10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
34,441 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #9

Aug 182021

Sonata

  • miles
Recall on my 2017 Hyundai Sonata was repaired 9/13/2019, purchased the vehicle with financing on 7/16/2021. On 8/18/2021, had vehicle towed back to the dealership and explained the issue. Engine knocking, tire pressure and engine lights on, frequent stalling, turning off, smell of gas and something burning, loss of power to the engine, car could not accelerate to 60 MPH. The dealership had my car till 9/20/2021, power train warranty was denied and voided, no loaner car was given, was not offered any reimbursement for car rental by dealership and Hyundai corporate. Although car is included in Theta class action lawsuit. I was correct about issue with engine, but the dealership replaced engine with used parts. No later than five days after having my car back, the engine and tire pressure lights came back on, car is tugging, and the engine noise is louder. I don-t believe that they replaced the engine with OEM parts.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #8

Aug 312021

Sonata

  • miles
On August 31st 2021, While driving my 2017 Hyundai Sonata PHEV on interstate 95 the check engine and hybrid system warning lights came on and the car simultaneously lost power for 3-4 seconds, which caused a decrease in speed from 65 to approximately 50 mph. There was a tractor trailer behind me but thankfully it braked to avoid striking my car. The car regained partial power and I was able to drive it home. I took the car to the dealership to have it repaired. The dealer diagnosed a faulty battery management system, and replaced this component after 17 days. On September 25, while driving on a street the car once again lost power for 3-4 seconds, with the check engine and hybrid system lights simultaneously illuminated. There was a recall on my vehicle several years ago to prevent this dangerous problem. I had the car repaired at that time but clearly the problem was not fixed as my car has subsequently lost power on two separate occasions, in a manner that could have easily caused a crash.

- Old Lyme, CT, USA

problem #7

May 052021

Sonata

  • 40,000 miles
Car caught fire while driving on the freeway. Driver had only been driving the car for about 10 to 15 minutes. Got on freeway from downtown houston and was on freeway for less than 10 miles. Witness said car was on fire under vehicle in the rear of the hybrid vehicle. Driver pulled over to feeder of fwy and car would not go into park so he turned vehicle off and exited vehicle. Driver saw car was on fire and ran to safety.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #6

Apr 212021

Sonata

  • 80,067 miles
Had open recall, , an ECM update and wile Hyundai in columbia ct. And after it was done the car worked fine for about a week, now I'm lacking acceleration for miles per gallon has decreased 50% burning gas quickly plus is burning about a quart of oil a week, but there's no check engine light, change the spark plugs and air filter still the power has decreased 30%. I noticed that decrease in power when entering on to a highway and I tried to accelerate into traffic but it did not have any power at first until it started bucking and then it's finally getting some momentum. The spark plugs were changed but the problem still persist! still at this time the problem is unknown to

- Willimantic, CT, USA

problem #5

Feb 102021

Sonata

  • 61,600 miles
My 2017 Sonata has stalled while idling in drive. The car completely stopped at a red light; rpms dropped and it stopped. Prior to this happening, I had complained to my local dealer that when idling, it has dropped in rpms and felt like it wanted to cut off but did not...until today. At that visit, I had the fuel system serviced, as they thought that maybe this would help. That was approximately 2 weeks ago and now it has completely stopped at a light. I am taking the car back in as I am not certain what else it could be...maybe mass flow sensor? I have seen where the 2018 Sonata had a recall regarding hesitation/stalling issues and now I am wondering if the 2017 has issues as well. I am afraid to drive it in heavy traffic as now it may cut off on me and not start up again.

- Fletcher, NC, USA

problem #4

May 292020

Sonata

  • 72,000 miles
My car won't turn on when I turn the ignition key. It stays silent no click or anything indicating its trying to turn on. The vehicle is always stationary when this happens. It randomly does this and rarely it turns on when I turn the ignition.

- Bell, CA, USA

problem #3

Jul 202019

Sonata

  • 39,000 miles
While driving on the highway, a notice was shown on the dashboard that the hybrid system and cruise control system were no longer functional. The vehicle then started to accelerate, uphill, without the gas pedal being engaged. The vehicle was taken off the highway and when coming to a near complete stop the vehicle stopped working completely. After restarting the vehicle and driving it to a safe place to park a notice indicated the breaks were no longer functional. The car was subsequently towed. The vehicle has had numerous repairs since and is still experiencing the same issue(s) as of 12/05/2019.

- Kenosah, WI, USA

problem #2

Mar 252019

Sonata

  • 17,000 miles
For some period of time, now, I have lost engine power, while in motion. It happens sporadically when I cannot press the gas pedal for continuous motion forward. This has been happening on a highway as well as city streets. It pauses when I press the gas pedal and the delay is momentary. Lately when starting the car for the first time in the morning I hear continuous knocking until I drive for several miles, then it dissipates.

- Elmhurst, NY, USA

problem #1

Oct 162016

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 300 miles
The contact owns a 2017 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle shut down without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the vehicle was operating as designed. The failure recurred with a loud noise and the vehicle was taken back to the dealer. The contact was given a loaner vehicle. The dealer diagnosed and replaced the fuel pump. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and promised to have an agent call the contact. The failure mileage was approximately 300. Updated 08/22/2017

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA