9.3

really awful
Typical Repair Cost:
$3,330
Average Mileage:
79,750 miles
Total Complaints:
71 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. replaced transmission (44 reports)
  2. not sure (24 reports)
  3. new transmission (2 reports)
  4. rebuilt transmission (1 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Nissan dealer.

problem #71

Sep 262019

Altima SE 3.2L V6

  • CVT transmission
  • 141,000 miles

Transmission is garbage. I took the car in for recall work and was charged $3800 for a new transmission. New transmission is slipping and stuttering with less than 1000 miles on it. Don't trust a company that won't take care of their customers and stand behind their products. This was my first Nissan, and with the way their parts, products, and company are, I think it will be my last.

- Michael R., Bellevue, MI, US

problem #70

Nov 142019

Altima SV 2.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 59,030 miles

It just happened after the 5 years warranty passed, although within the 100,000 KM limit, but they will NOT cover. I was stuck in main traffic and had to call 911.

- Rick K., Toronto, ON, Canada

problem #69

Jul 192017

Altima SV 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

It was really frustrating, I have to pay to rebuild my transmission. I hope I can get reimbursed for the repair.

- Souleymane O., Fort Worth, Tx, US

problem #68

Jul 282021

Altima 2.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 74,565 miles

My 2013 Altima had a CVT failure two days ago. It died on the highway but I was able to drive very slowly home a few km away. The odometer was at 120,000 km. The engine light never turned on. Nissan paid to get my car towed to the dealership and told me the CVT needs to be replaced at a cost of $5,000. Nissan said that even with the repairs, there is no guarantee that the CVT will work reliably.

The car already exhibited symptoms of transmission failure a month before it died. I went to the dealership at that time to get a diagnosis and they said the car was perfectly fine.

The only option was to sell the Altima to a third-party mechanic for $1,000.

What upsets me, is that I asked Nissan if they would buy the car back and they never responded - they never offered me any options or solutions knowing that I was without a car - unable to travel just before a long weekend. Instead, they left it to me to figure out by myself, not offering a swap for a used car that they might have in their dealership with a discount. I bought and serviced my car for 8 years with them. Nissan has no customer loyalty.

Being from Canada, I could not participate in the class action lawsuit against Nissan. Nissan recognized their mistake in the US with the settlement, but Nissan Canada is not willing to help. Ironically, they periodically send recall notifications for the hood lock, but they keep silent on the CVT failures. I will never buy a car from Nissan again.

- Pascal F., Oakville, ON, Canada

problem #67

Jan 242020

Altima LX

  • CVT transmission
  • 150,000 miles

I had no idea that a class action lawsuit had been filed already and that the deadline was January of 2020. I am a female and me being naive I was totally unaware that my car was even manufactured with the CVT transmission. I assumed it had a normal transmission just like any other vehicle. And the salesman didn’t volunteer this information to me either. The transmission started stuttering and stalling and then just would not even go anymore. It left me stranded on the side of the road and I had to get a friend to pick me up then go back a day later to get the car. He said he barely made it to his house in it and afterwards the car never ran again. I am in hopes that another class action lawsuit will be filed and I can get in on it the next go around, if there is another lawsuit filed. I just wish I would have known of the class action that has already occurred and settlements reached. Not only was my car a total loss but as of now it looks as though the class action was my loss as well. Maybe not though. I am keeping my fingers crossed.

- ajellzey, Laurel, US

problem #66

Sep 012017

Altima

  • CVT transmission
  • 30,000 miles

Warranty covered a REBUILT transmission at just over 30,000 miles on the car. Transmission went out AGAIN at 71,000 Just over 2 years after the rebuilt transmission was done. Nissan will only cover 80%. Both times it happened on the highway. I was very lucky to be able to pull over safely. NOT HAPPY with Nissan!!! I bought the car brand new off the lot. It’s horrible!!!

- Patti G., Wilder, US

problem #65

Mar 102020

Altima SV 2.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 127,000 miles

My 2013 2.5sv Altima was seen by Nissan and supposedly had the transmission reprogramed in 2018 (no charge, they sent a notice and did with other recall and fixes under warranty). The car has been maintained well and there were no problems or warnings with the transmission until one day, after filling the tank the car seemed to sputter and almost stall when stopping. I thought it may be bad gas or had picked up something from letting the tank run so low. Later that day the car actually stalled twice while stopping and seemed to hesitate and shutter on acceleration. The next morning there seemed to be no problems. While leaving work later that day, the car seemed to "not engage" when pulling out of parking spot in reverse, barely moving. The car was very sluggish to take off in lower gears and seemed better in higher gears. There was also more jerking while stopping. I had the car taking to repair shop and they said it was internal and needed to be pulled apart to fully diagnose. I am still awaiting the final verdict, they said there was still a problem after the rebuild and test drive. Estimated cost of rebuilt transmission is at 3,400. Probably getting ripped off on the repair, but I am more upset if there should have been a recall, or if the "reprogramming" of the transmission was not a fix for the problem. Would love to see reimbursement from Nissan.

- Kevin R., Largo, FL, US

problem #64

Oct 052019

Altima SV 3.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 80,449 miles

My transmission went out in my car a week ago its a 2013 Nissan Altima. I use to take my car to Nissan dealer for oil changes thinking they check all of my fluids. I guess not the service guy use to come in and tell me recommendations at mileage of things. On the service paper all it said was transmission flush. I know what that mean you need to replace old transmission fluid with new fluid. Never knew the fluid was low. No one never told me so than all of sudden car started to do a little hesitation then boom put the car in drive did not move. I got it towed to a Grade A mechanic shop they put it on the computer my transmission is done!!! Didn't have fluids. I'm like how am I supposed to know that when there is no dipstick to check!!!!!!! So now I'm stuck with a car that I still owe a car note on.

If I take it to Nissan for diagnostic and send a claim more than likely I will be denied. I research and found this to be a serious problem for Nissan people transmission goes out that is ridiculous when your manual states CVT last a lifetime you never have to add fluid so what the hell???? Where did my fluid go because there was none on the ground. I want to join the lawsuit!!!!!

Update from Oct 12, 2019: My transmission went out in my car a week ago its a 2013 Nissan Altima. I use to take my car to Nissan dealer for oil changes thinking they check all of my fluids. I guess not the service guy use to come in and tell me recommendations at mileage of things. On the service paper all it said was transmission flush. I know what that mean you need to replace old transmission fluid with new fluid. Never knew the fluid was low. No one never told me so than all of sudden car started to do a little hesitation then boom put the car in drive did not move. I got it towed to a Grade A mechanic shop they put it on the computer my transmission is done!!! Didn't have fluids. I'm like how am I supposed to know that when there is no dipstick to check!!!!!!!

So now I'm stuck with a car that I still owe a car note on. If I take it to Nissan for diagnostic and send a claim more than likely I will be denied. I research and found this to be a serious problem for Nissan people transmission goes out that is ridiculous when your manual states CVT last a lifetime you never have to add fluid so what the hell???? Where did my fluid go because there was none on the ground. I want to join the lawsuit!!!!!

- Ashanti P., Baton Rouge, US

problem #63

Apr 202019

Altima SV 2.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 37,447 miles

I bought the used Altima 2013 in 2016. I drove it weekly and maintained it regularly. The mileage is under 38k but the CVT died on Easter Saturday 2019 and didn't resurrect.

The CVT died 200 miles from my city and so I had to leave it at local Nissan dealership and took a bus home. The Nissan dealership charged me about $5k to replace the CVT.

It is a crime. I will file a lawsuit against Nissan. Maybe we should do it together.

- Chenchao Z., Elmhurst, NY, US

problem #62

Mar 012019

Altima SV 4

  • CVT transmission
  • 72,500 miles

I recently experienced a transmission failure on my 2013 Altima with a little less than 72,500 miles. I had it towed to a Nissan dealer for repairs because I felt this was my best option for correct repairs. The CVT transmission was replaced at a cost of $3779.02. I am the second owner of this car that had 32,000 miles when I purchased it and thought I was upgrading from a Toyota Corolla. The Corolla though smaller had over 175,000 miles and I would still be driving it had I not hit a deer and totaled it.

I thought a transmission should last in excess of 100,000 miles. After making many inquiries I found out from the experience of many other Altima owners this is not the case. This is not acceptable but Nissan has refused any assistance in this repair cost. No explanation why. I am a retired and disabled Vietnam veteran on a fixed income and this is a major setback for me because I cannot replace this car and have to live with a less than reliable car for the foreseeable future.

- Jim E., Spirit Lake, US

problem #61

Feb 062019

Altima

  • CVT transmission
  • 115,623 miles

Apparently problems with this year model have been reported years ago before I purchased my vehicle last year. I only had it a year and the transmission goes out. Dealership is refusing to fix/solve the problem even after I'm sure they knew it was a problem before they sold it to me. It wasn't a little car dealership, it was a major business dealership, so yeah they knew. and now they're try to leave me stuck with a vehicle that they knew was crap... ugh...

- Jessica A., Sherwood, US

problem #60

Jul 132016

Altima S 3.2L

  • CVT transmission
  • 25,000 miles

Nissan 2013 S model is definitely not worth the money. The car just doesn't run well. The engine is very loud, transmission is slow to respond.

- Patricia L., West Orange, US

problem #59

Feb 172019

Altima SV 2.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 74,000 miles

Bought the 2013 Altima brand new, always have taken it to the dealer for servicing faithfully. The Altima got excellent gas mileage and my wife really liked the car very much until she went to back out of a parking space and it would shutter then engine would die. Had it towed to dealer, dealer called yesterday said it was the transmission and that it had to be replaced for $3800. I was SHOCKED, car only has 74,000 miles on it. Never had a vehicle in 50 yrs that the transmission would fail under 150,000 miles.

So I called the Nissan complaint department they told me they would look into this and call me today and let me know what resolution they've reach. After searching the internet I cant believe there are soooooo many complaints about the exact same thing with this year of Altima. Nissan needs to make this right, obviously there should've been a recall on this exact problem.

This is the first Nissan we've ever owned, depending on the out come it will determine if it's our last. Fingers crossed.

Update from Mar 14, 2019: UPDATE: Nissan customer care was 5 stars. They agreed to pay 70% of the total. Car is fixed and running great. I got to tell you ever since we bought this Altima it has performed better than expected. We took it on a 2300 mile road trip last year and spent only about $175 on gas. Plus it was so comfortable. Thank you NCC

- Tim S., Oakdale, CA, US

problem #58

May 052017

Altima S

  • CVT transmission
  • 62,000 miles

The transmission stopped working at a dangerous place during a long weekend. Was covered by extended warranty but I don't have any warranty left, and I need Nissan to extend the original warranty.

- Homayoon H., Mishawaka, US

problem #57

Nov 172018

Altima S 2.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 80,814 miles

It all started on 09/28/2016. The car would stall out when put into drive or reverse mileage 47778. Brought to dealer, $120 diagnostic fee no codes, don't know what it is. I told dealer I was sure it was transmission, they said no. Barely got out of dealer lot stalling. They cleaned the MAF. No fix. On and off for 2 years stalled and shut off while driving. Brought it to several other mechanics no fix.

Finally on 11/17/2018, 80814 miles it died and wouldn't start or move. Had been fighting it for 2 years stalling at very inconvenient and dangerous times.You're not gonna believe this, but the transmission was bad. Something I told them 2 years ago. Cost me 4 grand and Nissan was very quick to offer me nothing.

They are a real bad company who preys on lower class who bought their affordable car that was supposedly very reliable. Shame on them, they know this is a recall problem and will not address it. Several class action suits pending, I am in the process of filing complaints with the Attorney General and the Better Business Bureau.

- Timothy L., Andover, US

problem #56

Oct 302018

Altima SV 3.2L V6

  • CVT transmission
  • 144,000 miles

I purchased this car in summer of 2015 and it's fall 2018 and the transmission went completely out. The car is at the dealer and I am fussing with Nissan to stand by it product. Never ever was it disclosed that a recall was on the car and it could be a potential problem for me.

My wife was driving home and the transmission completely failed on the freeway, just stopped working. I am a loyal fan of Nissan and purchased several cars and trucks from this mfg. They do not step up and fix this, I am out for good.

- BOX IT P., North Hills, CA, US

problem #55

Aug 152016

Altima SV 2.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 79,000 miles

My Altima’s transmission went off totally when the car was only 3 years old. I almost got hit by a semi truck as the car totally stopped on the highway. It was a miracle that I was not killed. We took the car to Nissan and they wanted $4,800.00 to fix it with no warranty that it was not going to happen again. Nissan knows of the issue . We contacted Nissan and made a complaint and they denied any type of assistance even when it's known that those transmissions have problems. We ended up having to buy another car and took a big loss with it. After the scare that I had, I didn't want to drive that car again. I would never in my life buy another Nissan and advise everybody not to buy them either. . Terrible experience. Never again.

- Lou C., Kissimmee, FL, US

problem #54

Jun 012016

Altima

  • CVT transmission
  • 38,000 miles

I put my faith in Nissan. If I had not had another car I would have lost my job because they refused to help me out at all. They would not even sell me another transmission. I found another transmission had a replace and it started messing up again. I got rid of the piece of crap. Nissan sucks

- Vicki C., Rockford, IL, US

problem #53

Mar 032018

Altima 4DR SDN SV V4

  • CVT transmission
  • 90,000 miles

Soon after I leased my 2013 Altima SDN SV on May 24, 2013, I complained to the service repair mechanic that the transmission was slipping when my vehicle moved from speeds near 50 MPH to 60 MPH, that that the vehicle would glide forward after turning off the engine and placing it in park and at times there was a slight delay in the transmission when I placed the car in reverse.

The mechanic took it for a ride and then reported that the transmission was fine. The John Sisson Motors, Inc salesman assured me that slight shift of the vehicle when in park or in reverse was customary and that it was not a problem.

The transmission quit working when I place it in reverse in Feb 2018. I paid to have it towed to Cochran Nissan on Liberty Ave, Pittsburgh where it was in repair for about three weeks. My total costs were about $4000 for replacing the transmission and other needs related to not having a vehicle.

- John S., Pittsburgh, PA, US

problem #52

Aug 262018

Altima S 2.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 89,000 miles

I've taken my car for TWO transmission issues (recalls) at the Nissan dealer. Not ONCE did they make mention of the numerous issues with their CVT transmissions. My car started to hesitate and then cut off on me. I took it to a local shop who couldn't find any diagnostic readings that indicated anything was wrong. They did an oil change and I filled the tank. THREE days later my car started hesitating to shift into gear. I knew IMMEDIATELY it was the transmission. I called to schedule an appointment and was told it was OUT OF WARRANTY and I would need to pay out of pocket! For a 5 YEAR OLD VEHICLE?!! NEEDLESS to say I am looking to purchase a new vehicle that is NOT A NISSAN.

- Keisha M., Laurel, MD, US

Read the next 20 complaints »