a reading that anything was wrong when they put it on the machine. He said he could not understand why the car would stall. I asked for a diagnostic report and he said he could only give me a copy of the service ticket. I am afraid that this car could stall again and what if it happens while driving -- it could be much worst damage and bodily harm. Please help!

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »