10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,947 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1999 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #29

Apr 072011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 210,000 miles
Headed South on interstate when burst into flame.

- Vassalboro, ME, USA

problem #28

May 012010

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 1999 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving approximately 40 mph approaching a stop sign when the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle began to roll suddenly as well. When the brakes were engaged, the vehicle failed to slow down so the contact shifted into neutral and then into park which resulted to the vehicle coming to a complete stop. The engine restarted and the vehicle resumed normally. The failure occurred when driving 40 mph and above. The vehicle would not accelerate over 60 mph. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic for diagnosis. The eor sensor, eor solenoid and eor module were replaced on the vehicle. The failure continued. The failure mileage was approximately 65,000. Updated 4/4/11 the mechanic cleaned the throttle. Updated 06/03/11

- Malverne, NY, USA

problem #27

Jul 022009

Camry

  • 95,069 miles
At about 3 pm I was driving North on the on ramp of route 15 North at mira mesa. Suddenly my car accelerated and would not stop. I moved to the right where there was room. And despite pushing hard on the brake, I could not stop the car. I moved to the guard rail hoping to slow the car, which il did, but the car bounced off the rail and side swiped a white Lexus. Then the car came to a stop. A workman saw the accident and confirmed the pattern of what occurred. He checked with me and the driver of the other car and we both said there was no injury. He refused to identify himself. Both cars were able to drive away without difficulty. When I got home I checked that the floor mats were in the proper place and not near the accelerator. I feel that there was a defect in the operating system of the car to cause this sudden acceleration.

- Poway, CA, USA

problem #26

Mar 152008

Camry

  • 137,000 miles
My 1999 Toyota Camry started blowing blue smoke out of the tail pipe. This was after regular oil changes at 3,000 miles. Finally, while on a business trip and after oil was changed, my engine started making a loud clanking noise. I immediately pulled off the road and turned off the engine. I had a local mechanic look at the engine, who state the engine would need to be replaced. I then paid to have the car towed 200 miles to my house where my mechanic also stated the engine was blown. I have been searching the internet for over a year to find a cost effective engine when at last I found a web site that explains thousands of people have had the same problem I had with sludge oil problems causing engine failure. Why has the NHTSA not issued any recall" I can not believe that the NHTSA is not looking out for the consumer" what is it going to take to get some help for the hard working consumer against the auto giants who know good and well they had a very silent class action notification which did not make it to the majority of the consumers. That action might be good for the board members and stockholders but isn't the NHTSA supposed to look out for the consumer.

- Hughes Springs, TX, USA

problem #25

Jan 202007

Camry

  • 64,000 miles
The car was bought brand new. This is the history of the 1999 Camry (problem: Engine light comes on each time): 1/24/2007 Goodyear auto--replaced charcoal canister and control valve $549.19 7/12/2007 Goodyear auto--replaced purge valve $134.24; charcoal canister replaced under warranty 11/8/2008 Toyota dealership--replaced charcoal canister and purge valve (Toyota says they still have to charge for this repair, even though it was replaced earlier) $656.75 2/9/09 Toyota dealership--replaced control valve--$142.34 in summary, charcoal canister was replaced 3 times, purge valve replaced 2 times, control valve replaced 2 times--all in a span of 2 years. Toyota service representative justifies it by saying it is a "revised" part.

- Acworth, GA, USA

problem #24

Jul 272008

Camry

  • 105,123 miles
When I tried to start the car it made a loud noise and the engine was dead so my car had to be towed. The block of the engine has hole due to major engine mechanical failure. I had to have the engine replaced. I was told that the same kind of problem occurred on the same model year 2000 Toyota and they were recalled.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #23

Dec 212007

Camry

  • miles
1999 Toyota Camry with engine failure. Consumer stated that the vehicle made a loud noise and oil and gasoline odor was present. Consumer then pulled over and engine failed and would not restart.

- Lake Forest, CA, USA

problem #22

Feb 212004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles
The consumer believed the brake problem the problem concerned ABS pump. While driving the brakes failed. Every two-three months this problem occurred, at least twenty times. This problem first started in September 2001. The first documentation was for may of 2002. There have been several near accidents, but none as of yet. The dealer was unsure of the exact problem because they were unable to find it. They have told the consumer numbers possibilities, but still has not fixed the problem. Also, there was also a problem with the engine. They changed the timing belt because of engine noise. They told the consumer that there was a problem with the water pump and it was changed. The consumer had a report from the dealership. But, not all of the times that vehicle was taken to the dealer was included in the report. The consumer believed that engine problem was with the valve and the lifters.

- Clemins, NC, USA

problem #21

Sep 082004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,465 miles
This complaint involves two vehicles; the first was with a 1992 Toyota Camry VIN#[xxx] purchase date: 7/16/1992 mileage at the time of the incident: 125394 in which the vehicle was idled in the consumers driveway and after two minutes a loud noise was heard along with smoke coming from under the hood; there was motor oil and metal pieces from the engine underneath the vehicle and at 91386K miles the timing belt was replaced; the second vehicle was a 1999 Toyota Camry; the vehicle stalled while being driven on the freeway at 60 mph, the vehicle was towed to the dealership and the consumer was informed that the water pump had frozen. The consumer requested reimbursement for repairs but the request was denied. A detailed description of problems (vehicle unspecified) : connecting rods#1 and #4 broke and punched holes in the side of the engine block, one of the connecting rods broke off at the piston as well as the crankshaft, the other connecting rod broke off of the crankshaft, but remained attached to the piston, piston #1 and #4 impacted into the cylinder head, when the connecting rods broke, parts of the engine punched a hole in the oil pan, allowing oil to leak out, it was noted that the left cv boots were torn, the broken connecting rod #1 caused the A/C compressor to be broken away from the engine and the A/C belt to be thrown free, and the extent of the damage was consistent with the engine turning at moderate or high speed at the time of the failure. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Union City, CA, USA

problem #20

Mar 022005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles
On March 2, the engine on my Toyota Camry threw a rod, and resulted in a terminal failure of the engine. I have maintained this car since I bought it, supposedly "certified used" from roseville Toyota, in August 2002. I pleaded with Toyota motor corporation for assistance but they said that my warranty had expired 2 months prior to this incident. Due to extreme strains on my time, I had the engine rebuilt for nearly $3700. Upon driving the car for less than 200 miles after having the engine rebuilt, the transmission has failed and needs to be replaced at an estimated $1500. I do not have time or money to continually repair this car and have asked for assistance from both roseville Toyota and Toyota motor corporation both. It was recently brought to my attention that the Toyota that I purchased from roseville Toyota was never certified to begin with. They misleadingly sold me a car under the false impression that it was certified when it was not. I place the blame for the recent failures and resultant repair fees on roseville Toyota. If I had known that this particular car was not a certified Toyota vehicle, I would never have taken it off the lot and consequentially experienced any of the problems described above. However, I was falsely mislead to believe that I was getting a certified vehicle and drove off happily. None of the parts repaired or replaced are available.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #19

Nov 012004

Camry

  • 20,523 miles
Defective automobile, ranging from transmissions problems to paint problems. Engine stalls.

- Studio City, CA, USA

problem #18

Sep 012004

Camry

  • miles
Vehicle consistently dies on the road. There were more than four attempts made to repair the warranty problem.

- Pacific Palisades, CA, USA

problem #17

Apr 152004

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles
While driving a loud bang noise was heard and a clanging sound was made from the car. Consumer noticed smoke coming from underneath the hood and immediately pulled over to the side of the road. Vec. Was towed to dealership for inspection on 4/15/04. Consumer was 400 miles over Ford warranty. Warranty company has an adjuster come out and look at the vec. 6 or 7 times. Ford knew in the middle of may that the vec. Was over mileage and they continued to lead the consumer and the dealership that they would fix it. Ford dealership and the Ford warranty company adjuster both confirmed that the engine failed. 2 bolts that held the piston in place busted and threw a rod through the side of the engine. The same dealership had another Camry with 61,000 miles come in while this car was there and had done the exact same thing had happened with it. The vec. Needs a new engine and not Toyota nor Ford will help us. I have done several searches over this vec. And have found that there has been over 5,000 Camry that have done this exact same thing....1999. They have all been around the same mileage also.

- Bartlesville, OK, USA

problem #16

Jul 072004

Camry 4WD

  • miles
While driving a loud banking noise was heard from the front. Consumer noticed smoke coming from underneath the hood. Then, vehicle stalled. Consumer restarted vehicle, and pulled over. Consumer had the vehicle towed to the dealer for inspection, and mechanic determined that the engine needed replacement due to a blown gasket.

- Bartlesville, OK, USA

problem #15

Apr 152004

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles
While driving on the road and heard loud clanging sound and then saw lots of smoke. Service engine light came on and I pulled over. I turned the car off and opened the hood. There was a hole in the side of the engine and oil was all over. Car had 66,000 miles on it and was 400 miles over the extended warranty. Took to Toyota dealer and they determined that there was no sludge or gel in the engine. Car was well maintained and there was nothing I could have done to cause this. Warranty company is fighting us on fixing the vec. And Toyota will not do anything either. This happened on April 15, 2004 and it is now July 7, 2004. Toyota dealership still has my car.

- Bartlesville, OK, USA

problem #14

Jun 152003

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
Oil sludge problem. Engine makes noise

- Toronto, UN, USA

problem #13

Feb 152003

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
My engine seized. I've received 2 letters from Toyota dated 2/2002 and 6/2002 regarding oil gel. Car was towed to dealership- dealership had car "inspected by a no name Toyota district rep" dealership said not oil gel rep agrees contacted corporate they agreed with dealership. Sight unseen by customer. Napervile Toyota 1st goodwill repair included 50% of parts and service. After persuing they agreed to labor cost. Toyota mass produced an engine with small valve and learned it was a problem. Corrected it and thousand of consumers are being accuse of low lubricant and not manitenance there automobile correctly.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #12

Aug 152003

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
8/12/03 heard unusual noise shortly after getting on a highway. Pulled the car to the side and stopped. Found oil all over the place, inside the engine and outside on the ground. A Toyota dealer examined the car and said that the "#1 connecting rod" was broken and that it is not customer's fault. We bought Toyota Camry (4 cylinders) in 1999. We have been following the recommended maintenance schedule at the same Toyota dealer. Even 3 weeks before the engine broke down, we had a major maintenance following the advice of the Toyota dealer for preventing damage to the engine. As the mileage is over the warrante amount, Toyota doesn't pay for the required engine replacement and we hope they do. It's not fair to let us pay as we haven't done anything wrong.

- Woodbridge, CT, USA

problem #11

Jun 152003

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,200 miles
Blue exhaust smoke and odd engine noice during ignition. I took the car in to cobb county Toyota in kennesaw, ga. I took all of my maintenance records and some articles I'd printed out regarding oil gelling, in case they gave me any hassle. I told them I didn't want them to do a flush - he said that Toyota wouldn't allow them to do that anyhow, and that they would be taking it apart. He wouldn't even speculate whether or not it was gelling until they took it apart. As such, they wouldn't agree to pay for a rental car until they they confirmed it was gelling. They did take it apart and found that the gelling was limited to the head. Without asking for maintenance records (even though I'd had most of my oil changes done by 3rd parties), and completely free of cost to me, they cleaned the head, and replaced the valve stem seals, oil pump, pick-up screen, pvc valve, and valve cover. Runs smooth as the day I bought it now (though I did replace the timing belt as well, which I'm sure contributed slightly to the improvement). No rental car was necessary as they had it back to me by the end of the day (I'd taken it in the previous evening). Incidentally, I took it in 4 years to the day since I took delivery of it.

- Kennesaw, GA, USA

problem #10

Apr 152003

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
Initial symtoms: Engine lights came on; car ran very rough, as if misfiring; white smoke billowed; engine was completely void of oil; response: Mechanic flushed oil through engine; refilled engine with 4 quarts oil; changed front 3 sparkplugs; 1 week later same symtoms above returned; engine was completely void of oil again;

- Niskayuna, NY, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »