10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
38 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
16 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,552 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #72

Jul 092019

Corolla

  • 68,000 miles
I was slowly pulling up the driveway to park behind another vehicle when the Corolla suddenly surged forward. It accelerated quickly and I couldn't stop it. It crashed into the back of the other vehiclewaaq. Both vehicles sustained damage but the Corolla's is significant.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #71

Dec 162018

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle decelerated and simultaneously accelerated to 80 mph without warning, failure occurred several times. The vehicle was towed to an unknown dealer for diagnostic testing, but a failure code could not be located. The dealer also test drove the vehicle and was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 43,000. Consumer was told by NHTSA to contact attorney general of pa.

- Camp Hill, PA, USA

problem #70

Feb 142018

Corolla

  • 84,000 miles
On five separate occasions my 2006 Toyota Corolla experienced sudden acceleration. Vehicle each time was at very low speed, approximately 5 mph, going from park to drive or park to reverse, with light pressure applied to brakes. Engine began to race and accelerate, braking harder had no effect, and vehicle stopped only when shifted to park. Instances occurred while parallel parking or coming out of a driveway onto a busy street. Accelerator was not stuck in down position, but engine roared and raced on its own power. I had no control of vehicle during the four or five seconds it took me to shift into park. Vehicle was taken to dealer on November 17, 2017 after first three incidents, with service department finding no problem. Vehicle was brought to dealer again on February 14, 2018, after two more incidents of sudden acceleration. Service department could not replicate the problem and said they could find nothing wrong with the car. They suggested user error, my confusing the accelerator pedal with the brake pedal. It was not user error and not floor mats stuck under gas pedal. It happened five times and the vehicle is not safe to drive.

- Westchester, IL, USA

problem #69

Apr 162017

Corolla

  • 147,000 miles
Takata recall - my airbag light while driving also will come on when I first start the car. It started on several days turned off for a few days and came on again. This happens over & over.

- Friendswood, TX, USA

problem #68

Feb 212017

Corolla

  • 46,000 miles
Car accelerates by itself drastically making me almost hit a tree. This is the second time I make this complain to Toyota. They told me the first time a couple of years ago there was nothing wrong with the car. The acceleration happens not in a regular basis but sporadic. This time it happens when I was going very slow and there were children playing close to my home. I was very slow no more 3 to 5 miles and hour. I had to hit the breaks very hard to stop since as I was turning into the driveway the car accelerated on its own.

- Miramar, FL, USA

problem #67

Jun 282016

Corolla

  • 299,999 miles
Manufacturing defect with odometers in Toyota 2006. It is the federal law that mandate functional odometer. It appears that digital gauge in some Toyota cars was programmed to disconnect odometer at 299999 millage. Not only the replacement of odometer cost $600 but the new odometer will have to be set at 0 zero millage which is incorrect and fraudulent. Toyota odometer for whatever and unknown reason don't go pass 300000 miles. How otherwise the owner should keep a track of millage. Toyota doesn't seems to recognize this defect as a reason for recall and/or reimbursement. So far vehicle is in operation with millage stacked at 299999.

- Sherman Oaks, CA, USA

problem #66

May 242016

Corolla

  • 102,000 miles
The car was in reverse with foot on the brake when it suddenly accelerated out of control. The cause was definitely unintended acceleration and is the second such incident with this car since it was purchased used in December 2015.

- Richfield, MN, USA

problem #65

Nov 132015

Corolla

  • 33,898 miles
I had my brake applied and was stopping on city street and engine started racing and it hit the van ahead. With my foot on the brake I shifted the car into the park position hoping to stop the racing engine, but, it didn't stop. I am seeking possible source of problem as I would like to keep the vehicle it has only been driven 34,000 miles. Car has been repaired but I want to be sure I can have it fixed so I don't injure or kill anyone,

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #64

Jul 222015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 35,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. While attempting to park, the vehicle accelerated independently and crashed into a beam on the sidewalk. The windshield cracked, but there were no injuries. A police report was not filed. The air bags did not deploy. The vehicle was towed, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 35,500. MA 10/15/2015

- Berkeley, CA, USA

problem #63

Sep 052014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 144,000 miles
The date and mileage I list are approximate. At first we thought this was an issue related to brakes not releasing, now we see it is related to a gas pedal/throttle issue. What happens is when taking off the car would fall flat, like brakes sticking. Now the problem is worsening, and it is apparent that the engine is not responding, that is, no RPM's building. It is not the behavior of an engine hesitating. It is running fine, just unresponsive. Now a few days ago Monday May 27, 2015 I had an issue and the car would not climb over 15 mph for about 1/2 mile. No missfire, no signs of anything wrong with the engine running. I had the gas pedal down about 1/2 way for the car to even move. The car was recently at midas. They seen no problem with the brakes.

- Elsmere, KY, USA

problem #62

Oct 192014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to accelerate over 40 mph. The vehicle was restarted and all the warning lights illuminated. In addition, the vehicle failed to reverse and moved forward. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the shifter cable needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. On a separate occasion, while attempting to park, the vehicle accelerated without warning while the brake pedal was depressed. As a result, the contact crashed into a light post. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries reported. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was unable to be determined. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000. MA 07/30/15 updated 10/5/2017

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #61

Jan 222015

Corolla

  • 17,715 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving at low speeds, the vehicle abruptly accelerated and crashed into a median, two trees and came to a stop after crashing into a residential garage. The contact mentioned that the brake pedal was depressed but the brakes failed to respond. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and no injuries were reported. The contact mentioned the vehicle had three flat tires. The vehicle was towed by a flat bed but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 17,715.

- Fort Worth , TX, USA

problem #60

Nov 122014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
I noticed that my steering wheel was very difficult to turn so that "12" would go farther right than "2" or left than "10". I found that even within that "10" to "2" range, the car was not following my steering fast enough to make turns and curves as quickly as it usually does. I had to slow down sharply to stay on the road. Ten minutes later, I had to come to a complete stop in the road in order to direct the wheels into my driveway. During all of this, it seemed that both acceleration and brakes were less responsive than usual. Preceding the entire event, the engine had made some clacking/clanging/banging noises and the heat began to blow only cold air.

- Prospect, KY, USA

problem #59

Dec 182013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Toyota Corolla. Consumer writes in regards to sudden acceleration issue.* ld the consumer stated she was pulling into a parking lot, with her foot on the brake. The vehicle revved twice and then accelerated and crashed into a store. Also, the air bag did not deploy. The vehicle totaled.

- Port Saint Lucie, FL, USA

problem #58

Sep 242014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 169,000 miles
I was pulling into a parking spot at work (California state university East bay in hayward ca) at approximately 5 mph. I applied the brake pedal to stop the vehicle, but instead of stopping, it went over the curb, crossed the walkway, broke through and knocked over a large bush, rolled down an incline for 3-4 yards, and stopped when it struck a tree. I believe the incident appears similar to the current investigation under NHTSA action number DP14003.

- Walnut Creek, CA, USA

problem #57

Jun 132007

Corolla

  • 17,572 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while stopped, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact did not sustain any injuries but the driver and front passenger from the other vehicle sustained injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed at an unknown location and was repaired. The repairs were unknown. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 17,572.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #56

Feb 152014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while at a complete stop, the vehicle erroneously accelerated and the contact crashed into a pole followed by another vehicle. There were no injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. Updated 3/28/14 update: The consumer was stopped at a red light, and shifted to park, when the light changed green, she shifted to drive, and the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The consumer stated the police report indicated she was rear ended and then crashed into a pole. Updated 04/24/14

- Vista, CA, USA

problem #55

Jan 272014

Corolla

  • 57,000 miles
I was backing up out of a parking space, stopped and put car in drive position, and 2006 Toyota Corolla accelerated to a high speed, engine roared. I put my foot on brake immediately, shut off engine and pulled emergency brake. Lights on dashboard were lit, and I had no power steering. Car bolted forward and hit the back of a parked truck which stopped my vehicle. My daughter was in the passenger side and experienced this horrible event. I was bringing her home from an operation on her arm. Needless to say, we were both terrified. Had car towed to the Toyota garage. The service manager said he couldn't touch the car due to protocol, and gave me the 800 # for Toyota. That was on a Monday and on Friday I had to get my own rental car as I had not heard from Toyota in regard to a rental car.

- N.Easham, MA, USA

problem #54

Sep 012006

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 250 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated the vehicle experienced sudden acceleration and caused the contact to crash into the proceeding vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the front fender was replaced; however, there was no part replaced for the acceleration failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 250 and the current mileage was 53,000. Updated 11/13/13 the consumer stated it took a total of four (4) trips to the dealer in order to repair the acceleration issue. The paint on the fender began to peel after being repainted due to the accident caused by the acceleration failure. Updated 11/18/2013

- Baltimore , MD, USA

problem #53

Aug 132013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
I was parking in my tandem parking spot behind my husband's car. I tapped the accelerator and then stepped on the brake to finish parking. When my foot was on the brake, the car continued to accelerate. I pressed harder on the brake but the car continued to accelerate, and stopped when it hit my husband's car. The hood, bumper, grill, and front fenders on my car were damaged. The bumper on his car was cracked. I am certain I was pressing the brake and not the accelerator. I filed a complaint with Toyota. They did an edr investigation on my car but could not replicate the problem or find evidence of sua. The person who did the inspection told me he deemed it was safe to drive. Toyota takes about 3-4 weeks to close the case from the time of inspection. I was still concerned from background information I had read about sua (that often it cannot be detected or replicated) and did not want to drive the car anymore. I traded in the car and purchased a new car (a Honda this time), and was up front with them about the incident.

- Chicago, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »