10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,797 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1999 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #21

Sep 112012

Camry 6-cyl

  • 107,467 miles
On 8-27-2011, set of 5 new Michelin destiny tire P205/65R-15 92T BSW (4 for driving wheels & 1 for spare wheel) were purchased and installed on 1999 Camry V6, mileage was 97163 miles. On 9-9-2012, a bubble was noticed on front driver side tire. On 9-11-2012, the bubbled tire blowout while was driving to tire shop for inspection of possible tire defective, but not at bubbled spot, mileage was at 107467 miles. The blowout caused damage the alloy wheel, front bumper and fender and mud flash on driver side. Removed the blowout tire with the spare tire, continued driving to the tire store and purchased new Michelin destiny tire P205/65R-15 92T BSW tire for replacement.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #20

Mar 242009

Camry

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 1999 Toyota Camry. While driving 65 mph, the contact experienced a tire blowout. As a result, he lost control of the vehicle and crashed into a guard rail. Upon doing so, the vehicle spun around in a complete circle before coming to a stop. The air bags deployed and the vehicle began smoking. The contact was not injured. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a local repair shop. The contact was waiting for a response from the manufacturer regarding the failure. The approximate failure and current mileages were 160,000.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #19

May 082008

Camry

  • 144,650 miles
Anew set of Goodyear viva, P195/70R14 was purchased at walmart sore 1195, waveland, ms on 5/8/08. I noticed a pronounced pull to the left and on 5/12/08 I took the car to leggett's tire & auto for alignment. After the alignment pull to the left was still present. I returned to leggett's and after checking the alignment, I was advised that the problem was not in the alignment but was due to a tire pull. I went back to walmart and after checking the balance they said there was nothing wrong with the tires. I have rotated tires about every other oil change and the pull to the left is present after every other oil change. I have had alignment done for the third time recently at a& a automotive repair in ocean springs, ms and was advised that the pull was not in the alignment but was a tire pull which would eventually lead to separation. I went to walmart store 2715 in D'iberville to express my complaint about the defect in the tires and was told they would research it. Dot codes are: Right front, M6rwh6hr1408; left front, M6rwh6hr_____; left rear, M6rwh6hr1608;right rear, M6rwh6hr_____.

- Vancleave, MS, USA

problem #18

Aug 182009

Camry

  • 92,600 miles
My first complaint is the cruise control on my vehicle. When I set it to over 50mph and then try to turn it off, my pedal sticks a little and acts like it doesn't want to release. The second complaint is the burning of oil smell that comes with the pedal sticking. I took the car back to the dealer and they said that the only things they found was a loose hose. It was retightend. I am also having issues with the electrical parts on my rear view mirrors. They are all opposites. Up is down right is left etc. I had gotten a vehicle car facts on the car and only one owner and rear accident was reported. Also I have already replaced my front two tires within a week of purchase and it makes a scraping noise whenever the car is in motion.

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

problem #17

Apr 012009

Camry

  • 169,000 miles
I was told that belt breakage contributed to my tires being out of round and egg shaped.

- Owensboro, KY, USA

problem #16

Jul 202008

Camry

  • 162,024 miles
The outer belt of the front tire separated while traveling on interstate 15 near baker, ca, towards las vegas, at 7:30 pm. With great difficulty, I was able to control the car and avoid a major accident in that busy highway. I received a citation from the highway patrol because I had to leave the car on the side of the highway. I had to pay for a tow truck to remove the car. The car was declared a total loss by the Liberty mutual's appraiser. I later found out that these tires had been recalled on Nov '06, but neither pep boys (the seller) nor the tire manufacturer, cooper tires, had ever contacted me about the recall. Moreover, pep boys had failed to inform me of the serious crash risk of these tires, even when I took my car on Mar 30th, 2008 for tire rotation !!! both companies pep boys and copper tires have been unresponsive to my complaints and claiming the other as the responsible party in this case. By the way, I'm still without a car.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #15

Aug 032008

Camry

  • miles
On six occasions in the past couple of years under normal driving conditions for southern California I have experienced tire failure due to tread separation. On two of these occasions I have been on the freeway and have been able to get to the side of road on four others I have been able to make it to the company where I purchased the tires. The tires involved with these failures have been on two separate cars both of them are 99 Toyota Camry's. the tires are the same manufacture and model but different sizes. The company where I purchased these tires from has worked with me and has replaced these tires on all occasions. I am writing this complaint now because I have this same problem with two tires on one of my Camry's and one tire on the other Camry and I feel that these tires are not safe.

- Nuevo, CA, USA

problem #14

Sep 062007

Camry 6-cyl

  • miles
Blow out of 2 cooper lifeliner classic 2 tires.

- Dayton, NV, USA

problem #13

Sep 102006

Camry

  • miles
Oct. 22, 2006 dear dunlop tire representative: On the morning of Sept. 10, as I was driving on interstate 10 to the jacksonville airport with my daughter, the dunlop tire on my car lost nearly its entire tread, damaging the car. Besides causing $1,800 in damage to my wifeż's car, the loss of the tread also could have caused a serious accident. Im sending you this letter, and ccing copies to the national highway traffic administration, my insurance company, and to my congressman and U.S. senators here in Florida, so that you will be aware of the problem and will take action to correct it, as I believe that it causes a threat to life and property. IżżD appreciate it if you could respond with details of what action you intend to take. The tire is a dunlop radial tubeless P195/70R14, rated at 90S M+S. sincerely, daniel lindley 564 101st ave. N. naples, fl 34108 239-591-8328, lindley555@earthlink.net cc: Aig insurance national highway safety traffic administration Florida U.S. congressmen and senators

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #12

Apr 292004

(reported on)

Camry

  • miles
Between September 2003 to February 2004, three of the four new B.F. goodrich tires failed. It resulted to difficulty of steering; vehicle swerving slightly and difficulty in steering. In addition, braking was poor and ride was unstable. Also, all three occurrences the following are observed by the consumer: No obstructions on the road, pavement was dry and in good condition, consumer didn't hit anything, no visible damage on tire during the time of failure, four inch crescent slit at the radial position inside the sidewall, and all tires were kept properly inflated. Consumer decided to replace the tires with a different brand.

- Shirley, MA, USA

problem #11

Jul 222003

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Defective replacement tires. After one year, the tires began causing vibration in the car. An independent service center and the tire sales center confirmed that the tires were defective. So far, 3 of 4 tires have been replaced.

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #10

Jul 022003

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
On April 2003, the consumer bought 4 Bridgestone tires, model potenza P195/70R14 dot- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 3 weeks later, on 4/21 while driving at 65 mph, the front left tire blew out and tread separated. Again, on May 22 the right rear tire blew out while driving. Manufacturer notified. The consumer requested reimbursement of the rim(s), wheel cover(s), hub caps, and a replacement of the tires with another brand.

- Palm Springs, CA, USA

problem #9

Jun 212003

Camry

  • miles
I purchased four new Bridgestone "potenza RE900" tires for my 1999 Toyota Camry le sedan from costco wholesale (72800 dinah shore dr, palm desert, ca 92211 (760) 202-1362) in early May. Two weeks later while driving to morning church (approx. 45 mph) I heard a large "boom" and discovered the left rear tire had exploded. I drove to the nearest gas station where they installed the same model spare tire. I returned to costco and they replaced the spare with a new Bridgestone potenza RE900 tire. Last Saturday evening about 6:00pm (June 21, 2003) while driving home to palm springs on highway 10 at approximately 55 mph, I heard another loud noise and discovered another Bridgestone potenza RE900 tire had exploded. Luckily, someone stopped and replaced it with the spare so I could get home. Again, I returned to costco where they replaced it with another Bridgestone potenza RE900 tire. In my opinion, costco's manager, aware of the problems with this particular tire should have: 1. immediately pulled them from the inventory so that this model could not be sold to other customers 2. reported this costco management... who, immediately, should have pulled them from the inventory of every store 3. reported this incident to Bridgestone/Firestone 4. reported this incident to the NHTSA. What should be my next recourse of action? I look forward to receiving a prompt response concerning this very serious matter. Sincerely, mildred madsen. 1370 adobe way palm springs, ca 92262 email: Madsenem@aol.com phone: (760) 323-4683.

- Palm Springs, CA, USA

problem #8

Jan 242000

Camry

  • miles
Consumer stated when driving at highway speeds, the vehicle would shake, the dealer found the tires were chopped and unevenly worn.

- Commack, NY, USA

problem #7

Aug 042001

Camry

  • miles
As we were driving on the freeway, going appx. 55 M.P.H., we heard a loud bang towards the rear end of the car. Then, our car started swerving from lane to lane as if we had no control over it. I could have hit several cars. But, soon I got the car into the right shoulder. We got down to see the left rear tire's steel belt had ripped off and the tire was bald. The bald tire caused thte whole car to swerve. (dot number: Urmw-203 tiresize: 19570R14S)

- Rialto, CA, USA

problem #6

Feb 022001

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Brakes squeak/ pull to left and warp. Also, cd player doesn't work, had 4 cds replaced/ springs in side of sun roof are broken and make noises, and regulator replaced inside of windows. Dealership is aware of problems. Consumer states that brake rotors have been turned at 9000 and 27000 miles, each time rotors are turned the brake pads have been replaced, however problem still occurs. Windshiled has a film like covering which makes it very difficult to see out of. Goodyear tire P205/65R15, dot M6urredr228 wore out prematurely.

- Vacaville, CA, USA

problem #5

Nov 022000

(reported on)

Camry

  • miles
No summary listed for above vehicle.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #4

Aug 232000

(reported on)

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Firestone tires on Toyota, Camry 1999. Front passenger's side general hp 400 as tire blewout. Tire size, 20565R15. General was contacted. Dot#acur2V1468.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #3

Aug 251999

Camry

  • miles
Tire blowout at a low speed.( dot number: )

- Wylie, TX, USA

problem #2

Aug 251999

(reported on)

Camry

  • miles
Two tires have been replaced. Mjs

- Willimanti, CT, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »