10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 25
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,142 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #219

Aug 102022

1500

  • miles
There is an open recall for certain vin#'s 20v-475 that happened to my vehicle and according to message boards a lot of other vehicles that have the failure of the tone wheel to the exact way the recall is listed but for some reason the vin does't fall under the recall. My vehicle had a complete shut down without warning or noises while driving at highway speeds on a windy narrow parkway with minimal shoulder. If I wasn't driving in the right lane at the time my situation could've been even more dangerous than it already was. I don't understand how a part that that is used in all ecodiesel engines from 2014-2018 and has a known failure is supposedly only affecting a small percentage of engines when they all have the same part. I have searched message board after message board and have found a lot of listings of this part failure all on vin's that for some reason aren't on the recall. As a SAFETY precaution letters should've went out to all ecodiesel vehicles within those years to at least alert drivers theres a potential for this failure. If it wasn't for the fuel pump recall that they do not have a fix for, I wouldn't have been as aware of m vehicle possibly shutting down without warning. Again I think as a SAFETY precaution letters should be sent to all ecodiesel owners alerting them of this possible engine failure that could endanger their lives and open an investigation to see why a part used in all of the vehicles only affects certain ones when it is obviously failing in all ecodiesel engines.

- Hopewell Junction, NY, USA

problem #218

Jun 182022

1500

  • miles
While driving on the Garden State Pkwy in New Jersey I had a sudden braking event for traffic. After resuming highway speed the engine shut off and the dashboard lit up with warning lights. I coasted towards a narrow right lane shoulder and came to a stop. I was towing a tandem axle U-Haul trailer. The vehicle came to a stop and was blocking almost half of the right traffic lane. I had to be towed off the parkway. The Ram / Dodge dealership said a Tone Ring mounted between the engine and transmission failed causing the engine to suddenly stop. This resulted in a $210 tow and a $3400 repair bill. Research in this failure shows that FCI is aware of the problem and could possibly prevent the engine shutdown and hazards that followed.

- Cold Spring, NY, USA

problem #217

Aug 092022

1500

  • miles
While traveling at highway speeds on a narrow parkway with minimal shoulders, the vehicle without warning or noise shut down, almost causing a major accident and I wouldn't have been able to get to the shoulder if I wasn't in the right lane. The shoulder barely had room for my truck putting myself and other vehicles at risk. There was ABSOLUTELY no warning that my car was going to completely shut down, no lights illuminated on my dash until i was on the grass and the engine was dead. The dealership confirms the exact issue was a failure of the Magnetic tone wheel that has a NHTSA Recall# 20V-475, that is an identical symptom and diagnosis to my exact issue. The dealership Meadowlands of Carmel (845)225-8468 Derek in the service department quoted me $1,600 plus tax to replace the magnetic tone wheel. I am also a government employee and i am unable to get to work. My engine type and year (2016) is identical to this recall stated above (20V-475), but for some reason that no one at RAM Customer Service or the RAM Recall Department can identify why my VIN number is excluded from a recall that my VIN is clearly a part of. I had ZERO symptoms, warnings before i could have been potentially killed. My kids were thankfully not in the car with me. I feel this is well within the spectrum of my VIN number qualifying to participate in this recall coverage, as well as other RAMS who may not even be aware of this without doing their own research of the circumstances and symptoms. I feel incredibly lucky to be alive and i follow my maintenance as recommended to a tee. Please feel free to go to Meadowlands in Carmel, NY: 1952 US-6 Carmel, NY 10512. Please see recall I am referring to: https://static.nhtsa.gov/odi/rcl/2020/RCLRPT-20V475-5815.PDF Time is of the essence for me and if i can be of any help please do not hesitate to call me at 914-879-4215. Thank You, Stephen Cuppek

- Hopewell Junction, NY, USA

problem #216

Feb 282022

1500

  • miles
The Main as well as Connecting Rod Bearings prematurely failed at approximately 87,000 miles. Please note that the manufacturer warranty on the 3.0 Diesel engines from FCA/Stellantis is 100,000 miles. As the result, I was stranded on the road with horrible sounds coming from the bottom of the engine block and had to get towed. From my research, I found out that the 1st generation of this engine which I believe were installed on Ram 1500s from 2014 to 2016, had major issues with the above bearing failures well below 100,000 mile warranty period.

- Boulder City, NV, USA

problem #215

Oct 152021

1500

  • miles
Purchased my 2016 Ram 1500 Crew Cab 4x4 SLT Big Horn June 2019. At that point the previous owner had the truck in the shop and while there it was diagnosed that the fuel pump failed. About January 2020 I stated having the famous Hemi Tick but not all the time. I'm very ocd on all maintenance of my truck, witch I or my husband and son; both certified diesel mechanics. I only run Valvoline Full Synthetic 5w-20 oil and a K&N Oil Filter and is changed before the 5k mark. Fast forward to Oct 2021 truck starts not wanting to start, Tick is very very loud and does it warm or cold does not matter. At times would not even start. Send it to the local dealership, with CEI on, they diagnosis as 4 manifold studs are broken, 800 bucks later they are replaced. But only 4, supposedly two on each side. Get truck back, drive maybe 5 miles CEI back on. Truck running as if it has no power, getting no fuel. Was able to get it home, called dealership next morning took truck back. This happened mutiple times. Called the main dealership in Edmond, Oklahoma in an attempt to get someone to figured out why I kept getting told my truck was fixed and it was not. Come to find out after 3 months in the shop the fuel pump yet again failed. Now, there is a recall and my vin is not included but yet I have had TWO failed fuel pumps. And now June 2022 I have the famous Hemi Tick again. To witch I can only guess is the other manifold studs that they for some dumb reason did not replace when they should have.

- Fairland , OK, USA

problem #214

May 012022

1500

  • miles
There is a current safety recall W58/NHTSA 20V-475 that covers certain ram trucks. My trucks vin didn't make the list. My trucked stalled on the interstate and the dealer diagnosed it has the tone wheel delaminated. I'm not sure how the vehicle manufacture or you came up with the VIN list but there are multiple vins that didn't make the list and having this exact failure.

- Pleasantville, IA, USA

problem #213

Jun 032022

1500

  • 128,500 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Ram 1500. The contact stated while the vehicle was stationary at a traffic light, the vehicle stalled. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The contact was able to restart the vehicle after several attempts. The contact took the vehicle to an independent mechanic however, the mechanic was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. A dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 128,500.

- Mesquite, TX, USA

problem #212

Oct 012018

1500

  • miles
My 2016 RAM 1500 Laramie Crew Cab 5.7 Liter HEMI engine has an engine ticking sound that is most noticeable when the truck is first started when the engine is cold. The ticking sounds does start to go away after one to three minutes, when the engine temperature increases. The ticking noise happens both in the winter and summer when the engine is cold. This engine noise first became noticeable when the truck was two years old with approximately 30,000 miles. I purchased the RAM 1500 Laramie new on October 5, 2016. I am a former Nissan service technician. I am acutely aware of the importance of changing engine oil and oil filter at the manufacturer recommended intervals. I am VERY diligent about changing the engine oil and oil filter every 5000 miles with Mobil One synthetic or Pennzoil Platinum synthetic 5W-20 oil. As of May 20, 2022, my RAM 1500 Laramie has 76,040 miles. Other RAM 1500 5.7-Liter HEMI engine owners have reporting a ticking sound when the exhaust manifold bolts break. I inspected the exhaust manifold bolts on May 20, 2022, and they are not broken.

- Golden, CO, USA

problem #211

Apr 282022

1500

  • miles
Header bolt has broken off and have exhaust fumes being released from the engine compart that should be going thru the header and out the exhaust pipes. The dealer is aware and wont repair due to out of warranty when this issue is hazard to the people and the environment

- Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #210

Mar 222022

1500

  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving at 40 MPH, the engine seized and the vehicle lost motive power. The vehicle was towed to the dealer but was not yet diagnosed nor repaired and remained at the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 33,000.

- Spring Valley, CA, USA

problem #209

Feb 042022

1500

  • miles
I took the vehicle to the local dealer and they diagnosed a Delaminated Tone Wheel, the same exact issue as described in Safety Recall W68 / NHTSA 20V-475. The claim that my vehicle is not included in the recall. There seems to be no question that the issue of Tone Wheel Delamination is broader in scope that described in W68 and I am petitioning an expansion of that recall to include all vehicles that potentially have this issue.

- Owens Cross Roads, AL, USA

problem #208

Feb 182022

1500

  • miles
I took my 2016 Ram 1500 Hemi 5.7 truck in for a frontend alignment to a dealer that has always service my truck since I purchased it in 2017. While there I was informed that I had a exhaust manifold leak and bolts were broken in the block and the cost to repair is $1600. After coming home and doing research I have learn this is a common problem in the Ram 1500 Hemi 5.7 that is well documented here on NHTSA as well as the Manufacture and Dealers. If carbon monoxide is escaping into the cab of the truck and you have your windows up and a/c on you are inhaling those fumes. There is no recall and the manufacture has known these bolts breaking causing a exhaust leak for years. This is a major defect that needs to be addressed, No one should be paying $40,000 to 75,000 dollars for a vehicle that has this type of defect that is also health hazard if the fumes are leaking in the cab.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #207

Feb 052022

1500

  • miles
When traveling at speed, the vehicle shudders or bucks as if the engine cuts out briefly, then resumes normally for a few seconds, then does it again. It creates a hazard on the highway as I attempt to move to the side of the road or travel slowly to avoid damaging the vehicle further. I took the vehicle to the local dealer and they diagnosed a Delaminated Tone Wheel, the same exact issue as described in Safety Recall W68 / NHTSA 20V-475. The claim that my vehicle is not included in the recall, because it was manufactured 6/07/2016, which is just outside the date window of included vehicles. There seems to be no question that the issue of Tone Wheel Delamination is broader in scope that described in W68 and I am petitioning an expansion of that recall to include all vehicles that potentially have this issue. Both the dealer and FCA refuse to cover the cost of the repairs at this time.

- Hempstead, TX, USA

problem #206

Feb 042022

1500

  • miles
I was exiting the freeway, sped up from about 55mph to pass a semi before the exit narrowed and my '16 RAM 1500 Ecodiesel just stopped working. I got warning lights one after another, "engine oil low pressure", "electric system" "brake system" basically the whole christmas tree lit up. I was almost hit and probably killed by the 18 wheeler I just passed, coasted to a stop and pulled over. Engine would not start back up. Got towed to a shop. Mechanic found that the "crankshaft tone ring/wheel" had lost some of it's magnetic material and that caused the almost catastrophic shut down. Mechanic found chrysler safety recall W58 and W68 that are for this exact issue for my exact make, model, year and engine type- so I call RAM/Chrysler and they say it's my problem because my VIN is not subject to these recalls. I asked them if the recall is for this exact issue, for the exact make, model, year, and engine then how do can they refuse to even escalate the issue or look into it. This is a known issue, I almost died and am out a couple thousand dollars.

- Alvin, TX, USA

problem #205

Dec 202021

1500

  • miles
I own 2016 Ram 1500 Crew Cab 4x4 SLT Big Horn. I purchased the truck in June 2019 at our local Dodge Dealership in Vinita, Oklahoma with 59k on it. Truck ran fine, did have the Hemi Tick startin until December 20,2021 and the CEL came on. Personally had my husband, CAT Certified Diesel Mechanic run the codes. To witch P062A Circuit "A" Fuel Pump Range/Performance Code was given. Truck was parked and dealership, Vance Dodge Miami, OK was called. Truck taken on December 28,2021. Told the tech before hand while our daughters Nitro was getting fixed when he got my truck to go through it and make sure no other issues. Once truck was there few days later they called telling me that I had 4 broken Exhaust Manifold Bolts, needed another new battery, and CEL was on due to Fuel Pressure Switch failure. Picked truck up Jan 6, 2022. Did not even get out of city limits when CEL back on. Drove it 15 miles home. Changed the battery with brand new one. CEL back on, called dealership, requested Manager. Told to bring back in the following Monday. Truck back @ dealership Jan 10, 2022 just picked back up Feb 2,2022 to witch CEL IS STILL ON. after a month they fixed a 200 dollar connector behind the driver wheel and it still has not fixed the frickin issue. Now it's still throwing P062A code. Dealership acted as if they was beyond annoyed by me & my truck. Will yet again call them Monday. And now my exhaust is rattling that they just had off. I have paid out of pocket for all these repairs and they are getting beyond expensive and I'm not the only one with these issues. My truck has had all work done when suggested if not before. As well as the original owner who I know. My truck is not abused or neglected. I don't put cheap parts on it either, had I had been able to find ARP Manifold Bolts it would have gotten them.. This is getting beyond ridiculous.. Something needs to be done I spent way too much money for my truck to have all these issues. BTW, my truck is paid for I owe $0

- Fairland, OK, USA

problem #204

Jan 042022

1500

  • miles
On Tuesday January 4th 2022 I was driving my vehicle on interstate 10 at approximately 75 mph, as I was driving my vehicle lost all power and shut off leaving me with no brakes or power steering, I coasted to the off ramp. At which time I was coming up on an intersection where I attempted to apply my brakes to prevent me from rear ending several vehicles. My brakes did not engage properly my steering very stiff and hard to turn, I barley made it around the vehicles in front of me. I then coasted as far as the vehicle would go not being able to stop, leaving me in an active intersection right on the off ramp. I have contacted the manufacturer in regards to recall W58 which is the crankshaft position sensor and tone wheel which 85% of these trucks where recalled for. I was dismissed and told they would not speak with me again. After this I believe it is to my best interest to file a safety report with you guys!

- Lecanto , FL, USA

problem #203

Jan 052022

1500

  • 126,000 miles
The contact owns a 2016 RAM 1500. The contact stated while driving 70 MPH, the vehicle lost power steering functionality, electronic braking, and motive power. The contact stated that several vehicles nearly crashed into the vehicle. The vehicle independently came to a stop. There were no warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic but was not repaired. The contact was notified of NHTSA campaign number: 20V475000 (Engine and Engine Cooling) however, the VIN was not included. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 126,600.

- Lecanto, FL, USA

problem #202

Dec 072021

1500

  • miles
Hello, The safety problem is while driving the truck the fuel gauge needle drops to empty intermittently and a warning light flashes. Now not knowing how much fuel is in the tank is dangerous because running out of fuel especially on the highway will stall the engine followed by loss of brakes and steering. The dealer said its an electrical fuel sender resistor card inside the fuel tank that is shorting out, that alone scares me. Searching online I found out it's a common problem among 2016 Ram trucks. I will not let my family drive this truck until the electrical problem is fixed. Thanks for reading!

- Carver, MA, USA

problem #201

Nov 302021

1500

  • miles
A recent service on my RAM prompted a discussion with another customer and subsequently the service manager of the dealer. The topic was exhaust manifold leaks with the RAM 5.7 liter hemi engine. The dealership was repairing 2 that day and the service manager says that-s a typical day. The issue is that after 40,000 miles, one or more of the exhaust manifold bolts fatigue and fail which causes an exhaust leak. Of course and exhaust leak in the engine room is a huge safety risk for the exhaust gases can be drawn into the passenger compartment through the intakes just behind the hood. The leak also causes an emissions violation and can cause fuel economy performance issues. This issue affects models from 2008 to present. RAM has made a design change to fix the issue but has not issued a recall. I was told that it-s highly likely I will have the issue. I cannot believe a recall has not been required. Exhaust leaks are extremely dangerous.

- Springville, AL, USA

problem #200

Oct 222021

1500

  • miles
Engine caught on fire, been trying to get recalls replaced since 4/18/21 when all other recalls were taken care

- Redding, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »