10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,108 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #49

Aug 262019

Impala

  • 40,000 miles
While driving 30 mph on city streets going straight with a slight incline the A/C and radio powered on and off several times. When stopped at a stop light the doors unlocked and "service stabilitrak" flashed on and off the dash, the radio powered down, and the A/C turned off. After a few second everything went back to normal. No check engine lights came on at all. This is not the first time this has happened.

- Burbank, CA, USA

problem #48

Jul 042019

Impala

  • 91,000 miles
Traction control light and chime on and off..............car runs ok but chime will drive you crazy.............need to turn it off................

- Rumson, NJ, USA

problem #47

May 102014

Impala

  • 41,233 miles
My wife and I own a 2012 Chevrolet Impala, I have researched this vehicle a lot.on complaint websites, there are pages and pages of people complaining about the blend doors for heat and air, you have no control over the defrost or air oor heat, that is dangerous for anybody to drive and you can go up to car and badly touch car and it starts clicking and clicking and donżT stop, Chevrolet refuses to fix problem that's their fault for using inferior parts, that to me and a lot, a lot of people say Chevrolet and GM, donżT give a damn about the safety of their vehicles or customers, so if this problem isnżT addressed, I know you donżT care but Iżll never buy a Chevrolet again, and Iżve bought quite a few Chevrolet's, but never been treated this way for their mistakes, the reason I know it's dangerous is because you canżT control any functions of the heat air or defrost, my wife is disabled and for her to have to get out and wipe windshield off just to drive, and god help us if it rains, we have to pull over to clean windshield, if that's not dangerous then anybody that owns one of these cars

- Auburn, GA, USA

problem #46

Mar 012019

Impala

  • 98,000 miles
The actuator has failed in the car, a small electrical motor that moves the temp doors or the recirculation door. When the actuator goes bad, you will hear a thump noise from under the dash that is extremely loud, which impedes the driver ability to hear emergency vehicles, which is true a safety concern. I have googled online and there are 5K complaints overall. This is a factory defect which is not safe for consumer. Https://www.cargurus.com/cars/discussion-T1733_ds503761 https://www.carcomplaints.com/Chevrolet/Impala/2012/ac_heater/knocking_noise_in_glove_compartment.shtml

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #45

Mar 012017

Impala

  • 0 miles
Notification on dash has been on stating that the airbag deployment system will not deploy. On star has also sent me diagnostic reports stating this is a urgent matter that needs to be fixed

- Baldwin Park, CA, USA

problem #44

Feb 162019

Impala

  • 42,303 miles
2/16/2019 (sat 3:30pm) : suddenly lost power when driving at 70 mph on highway 99 near fresno, California. Felt like no gas coming in. Engine was still on, but gas pedal seemed to pump no gas to the engine. Pumping the gas pedal had no acceleration response. Speed continued to drop on the highway, very dangerous! finally, luckily pulled over to the shoulder without mishap. Engine was still on when stopping by the side of the highway, kind of idling at low RPM. Shut off the engine and tried to restart it to hope for the problem to go away. Cranked a dozen times and could not to get engine to continue. Felt like running out of gas. 2/17/2019 sun: The car was finally towed to a nearby dealer. 2/18/2019 mon dealer service diagnosis reported broken "fuel flow control module". the estimate of its repair (part + labor) is near $500 I have asked the replaced module to be saved for investigation. Summary: Sudden failure of the fuel flow control module that completely cuts off the fuel without a fail-safe design, nor a warning, for a part not in the regular maintenance list, particularly at low mileage (42,000) exposes drivers to high risk of accidents on the highway. Action requested: It may be a quality-escaped issue on such a module. Failsafe design is needed for 21 century highway safety. I ask NHTSA to request GM to investigate this case to determine the cause of such sudden failure of fuel flow control module on a low-mileage car.

- Cypress, CA, USA

problem #43

Oct 012018

Impala

  • 104,000 miles
The radio works when it wants to shows a blank screen and does absolutely nothing. My door chimes, ignition chime, seat belt chimes, turn signal chimes none of that works either. Not sure if it's an electrical issue. However I had my battery and alternator tested. Have been having this issue for maybe 2 months now.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #42

Jul 222018

Impala

  • 96,000 miles
When driving sudden jerks of extra power then sometimes lower power/ alot of clicking when im not in the car and everytime I open the door or turn off the car. Lighta flicker when rolling the windows up or down and just when they want

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #41

Dec 152017

Impala

  • 68,000 miles
Takata recall problems with blower motor in ac..was replaced twice. One side of vent is hot while other is cold. Also loud tapping noise after car is shut off..continuously even when engine is turned off. Believe a bad relay now that I need to replace. My sister car also does same thing she has a 2006 Impala.

- Georgetown, SC, USA

problem #40

Dec 042017

Impala

  • 0 miles
I took in my wife's 2012 Impala into the auto mechanic about a month ago because her defroster was not working. The mechanic said that that something burned (I think it was a box with some wires). He replaced it with a new part and it was working. Last week I noticed that her rear defroster is not working again. I plan on taking it in again but if they fix the same thing I would assume it would be an ongoing cycle of this problem. I did do some internet research and noticed that others are having the same problem. I contacted Chevrolet cooperation and they said that there is no recall on this.

- Joppa, MD, USA

problem #39

Sep 272017

Impala

  • 70,000 miles
I own a Chevy Impala that had an ignition switch recall and an airbag recall. The 2012 Chevrolet Impala that I own caused me to have a severe accident that caused me to suffer major injuries because the airbags didn't deploy. NHTSA campaign id: 14V355000 recall date: 2014-06-23 summary this defect can affect the safe operation of the airbag system. Until this recall is performed, customers should remove all items from their key rings, leaving only the ignition key. The key fob (if applicable), should also be removed from the key ring. General Motors llc (GM) is recalling certain model year 2005-2009 Buick lacrosse, 2006-2011 Buick lucerne, 2000-2005 Cadillac Deville, 2006-2011 Cadillac dts, 2006-2014 Chevrolet Impala, and 2006-2007 Chevrolet Monte Carlo vehicles. Specs / reviewsfor sale safety 2012 Chevrolet Impala 2012 safety 2012 Chevrolet Impala recalls features rating recalls NHTSA campaign id: 14V355000 recall date: 2014-06-23 summary this defect can affect the safe operation of the airbag system. Consequences if the key is not in the run position, the air bags may not deploy if the vehicle is involved in a crash, increasing the risk of injury. Additionally, a key knocked out of the run position will cause loss of engine power, power steering, and power braking, increasing the risk of a vehicle crash. Remedy GM will notify owners, and dealers will install two key rings and an insert in the key slot or a cover over the key head on all ignition keys, free of charge. The recall began on September 23, 2014. Owners may contact General Motors customer service at 1-800-521-7300 (Buick), 1-800-458-8006 (Cadillac), and 1-800-222-1020 (Chevrolet). GM's number for this recall is 14299. Component affected electrical system:ignition notes General Motors llc

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #38

Oct 062017

Impala

  • 85,000 miles
I purchased this car used in 2014 with ~30,000 miles, and it presently has ~85,000 miles. In that time I have replaced 4 gas pedals because the alert triggered "service stabilitrak" tells the technician to replace the gas pedal - clearly not the problem. Essentially, when the defect occurs, engine power is reduced to where the car can barely get out of its own way which is really dangerous during highway rush hour (when folks drive more aggressively) or pulling onto a roadway from a dead stop. If I power the car down and restart it, the error will usually clear, but often reoccurs. Since it tends to happen on hot, sunny days (temp >75F) when the A/C is running, it feels like a wiring problem. The dealer service department suggested replacing the body control module, but could not guarantee that would resolve the issue. Based upon the number of complaints over a similar issue, it appears that GM has a problem that it is not willing to address with a recall or service bulletin.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #37

Mar 152017

Impala

  • 72,000 miles
I have about 72,000 miles on my car and the service stabilitrak, service brake assist and service traction control messages come on and the ABS and electronic stability control light also are on. It happens when turning left or right and also the ABS kick in and effects the steering. I have replaced the right and left hub assemblies and it has not helped no codes are found when vehicle is scanned. This has been going on for several months. Thanks for your help. This will all happen in drive way and on city roads/highways.

- Princeton, KY, USA

problem #36

Mar 052017

Impala

  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 20 mph, the electronic stability control and stability control warning indicators illuminated. The contact stated that an electrical short caused the dashboard, center console by the shifter lever, and front bucket seats to melt. The vehicle was not taken to be diagnosed or repaired. The contact also noticed visible smoke in the vehicle while driving. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact was informed by the manufacturer that a representative would be sent to investigate and diagnose the vehicle. The approximate failure mileage was 61,000.

- Middletown, RI, USA

problem #35

Feb 012017

Impala

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Impala. While driving approximately 55 mph, the contact had to reduce the speed to avoid a rear end crash. The vehicle stalled and forced the driver into the median. The vehicle came to a complete stop. The driver side rim was bent. The vehicle was driven home and was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 78,000.

- Milton, FL, USA

problem #34

Jan 102017

Impala

  • miles
Vehicle steering wheel locks and car completely shuts off while driving (in motion) on a busy highway. This vehicle has done this two other times, but not on the exact same date. Steering wheel also locks while turning left or right on a busy street.

- Wetumpka, AL, USA

problem #33

Aug 012016

Impala

  • 50,000 miles
The car keeps shorting out the battery. The starter is sluggish. The traction control light keeps coming on.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #32

Sep 092016

Impala

  • 57,000 miles
I was driving down the highway, going about 60mph when the check engine light came on and the carjust died, it started to decelerate, I tried to push gas but car would not go. Luckily traffic was light and able to get to the side of the rode without injury.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #31

Jul 302016

Impala

  • 72,000 miles
My car is trying to kill me. At a complete stop when I hit the gas the traction control comes on. My dash says service stabilitrak, traction control and ABS. I must turn off the traction control to drive my vehicle. With all that, if I drive up hill it turns the traction control on, the ABS and traction control light up and the lights stay on. When the car is restarted all the lights go away. Twice I was pulling onto the highway from a stop. That situation happened and my car didnt move. Luckily the car was able to move or else I would have severly injured. This happens with my vehicle daily. I took my car in because my alternator failed. I told the dealership about a tsb for the issue and they did nothing. It also happens a lot if im accelerating while turning a corner. The dash lights up like christmas lights.

- Mckees Rocks, PA, USA

problem #30

Apr 012016

Impala

  • 50,800 miles
Driving 55 mph on the interstate noticed that I hadn't filled up in a while yet the fuel gauge still read "completely full". filled up at gas station took 3/4 of a tank. Gauge has been alternating between full and completely empty for a month. Could have run out of gas at speed on interstate causing accident internet research has uncovered a few incidents like that. Chevy support is willing to waive the 50 dollar diagnostic fee but will not cover repairs. Local garage quoted 250 labor 160 part to replace fuel gauge sensor in the tank, but from online research past years have seen instrument cluster failures in fuel gauge, speedometer and engine temp. Car has 50800 miles on it is four years old and may require repairs 400-2K depending on which part is failure. Previous GM products have had class action lawsuits for similar issues. This is a safety issue as the gauge fails and the check engine light took 25 days to come on with the error code in the 460's that the sensor was bad. Currently driving vehicle with broken fuel gauge and submitting complaints talking with support to try to get them to cover repairs.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »