10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
104,592 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Mercedes-Benz E320:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #54

Feb 132020

E320

  • 216,722 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Mercedes Benz E-320. The contact stated the brakes and spc warning light were illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the brakes and sensors were replaced however, the failure recurred. While driving at 35 mph the brake pedal was depressed however but failed to slow and stop the vehicle as designed. The contact used the parking brake to stop the vehicle. Additionally, the brake pedal fluctuated. The vehicle was taken to w.I. simonson Mercedes-Benz (1626 wilshire blvd, santa monica, ca 90403 (855) 677-2690), where it was diagnosed that the spc reservoir was defective, and hydraulic unit also needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not contacted nor informed of the failure. The failure mileage was 216,722.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #53

Jan 172020

E320

  • 120,645 miles
I have a 2003 E320 Mercedes Benz with sbc brake system. The company has admitted having issues with the system and has extended the warranty to 25 years on the sbc pump. My car has on about 4 or 5 incidents gave me a red warning on my dash to stop the vehicle and see workshop. Each time this happens my braking ability is significantly reduced to the point of needing a lot of distance to stop. I have had the brake system flushed, that worked for a while. Around January of 2018 the dealer updated some kind of software package. January 2020 the brake issue happen again. I am being told that unless a certain default code is indicated they cannot replace the pump. I told Mercedes customer service that how will I know that the next time my braking is reduced will be my last time that will cause death or property damage to other drivers or my self before this default code comes up, a code no one will tell me what it is. I was told that they understood my concern but until this default code comes up they cannot replace the sbc. I find that statement to be not consider of life and property damage on our national highways

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #52

Sep 042019

E320

  • 91,000 miles
Brake failure occurred with no prior warning. Brakes are electronically controlled and complete loss of braking occurred while vehicle was in motion. Red "brake" and "ABS" lights in dash started flashing along with continuous beeping. Was able to bring vehicle to a stop within parking lot by using parking brake. Upon shutting off and restarting engine, vehicle regained braking. Car will not be driven until issue is addressed.

- Torrance, CA, USA

problem #51

Jul 012019

E320

  • miles
Check engine light goes on and off for days at a time. Brake lights on dash stay on all the time ABS will also come on while driving and my car will stop. I have to force the car into park... pump my brakes the breaks make a sound and then they start working again.... there is a humming noice when I start my car as well as the seat belt light goes on and off even with my seals belt on.

- Hampton, GA, USA

problem #50

Oct 042018

E320

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Mercedes-Benz E320. While driving 60 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning while turning. The contact stated that all of the power windows became inoperative, as well as the horn and brakes. The vehicle continued to accelerate independently and was unable to be stopped. The contact had to apply the emergency brake to stop the vehicle. The contact stated that the battery and alternator warning indicators flashed on the instrument panel. The contact replaced the battery and the alternator, but the failure recurred. The battery was disconnected and reconnected several times in an attempt to correct the failure. A dealer and the manufacturer were not notified. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #49

Dec 072017

E320

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Mercedes-Benz E320. While driving approximately 50 mph, the brake pedal traveled to the floorboard without stopping or slowing the vehicle. The vehicle made a beeping sound and the stop engine and brake failure warning indicators illuminated. The dealer was called (Mercedes-Benz of brooklyn, NY, 718-258-5100) and the technician stated that the ABS was faulty and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer stated that there was no recall and referred the contact to NHTSA. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 140,000.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #48

Jul 082017

E320

  • 200,000 miles
I purchased my current vehicle 18 months ago used. This weekend the giant stop light came on asking me to take the car into the dealership due to defective brakes. It turns out it's the sbc pump which was recalled by Mercedes Benz. Except, Benz will not repair it as it's a 2003 and out of their 10 year rule. It's a $2100 I cannot afford and cannot sell vehicle with this issue as I fear it may cause harm to others. A friend suggested I ask for NHTSA's help as Benz is unwilling to stand by the recall and repair the safety issue.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #47

Mar 042017

E320

  • 96,000 miles
Brakes seeemed to working fine and out of no where at 65mph a red notification came on the dash saying "reduced braking effect/longer stopping distance visit workshop". Mercedes is aware of this because they extended the warranty on the sbc unit the is needed to safely operate the car but didn't do a recall and eventually stopped installing this part in the models. If the vehicle is 10 years old plan to shell out thousands since the part isn't covered and it is unsafe to drive because your brakes may go at any time. I have 96K on my vehicle and because it is over 10 years old the faulty part that the manufacturer knew about is not covered. The part is designed to malfunction at 300,000 compressions and this can happen at any time. This is unsafe and should be recalled! I hope someone doesn't have to die for Benz to do something about it!

- Dover, DE, USA

problem #46

Feb 222017

E320

  • miles
Mercedes dealer says that my VIN number is not under this recall. I bought the car on July 31,2009 and the recall for the brake pump came out in October 2009. I have had the car serviced at the same Mercedes dealer for 8 years and they have never told me about any recall. Is my car covered under this recall. I understand there is a 10 years limit on the recall and Mercedes has been regularly servicing my car since year 6 to year 10 I.e. @009 to 2013 and they have never mentioned any recalls in any of the times I have had the car serviced since July 31, 2009.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #45

Sep 122016

E320

  • 67,000 miles
I own a 2003 E320 Mercedes Benz with 67,000 miles. I took my car to a dealership and was told my sbc unit needs to be replaced. I was also told that the warranty on this component was extended but is now outside the extended warranty period. Why was not covered by a recall rather than just an extended warranty? this seems to indicate Mercedes is acknowledging a faulty component. This appears to potentially affect safety so I would hope Mercedes would be eager to replace the sbcs.

- Moraga, CA, USA

problem #44

Sep 012016

E320

  • 122,000 miles
I been driving Mercedes for passed 20 years but never experienced scary moment like this. Thursday 09/01/16 on my way home from work out of nowhere red brake warning light lid up my whole dash with big stop sign in the middle, flashing with esp and ABS saying visit workshop and I lost 90% of braking power.luckily, it happened on open road with cars far ahead of me. Pulled aside and after few restarts warning went off and I made it safely home without towing service, keeping my left foot close to emergency brake pedal. Google search revealed to my surprise very common problem with Bosch sbc units installed in this model. Is this even possible for one of the top names in the world to limit their service cycle to 300,000 brake pedal applications" are some of the top engineers involved out of their mind? Mercedes, is it safe to drive this car in highway speeds with two kids in it? would one of the engineers like to take my car on the autobahn now to proof their point? I believe the counter is up with 13 years and 122K miles of service because all other brake components checked fine. Unbelievable??? where is the safety recall??? ended in 10 years??" what a shame for both Mercedes and Bosch names.

- Lake Zurich, IL, USA

problem #43

Sep 052016

E320

  • 161,000 miles
ABS brake system failure. While operating the vehicle a warning light blinks in the cluster panel. Then the vehicle loses all braking power. On Monday September 5th, I was driving on the highway, 110th South bound 1 mile South from downtown los angeles, suddenly a warning light appear with the following message ¿brakes defective stop vehicle¿ the cars begins to downshift and it slows down. However the brake does not work in full. It appears that the brake works enough to come to stop after the vehicle has downshifted to the lowest gear. All braking ability is disable. After I research the code and narrow to the problem that I had, I noticed that merecedes Benz had extended the warranty for the ABS pump for these models for 10 years, since my vehicle is 2003 the warranty had expired on 2013. This is an electronic braking system so if an electric failure occurs there is no way to stop the vehicle. There is no manual brake power other than the emergency brake in order to stop this vehicle.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #42

Jul 282016

E320

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Mercedes-Benz E320. While driving 30 mph down an incline, a "brakes are defective" message appeared. The contact depressed the brake pedal, but the vehicle did not stop. The contact had to shift into neutral and apply the emergency brake lever to get the vehicle to come to a complete halt. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the sensatronic module for the brake system needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the failure was previously repaired per a voluntary recall. The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Baldwinsville, NY, USA

problem #41

Jul 122016

E320

  • 174,000 miles
Recently on today 7-12-16 at 174,000 miles the display on my 2003 E320 4S Mercedes Benz all of a suddenly displayed an illuminated message in bright white : "brake" service brake visit workshop. My vehicle was in motion on a busy major highway when the hydraulic brake system exhibited this message. Shortly prior to this messaging, I notice my brakes were more hard to apply pressure, . I am glad I wasn't driving fast, this could have been a serious tragedy to myself as well as those others on the expressway just a as I was. 2. problem with my gas tank after I fill the tank, the gas fumes become so intense after parking this vehicle inside my garage. I didn't know there were a recall. Is this fuel safety hazard recall still in effect" if so, whom do I contact to have it repaired at no cost to me the owner? 3. 4 months prior in March 2016 I incurred a problem with the coolant fluid leaking into the transmission resulting in a major monetary expense out of my pockets above $5000. Can this be covered by the manufactuer so I may be able to be reimbursed"

- Stockbridge, GA, USA

problem #40

Jun 252016

E320

  • miles
Sbc brake unit which control the brakes just failed when driving on highway, very limited braking, very scary when you are driving 70mph. I have read that this is major issue with Mercedes Benz, some kind of penalty should be assessed to them because this is a dangerous situation. It just cost me $2380.73 to get my car fixed and I understand this is a problem that will keep happening over and over again. Hopefully it's a situation that the ntsb can look into about this defected unit from Mercedes Benz. Thank you.

- Somerset, NJ, USA

problem #39

Apr 122016

E320

  • miles
The sbc unit for the brake system is bound to fail there was a 10 year recall on this but not all vehicle where done now Mercedes attitude is oh well bad luck pay us and we will fix our faulty part

- Hot Springs, AR, USA

problem #38

Mar 202016

E320

  • 108,000 miles
Sbc pump went out in the middle of the night, on a lonely, dark two lane road without any notice that there was a brake issue, approximately 200+ miles from my home. Message indicator in car started beeping and an emergency message displayed stating brake malfunction, stop vehicle. Car hardly any brake power and could not be driven over 35 mph. Pulled over and now car would not come out of park. Had to wait 3 hours for a tow truck! luckily I did not have my family with me of which includes small children!

- Hoover, AL, USA

problem #37

Jan 222016

E320

  • 144,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Mercedes-Benz E320. While driving at various speeds and attempting to depress the brake pedal, the brakes failed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the hydraulic pump failed and would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 144,000.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #36

Dec 232015

E320

  • 100,000 miles
The sbc brake unit failed while I was on vacation. The rest of the brake system works fine. Mercedes recalled this brake system and knew it was unsafe, however now they will not replace the part unless I pay and the cost is $2,500 per the dealer. Without it the car is garbage. It is an electronic braking system.

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #35

Nov 152015

E320

  • 120,000 miles
Brakes just when out on it and they have a recall but is good for just 10 they need to be respons for this problem making cars with no brakes is a deith wish I hope you guys do something about it is not safe at all

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »