10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,081 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #174

Sep 202013

Escape

  • 78,000 miles
Several times, driving at high speeds, lost complete control of acceleration. Engine throttle revved but pushing pedal made no difference. One occasion we almost wrecked at high speed. The car remains on, but acceleration pedal does nothing. Turn car off, turn back on and it works fine. Has happened in park, slow speeds and high speeds. Ford won't do anything. Please help!

- Rockwall, TX, USA

problem #173

Sep 192013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
My wife was driving on the highway when the vehicle abruptly shut down in a high traffic metro area as an orange wrench light appeared on the dash. After resting on the shoulder for a minute and speaking with me (her husband), I asked her to try and start the vehicle again. It started back up as normal with the orange wrench light now not showing. The car ran as normal for about 10 minutes and then it happened again. She was able to get the car home safely. The next day I took a look at the car, did some research, and drove it around for awhile. The car ran fine for about 15 minutes until it occurred again. Apparently the orange wrench light means there is an issue with either the power train or the throttle box. The vehicle shifts gears as normal so I am left to believe there is an issue with the throttle box (as I have read many complaints regarding this exact same issue with the 2009 Ford Escape).

- Hudson, WI, USA

problem #172

Sep 152013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
I had my 2month old great granddaughter with me as I was taking her home. I was a block from entering the freeway and the car just quit running. I tried to start it but it kept dying. Finally it started and I went 10 miles an hour back home which was only a few blocks from there. I had it towed to Ford the next morning. They called today 9/20 that the problem was the throttle body. They would have to order it and it was on back order as alot of Escapes have this problem. There should be a recall on this part as this could cause a very bad accident and we could have been killed if we were on the freeway. I have done my research and there are alot of complaints on this. I still have a warranty but this is not covered. I feel they should fix it as it a dangerous thing.

- Castro Valley, CA, USA

problem #171

Aug 042013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 49,940 miles
As I was driving, the accelerator pedal ceased responding because power to the accelerator was lost. The car coasted to a stop on a busy highway. I was able to turn off the ignition and restart and drive in low gear a short distance. But after about 300 yards, low gear ceased to work as there was no longer any power to the accelerator. I was able to put the car in reverse and back off the road. I consider it fortunate that traffic was relatively light and I was not hit by another vehicle. I had my vehicle towed to a Lincoln Mercury dealer, who advised the diagnostic computer code (P2111) indicated the electronic throttle body was "bad", and there was nothing to do but replace it. They could not tell me any details as to what had caused it to go "bad", and advised they were not able to do any investigation as to what caused the malfunction. All they could do was send the old throttle body back (presumably to Ford), and install a new electronic throttle body for an installed cost of $720.24. I complained directly to Ford in dearborn, mi (global director, automotive safety office) by U.S. mail, and received a voicemail on 9/5/13 from [xxx] at Ford executive offices ([xxx]). I returned the call and she requested I send a copy of my invoice for the throttle body installation ([xxx]). a few days later (9/9/13 I believe) she called and the bottom line was all Ford would offer was a partial reimbursement of $240, which I have not yet received. She admitted no wrong (except perhaps by inference of offering a partial reimbursement) and advised Ford could not guarantee that I would not experience another throttle body malfunction. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #170

Sep 092013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
The above affected parts field will not let me choose a part. We were driving on the freeway and suddenly the vehicle lost power - we had to go to the side of the road. The power was still on in the car but the accelerator would not work. We turned off the car and then started it again and was able to drive again. This happened on three separate occasions. The wrench light came on in the car and the book said throttle/drive train problems. We consulted a couple of dealerships and we since found out that indeed these vehicles are having throttle/accelerator problems. Parts are hard to find on a waiting list. There should be a recall on this to fix it. We are now going to fix the problem and save the receipt. We feel we should get our money back. This is a very serious, potential safety issue. Thank you.

- San Clemente, CA, USA

problem #169

Jan 042013

Escape

  • 79,000 miles
Vehicle was at 55 mph on a state highway and just immediately lost power. Went into limp mode. When it was placed in park, shut off then restarted, it would gain speed properly again. There have been several incidences of this happening since January. Once was in the middle of a major intersection which could have caused a wreck. Another time was on a main highway going up the side of a mountain with no shoulder to pull off on and traffic behind me. Once more was on a major interstate going 70 mph. During the entirety of one day, it happened six separate times. After researching on the internet, we found that this could very likely be a throttle problem and needs to be recalled before someone gets injured or killed.

- Booneville, AR, USA

problem #168

Sep 132013

Escape

  • 94,360 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while exiting a residential driveway, the accelerator failed to respond to acceleration attempts without warning. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer or a mechanic for diagnosis. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 94,360. The VIN number was not provided.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #167

Sep 122013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 53,481 miles
Driving along and the vehicle kept slowing down, kept pushing on accelerator but stopped going. Got off the road and shut down and restarted, vehicle ran okay. This happened three times. Dealer says the electronic throttle body needs replaced.

- Mineral Wells, WV, USA

problem #166

Jul 312013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
7/30/2013 started up after stopping at an intersection. About half a block later, I stepped on the accelerator and nothing happened. Then it sputtered, the wrench light came on and the car would not move. I coasted to the side of the road, turned on hazard lights and turned it off. It started right up after a few seconds and proceeded normally. About a month later, the same thing happened driving home at night. After stopping at a stop sign, I accelerated and the car lost power, the wrench lit up and I coasted over to the side again. Again, it started right up. A week later, it did the same thing in heavy traffic. I put on the hazard lights and coasted to the edge of the road. It started up, but did the same thing after a few yards. I made it very slowly into a parking lot and it stayed there until that evening. When I tried it later, it died a couple of times and I drove it home on the back streets late at night when there was no traffic. After researching the problem on line, I saw what others had done and had the throttle body replaced. That was 6 days ago. So far, so good. However, my confidence is gone and I won't be driving it in freeway traffic anytime soon.

- Tyler, TX, USA

problem #165

Sep 102013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 98,101 miles
The car was driving at about 35mph and with no warning... I heard a popping sound and lost all throttle control. Thank goodness I was on a back road with no other cars. This could be very dangerous if I were on the highway or I was passing a car, hauling a trailer. The car will reset after the car is off for a time and will work again for a several minutes. This is the same issue as several other of the Ford products have been recalled for but my year has not been recalled, yet. I called Ford to look for a recall and I was told none were listed but that she takes calls all day long for this issue and could even tell me the cost of the fix $500 plus.

- Winter Garden, FL, USA

problem #164

Jun 052011

Escape 6-cyl

  • 52,800 miles
Traveling on highway 58 doing approximately 65 mph. There was a lunge - accelerator didn't function - drifted to side of road - vehicle was idling very rough. Noticed the little wrench was lighted on the instrument panel. I turned the vehicle off for a couple minutes - then it started right up. Thought it was a glitch - approximately 5 miles further it did it again. Wasn't sure what it was so I had it towed 50 miles to my residence. The next morning I contacted the Ford dealership from where I had purchased it. Took it in for a diagnostic - $134.40 only to be told they could find nothing wrong. On June 22, 2011 during evening traffic it occurred 5 times within approximately 8 miles. The 5th time I called the dealership again - they had me bring in right in. Next day told me the throttle body and motor assembly had to be replaced. Well $406.35 and two years later it's happening again. Three (3) times in the past two weeks -first time on the interstate - traveling approximately 65 mph - in the rain - made my way to the side of the road - turned it off for a couple minutes and started right back up. Last week on a residential road and today September 10, 2013 as I was pulling out of a store parking lot. Ford needs to be held responsible for this and have the vehicles recalled to fix the on-board computer problem they have admitted to. I am not lucky enough to have that kind of money to have the parts replaced again only to possibly have to do it again!!

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #163

Sep 092013

Escape

  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure recurred on several occasions. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where it was stated that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 76,000.

- Hartselle, AL, USA

problem #162

Sep 072013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The throttle body on my 2009 Ford Escape failed while entering a public interstate via an on ramp. The failure occurred while accelerating. The effect was the vehicles engine was shut off, causing a rapid deceleration on a fairly busy on ramp. I was able to pull my car over to the side. Placed it in park, turned key off and back on, and was able to resume my 8 mile commute to work. Later, while driving the vehicle, the same issue occurred twice within a fifteen mile period - both times while accelerating, the engine shut off in traffic. Three times in one day, had not seen this issue ever prior to last week. I took the car to the dealership where they diagnosed it as a failed throttle body. The car has been in the shop since 9/4. today I was contacted and told the part was on nation wide backorder, and wasn't expected until 10/31. Internet forums suggest there are thousands of vehicles awaiting this part right now. Having the engine unpredictably shut off is a potentially dangerous situation to have while driving. There is a known issue within Ford and their dealer network, but to date, no recall has been issued. The delay in parts accessibility is dangerous, and could result in people driving their vehicles with this condition while awaiting the parts arrival.

- Country Club, MO, USA

problem #161

Aug 212013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
Since I purchased my 2009 Ford Escape in November 2011, my car would occasionally just as I began to move after a stop sign or make a turn after stopping. About a year ago, my car had stalled in the middle of a street with the electricity out. This August, the car completely stalled (the electricity was still on) an onramp to interstate 81. I was able to restart it and attempt to go home, but when I turned left after stopping at a light, the car stalled again. The local Ford dealership said, " verified concern, pulled code P2112 throttle body stuck closed, performed all of the pinpoint tests and the throttle body failed the functionality test, removed air tube and found the throttle is very slow to respond to commands."

- Mechanicsburg, PA, USA

problem #160

Sep 072013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
Randomly the orange wrench light will come on and the car will lose power and shut off. I have to stop the car and then it restarts. This has happened in the middle of a freeway and was lucky to get to the side pull off. Very random as it once happened twice in a day and then again a week later. This has been a recurring problem in multiple Ford in doing research on line. Why has this not been recalled? problem seems to be the throttle body. Very dangerous. I have car at the dealership now and waiting their response.

- West Chester, PA, USA

problem #159

Sep 052013

Escape

  • 51,000 miles
I was driving down the street and stopped at a stop sign. My car began to sputter a bit then lost power - did not shut off completely but the gas pedal would not respond. Wrench light came on. Shut the car off and started it back up again without a problem. About a 1/4 mile down the road, same thing happened and check engine light came on. I was low on gas, so I thought that might be the problem. Filled the tank the next morning and the check engine light went off, drove fine to work. Left work, went to pick my son up, and on the way home (about an hour of driving), the car did the same thing it had done before. This time, I was going a lot faster and in the middle of traffic. Very scary and very dangerous. It took me about 6 times of shutting the car off and starting it up again to get home (which was only about 4 miles away).

- Beaufort, SC, USA

problem #158

Jul 052013

Escape

  • 54,000 miles
As I was driving my Escape it began to shake and I was no longer able to accelerate. I had to turn the engine off, sit for a minute and then restart it. I had to do this every half mile on my drive home to get my car home. I pulled over to the side of the road and called for assistance and I had someone follow me home. I had to have it towed to the dealership. They told me it was the electric throttle body. After having it for two weeks they told me I would have to wait another month for the part as it was back ordered from Ford. As soon as I requested a rental car, the part automatically appeared. Over $400 worth of work.

- Va Bch, VA, USA

problem #157

Sep 012013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
While driving home with family on Sept 1st, 2013, our 2009 Ford Escape decelerated quite rapidly from 45-50 mph to 0 mph within 10 seconds and wrench warning light came on. We were able to safely pull over and turn off engine. We waited a minute and it started back up again (no wrench warning light was no longer on) and we were able to make it home. It appears to be a faulty throttle body.

- West Linn, OR, USA

problem #156

Aug 262013

Escape

  • 58,500 miles
I was driving approx 60 mph when my car jumped down to approx 25 mph and wrench light came on. I had to coast to side of road to get off highway. When I shut the car off and restarted it I was able to drive to saftey but then it happened again and car had to be towed to the Ford dealer for them to charge me $585 and replace the throttle body. I have read this has happened to many people and this really should be a recall.

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #155

Aug 282013

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
TL - the contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving 50 mph, the vehicle decelerated and the wrench warning icon illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 80,000. Kmj the throttle body was replaced and resolved the problem.

- Crown Point, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »