10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
159,497 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #27

Oct 162020

Liberty

  • 150,000 miles
While cruising a 50 mph not on crews control the engine started racing with out pressure on the accelerator. When stopped in natural the engine went to 4000 RPM and surged +- 500 RPM.

- Eagle Point, OR, USA

problem #26

Apr 132020

Liberty

  • miles
My engine light it

- Victorville, CA, USA

problem #25

Jun 052019

Liberty

  • 1,650,000 miles
After fueling and starting the vehicle, it fails to accelerate for several minutes. Also when fueling it doesn't stop and will overflow onto the ground if you don't keep track of how much gas you are putting in. Another issue is that the vehicle shakes very badly when idle.

- Lenox, GA, USA

problem #24

Jun 072019

Liberty

  • 97,000 miles
My 2006 Jeep just stop working, came out of work and would not turn over, ECM box went bad on my Jeep. This is a common problem per my mechanic the on board ( brain ) computer ECU, ECM and ec box must be recalled or else this issue is on the purchasers like us. Fords had the same problem back in 96. Your part for May 2006 Jeep ECM can not be located anywhere in the United States, how is this possible"??????"

- Dearborn Heights, MI, USA

problem #23

Feb 122019

Liberty

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. While driving approximately 30 mph, the vehicle shut off without warning. The failure recurred several times. The dealer and manufacturer were not contacted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 45,000.

- Kingshill, VI, USA

problem #22

Nov 292018

Liberty

  • 152,500 miles
While driving about 55mph on 95 South (4 lanes of trafic), the front of Jeep jerk, shuttering, loud noice, immediately lost power engine light came on. I pushed on emergency blinkers and strong armed Jeep on an angle to the side of the road. Emergency assistance tow required. Dealer reporting catastrophic engine failure, now confirmed by second regionial consultant provided by Chrysler earlier this week. Agreed to replace engine. Concern that if Chrysler 3.7 engines have a historical problem a recall should be issued.

- Fairfax Station, VA, USA

problem #21

Aug 242018

Liberty

  • 116,000 miles
1. rust corrosion around the 3rd brake light cause brake light to fall out. It has to be held up by duct tape and is hilding up my inspection. 2. check engine light is reading implausible fuel volume level. Fuel gauge drops after 10 minutes.

- Stroudsburg, PA, USA

problem #20

Jun 092018

Liberty

  • 227,813 miles
6/9/2018 around 11:30 am engine - starts and stalls without warning. Was driving and slowed down to merge with traffic to enter the highway and engine shut down no warning. It started back up; however, the car behind me almost ran into the back of me - car behind me started blowing the horn continuously; although, flasher was turned on immediately. It occurred 3 more times within an hour - 2 times when attempting to park the vehicle and one time when on the highway and had to slow down as traffic came to a near halt. Very scary situation. About 5-6 months ago this occur about 5-6 times in heavy afternoon traffic due to an accident. Thought it was the gas; now I see it is occurring again. Has to be a bigger or more serious problem. Others are experiencing the same problem just look online. Can not afford to allow car to idle too long. Same vehicle where ABS, esp/bas, traction/anti-skid lights remain on even after installing a new clockspring and all four ABS sensors. Do not have any pictures to upload.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #19

Mar 012016

Liberty

  • 180,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. While driving various speeds, the vehicle misfired, suddenly lost power, decelerated, and the check engine indicator illuminated. Also, while driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The vehicle was towed to klaben Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram (1106 West main St, kent, oh) where it was diagnosed that the engine was damaged and needed to be replaced. The contact was informed that the engine lifter came out of the engine. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The failure mileage was 180,000.

- Deerfield, OH, USA

problem #18

Jul 262016

Liberty

  • 88,500 miles
On two different occasions while driving on the highway at 60 mph to 70 mph, the engine of the vehicle shut down completely, without warning, with the loss of all steering or control over the vehicle. On two other occasions, the engine shut down completely, without warning, with the loss of any steering or control over the vehicle, after exiting the highway and entering city traffic. That is a total of four engine shut downs or stalls while driving the vehicle. The dealer can find nothing wrong with the vehicle. We just bought the vehicle, and this is nerve-wrecking and dangerous to say the least. The engine shuts down after driving long distances, and has happened from driving distances of approximately 90 miles to 160 miles. If you wait approximately one hour, the vehicle will then start up again and run. But it will stall again with complete loss of power. Others on the internet have also experience this problem with Jeep 3.7 and 4.7 powertech Jeep motors. Our Jeep is a 3.7 motor. This appears to be the same problem as Jeep experienced with Jeep commander and Jeep Grand Cherokee models, which were recalled. This situation can obviously be life threatening. Chrysler Jeep should not be allowed to put life treating vehicles on the market and these Jeep must be recalled. We ask for your help in this matter before someone is seriously injured.

- Silver City, NM, USA

problem #17

Jan 082016

Liberty

  • 86,481 miles
Recalls on this car were not taken care of before being sold to the current owner. Information about such recalls were not disclosed before or during the time of sale. Small issues arose during the first few months of ownership. Recently, in January 2016 bigger issues have come about and now the engine must be replaced. This has all happened while the vehicle has been in motion.

- Westminister, CA, USA

problem #16

Sep 082008

Liberty

  • 60,000 miles
H. this car has required engine oil to be added every 50 to 100 miles without any evident smell or sight of leaking oil, also torque converter needed replacement experienced deceleration of speed while driving at 50 mph.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #15

Aug 182014

Liberty

  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. While driving 60 mph, the air conditioning blew hot air and steam emerged from the engine. The vehicle stalled. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road and towed to an independent mechanic. The failure recurred five times. The air compressor had to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 96,000.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #14

Jun 202015

Liberty

  • 53,079 miles
Parked vehicle after driving 20 min. Going about 70mph. After turning the car off, the car started steaming. I popped the hood to find coolant and water overflowing from the coolant reservoir. I got the car towed to the local mechanic who after doing extensive diagnostics to find the leak within the system. Took the manifold off the engine and realized it was caused by bad/ cracked heads on the engine connecting to manifold. A lot of this type of engine has this problem, seen by the local auto mechanic in vail valley, Colorado where Jeep are common. This is a manufacturer problem.

- Avon, CO, USA

problem #13

Jan 152015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 197,000 miles
3 times while driving on the saw mill parkway this morning in stop and go traffic, while coming to a stop the vehicle started to accelerate out of control. The brakes could not control it. The first time I put it in neutral and the engine reverted to idle speed and I was able to continue normally. A few miles later it did it again as I was coming to a stop in heavy traffic. This time when I put it in neutral the engine raced at full speed as if it was being floored. I had to turn off the key. When I restarted the engine it ran fine for a few miles until I was exiting the highway. Again when I slowed to a stop the engine raced at full revs. Going into neutral did not help. Turning off the key fixed it. At the end of the day after work the vehicle behaved normally. This Jeep has done this 3 times in the past, in January 2009, Feb 2012 and October 2014.

- Mount Kisco, NY, USA

problem #12

Nov 252014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 175,369 miles
When pushed to speed up at a fast rate and upon approaching 65mph or faster the service engine light flashes slowly. My mechanic found the code reader saying a misfire was happening. When that light flashes it starts to shake pretty bad. Determined that cylinder 1 has low compression. Only way to find out for sure what to do next is to tear down the motor which I do not have the money for that. Sad how waistful people are forced to be with vehicles. Its still pretty new!! we took good care of this Jeep maintaining it correctly since we got it with only 37K miles and has not had any problems till now. So this was a shock! before 37K miles I am not aware of this particular Jeep's engine repair history. Also this same Jeep had the clogged fuel line causing the tank to spill out while fueling up when it was not full yet.

- Caldwell, KS, USA

problem #11

Dec 122006

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl

  • 6,500 miles
Engine stalls, sputters, not drivable, no check engine light, dealer had no clue what was wrong. This condition continued on several other occasions and vehicle had to be towed to dealership.

- Laredo, TX, USA

problem #10

Jul 312014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that his vehicle was making a vibrating noise. When the hood was opened the coolant fan exploded. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 67,000. Updated 10/30/14 the consumer felt the vehicle was not properly inspected, only pictures were taken. When the fan exploded it took out the radiator and electric cooling fan. It also cut the forehead of the consumer's friend. The manufacturer took no responsibility. Updated 4/27/2015

- Crossville, TN, USA

problem #9

Jun 182013

Liberty

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, the vehicle stalled. The check engine, ABS and the traction warning lights also illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was shifted into the neutral and then placed into the drive. The vehicle resumed normal operations but the failure recurred shortly thereafter. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 140,000 and the current 165,000.

- Swainsboro, GA, USA

problem #8

Apr 022012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Dashboard lights for electronic stability control, and traction control come on and stayed lit until after turning the motor off. The systems don't seem to function when the lights are on. This occurs several times a month with no apparent reason, ie: Not slippery conditions, weather is variable. I noticed another driver said it happens when their lights are on. I always drive with my lights on, so I don't know if that is a factor.

- Grass Valley, CA, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »