10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 10
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,184 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #140

Feb 112015

Town & Country

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while coming to a stop, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart and resumed to normal. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated the part was not available for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 75,000.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #139

Mar 242015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 05/19/15 the consumer stated as of May 5, 2015 the part necessary to repair the vehicle had not become unavailable. Updated 7/6/2015

- Chillicothe, IL, USA

problem #138

Jun 152013

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country.the contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system).the contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Corona , NY, USA

problem #137

Jun 302014

Town & Country

  • 69,200 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start until after repeated attempts. The failure recurred twice. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 69,200.

- Bloomington, IN, USA

problem #136

Mar 192015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lake Havasu City, AZ, USA

problem #135

Jun 302014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/20/15

- Home, PA, USA

problem #134

Mar 062015

Town & Country

  • 69,000 miles
I received a recall notice issued June 14, 2014 regarding the ignition switch problem. I have had multiple incidents in which the ignition switch would not work and had to call for help. Car battery, battery in key, and alternator were all fine. Was determined that the ignition switch is the problem. I am 82 years old and a widow. I am afraid to be stranded again. The dealer tells me that he can not secure the necessary repair part(s). I am very unhappy and worried about the risks involved. Can you help?

- Bloomington, IN, USA

problem #133

Mar 112015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
I contacted [xxx], service manager, with auto nation Dodge Ram in centennial, Colorado, 80012 on Monday 16 March 2015 at 17:50. The dealership is located at 10743 E arapahoe rd, centennial, co 80112. The phone number is 303.929.4656. He informs me that for the recall I have, they do not have the parts and that there is no procedure stating what is to be done to correct the issue. Also since the recall is beyond three (3) years old, he is not sure when the parts will come in. Although the notice went out 06/16/2011, I received the notice via mail in mid 2014. How can my dealership get the parts, can you assist? the manufacturer recall number is: L25 NHTSA recall number is: 11V-139 the NHTSA number provided on the mailed notice: 14V-373 the VIN is [xxx] year: 2009 model: Town and country thank you, information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #132

Oct 152014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Batadia, NY, USA

problem #131

Mar 132015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cicero, NY, USA

problem #130

Aug 082014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable to service the vehicle under the recall. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/16/15

- Pigeon , MI, USA

problem #129

Jun 252014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Chrysler notified me of a recall (recall L25) in summer of 2014. The defect causes my vehicle to shut-off, sometimes at high speeds. It also causes electrical malfunctions on things such as the air bags, radio, the trip-tronic manual shifting system. It has been 9 months, and Chrysler has maintained this entire time that parts are not available to repair this problem. I think this is an unacceptable amount of time for a factory defect to not be corrected. It is dangerous for me and my family to drive in a vehicle that suddenly turns off on the highway, that changes from an automatic transmission to a manual shifting vehicle by itself, and whose airbags turn off, and may not deploy should an accident occur.

- Richmond Hill, NY, USA

problem #128

Mar 112015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Castana, IA, USA

problem #127

Mar 112015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 11V139000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to specify when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Avondale, AZ, USA

problem #126

Mar 092015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/16/15

- Lansing , MI, USA

problem #125

Mar 062015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 96,660 miles
The below incident happened twice on 6 March and once on 7 March. The vehicle cutoff while driving. This resulted in a loss of power brakes and power steering. Unfortunately, this was not the first time this occurred. It happened a couple weeks ago as well. I was able to bring the car to a stop and restart the car again. This is a very dangerous situation. I forbid my wife and kids from driving the vehicle. I am not a wealthy man, so I have no choice but to drive the car, but I try to keep the driving to relatively low speed situations to reduce the risk should the incident occur. I have contacted Chrysler to get priority for the fix. Chrysler says that the fix has not been designed yet.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #124

Jun 272014

Town & Country

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler town country. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. Updated 04/10/15 the consumer stated while driving at 35 mph the engine shut down in traffic. The power steering went out as well. The failure recurred at 65 mph on March 5, 2015. On 3/5/15 the replacement part was still unavailable. Updated 11/12/2015

- Middleburg Heights, OH, USA

problem #123

Mar 062013

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cloquet, MN, USA

problem #122

Sep 012010

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while at a stop light, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle by turning the key to the off position and then to the on position. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The approximate failure mileage was 10,000. Updated 8/10/15

- Saugus, MA, USA

problem #121

May 012013

Town & Country

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the key became stuck in the ignition. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Orange Park, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »