7.7

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$400
Average Mileage:
53,650 miles
Total Complaints:
45 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. not sure (25 reports)
  2. replace dashboard (17 reports)
  3. re-glue leather to dashboard (3 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #45

Oct 012019

Grand Cherokee Overland 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles

You pay for a high end package and expect expert workmanship.

- Andrew S., Puyallup, WA, US

problem #44

Sep 022020

Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,158 miles

click to see larger images

leather bubbling on dashboard

I recently called Daimler Chrysler to investigate the issue with my dashboard bubbling. After speaking with the dealership they told me that the extra warranty had expired and they cannot help me as a relates to having the dashboard fixed at the manufacturers expense. They told me to contact Chrysler customer care. I called Chrysler customer care and even though I’m having the same dashboard issue that was covered under the extended warranty - in my opinion, a recall - because this is a known issue on the manufacturer dime and Chrysler refuses to go ahead and cover my bubbling dashboard.

- Ryan H., Scituate, MA, US

problem #43

Jul 082020

Grand Cherokee Summit 5.7L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

I purchased their top of the line luxury interior package and it looks horrible. In 2014 we certainly are capable of manufacturing products like a dashboard and have it last the life of the vehicle. The reality of Jeep not willing to support the repair of the very visible problem sucks. I will not buy another Jeep or Dodge vehicle. I have owned 5 Chrysler products prior to this Jeep and never had this problem.

- Lenny D., Garden City, NY, US

problem #42

Jul 012020

Grand Cherokee Summit 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,059 miles

I've bought the Summit model, top of the line. This is a factory defect and it's a shame FCA (or Fiat) does not fix it without extra cost. They asked me 2000€ and this is incredible. I will never buy a Jeep again as long as FIAT is handling it (and I'm Italian!).

- Matteo C., Castel San Pietro Terme, Italy

problem #41

Nov 192020

Grand Cherokee Overland 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,200 miles

FCA noted a problem with leather dash coverings delaminating on Jeep Grand Cherokee models manufactured 2011 through 2014. TSB 23-036-19 was issued by FCA on 12/18, 2019 for an extended warranty that ended in June 2020. To file a claim you had to note delamination during this period and work with your dealer for proper documentation and filing of the claim. If you did not have delamination then your dash was performing properly. Our 2014 Grand Cherokee first showed dash delamination on 11/19/2020. Contacted our dealer who took information and contacted FCA and was told that someone would be contacting us. No contact from FCA. Contacted FCA Customer Service on 12/30/2020 and opened Case Number 78075933. Felt that the dash should be covered as a minimum by the Premier Warranty that we purchased for the vehicle when originally purchased. Someone would contact us. Contacted FCA Customer Service on 1/8/2021 to get a status update on the claim. Status was unchanged and someone would contact us. Contacted FCS Customer Care on 2/18/2021 and was told no status change and that we should work this through the dealer and FCA Area Manager. Contacted Service Manager Dave Knetter at dealer and he took information to contact the FCA Area Manager. Received a call from Dealer Service Manager on 2/19/2021 that FCA Area Manager was OK with the claim, but final disposition would come from the Case Manager. The Area Manager emailed the Case Management group to contact us. Received a voice message from Brittany of Customer Care that case was declined on 12/30/20 (same date taken opened) because it was made outside of the TSB extended warranty period (ended in June 2020). Funny how we weren't told that it was denied on earlier status checks. Contacted dealer to let him know case was denied and he informed me that the premier warranty did not cover trim. End of of covered replacement effort. Did not get a confirmed estimate other than cost for replacement dash is over $2,000.

Did some follow up investigation and have found that leather dash delaminating is still a problem on later models outside of the original 2011 through 2014 years. Some claimants from 1/2020 are still waiting to receive their replacement dashes. In general FCA has done a poor job of handling this issue from our perspective. The vehicles affected are what would be considered the top of the line for the brand. It is a

shame that they are content to showcase something that looks so bad. We are hoping that there will be some kind of resolution to this problem.

- Jane H., Weston, US

problem #40

Jan 152020

Grand Cherokee Summit Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles

The problem is delamination of my leather Dash on a 2014 Grand Cherokee Summit Diesel. it initially started to bubble up last year and I found out today that they had a warranty extension for this exact problem.

There was a service bulletin that I found on the Internet that read as follows: leather instrument panel covering delamination X 81 warranty extension. I was told by my dealership in Stuart Florida that there was nothing that can be done other than ordering a new Dash for $3500. I never received any notice about this warranty extension. The dash was bubbling up and eventually had giant wrinkles.

I bought the highest end Jeep for $55,000 and I am shocked if they do not stand behind their product. I am a physician and I have indoor parking so it is indoors all the time. I did put some weight on there after hearing the dash up in an attempt to temporized the situation. I certainly do not want to spend $3500 on a new Dash when it should be taken care of. I found out there are Jeep forums and this is a very common problem that apparently thousands of vehicles were fixed because they received the warranty extension however I never received it and I find this to be very unfair.

If anyone has any ideas on how I can pursue this issue, It would be greatly appreciated. Obviously when it bubbles up even more, it blocks the defrosting vents and clearly decreases the value of the vehicle. I baby this car so much that it is almost like a new car with the exception of a big bob old folded leather Dash. I'm very disappointed. Overall I've been very happy with my Jeep Grand Cherokee. I have had others that have been very good as well. Thanks for any help!

- Mark P., Stuart, Florida, US

problem #39

Jul 012021

Grand Cherokee Overland 4x4 Hemi 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles

click to see larger images

leather bubbling on dashboard leather bubbling on dashboard leather bubbling on dashboard leather bubbling on dashboard leather bubbling on dashboard

Here we go again with the same problem that I thought was that I thought was fixed 3 years ago when Mopar agreed to work with me. I'm replacing the dashboard at a discounted rate because my wife sounded right because my warranty had just expired... I am trying to get a hold of Mopar again to see if there is anything that can be done because this is ridiculous. My truck is paid off now but when I paid for it it it was 63000 and I should not be going through this problem with a freaking dashboard.

I have tried calling Mopar and something is messed up in their system with our information and they cannot identify or verify we are who we say we are. They told us to call the dealership to make sure that they had the correct information which they had, which I did and they had the correct information. Whatever the case needs to be fixed so I can get to the bottom of this once and for all. Well, that's one time for all. Has anyone successfully had the dash repaired at a Leather shop outside the dealership and had any luck? I would love any feedback - thank you.

- Phyllis H., Humble, US

problem #38

Jul 012017

Grand Cherokee Overland 4x4 Hemi 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,999 miles

I was told to call Mopar to see what kind of help they could provide. At 1st they told me to come up with $900 - they would replace the dash and cover the rest. Then after complaining about how much was spent on the vehicle which was 63000 and only 3 years old and warranty barely expiring they finally came down to 600. Then complain some more about how much money was spent on the vehicle and that this should not be happening 3 years in the making so they told me to come up with $384 as the final agreement so July of 2017 the dash was replaced. In the process of replacing the Dashboard they damaged trim pieces and console and side trim so they had to replace that as well..

Here it is, July of 2021, and the dash is buckling again the same exact way. I have tried calling Mopar and I'm having trouble getting through to them to complain. I will enter another complaint for the second occurrence.

- Phyllis H., Humble, US

problem #37

Sep 042019

Grand Cherokee Overland 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

There was an extended warranty on the replacement of this item. I was never notified of this and therefore lived with it because it would involve spending money to repair and it was not a safety issue.

I would like to see a better communication system or an accountable system of communication.

I receive recall notifies through the mail, why not extended warranty information?

- Bear L., Moody, AL, US

problem #36

Apr 012020

Grand Cherokee Summit V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles

The leather cover on the dashboard needs to be replaced.

- Edwin G., Muskogee, US

problem #35

Oct 022018

Grand Cherokee Overland Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

click to see larger images

leather bubbling on dashboard leather bubbling on dashboard leather bubbling on dashboard leather bubbling on dashboard leather bubbling on dashboard

I paid thousands of extra dollars for the upgraded overland package for it to turn into this within a couple years. The dealership stated since its out of warranty there's nothing they can do, but I will be pursuing this since it is an obvious manufacturer defect. Any help is appreciated.

- Nik N., Fort Lauderdale, US

problem #34

May 132018

Grand Cherokee Summit 5.7L Hemi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

click to see larger images

leather bubbling on dashboard leather bubbling on dashboard leather bubbling on dashboard

Well a few months after i purchased this expensive honk of sh*t i noticed the first bubble on the passenger side. Then after work on day out of the blue i got on and noticed it was significantly more bubbled up and completely shrinking from the driver side by the windshield.... why the F+×k can't Jeep/Chrysler fix their "defective low quality at high price piece of sh*t dash" with out charging me for it???

- Irving O., Fort Worth, US

problem #33

Nov 012018

Grand Cherokee Summit 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

Another dash bubbling in New Jersey. I agree at the price point paid for this model, this quality issue is unacceptable.

- Dan F., Midland Park, NJ, US

problem #32

Jan 022017

Grand Cherokee Overland 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles

Car is out of warranty and the dash is not only bubbling, it has completely separated from the vent near the front windshield and continues to separate.

- ensac1, Atlanta, US

problem #31

Jul 012019

Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles

Dash looks really bad with the leather bubbled up like this. I’m not sure how much worse this will get.

- Carlos T., Palm Harbor, US

problem #30

Sep 072015

Grand Cherokee Overland V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles

click to see larger images

leather bubbling on dashboard

My husband and I bought this SUV (no miles) brand new. When you pay $50, 000 for a vehicle you expect it to be nice and last you a good while. I never expected the dashboard to start bubbling a year into owning it. We keep the Jeep in the garage when not in use. When we inquired about the dashboard from the dealership we bought it from we were told that it was not part of the warranty. As a matter of fact it was cosmetic and we would have to pay to fix it ourselves. I was extremely outraged by this! Well 5 yrs later we still haven't gotten it fixed and its getting much worse. I'm hoping that enough people get together and a lawsuit will emerge and it will force them to do something!!!!

- Michelle M., Slidell, LA, US

problem #29

May 102019

Grand Cherokee SRT V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

Really upsets me how Jeep is handling this situation. How can a $70,000 to $80,000 car do this? Bubbling of the dashboard and nobody with Jeep do anything about it. It is a defect in the dash and Jeep should replace or repair at no cost to the owner. I could understand if it was wear and tear or neglect on the consumers part but all these people and complaints, it's not wear and tear or neglect. Its a defect in the dashboard with the glue or whatever holds the POS together!! This should have been a recall sent out and repaired by Jeep!! I will definitely reconsider even looking at the Jeeps next time I go to purchase a vehicle if this is the kind of service their customers get! Sorry but not sorry!!

- mcalisterd, Beckville, US

problem #28

Apr 012018

Grand Cherokee Summit V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

The leather on my 2014 Summit Jeep Grand Cherokee has been peeling off of the dashboard. I did a quick search online to figure what others have done to repair the issue. I came across multiple online forums where many other Summit owners reported the exact same issue. I want to add my own experience with this problem so that my situation is accounted for too. I'll certainly bring this issue to the attention of a Service Adviser upon my next visit to the dealership.

- Eric P., AUSTIN, TX, US

problem #27

Oct 102017

Grand Cherokee Summit 3.0L Ecodiesel V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles

click to see larger images

leather bubbling on dashboard

Purchased a Jeep Grand Cherokee Summit with a Leather Dashboard in 2015, new. After a few years in a garage kept environment, the leather dashboard began to wrinkle. This seems to be a common problem as many people online have complained about this issue. Im afraid that the wrinkling could affect air bag deployment as this covers the airbag area. Jeep Chrysler and the dealership said that no warranty would apply to this as its wear and tear. This is a $50,000 Jeep with less than 40k miles. I expected much better from Jeep. #jeep #summit #leather

- Robert B., Miami, FL, US

problem #26

Apr 182018

Grand Cherokee Overland V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles

click to see larger images

leather bubbling on dashboard leather bubbling on dashboard leather bubbling on dashboard

Just bought this car a year ago and just like everyone else here I've got the same issue. Bubbling leather dashboar. Only 43k on the car and it's kept in a garage. Jury is still out if Jeep is going to do the right thing and replace it.

- Taylor P., Los Angeles, CA, US

Read the next 20 complaints »