10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,898 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Nissan Versa:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #45

Mar 032020

Versa

  • miles
Have had to have the roters, brakes and tire changed about every 2 months, I only drive maybe 2000 miles monthly. Within 2 months the car is shaking.

- Peterstown, WV, USA

problem #44

Aug 202020

Versa

  • 143,000 miles
Due to rust corrosion on the underneath frame and carriage of this vehicle, the control arm on both sides has snapped out of place. This has affected my steering capabilities. It also almost caused a serious accident on the highway. I am lucky to be alive. The vehicle is with my mechanic and I will include as many pictures as I can. The recall states that the undercarriage of the vehicle may have unnecessary rust and unfortunately my pin number has been involved. The rust corrosion is so severe that the frame is literally rotting completely out. There is holes you can see through all over the frame of this vehicle. I feel as though Nissan not only put my immediate life in danger but also many other drivers on the road as well. I was in the air force and they are reactivating me back into service due to the covid. Problem is that I no longer have a vehicle that will get me from Ohio down to Mississippi.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #43

Jan 032020

Versa

  • 150,000 miles
The pieces on the door handle of 2007, seem to pop out over time. Drive side key entry and the passenger side door. I know of three Nissan Versa's have caught fire and all from the cavalier converter... the heater core has some issues. This car had an airbag recall and I don't believe my airbags were replaced. I was told that both side's airbags were done. The dealership told me it would take three weeks to a month to repair. When I told them that I would have to be compensated for my car downtime because I do uber. It was done in two days. The clock spring went out in my car. I do not have a lot of pictures, but I can go in my file and fine them. Thanks for any help on these issues. The airbags were done at the end of 2017 and I didn't know I could do what I'm doing today. I was told I would have to paid to get my airbags checked out. Over the past two years, I've had so many issues with my car. I've spent over 2.000.00 or more. I've learned so much about my car from google and youtube. Thank you for any help in this matter.

- Hmpton, VA, USA

problem #42

Aug 202018

Versa

  • 55,000 miles
The front coil spring broke in two impaling my front passenger side tire and locking up my front end resulting in a lose of control while driving. After having my vehicle towed and repaired I learned of a recall by Nissan which I had no prior knowledge of because I was never notified until after the incident. Nissan has repeatedly denied to reimburse me for repairs in direct violation numerous sections of 49cfr part 573.13

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #41

Feb 282018

Versa

  • 107,000 miles
Replacement shocks distributed by the dealer for a prior recall are leaking.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #40

Jan 182017

Versa

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Versa. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 17V449000 and 17V028000 (air bags), and 15V573000 (suspension); however, the parts needed for the repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called executive Nissan at (888) 994-0536 (located at 900 universal dr N, North haven, ct 06473) and was informed that the part was not available. The manufacturer stated that the part would become available sometime in the spring of 2018. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- East Haven, CT, USA

problem #39

Dec 282017

Versa

  • miles
Takata recall - replacement parts for both the front driver (manufacturer recall number PM685 NHTSA recall number 17V-449) and front passenger (manufacturer recall number PM657 NHTSA recall number 16V-349) were not made available by Nissan to my Nissan dealer (conicelli Nissan in conshohocken, pa). Coil spring recall - replacement parts for the front coil spring (manufacturer recall number PM565 NHTSA recall number 15V-573) were not made available by Nissan to my Nissan dealer (conicelli Nissan in conshohocken, pa). This is pathetic behavior by Nissan and its suppliers.

- Dresher, PA, USA

problem #38

Oct 202017

Versa

  • miles
Was driving down the street and I heard a loud bang then my car veered off to the right. Luckily I wasn't on a busy road and was able to pull it all the way over. The front of my car basically collapsed onto the passenger corner. It was covering my tire and I couldn't move the car. Apparently the strut broke and had to get an alignment. Also, the engine light won't turn off after I put gas in. The gas cap will not screw on right. My door handles keep popping off. My seatbelt keeps getting stuck. And my tire light won't turn off when nothing is wrong with it.

- Hesperia, CA, USA

problem #37

Oct 032017

Versa

  • 117,650 miles
Takata recall I was informed last week via a letter that I have two recalls on my vehicle. So I did what Nissan told me to do and went to a dealership, to pick up a loaner vehicle provided from Nissan. We went through all of the paperwork and they informed me that the driver side airbag will not be available until spring 2018. I accepted this fact and was willing to accept their loaner vehicle and bring my car home and not drive it. When we got to the rental agreement they informed me I would not be able to use the vehicle for lyft or uber driving, lyft is my main source of income and I have no other option. I am also a driver for amazon flex and I'm leaving pizza hut. When I went to sign the rental agreement they informed me that I would not be able to use their vehicle for my job. Also they informed me that I would need to contact Nissan for it to be approved to be able to use the vehicle for commercial purposes. This is my only means of transportation and income. So I contacted Nissan and the person I was connected with escalated my case to a regional Nissan manager. The second person called me back within a few hours and informed me that I would not be able to use the vehicle for my job, and that if I choose to continue to drive my current vehicle I would be relinquishing any rights if the airbags were to harm me. So I either choose to accept their loaner vehicle and find a new job, or refuse the car and drive my current vehicle with airbags that might harm me and or occupants of my vehicle. While I was at the dealership I attempted everything I possibly could I even asked if they would be able to accept my car as a trade in they denied to this because of the airbags. So I have the choice of changing careers or continue to drive a car that could possibly injure me or any occupants. I was informed to contact the NHTSA by the dealership I purchased my car from.

- Magna, UT, USA

problem #36

Nov 012013

Versa

  • 55,000 miles
Vehicle was in motion on a highway when it unexpectedly started shaking and sliding/skidding from side to side ending in a crash. Furthermore, malfunctioning airbags resulted in severe cuts, bruises and other injuries to face and other body parts.

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #35

Sep 052016

Versa

  • 130,900 miles
After driving on the highway we parked the car. We noticed a portion of broken coil spring lying under the front passenger tire. After investigation we found this was a portion of the bottom of the front suspension coil. I checked the front driver side and found the bottom of the coil is broken, but has not yet fallen from the suspension mount. I checked the NHTSA site and learned there was a recall for the front coils (NHTSA recall 15V-573). I called Nissan and they told me this recall does not apply to our VIN, it is limited to cars sold/registered on the East coast. This car as originally in ca, then went to wa, then germany before it was recently brought to md. This car has not been in an accident, nor driven over rough terrain; so it is hard to comprehend how both coils would have cracked. The noted recall defect of żinsufficient corrosion coatingż it listed as only applicable to East coast cars; but this incident seems to point to it being a broader manufacturing defect.

- Eldersburg, MD, USA

problem #34

May 312015

Versa

  • 81,170 miles
I was driving at approximately 5-10 mph on a slight downward slope when the vehicle suddenly made a loud noise, the vehicle was jarred, and the vehicle came to an abrupt stop. After exiting the vehicle, I found the front passenger tire had come off from the suspension, and it was misaligned and sticking out at an angle. In addition, there were shattered pieces of vehicle parts on the ground. The vehicle was resting only on three tires. Luckily the vehicle stopped rather than rolling down the slope and colliding with several cars as well as people; however, the vehicle did have to be towed as it was not drive-able following the incident. The vehicle required over $640 worth of repairs including but not limited to the control arm, drive axle and shaft. Several months following the incident, Nissan opened a campaign specifically for corrosion of the front coil springs. The vehicle had been driven in Michigan from 2007 to summer 2012 where there is heavy snow and salt on the roads in the winter. From the summer 2012 to now, the vehicle has been driven in the DC metro area. I took the vehicle to a Nissan dealership in April 2016 to have the campaign completed, which was replacing the front coil springs. Upon inspection of the vehicle by Nissan, I was told that Nissan was unable to replace solely the front coil springs because they were unable to disassemble other parts needed to get to the coil springs due to other parts having significant damage from corrosion (ex. Strut, bearing, mount, etc.). as a result, multiple parts (not just the coil springs) had to be replaced.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #33

Apr 152016

Versa

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Versa. The contact received a recall notification for the suspension. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for the recall repair appointment and a mechanic made a general statement that a front end alignment was necessary before the recall repair would be completed. The contact was waiting for a response from the manufacturer to determine the solution to repair the vehicle concerning what the dealer stated. The NHTSA campaign number was unknown. The contact was not experiencing a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #32

Mar 112014

Versa

  • 163,405 miles
In 2014, my Versa's rf coil spring fractured. A large piece of it actually detached and fell onto the road as the car was being driven out of my driveway. I took it to a private garage and the spring and strut were replaced. In fall of 2015 I received the recall notice regarding this issue. In January 2016, I took the car to capital Nissan in wilmington, nc, where I now live, and I was told that in order for the recall to be completed, I would need to purchase a new rf and lf strut out of pocket because the existing struts are fused by corrosion to the mounts. Moreover, I was told by the Nissan recall center that I could not be reimbursed for the repairs I already had completed until I had the recall work completed. So, I am being held hostage by Nissan. They won't make good the repairs that the recall forces them to make unless I pay them more money and they won't reimburse me for repairs already made by me that were necessitated by the defect that led to the recall. This does not seem right to me and I am appealing to you for redress. I hope you can help me. I don't think your recall went far enough, by the way. Later in the summer of 2014, the repair facility to which I had taken the Versa for the strut was inspecting my car and informed me that the crossmember for the automatic transmission, as well as the lower right control arm, were corroded to the point of failure and needed to be replaced. I couldn't believe that the workmanship on this car could be so shoddy that parts would rust out in such a wholesale fashion - not until I received the recall notice. That repair cost me an additional $1600 (roughly, excluding tax). I can provide you with invoices for these repairs, if it will help you understand the problem and perhaps take a closer look at others' corrosion-related troubles with the Nissan Versa.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #31

Mar 312016

Versa

  • 61,436 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Versa. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to be serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 15V573000 (suspension) when the dealer found a rusted mount and bolt which prevented the vehicle from being able to be repaired. The dealer diagnosed the rusted mount and bolt needed to be replaced in order for the vehicle to receive the recall repair. The vehicle's bolt was not repaired or was the recall repair completed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 61,436.

- Freeport, NY, USA

problem #30

Jan 242016

Versa

  • miles
Pulling into driveway heard a loud pop and the front end went down. Found the front passenger side tire flat and a broken spring on the ground behind it. When the dealer was called about cost to fix we were told it is under recall. We had not been made aware of the recall and thankfully this did not happen at 70mph speed. Very concerned for those who are still driving these unaware of this hazard.

- Front Royal, VA, USA

problem #29

Dec 262015

Versa

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Versa. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer under a recall for the clock spring; however, the cross mount fractured while attempting to retrieve the clock spring due to corrosion. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that they would not repair the vehicle. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 68,000.

- Jersey Shore, PA, USA

problem #28

Apr 052012

Versa

  • 115,537 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Versa. While driving 50 mph, there was a loud clanking sound coming from the front driver side tire. The contact pulled over and noticed the coil spring on the ground under the front driver side tire. The contact immediately picked the spring up and drove the vehicle to a local mechanic who stated that the front driver and passenger side coil springs needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V573000 (suspension) and contacted the manufacturer to be reimbursed for the repairs, but the claim was denied. The failure mileage was 115,537.

- Fulton, NY, USA

problem #27

Sep 082015

Versa 4-cyl

  • 44,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Versa. While driving approximately 25 mph, the contact heard a loud bang coming from the vehicle. The vehicle began to wobble and there was a rubbing sound that was heard when making left and right turns. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the front driver's side coil spring had fractured and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 44,500. The consumer stated the Nissan offered to replace both front springs at no charge and reimburse the amount for what was already repaired. Updated 2/1/2016

- Mankato, MN, USA

problem #26

Aug 302015

Versa 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,800 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Versa. While driving 10 mph, the front passenger wheel detached from the vehicle without warning. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the lower control arm and axle fractured. As a result, both needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 61,800. MA 10/29/2015

- West New York, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »