10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,061 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Volvo S80:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #87

Mar 042008

S80 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
My 2000 S80 T6 stalls in traffic and loses power while driving. Whenever I stop at a traffic light, I'll have to step harder on the accelerator in order to avoid the vehicle behind me from hitting my car.sometimes it jerks so bad I feel that engine may fall off.there's no engine light on or anything. I have called Volvo and was told the problem is ETM but has been replaced on my car according to their records. I have taken the car to the dealership and had different components tested out and fixed but that did not solve the problem.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #86

Oct 082011

S80 6-cyl

  • 144,400 miles
Driving in the city and when trying to stop on a traffic light the brakes became hard and engine was not running well. When I tried to drive off in the green light the speed control of the gas pedal was very chaotic. I got a message of engine system service required. I took the car to the local Volvo dealer and he diagnosed a faulty throttle ETM asking 2000 $ to replace. After researching I found that there was already a recall on that by Volvo and when I asked the dealer he said that this was true but my car was more than 10 years old ( although he could have informed me about that in the first place). He informed me that a software service on the ETM of my car was done in 2006 ( after the recall?) but this did not fix the problem as apparently the problem is with the ETM design ( faltering potentiometer). This car is very dangerous and it will probably go to the junkyard, but we should be concerned by all Volvo remaining on the street with faulty ETM's, which the numerous complaints filed at NHTSA show.

- Greer, SC, USA

problem #85

Sep 032011

S80

  • 131,329 miles
I was driving along a busy street, when I came to a stop sign the brakes where hard to push, when I finally stopped the car, you could still fill the car trying to move forward I took my foot of the brakes and the car sped up on it's on reaching close to 40 mph again I was barely able to stop the car do to a stiff brake pedal. I put the car in park and shut it off, once I restarted the car it was sputtering and wouldn't idle correctly every time I put the car in gear it would shut off now I'm getting an error message that says service engine system urgent.

- East Moline, IL, USA

problem #84

Jun 202011

S80

  • 58,675 miles
On winding downhill road (1500 ft. Drop in 2 miles) car went from 45 to non-optional 20 mph due to failure throttle body. Part know to suddenly fail was subject of lawsuit about 2005 which settled in limited time free replacement now expired. Should have been a recall as now permits safety issue to continue indefinitely in automobile type/model typically driven decades. Note: Car when slowed backed up downhill traffic on the decent is the major cause fatal and other accidents in the area, and set stage for out-of-control slowing accidents. Alternative of pulling off and requesting tow at least as equally hazardous.

- Torrance, CA, USA

problem #83

Feb 022011

S80 6-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
The car throttle is faulty. My car revs to high RPM when idle and at low speeds. It also is in limp mode. When this problem was found and recalled in 2006 I brought the car in for the software upgrade, but the car is still trying to lunge forward at low speeds and revving in idle. I was told by Volvo customer care there was nothing they will do for the problem since the software had been upgraded even though the throttle is faulty.

- Cumberland, RI, USA

problem #82

Jan 172011

S80

  • 162,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Volvo S80. The contact was driving 70 mph when the vehicle independently decelerated to 20 mph and the vehicle would not respond to acceleration attempts. The vehicle was shut off and restarted but the failure was still present. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who advised that the vehicle probably needed a new computer but the mechanic was not positive that the repair would correct or was causing the failure. The contact then called the manufacturer in reference to NHTSA campaign id number: 06V441000 (vehicle speed control) but was informed that the vehicle had previously been repaired according to the recall. The vehicle was not further repaired. The current mileage was approximately 166,000 and the failure mileage was approximately 162,000.

- Panorama City, CA, USA

problem #81

Feb 022011

S80 6-cyl

  • 116,000 miles
I have a 2000 Volvo S 80 and it was sold to me by a dealer this car has so many problems and I feel that when I took the car to Volvo they tried to charge me 6400 just to fix the problem like ABS sensors, stc sensor, throttle etc I feel its un fair I only had the car for 3days what can I do.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #80

Jul 042010

S80

  • 109,000 miles
2000 Volvo S80. Transmission failure with only 109,000 miles. I have always done the required maintenance and service on the vehicle, which included a transmission flush in 2003. I had no prior warnings, no slipping, nothing. The transmission fluid is clean, at the level it is supposed to be at, no leaks, and no warning "check engine" or "transmission" lights came on. My mechanic said that due to the sudden failure with no warning, it is most likely something internal that just broke and that I have to get a new transmission.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #79

Feb 092008

S80 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Volvo S80. The contact noticed that when the vehicle was at a stop, the rpms fluctuated up and down. The contact also noticed that when he did not have the brake pedal depressed to the floorboard, the vehicle would suddenly surge forward. He experienced the failure with what he assumed to be the transmission for a year before taking it to the dealership. The authorized dealer was informed about the failure but the contact was told that the repair costs would be at his expense. He called the manufacturer and was informed that because the vehicle was no longer under warranty, he would be responsible for repair costs. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who cleaned the throttle body. The contact noticed no problems until recently. However, the contact began experiencing the same failure. The failure mileage was approximately 80,000 and the current mileage was approximately 125,000. The consumer stated the vehicle has a defective throttle body that makes the vehicle have an erratic idle when stopped or going very slow. As a result, it would lunge forward. Updated 05/12/10.

- Sound Beach, NY, USA

problem #78

Mar 122010

(reported on)

S80 6-cyl

  • miles
2000 Volvo S80 with a defective throttle. Consumer states discontent regarding auto recall and warranty. The consumer stated the vehicle has a defective throttle body which caused the vehicle to have an erratic idle when stopped or going very slow. As a result, it would lung forward. The consumer stated he never received any information regarding a recall.

- Sound Beach, NY, USA

problem #77

Dec 032009

S80

  • 150,002 miles
I own a 2000 Volvo S-80 T6, which I have had nothing but problems with. Before I had it, my son owned it and also had problems with it. One is that the vehicle doesn't start, it stalls, and it surges forward or in reverse. All since 2005. Just last month I ran into my garage door and several times almost was involved in vehicle crashes due to it either surging forward or dying on me. I read how there is a possible recall on 2001 models, so why does it not include 2000 yrs. Does it take an accident with lives lost before anything is done to correct these problems. The vehicle has been taken in to the dealership and I have been told that the problem has been taken care of. So why is it still happening? the last incident happened on January 3rd of 2009, where I ran into my garage, caused from the car surging. The vehicle has been in for the same problem on numerous occasions.

- Lodi, CA, USA

problem #76

Sep 012009

S80

  • miles
The events that are occurring are that my vehicle will die on me, at times it won't start, and it lunges forward as I start the engine. It is also idling very high. It happens almost daily. I have had my vehicle checked for any recalls, and have had sensors replaced several times. Now my vehicle is smelling of gas as I try and start it. I had it repaired on 7/22/09, as the vehicle wouldn't pass smog, at which time apparently they replaced a sensor at that time.

- Lodi, CA, USA

problem #75

Aug 082002

S80

  • 15,726 miles
ETM (electric throttle module intake manifold) needs to be replaced! (Volvo only has a very limited extended warranty issued on 4/2006. The ETM was cleaned 3 different times since 8/8/02; and a software upgrade was completed on 10/19/06. My last 2 complaints to my Volvo dealership mechanic has resulted in denial on 10/19/06 and refusal to repair under the extended warranty on 8/18/08 due to unretrievable computer codes (Volvo admits the problem was still an ETM problem). [this has occurred every year for the last 6 years!!!] on several occasions, accidents almost happened because the vehicle either stalls on the freeway at 55-60mph, or vehicle suddenly surges at a red light or stop sign. According to vexedvolvo.com, the real cause is due to a wearing out of the "potentiometer films in the throttle position sensors". a simple ETM "cleaning" will not suffice.

- Flushing, NY, USA

problem #74

Jun 072007

S80

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Volvo S80. The contact experienced two failures listed as recalls for the suspension and vehicle speed control. The manufacturer stated that his VIN was not included in the recalls. He is very upset with being excluded from the recalls because the failures are identical. While proceeding to make a left turn at approximately 5 mph, the tire detached from the front driver side of the vehicle. The contact felt that this was a very serious safety hazard. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic and the wheel axle, lower control arm, and upper ball joint were replaced. The contact also observed the failure of the speed control mechanism. While driving between 55-60 mph and applying pressure to the accelerator pedal, the vehicle decelerated and hesitated. This failure occurs only during highway driving. The vehicle has not been repaired for this failure. The recall numbers were unknown. The failure mileage was 53,000 and the current mileage was unknown.

- Lacrescenta, CA, USA

problem #73

Nov 102005

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
- the contact stated that the 2000 Volvo S80 had repairs done on 11/10/05 for the electronic throttle module. He originally had the repair completed on 11/10/05. The contact stated that the recall was repaired again on 02/09/07, and he still hasdthe same problems with the vehicle. The dealership informed him that he would have to be fully responsible for the cost of the repairs himself. The contact will be filling a complaint with the manufacturer on 2/20/07, and will be sending in information needed for reimbursement for the 1st repair. The failure mileage was 7800, and the current mileage was 101000.

- Mclean, VA, USA

problem #72

Dec 012006

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
Approximately 6 months ago vehicle began erratic throttle while on speed control (surging). Dealer serviced vehicle with software update and temporarily resolved problem. Problem has returned as well a spontaneous stalling, and very erratic variance in throttle pedal position and acceleration. Stalling has occurred with throttle pedal release entering turn lane - no power steering nor brake boost. Dealer has serviced vehicle - cleaned sensors related to throttle position module - with no improvement. Wife is refusing to drive vehicle she now refers to as scary.

- Dearborn, MI, USA

problem #71

Oct 012005

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
1. following download of recall software performance has been vastly reduced and now only achieves 8.2 mpg. 2. the ABS control module functions intermittently and usually in the failure mode. ABS brakes do not function properly-replacement $950 3. while backing (cold engine), brakes fail to stop the car for several seconds (feet). 4. the vehicle stalls mostly on turns but on straight away. A. car now shuts off approx 6-8 times while driving, dangerous while driving at interstate/highway speeds. It "surges" forward and the lights (dash and headlights) fade - vehicle stalls with no power steering or power brakes. 5. cruise control fails "? up hills/down hills shuts down. Now is inoperable. 6. the electronic door locks malfunction intermittently. 7. following error codes display and total mileage, trip 1 & 2 mileage displays default to ?? --------?" and mileage does not log on the odometer: A.brake failure stop asap B.coolant level low stop asap C.ABS failure / service required D.stc service required E.power steering failure - service required F.emission system service required G.stop safely and restart engine H.alarm system service required I.alarm triggered J.emission system service required K.no oil pressure stop asap L.check engine. The ball joint, driver side window motor, sunroof switch were replaced. Numerous bulb replacements and replacement of mass flow sensor. The cooling fan malfunctioned. The ABS control module would function intermittently which would cause the ABS to not function. The power steering failed. The vehicle will completely shut off while driving. The cruise control was inconsistent, the vehicle would loose power with the cruise activated. The electronic doors malfunctioned, the fob does not always open the door and at times when closing the driver side door. Updated 12/15/06.

- Beverly, MA, USA

problem #70

Oct 252006

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,900 miles
Erratic throttle post 10 minutes of drive, much acceleration, not enough acceleration, hesitation, backfires lean. Gets stuck 2nd gear. Cel on. "transmission service urgent" warning message displayed. Cruise control is lost and cannot be turned back on. Obdii pcodes stored 10-29-2006 10:21:18.464 read stored dtc: P0756 dtc: P1171 dtc: P1181 dtc: P1618 10-29-2006 10:21:18.474 read stored dtc: P1184 10-29-2006 10:21:18.474 read stored dtc: P1174 the first code always displayed when the fault occurs. Subsequent continued driving results in the second code pending or permanent. The remaining codes will be added in pairs. First dealer reports I have 18 codes but factory vadis indicates can only store 15 codes maximum. Requested additional $300 to adjust fuel trims, check exhaust and intake leaks, check O2 sensors, work declined. Second dealer reports needs complete transmission. No attempt to solve complaints by dealer, contacted Volvo customer service and they declined to discuss problems, they declined any further involvement. Car had salvage title 2+ years ago from minor accident which prematurely deployed air bags, repaired and returned to service. I am retired ase master mechanic, service manager, and sae member, this is not a transmission issue but caused by the erratic actions of the throttle body system and module. Transmission passes all conventional tests. Results stuck in gear can be corrected by cycling the ignition switch off and back on. This can be done by pulling to the side of the road and stopping to cycle the key or traffic permitting placing in neutral and restarting and then back to drive. No observed failures above 65 mph. Tsb send wrong signals to "network" are translated as instructions resulting in poor fuel consumption, high emissions, abnormal wear and tear on transmission, ignition switch, starter, and related components for normal operation, plus a dangerous driving condition.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #69

Jul 052005

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,522 miles
In early Jul 05, I experienced electronic throttle system (ets) problems with my 2000 Volvo S80. Particularly concerning to me from a safety standpoint was that several times, including when I was in highway driving situations, the car on its own suddenly accelerated and decelerated, hesitated on acceleration or would not accelerate, and displayed engine stall symptoms. The computer indicated degraded engine performance (limp mode). I lined up a service appointment with lovering Volvo of meredith. After lovering's first attempt at repairs, the car was still not operating normally and I took it back to the dealer a second time. I paid a total of $2,074.42 for repairs, $1,741.44 the first time and $332.98 during the second visit. In accordance with a June 2006 Volvo letter, I took my S80 back to lovering for inspection and ets software upgrade. I submitted to Volvo a claim for reimbursement for ets repairs. The advertising checking bureau (acb), which administers the ets warranty rebate program on behalf of Volvo, sent me a check for $747.93 for the ets repairs. Acb said it was authorized to reimburse me only the $587.93 cost of electronic throttle body, electronic throttle module reload, and gasket, and associated $160 labor cost. Acb advised me to contact the Volvo customer care center. A Volvo customer care representative confirmed that acb had done as instructed and suggested that I take up the matter of the remaining repair costs with lovering. The lovering invoices, dated July 26, 2005 and August 8, 2005, indicate that a $295.65 portion of the initial $1,741.44 repair bill had to do with totally unrelated steering/suspension and engine mount repairs. Still questionable in my mind are the oxygen sensor repairs which added up to $897.86 and the subsequent mass air flow sensor repairs which came to $332.98. I suspect the problems are all ets-related and I am currently pursuing the matter with the dealership.

- Hebron, NH, USA

problem #68

May 102006

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,400 miles
A 2000 Volvo S80 T-6 would on occasion change speed and jerk without warning. The problem initially was sporadic but became increasingly worst over a period of three weeks. A Volvo dealership checked the vehicle and found the electronic throttle module was bad and needed replacement. Repair cost exceed $1,200. Ouch.

- Elgin, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »