10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,857 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #22

Oct 132012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Shortly after entering highway on dark rainy evening, with no fore warning, car began to shake and lose power. Was able to pull to side of highway. Even though I was pressing on the gas, car would not go forward. Wrench light was illuminated on the dashboard. Called for assistance. When help arrived they suggested I turn off vehicle. When I turned back on, car was fine. The next day, with no warning, same thing occurs on neighborhood road. When we took to Ford dealer today, the problem did not repeat so they have no repair code. This is a very dangerous situation....could lead to accident on highway...I have to drive 17 miles to work on highway and I am scared.

- Westlake, OH, USA

problem #21

Jul 302012

Escape

  • miles
The car jerks forward without pressing the gas pedal. When switching from reverse to drive it jerks forward also. I just read an article that talks about the same type of problem with other Ford Escapes.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #20

Sep 272012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
We were driving our Escape back from the store and all of the sudden it lost power and the throttle did not respond, this happened several times over the next few days. We took it to the shop and found out the throttle body was bad, there is no reason the throttle body should fail at all much less in a newer model car with low mileage. Had we been pulling out on to a road we could have been involved in an accident! I don't think ours is an isolated indecent from what I have read online.

- Nicholasville, KY, USA

problem #19

Jul 262012

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,486 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated the instructions in the manual indicated that if the vehicle was on the vehicle could be towed in neutral gear for six at 65 mph. The vehicle was towed behind the motor home and the transmission fluid and the engine overheated; therefore, the vehicle would not start. The contact installed an auxilary pump to keep the fluid from over heating; otherwise, the transmission had to be replaced. The manufacturer stated the pump would void the warranty. The contact stated the vehicle was sold as vehicle that could be towed. The vehicle did not overheat after the pump was added. The failure mileage was 65. The current mileage was 60,000. Updated 11/07/12 the consumer stated the manufacturer offered $800 for good will.updated 11/07/2012

- Kalkaska, MI, USA

problem #18

Sep 012012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 88,682 miles
Had just come over the tn river bridge on I40 East in tn and was approaching mile marker 137 when the vehicle became non responsive to throttle with no dash indication lights. At first I thought fuel pump shut down because acceleration did not work. I knew the engine was still running by RPM and power steering worked. The vehicle was coasting in the left lane and there was traffic behind, in front and in right lane. I turned on hazard lights in hopes of warning the traffic around me. The semi behind me had to slow also and I could not change lanes at moment. Contemplating going left into the median and maybe striking an upcoming bridge rail or wait for open right lane and get to right side of interstate. I had an opening and turned off hazard flasher and then gave a right blinker, cutting off the semi behind who was trying to go around me. At that moment I thought we would get hit. Pulled over and the wrench light came on and no check engine light. Vehicle idled bad like a misfire and RPM gauge went up and down unsteadily. I videoed the fluctuation while pulled over. Turned car off and restarted no problem. Problem came back again 74 miles later in nashville at 88756 miles. At that point on I440E and I65 split the vehicle, without warning, shutdown again, became non responsive to throttle. Then the wrench light and check engine light came on and I pulled over videoed the fluctuating gauges. Turned vehicle off and restarted and lights went off and proceeded to crown Ford on thompson lane and the service dept was closed. This issue also happened 5 times on 9-3-2012, between mileage 89,9002 to 89,1181, while in Alabama/tn. Example going uphill, and also coasting into someones driveway at night. This vehicle still currently has the trans flare issue even after two PCM reflash. But Ford cant get it to act up. I thought maybe this issue was related.

- Bell Buckle, TN, USA

problem #17

Aug 192012

Escape

  • 31,000 miles
I was driving when all of a sudden the car shook slightly and then there was no more power from pushing the gas pedal and the powertrain warning symbol came on (picture of a wrench) and I was just coasting; I pulled off the road and put in park, when I put it back in drive, again nothing happened when I stepped on the gas, it would just coast. I finally turned off the ignition, waited a minute and turned it back on, and it worked and there was no warning symbol on. I saw on internet later that several people have had the same issue. I took to the dealer the next morning, he mentioned possibly the "throttle body" but then after they checked it, they said nothing indicated a problem, and the computer did not even indicate that warning light had been on, so there was nothing they could do. There is even a video on youtube about someone having this issue. I am scared it will happen again.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #16

Aug 102012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 75,094 miles
While driving at a constant speed the throttle control actuator inside the throttle body can become stuck and cause the driver to loose all throttle and speed control. Problem will present itself as a transmission issue as shifting through all the gears will not clear the problem, until engine is powered down and restarted. This is a clear and evident problem that appears at or around 75,000 miles. Ford refuses to acknowledge that this is a problem with the factory model throttle body installed in most Escape model vehicles. Regular engine diagnostics do not display an error code unless the diagnostic computer is connected to the car at the time of incident and warning light is on.

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #15

Aug 072012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 49,082 miles
Was driving in right lane approximately 45mph and I lost all acceleration. Thought I had a flat or something. Pulled over and into a parking lot. Engine was idling rough so I turned it off and called my husband to see what was happening with the car. Husband came and restarted, drove home no issue. On 8/11/12 driving to store the same thing happened but this time noticed the wrench light came on. The gas pedal stopped working loosing all engine power. Pulled over and called my husband to see what happened. Left car running, husband pressed gas pedal but engine stayed at rough idle. Turned car off and restarted, drove car home and called servicing dealership for appointment. Had the vehicle serviced on 8/10/12 to check transmission, thought that was the problem but they said everything was fine. They said they would let us know today 8/12/12 if vehicle should be towed in rather then driving it in due to safety reasons.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #14

Jul 212012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 34,200 miles
I have owned 2009 Ford Escape limited V-6 less than two months. While driving 35-40 mph the vehicle suddenly would not accelerate. It did not stop running so I was able to exit the roadway and return home. It took several minutes for it to return to normal. I did not get a check engine light or other warning. Dealer advises I should wait to see if it happens again as it would be difficult to diagnose at this point. At the time of the incident I was on my way to interstate highway with 70 mph speed limit and a lot of heavy truck traffic. I feel fortunate incident happened when and where it did.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #13

Jun 162012

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
Driving Ford Escape 2009 at consistent highway speed for approximately 20 minutes. Iphone plugged into usb port, head lights, air conditioning on and working. Sudden feeling of hesitation and then floating. Orange wrench light appeared. Sudden loss of RPM's and engine power. Semi-truck behind me weaved into other lane. I activated hazard lights and coasted/changed lanes over 3 lanes of highway traffic to shoulder of expressway. Stopped and parked car. Wrench light remained on. Air conditioning, music, and lights remained working. I looked up code in owner's manual and found "powertrain" "service immediately". I turned off car. I turned off air conditioning, unplugged iphone, music, and lights. I restarted car. Car immediately restarted with no warning light. With car in park, tested acceleration, no hesitation with rpms. I turned off car and waited 5 minutes. I turned car back on, again no wrench light, no hesitation with RPM/gas pedal tested. I turned off hazards and attempted to drive. No further problem driving that night or the next day. On Monday I took car to Ford dealership for inspection. I was called and told that battery needed replacement. I explained I was concerned because there was no loss of auxiliary power, rather engine power. The service representative stated they would replace battery at my agreement and continue testing. I was called later in day an notified that there was nothing wrong with my car. While waiting for call from dealer, I "googled" Ford Escape 2009 wrench light. I found multiple problems attributed to throttle body sticking, with inability of Ford dealers able to identify this recurrent problem. My car remains at dealer. I called Ford dealer again today and was told my car was fine to drive. I am concerned to drive this vehicle on any street/expressway with the potential for this to happen again, as reported by other drivers.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #12

Apr 022012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 32,791 miles
Intermittent problem when driving gas pedal seems to loose resistance, vehicle starts to slow even though adding more power, as vehicle slows and approaches 5 mph it starts transmission to seize and engine to backfire. Then with car stopped it won't go. When restarted it won't go the first time but the second start will then operate normally. Has happened several times in a day at highway speed or in town. Ford dealer unable to repair it so far had a minor leak in axle seal in front wheel drive repaired that no help. I believe it is a throttle body problem and have found this problem being suffered by many others on internet forums for repair advice/questions.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #11

Dec 122011

Escape

  • 60,000 miles
The transmission is slipping and wining. Like a bearing is going out. I think it is the output shaft bearing.

- Leland, NC, USA

problem #10

Oct 072011

Escape 6-cyl

  • 41,500 miles
Repeated transmission shift issues, vehicle will shift extremely hard, especially in stop and go traffic. Sometimes vehicle has a hard time switching into reverse.

- East Prairie, MO, USA

problem #9

May 182010

Escape

  • 9,626 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact was driving 25 mph when the vehicle failed to shift properly. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the dealer confirmed that the transmission needed to be reprogrammed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 9,626 and the current mileage was 11,000.

- Woodland, CA, USA

problem #8

Nov 232011

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 31,500 miles
Transmission is loud. Shifts are harsh. Significant hesitation when accelerating. Transmission hunts for gears. Upshifts and downshifts are frequent. When passing vehicles on the highway, acceleration is delayed as transmission shifts up through gears, then drops to a low gear. Powertrain light comes on the dash. To dealer for service. They say they cannot locate problem.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #7

Nov 012010

Escape 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
Significant safety issue is as follows; 2009 Ford Escape with a manual transmission will jump out of 5th gear into neutral. This first occurred first in November 2010 at approximately 58000 miles (repaired), then in April 2011 at approximately 72000 miles (repaired), then again in October 2011 at approximately 90000 miles, not yet repaired.

- Lyons, GA, USA

problem #6

Sep 292011

Escape

  • 22,741 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to accelerate from a complete stop. The vehicle was towed to a dealer and the manufacturer was contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 22,741 and the current mileage was 22,800.

- Campbell Sport, WI, USA

problem #5

Aug 152010

Escape

  • 8,260 miles
While being towed behind my motor home the transmission began smoking. When I stopped there was so much smoke coming from the vehicle I thought it was on fire and grabbed my fire extinguisher. I had the car hauled to the nearest dealer where a remanufactured transmission was installed at 8260 odometer miles. The second transmission failure occurred while being towed at 10834 odometer miles and after being towed approximately 1000 miles after the first failure. The dealer installed another remanufactured transmission. Each repair took 2-3 weeks to complete. Although Ford maintains that the Escape can be towed with all four wheels on the ground there are numerous catastrophic failures reported on the internet under "Ford Escape transmission problems + towing" which leads one to believe the vehicle can not be towed without great risk. This failure is not only an inconvenience but it is a financial problem for the consumer and a safety problem. Depending upon where the failure occurs it might be very dangerous or impossible to pull over and wait for a tow truck. Also, at some point the vehicle could conceivably catch fire which would present an even greater potential problem. There is at least one report of a fire on the NHTSA website. The transmission used in the Escape is a 6F35 transmission which is also used in the Mercury mariner, Ford Fusion and mazada tribute. So these vehicles may have the same problem if they are towed all four wheels down.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #4

Sep 082010

Escape

  • 27,080 miles
I purchased a 2009 Ford Escape in June of 2009. In February of 2010, I had issues with the transmission "slipping" and "jerking" while in transmission. I took the vehicle into the dealership, and was informed my transmission had failed, and they had informed me they had installed a brand new transmission. September 8th, 2010 my vehicle was experiencing the same symptoms with the brand new transmission that was replaced in March, at less than 30,000 miles currently on my odometer. Took the vehicle to the dealership September 10th and they informed me on September 12th, that it is indeed transmission failure, and the transmission will more than likely need to be replaced. I am upset that this vehicle continues to have transmission concerns.

- Parma , OH, USA

problem #3

Mar 122010

Escape

  • 20,000 miles
At the shift level of 40 to 45 mph the gas pedal vibrates. It is most pronounced during the first shift of the day.

- Waukegan, IL, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »