10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,081 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #111

Feb 072014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
I was approaching a intersection when the engine stopped running, I stopped the car, put the car in park, then I tried to start the car it wouldn't do anything, tried to take it out of park and it wouldn't come out park nor would it start and the key wouldn't come out of the ignition switch. This is a safety problem I could have been killed !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #110

Dec 152014

Impala 8-cyl

  • 72,389 miles
The first time the loud noise happen was back in 12/2014. 02/08/2015 the noise was so loud that I pull off the road. It seems to be coming from behind the dash or radio? I call GM and was advised that there is not and has not been a recall form this although there has been several complaints. Per GM the cost of repairs is on the car owner.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #109

Jul 162014

Impala

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that an abnormal noise emitted from the heating system when the driver door was open. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Westland, MI, USA

problem #108

Jan 012015

Impala

  • miles
The key gets stuck and is very difficult to remove the key.

- Stratford,, CT, USA

problem #107

May 302014

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled causing the contact to lose control of the vehicle. As a result, the contact crashed into a guard rail and rolled over. The air bags did not deploy and the vehicle failed to restart. The contact did not disclose if a police report was filed or not. The contact sustained whiplash all over the body that required medical attention. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, who diagnosed that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 4/27/15 updated 9/18/2017

- Mountain Green, UT, USA

problem #106

Jan 012015

Impala

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the steering wheel seized and no warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Temple, OK, USA

problem #105

Jan 082015

Impala

  • 71,000 miles
Key went and turned vehicle on. When I stopped to pull key out it would not release.

- Portsmouth, OH, USA

problem #104

Jan 162014

Impala

  • miles
2000 Chevrolet Impala. Vehicle wouldn't start. Took it to service dealer and got it fixed. Recall was issued for same reason. The key, and tumbler were replaced, and the key switch was re-programmed.

- Zanesville, OH, USA

problem #103

Dec 162014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 50-60 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle could be restarted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 46,000. Updated 3/3/15 the consumer stated it was obvious the vehicle had a faulty ignition. The engine would stall on a major highway. Updated 03/26/15

- Glen Cove, NY, USA

problem #102

Dec 112014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 79,681 miles
On 12/11 the key would not disengage from ignition although gear shift is in park. On 12/12 the car was able to start with key still stuck. I took the car to the dealer and when the technician went to get basic information to start the service process the gear shift was stuck in the park position. Dealer was unable to disengage shift and key. General Motors escalated representative 800-222-1020 refused to service the vehicle at their expense for faulty manufactured parts. After researching this issue online this is a common GM Chevrolet Impala problem for which GM should accept full responsibility by performing a voluntary recall.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #101

Nov 142014

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
After receiving a recall notice followed by an advisement the repair part(s) were in I took my vehicle to the dealer with the belief that the ignition switch was going to be repaired or replaced. Airport Chevrolet-medford, Oregon. All that was done was the size of the key ring hole on the keys were reduced. Was this an acceptable fix for the ignition switch problem, and if so, why was that not mentioned on any of the tv news coverage like ignition switch replacement was? thank you.

- Medford, OR, USA

problem #100

Oct 292014

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the key failed to disengage from the ignition switch. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the shift park fuse needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 67,000. Updated 12/22/14 the consumer stated the vehicle was traded in. Updated 05/26/2015

- Bogalusa, LA, USA

problem #99

Oct 132014

Impala

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 45 mph, the vehicle decelerated to 40 mph. The contact also stated that the decrease in power and the traction control warning lights illuminated. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 58,000.

- Mccook, NE, USA

problem #98

Nov 022014

Impala

  • 115,000 miles
At 55 mph, a warning message stating service traction control-engine power reduced appeared. While driving downhill or on level ground, I had sufficient power to continue driving. When headed uphill it was extremely difficult to get the car to shift into a lower gear. When it finally did shift, it shifted hard and really jerked the car. A few miles down the road, I rounded a corner and began to pick up some momentum. Without warning, the engine stopped and another warning light stating starting disabled-service throttle appeared. I had enough momentum to move off to the side of the road. I tried to start the car several times. The engine did not crank and the message continued to flash. I completely turned the key off and sat for a few minutes. I was about to call for a tow truck when I tried again. The engine started and I was able to continue home with no issues. A few days later, the first message I mentioned appeared (service traction control-engine power reduced). I was still at work, so I found a parking space and turned the engine off immediately. A few minutes later, I restarted the engine and drove away. I guess I'm just lucky this didn't happen on the turnpike or interstate. GM has to know about this. I guess they don't pay attention to near-misses.

- Pottstown, PA, USA

problem #97

Aug 012014

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #96

Oct 312014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 90,680 miles
Car states reduced engine power stalling to about 10mph very dangerous. Many complaints about this issue.

- Attalla, AL, USA

problem #95

Oct 272014

Impala

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle crashed into a pothole and the key released from the ignition while the vehicle was still powered on. In addition, the vehicle stalled and the contact was able to get the vehicle restarted. The dealer diagnosed the failure. However, the repairs performed were unknown. The vehicle was repaired. The contact sustained a head injury from hitting his head against the door which did not required medical attention. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 58,000.

- East St Louis, IL, USA

problem #94

Sep 152014

Impala

  • miles
2009 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to recall repair. The consumer stated the recall was performed on September 15, 2014. However, the repair only last for about 10 miles. The dealer stated there was probably something else wrong with the vehicle. The vehicle would not stay in the run position which resulted in loss of engine power.

- Lancaster, OH, USA

problem #93

Mar 122014

Impala

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated while driving approximately 65 mph, the check engine and traction warning lights illuminated. Also, the low engine power illuminated on the display and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle restarted after the first attempt but the failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing and the computer was reset. The failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Tyndall, SD, USA

problem #92

Oct 172014

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the key was difficult to turn over into the on position. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system) and NHTSA campaign number: 10V480000 (seat belts); however, the parts needed were not available. The dealer was unable to provide a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Champaign, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »