10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,822 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #64

Mar 132013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that there was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 13V038000 (power train) and the part was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the problem and they were unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The contact had not experienced any failures.

- Fort Worth, TN, USA

problem #63

Apr 172013

Ram 1500 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that there was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 13V038000 (power train) and the part was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified and they were unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The contact had not experienced any failures. Updated 10/17/13

- Marion, IN, USA

problem #62

Aug 222013

Ram 1500

  • miles
When is our local dealer going to get the recall part-pinion nut"????" this is ridiculous! lives are on the line!!!!

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #61

Feb 222013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train). The manufacturer and dealer were contacted and stated that the parts were not yet available for the repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The current mileage was 31,000.

- Corsicana, TX, USA

problem #60

Jun 012013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 13V038000 (power train) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The dealer advised that the part was not available. The manufacturer advised that they did not know when the part was going to become available. The contact did not experience the failure however he feels that he might cause a crash.

- Arnold, MO, USA

problem #59

Aug 162013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
Safety recall N08/NHTSA 13V-038 issued 2/13. Letter received that 'parts required to provide a permanent remedy for this condition are currently unavailable. Chrysler will contact you again by mail, witha follow up recall notice when remedy parts are available.' Continued to call dealer and continuously told parts have not been recieved yet. In May 2013, had dealer confirm rear axle pinion nut was tight (they still did not have parts to fix recall). Have in writing that nut was tight and all was fine. Aug. 16, 2013, the nut fails and driveshaft snaps free (gears sheared off). Lost complete control of vehicle due to rear wheels locking. Luckily had just exited rt 80 on to side road. Dealer confirmed all due to pinion nut failure. Dealer ordered all new parts to rebuild truck. When asked if this will render the recall 'fixed' he says no. We still have to get the recall pinion nut fixed on the new part. But there is no fix!! so they are basically placing my family in a death trap again. Who is going to stop the blatant negligence at this point" isn't this site for the protection of the people" help us! this isn't a hot spilled cup of coffee. This is not a frivolous request.

- Randolph, NJ, USA

problem #58

Mar 032013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,762 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that in March of 3103, he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train ). the contact stated that he notified the dealer and they stated that the parts would be available until June 2013. The contact waited until June to have the vehicle repaired but the parts were still unavailable. The contact stated that he wanted to get the vehicle repaired and feels it was a safety issue with the replacement parts not being available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 10/17/13

- Antonito, CO, USA

problem #57

Feb 062013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
Referencing NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000. I received notice my truck is involved in this recall late April or early May 2013. The letter stated when parts were available I would be sent a follow up letter so that repairs could be made. I contacted marmies motors in great bend, ks 6/20/2013 and they stated the follow up letters had not been issued. It is now August 15, 2013 and I still have not received the follow up letter. This is entirely to long of time period and Chrysler is making a mockery out of the NHTSA not only in the delay of notifying owners about parts availability, but also their slow notification time of the original recall letter which according to your notice was to begin in March, 2013.

- Lyons, KS, USA

problem #56

Jul 072013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
While driving down the freeway at 65mph I heard a whining sound. I reached my exit and there was a clunking sound and I immediately pulled over and turned the truck off. When I inspected the truck the drive line was on the ground disconnected from the rear axle. The gears were locked up and the truck could not move. Truck was towed to the dealership the next day. After 5 weeks there are still no replacement parts. They are repairing the truck and using stock replacement parts that contain the same defect that caused the failure. 8/15/13 the warranty center said the non-defective replacement parts are on national backorder.

- Sherwood, OR, USA

problem #55

Jun 132013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
This is the N08 recall of Dodge trucks mfg without pinion nut adhesive.

- Quinlan, TX, USA

problem #54

Apr 112013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 13V038000 (power train) and stated that the part needed to complete the recall service remained unavailable. The manufacturer was notified and they were unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/05/13

- Auburndale, FL, USA

problem #53

Apr 122013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
I have been waiting for about 6 months for Chrysler to get new rear axle pinion nuts in. They sent me a recall that the defective nuts could cause an accident. Yet every time I call they can't even tell me when the new pinion nuts will be in. Are they waiting for an accident to happen. Is there any thing you can do to expedite this? the recall no is N08/NHTSA 13V-038.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #52

Aug 022013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train) several months ago but was unable to have the vehicle serviced because the parts needed were not available for the repair. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Iberia , LA, USA

problem #51

Jul 272013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I received safety recall N08/NHTSA 13V-038 approximately 4 months ago. To date, the manufacturer has not provided the dealer with the proper part (rear axle pinion nut) to correct the problem. I have been advised that failure of this part could cause a crash without warning.

- Alexandria, KY, USA

problem #50

Jun 012013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, a noise emitted from the rear end of the vehicle. In addition, whenever driving in reverse the rear axle would seize. In order to disengage the rear axle, the gear shifter was moved into neutral and then the four-wheel drive mechanism was engaged. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 13V038000 (power train), however the remedy part was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified and they were unable to provide an expected date for the part. The approximate failure mileage was unavailable.

- Little Meadows, PA, USA

problem #49

Feb 152013

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train) several months ago and the dealer informed her that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 8/15/13

- Leechburg , PA, USA

problem #48

May 082013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 85,500 miles
Rear diff started blowing fluid everywhere, wobbling and the seal went. Dodge charged me $$ to fix that. Pinion nut was not replaced because the haven't manufactured it. Dealership informed me my pinion nut was tightened to spec... now July hits, my diff is whining really loud. Starts approx: 15mph worse at speeds around 45mph. When you reach 65/70mph there is a really loud whistling sound with the whine. Dodge still has no part made, spoke with Dodge and I have to continue to replace parts and pay repair costs for a recall they have yet to address (except for the one letter they sent me for the recall). Dodge will send a rep to evaluate the safety of my vehicle (this was the answer given to me the first time and the second), needless to say no rep was there. Dodge doesn't want you to drive an "unsafe" vehicle, however they have yet to properly repair it.. my question is, how is the vehicle safe?

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #47

Apr 162013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge ram1500. The contact stated that they received NHTSA recall campaign id number:13V038000(power train) in April and was told by the manufacturer in July that they did not have the parts available nor did have a time frame for when the parts would be available. The current mileage was 29,000.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #46

Jun 012010

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
Had issue with clunking noise from rear end approximately 1 year after purchasing vehicle. Took truck into the dealership and was told by the service advisor that the pinion nut was loose and the rear driveshaft could have separated at any time. It is now 3 years later and I am receiving a recall notice for this same rear axle pinion nut. I called the dealership to have it corrected and Chrysler does not have the parts required to remedy a permanent fix. The safety recall form from Chrysler also states that parts are not available to correct. I can't believe that this was not addressed way back in 2009 when it was supposedly corrected and that Chrysler would let me drive a vehicle that had a known defect.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #45

Jul 092013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram. The contact stated that he received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number 13V038000 (power train) several months ago and was informed by the dealer that the part was not available. The manufacturer was notified but they were unable to provide a date the parts would be available. There were no failures at this time. The VIN was unavailable.

- Wood Dale, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »