10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,793 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Hyundai Tucson:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #29

Jul 312023

Tucson

  • miles
Driving vehicle home from work a 7 mile commute driver front rotor and passenger rear rotors caught fire. Called fire department to ensure preventive measure of entire car catching fire. It appears both corners have fused pads to rotors creating high friction. No check engine lights or ABS light notifications on dash to warn of issue. Brakes and rotors replaced approximately 2 years ago and 25k miles with zero issues. Brake master reservoir is only low about 1 ounce of fluid with no signs of fluid leak on floorboard or firewall of vehicle. Abs module appears to have no fluid residue or leaks either. Have not checked fuses as of yet for failure.

- West Park, FL, USA

problem #28

Aug 262018

Tucson

  • miles
I have a 2016 Hyundai Tuscon Limited Turbo which I bought USED in August of 2018. The same week I left the lot I returned multiple times complaining that the car was hesitating and seemed like the transmission was having problems. The car would hesitate to go from a stop, several times leaving me and my infant (at the time) in the middle of intersections crossing traffic and unable to move. It almost got us SLAMMED multiple times. I explained this to them and they just kept telling me it was because of the turbo. I said NO ONE in their right mind would manufacture a car that goes fast at the cost of safety. That was insane to me but they kept sending me home. I returned over and over and over again for the entire 1st year I had the car with no resolution. Eventually, I also discovered issues if I had to brake hard, several times almost running into the back of people and on 08/08/2020 I actually DID slam into the back of someone. I got to eat the cost of the insurance claim - only later to find out that there was a recall on the ABS system which I believe caused the accident. In 2020 when the transmission died, they replaced it under warranty. It took 49 days to replace, meanwhile I have an infant and riding a bus and riding my bike everywhere because the dealer did not help me with a rental or loaner. Then a year later in the middle of 2021 the engine died which they replaced under warranty, this time providing me with a rental for only a short time of the month long situation. Also racked up tow and tow storage bills exceeding $500 because it broke down on a major road in the middle of the night. Now, on 03/11/2023 I heard a sound coming from the engine which sounded like a cat screaming, coupled with severe hesitation when trying to accelerate. Took it to the dealer and they refuse to fix it, said the warranty company declined it. Called Hyundai Corporate and they said the same thing. Called warranty company and they said NO ONE EVER SUBMITTED A CLAIM!!!!!

- Margate, FL, USA

problem #27

Aug 162022

Tucson

  • miles
2 separate issues - oil is being consumed at alarming rate- not burning off and not leaking just disappearing at a rate of a quart every 200 miles -brake pedal is vibrating and clicking up while breaking, then goes straight to floor causing driver to release brake and then repress while stopping

- New W, CT, USA

problem #26

Jun 092022

Tucson

  • miles
I have made multiple complaints to Jenkins Hyundai of leesburg about my car hesitating and not going like it should and almost causing multiple accidents because it wouldn-€™t go when it should. However, they stated nothing was out of the ordinary and to just drive it in sport mode. Well I-€™m December of 2020, the turbo went out while driving home. They then wouldn-€™t fix it until I had a friend state that her dad worked at a diff location and that it was covered under warranty. They told me they had to do an investigation to see if it was covered under warranty or not. They kept my car for a few weeks before I got a phone call on New Year-€™s Eve stating my car was ready for pick up. Meanwhile, there was an active recall with the brakes from September of 2020, that they in fact did not fix while having my vehicle there. Fast forward to June 9, 2022, and my turbo went out again and there is water mixed with the oil in my car. I have made multiple reports along with others on the transmission issues and now making a report on the turbo. These vehicles are not safe, I don-€™t understand why they have not been recalled for these issues.

- Fort Mccoy, FL, USA

problem #25

Oct 102019

Tucson

  • 39,055 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Hyundai Tucson. The contact stated while driving 55-60 mph, she heard an abnormal noise. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The contact stated that she was able to park on the side of the road before the vehicle was seized. The vehicle was not drivable. The contact towed the vehicle to her residence. The vehicle was then towed to the local dealer, where it was diagnosed with needing the engine to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, started to experience failure with the brakes. The contact took the vehicle to the local dealer and was informed that the VIN was associated with NHTSA Campaign Number: 20V543000 (Service Brakes, Hydraulics). The dealer completed the recall repair however, the failure with the brakes recurred. Additionally, the rear driver-€™s side door failed to open. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was 39,055.

- Pueblo, CO, USA

problem #24

Jun 252021

Tucson

  • miles
Sensor default, ABS on dashboard, acceleration on dashboard, oil lights default on dashboard, electrical problems, and radio default. My vehicle is still under warranty however im trying to figure out will warranty cover for all of the problems within my vehicle.

- Oberlin , LA, USA

problem #23

Apr 102021

Tucson

  • miles
This vehicle is under recall for its antilock braking system. I brought the vehicle to a dealership on 10 April for the repair. They didn't have the necessary parts in stock. When I called back two months later. Still no parts. It's now been more than 5 months. Which I believe to be proof that the dealership is "unable to remedy the defect within a reasonable time." Instead of responding to calls, Jim Ellis Hyundai of Atlanta (5785 Peachtree Blvd, Atlanta, GA 30341) puts me on hold indefinitely. I'd really like to be able to use my garage again.

- Sandy Springs, GA, USA

problem #22

Mar 012021

Tucson

  • miles
Towne Hyundai, denville, NJ, has been giving me the runaround since March 2021, when I first contacted them about the recall. Three conversations over the next several month got me nowhere. They said they dont have parts. I even contacted their coprporate headquarters, with no results.

- Berkeley Heights, NJ, USA

problem #21

Mar 222021

Tucson

  • 62,000 miles
Received recall letter. Called dealer where purchased and spoke with service department. They said they needed to order the part (for this very important recall where I was advised not to drive the car) and they would call when part arrived. That was on 3/22/2021. They advised it would take 2 weeks. Today is 4/29/2021 and I have not heard from them. I called the service department and was placed on hold. They came back online and asked if I wanted to leave my name and number and someone would call me back. I said "no" because I knew no one would call me back and was placed on hold again. During this time frame I have received repeated mail from Hyundai wanting me to trade in my car for a new one. They again came on the line and said "no one was available to take my call". I hung up. So now I have a vehicle I was advised not to drive and no way to have the recall taken care of.

- Brooksville, FL, USA

problem #20

Mar 102021

Tucson

  • 67,000 miles
Multiple sensors and lights on the dash are illuminated, including the airbags, brakes, traction control, hill assist, tire pressure, etc. I've been told that this is related to a vacuum pump issue. Other Hyundai are under recall for this same issue, but my VIN does not show up as covered. This is an extreme hazard as the car is not functioning properly, and if the sensor are not functioning, properly, there is no guarantee that the airbags or other safety systems will function as intended with this underlying problem. The recall needs to be expanded to include all of the 1.6 Tucsons, as it's obviously an issue across the manufacturer and multiple models. This problem happens when the vehicle is in motion, and these systems engage randomly causing the vehicle to function poorly. Additionally this affects emissions.

- Takoma Park, MD, USA

problem #19

Mar 012021

Tucson 4-cyl

  • miles
NHTSA recall #20V-543 relates to my 2016 Hyundai Tucson. The ABS modules can corrode internally and cause an electrical short and engine fire.the dealership says it is out of the parts needed. I called Hyundai customer service and was told they have no way to track the inventory to find out where I can go for the repair! how can I find out when the parts will be available and where? thanks, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #18

Mar 192021

Tucson

  • miles
My husband made called our local Hyundai dealer, we bought are car from them.my husband made an appointment for oil change and to fix the recall on our 2016 Hyundai..my husband went at his appointment time, after oil change was done, the gentleman who spoke to my husband about not fixing the recall problem he was very rude disrespectful to my husband the guy said to my husband call us in 2 weeks maybe we can fix it then, my husband told the gentleman 2 weeks is along time to wait on such a serious recall concerning the brakes, again very rude the gentleman I'm not calling you, you call us..now I'm afraid to drive my own car because what can happen with the brakes.I don't know where another Hyundai dealership is close to me..I shouldn't have to find another, I shouldn't have to look for another Hyundai and I shouldn't have to wait 2weeks to get the issue fixed..so I won't drive my car until the issue is fixed..I shouldn't have to wait 2 weeks or longer.im disgusted how Hyundai treated my husband with such disrespect..something needs to be done on how they treat customers, and brush off how serious the recall is.I will never buy a Hyundai vehicle again.thank you

- Shelton, CT, USA

problem #17

Feb 152021

Tucson

  • miles
Received a recall (campaing 195) notice from Hyundai for tuscon models 2016-2021 for ABS. The notice was for a 2016 tuscon which was traded for a 2021 tuscon but no mention of a recall for the 2021 "?"

- Palm City, FL, USA

problem #16

Feb 182021

Tucson

  • 100,000 miles
The car seems to be acting as if there is an electrical fault. All of the safety sensors on the car are flashing and the power steering does not work. My wife and I currently are stationed overseas in italy and the Hyundai dealership said to take it to hyuandai for repair. The Hyundai dealership here refuses to touch it or even reply to us. The vehicle is not driveable.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #15

Sep 042020

Tucson

  • miles
The recall information said that for my model year of vehicle the service procedure hasn't been developed yet. The recall was in early Sept.; it's now almost the end of February. What is a reasonable amount of time? you said if they don't resolve it in a reasonable amount of time to file a complaint.

- Ankeny, IA, USA

problem #14

Jan 302021

Tucson

  • miles
This model has a recall for its ABS system due yo engine fires the vehicle has been taken to the deaker and we have been told there is no resolve for this issue yet Hyundai issued a recall and the only way we foynd out was to go online and look it up now they say they want us to drive this vehicle with the recall issue until Hyundai figures out yhe issue this is absolutely unacceptable our safety is far more import we are both disabled and need a reliable vehicle to get to dr. Appointments please help to resolve said issue thank you the battles

- Lake City, FL, USA

problem #13

Sep 042020

Tucson

  • 29,000 miles
In September 2020 we were advised by Hyundai not to park our vehicle in our garage or near a building due too a fire hazard. It is now mid-January and they still have not come up with a fix for this problem. See https://autoservice.hyundaiusa.com/campaignhome/campaign/index and attached.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #12

Jan 112021

Tucson

  • miles
I called Hyundai on South boulevard this morning and spoke to a tech who told me that the recall rememdy is not available yet. This is scary. He did mention that I can rent a venhicle and Hyundai would reimburse me, but I live on social security and cannot afford a rental. This is unacceptable

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #11

Dec 042020

Tucson

  • 100,000 miles
When the unit is in drive or reverse in any driveway the tracking lights turns on unexpectedly and blocks the brakes and is impossible to be moved.

- Cabo Rojo, PR, USA

problem #10

Dec 222020

Tucson

  • miles
Estava com minha familia a caminho da fisioterapia quando comecou a pegar fogo no carro na parte da frente! a sorte foi que uma oficina que estava perto me mim tinha extintor E me ajudou a apagar O fogo!

- Newark, NJ, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »