6.6

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,503 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #96

Jan 012017

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall!! still has not been replaced. Dealership states they don't have part and I will be notified. One of the notices said I could get a rental car but dealer did not have one available and put my name on waiting list. Im driving around with this in my car and it's been over a year. I dont like playing with fire. Please help, thank you!

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #95

Jan 152017

Edge

  • 15,000 miles
Takata recall received notice January 2017. Made 2 attempts to inquire as to availability of repair. As of 10/2018 product material are still not in.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #94

Jan 102017

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Edge. The contact stated that the manufacturer failed to provide the part within a reasonable time frame for NHTSA campaign number: 17V024000 (air bags). The dealer (mountainview Ford, 423-763-0309, located at 301 E 20th St, chattanooga, tn 37408) offered a loaner vehicle, but it needed to be returned by a certain date. The contact declined the offer. The contact mentioned that the battery was low on voltage because the vehicle had been parked at the residence for over six months. The manufacturer was contacted. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Chatanooga, TN, USA

problem #93

Oct 062018

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall-recall info letter sent from Ford in February 2018 but still no replacement parts available at any dealership near me. I am afraid to drive this car. Please help!

- Highland, MI, USA

problem #92

Jul 012016

Edge

  • miles
Tamara recall - the first letter I received on this recall was in July 2016. Nothing has been done. The last one I received was this last January and now they are telling me not to drive it because it is not safe. I am currently exploring avenues to sue the Ford dealer and Ford Motor Company. The car is useless to me. I can¿T drive it, I can¿T trade it, and I can¿T sell it all because it has had an active recall for going on 3 years now. I am getting tired of this!!!!!!!!

- Coupeville, WA, USA

problem #91

Mar 242017

Edge

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Edge. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V024000 (air bags); however, the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called fuccillo Ford of nelliston at (518) 993-5555 (located at 6500 NY-5, nelliston, NY 13410) and was informed that the part was not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Warnerville, NY, USA

problem #90

Aug 242018

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Edge. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V024000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the recall repair were unavailable. The dealer (romano Ford, 5431 N burdick St, fayetteville, NY 13066, 315-637-4491) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #89

Feb 182018

Edge

  • 40,600 miles
Takata recall, letter received Feb 2018, Ford Motor Co & local dealer say don"T know when parts are available to fix issue, Ford Motor Co says in letter received May 2018 that Ford allowing $30 day for rental car, local dealer says don't have rental cars for $30 day, minimum is $38 day, that means about $240 per month that a lot of people don't have. Scared to drive the car because of injury that could be caused. Wanted to sell car as it was my moms who has passed away but nobody wants to buy it because of this recall - I don't blame them. So there it sits parked while I am paying for license plate and insurance. Read that it is safe if no one sits in front passenger seat - do I trust this" why does it take so long to get parts, when new cars are coming out and Ford has air bags in new cars. Where do they get air bag parts for the new cars being manufactured" guess just have to wait, for how long - nobody knows!

- Custer, WI, USA

problem #88

Aug 202018

Edge

  • miles
"takata recall" "tired of waiting for replacement parts" car is unsafe. Car is still being used as having a hard time finding a rental vehicle close to my area for $30/day. I have been waiting for replacement parts for over a year? it is not safe to ride in the front passenger seat of vehicle. This is too long for them to expect people to go without a fix to this problem! there is a $30/day rental option, so far I have not found a rental place that will rent a car that cheap. Need to find a better way to handle this. As I am tired of having everyone ride in back seat of car.

- Burns, OR, USA

problem #87

Oct 262015

Edge 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Edge. The contact received two notifications for NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V712000 (fuel system, gasoline) and 17V024000 (air bags). The dealer (wayne Ford, 444 us-46, wayne, NJ 07470, (973) 256-8800) indicated that the repair parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect for NHTSA campaign number: 15V712000 (fuel system, gasoline) and VIN tool confirms parts not available for NHTSA campaign number: 17V024000 (air bags). Consumer stated the fuel propulsion system (pws) 140000 air bags. Vehicle purchase dated should be on or before incident date, purchase date 10/21/17 incident date 10/26/15 updated 10/15/18

- Madison, TN, USA

problem #86

Jul 012016

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall I have been receiving safety recall notices since 2016 from for telling me that my takata airbag was on a safety recall, I have been to the Ford dealer and number of times and each time I go I'm always told that the parts aren't in in 2018 I received a safety recall notice telling me not to drive my car because of the unsafe conditions that's not an option for me I need to drive my car each and every day, I live in Florida where I understand that it is very unsafe to be driving around with that takata airbag I don't know what to do at this point but something needs to be done this is been going on for 2 years

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #85

Jul 182016

Edge

  • 120,000 miles
Have received several recall notifications concerning the passenger side air bag in my vehicle. I've checked with the dealer several times and am only told they are not available and I'll be notified when one does become available. Why isn't the NHTSA forcing the issue on these recalls? I've seen many complaints for all years and models so it is not just limited to my particular vehicle. If this is a safety issue, enforce the requirement!

- Burleson, TX, USA

problem #84

Oct 012017

Edge

  • 130,000 miles
I received a letter from Ford about Nov/Dec 2017 advising me of the recall issues for my vehicle. I have not been able to speak to a Ford customer service rep, and my dealer nor the finance company know what to do. I received a more recent letter from Ford with options and stating that the parts required are still not available. I need to speak to someone because I am afraid of all the recall issues surrounding my vehicle. I keep the maintenance up on my vehicle but I have been experiencing safety issues while driving, like my vehicle threatens to stop for no apparent reason while I'm driving it. I can't afford to continually pay for repairs or even just be without my vehicle because I'm the only income for my family!

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #83

Dec 012017

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall: 2009 Ford Edge first letter of notification via us mail I received of knowledge: December 2017. My first car payt was Feb. 2017. (10 months after I purchased the vehicle). Please note at this time, my complaint is why should I be paying a monthly car payment for a car stored on my driveway not to be used until repairs. Why? can you help to resolve my concern. Please find the following information for your records: This is for you to note the current process. I received a letter from Ford company to contact my local dealership to be placed on a repair schedule list until parts become available for my vehicle. Ford is offering should I require a rental vehicle while waiting. As of Friday, June 15,2018 I am driving a rental contracted from enterprise with the dealership at no cost to me withing the following guidelines: Up to $44 per day. Fuel and insurance are not included. Rental to be used for personal transportation only. Dealers are not authorized to store customer vehicles. Customers should retain their recalled vehicle and drive the rental vehicle until recall repairs have been completed. Dealership recorded current odometer on June 15,2018- 98,957

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #82

Jun 012016

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall - no remedy after approximately 2 years or more waiting for replacements!

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #81

Jun 102017

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Edge. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V024000 (air bags). The contact called the dealer (pierson Ford Lincoln, Inc, 701 auto plaza dr., aberdeen, sd 57401, 605-225-3720) and was informed that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Shidler, OK, USA

problem #80

Jun 252017

Edge

  • miles
I received a notice about the defected airbags that needed to be replaced a while back, but the replacement airbags have never came in. I have been waiting patiently for the item but the dealership has never received the item. Every day on the road is a risk to my passenger's life and I no longer want to patiently wait for something that may never arrive. I am on the road everyday for long periods of time with my wife all over harris county in houston, and I cannot risk something happening to my wife as a result of defective airbags. I would appreciate a timely solution.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #79

Dec 012017

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall- I received a letter dated December 2017 stating that there was a recall on the passenger side front airbag. The letter also stated that when the parts become available, I would receive a letter instructing me to call and make an appointment to get the airbag fixed. I have not received the letter yet. I feel that the parts should have been available already and the airbag fixed.

- Westminster, SC, USA

problem #78

Jun 012016

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Edge. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags) was received in June of 2016. After contacting the dealer (helfman Ford in meadows place, tx), the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the recall were not available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #77

Jun 012016

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Edge. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer (simi valley Ford, 2440 first St, simi valley, ca) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Camarillo, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »